Data Center Record.

The record · By the numbers

By the numbers

1,017 data center sites, 1,661 buildings where disclosed. Every figure on this page is computed from the published records when the site is built. Where a record disclosed nothing, it adds nothing and is counted as not disclosed. Nothing here is estimated.

Counted on

Our count

1,017 data center sites

Published project records with a named site and a dated source

The index

1,661 buildings where disclosed

Disclosed buildings on those sites, from assessor parcels, permits, and operator pages; the site is the record unit, not the building

How buildings are counted

7,074 events

Dated, sourced events on the record: status changes and jurisdiction actions

The timeline

4,516 statements

Public statements recorded as said, with speaker, date and source

Speakers

51 regions

States and the District of Columbia with a published record, of 51 monitored

By state

reported
71
proposed
117
waiting on permits
32
approved
41
being built
67
running
668
stalled
1
cancelled
20
All records
1,017
Not yet verified, apart from the count
58

71.9 GW

Disclosed capacity across 448 of 1,017 records; 569 have not disclosed it

Bulk data

Projects on the record at the end of each year

YearOn the recordRunningBeing builtProposed, waiting on permits or approvedStalled or cancelledStage dated by what happened
2003 1 1 0 0 0 1
2004 1 1 0 0 0 1
2005 1 1 0 0 0 1
2006 1 1 0 0 0 1
2007 1 1 0 0 0 1
2008 1 1 0 0 0 1
2009 1 1 0 0 0 1
2010 1 1 0 0 0 1
2011 4 4 0 0 0 3
2012 6 6 0 0 0 5
2013 8 8 0 0 0 7
2014 10 9 0 1 0 9
2015 11 10 0 1 0 9
2016 14 13 0 1 0 10
2017 14 13 0 1 0 10
2018 15 14 0 1 0 10
2019 19 16 0 3 0 12
2020 22 18 1 3 0 13
2021 28 21 2 5 0 17
2022 40 26 4 10 0 24
2023 49 32 8 9 0 24
2024 72 41 11 20 0 38
2025 111 47 18 44 2 71
2026 1017 668 67 261 21 164

A project counts in a year by the status its history shows at the end of that year, and stays in every later year until its history says otherwise. The record began compiling in September 2026, so the year a site first appears is the year the record found it, not the year it was built: of the 1,017 projects on the record at the end of 2026, the record dates the stage of 164 by what happened, and holds the other 853 from a report or a census read, which says where a site stood on the day it was written, not when it got there. The yearly chart that drew these counts was retired from the timeline until the record holds a year of dated stage changes (why).

How the count is made

288 depth records (full timeline, every fact sourced, reviewed) and 729 built from one source each (not yet reviewed, and labeled as such). 8 regions have a record reviewed in depth, 43 only records built from one source. The count is the published records counted by their status, read from the record's own data at build time and never typed in. The count will read low until coverage is complete; a small number with a stated scope beats a large one with none. A site is the record unit: 1,661 named buildings sit on the 1,017 sites above, from operators' own pages, and are never counted as separate records; an industry directory that counts buildings will read higher for that reason, not because it tracks more sites (how buildings are counted). How records are counted.

What has been disclosed in the published record

FigureDisclosed totalDisclosedWithout a figureBasis
Power71.92 GW448569443 the developer's figure, 5 third party estimate
Water, stated per day8,379,321 gallons a day1099910 the developer's figure
Water, stated per year645,091,276 gallons a year89997 measured, 1 the developer's figure
Permanent jobs5,850 jobs21,0152 the developer's figure
Tax each year$40,000,000 to $44,000,00011,0161 the developer's figure

A blank total means no record disclosed the figure; the count without one says how many.

Summed only where a record disclosed the figure; a record with no figure adds nothing and is counted as not disclosed. Water is summed per day and per year separately, as the sources stated it, and never converted. A tax claim given as a range is summed at both ends.

By what the facilities are for

UseRecordsPowerWaterJobsTax each year
AI, type not stated37.83 GW1,528,767 gallons a day; 250,000 gallons a year4,850 jobs$40,000,000 to $44,000,000
Cloud17.5 GW1,528,767 gallons a day4,850 jobs
Government and defense17.5 GW1,528,767 gallons a day4,850 jobs
No stated use1,01464.08 GW6,850,554 gallons a day; 644,841,276 gallons a year1,000 jobs

A blank cell means no record with that use disclosed the figure.

A record that lists several uses counts once under each; 1 does here. Each cell is the sum over the records with that use, disclosed rows only. The power column adds up to 86.92 GW across the uses, more than the 71.92 GW disclosed in all, because a record with several uses is in each of its rows.

What the facilities are for

UseFacilitiesShare of facilitiesAttributed MWShare of attributed MW
AI, type not stated30%334 MW0%
Cloud10%
Government and defense10%
No stated use1014100%64.1 GW89%
Not split between uses17.5 GW10%
No capacity figure56956%

A blank cell means no source attributes power to that use.

1,017 facilities in the published record. 1 lists more than one use and counts under each, so the facility column can sum past the total. Capacity is attributed to a use only where a source states the share, or where a facility lists a single use. Nothing is divided by estimate.

How the facilities are cooled

MethodFacilitiesShare of facilities
Air cooled30%
Evaporative10%
Closed loop liquid212%
No stated cooling type99298%

1,017 facilities in the published record. 58 sites not yet verified are named apart and are not counted here. A facility carries one cooling method; nothing here is estimated.

Who counts data centers

Who counts data centers, and what each count includes
Who countedTheir countWhat it countsScope
Data Center Record 1,017 Published project records, every one with a named site and a dated source, counted by a query on the public table as of October 30, 2026 United States, every stage, records reviewed in depth and records built from one source; a site not yet verified is listed apart and not counted. Download and count it yourself
Statista, Number of data centers worldwide by country (April 2026) (opens in a new tab) 4,423 facilities data centers in the United States, 2026 Facilities counted by Statista for the United States; the counting rule and the underlying list are not published. As of April 14, 2026.
Aterio, US Data Center Database (September 2026) (opens in a new tab) 6,986 facilities data centers in the active US pipeline, 2026 Facilities Aterio tracks as operational (2,084), under construction (814) or announced (4,088); its full database also lists facilities outside the active pipeline. As of September 3, 2026. The page is updated continuously and read 6,984 (2,086 operational, 816 under construction, 4,082 announced) of 7,861 facilities on September 5, 2026.
Cleanview, US Data Center Map (September 2026) (opens in a new tab) 3,436 facilities data centers in the United States, operating plus planned, 2026 Operating facilities plus planned projects on Cleanview's US data center tracker: 1,306 operating and 2,082 planned. As quoted September 4, 2026; the tracker is updated monthly and read 3,445 (1,306 operating, 2,091 planned) later the same day.

Comparisons

Every plain comparison on the site is arithmetic on a published figure and one of these units, of the same kind: capacity against peak demand, energy over time against energy over time, water against water in the same scope, or against the EPA's household yardsticks with the difference said (the rule). Another group's forecast is shown here in the same yardstick and is never counted.

Comparison units on the record
UnitValueYearSource and page
New York City (NYISO Zone J) annual electricity use, actual, 2024 49,703 GWh 2024 NYISO, 2025 Load and Capacity Data Report (Gold Book) (opens in a new tab), Table I-2, Baseline Annual Energy, Historical and Forecast, page 23, Zone J, 2024 row
Water used at home each day by the average American family, more than 300 gallons a day EPA WaterSense, How We Use Water (opens in a new tab), the page's opening paragraph (page last updated August 4, 2026)
Average monthly electricity consumption per residential customer, United States 863 kWh 2024 EIA, Table 5A, 2024 edition (opens in a new tab), Table 5A, Residential Average Monthly Bill by Census Division and State, 2024 edition, U.S. Total row (page 2 of 2)
New York City (NYISO Zone J) summer peak demand, actual, 2024 10,245 MW 2024 NYISO, 2025 Load and Capacity Data Report (Gold Book) (opens in a new tab), Table I-4a, Baseline Summer Non-Coincident Peak Demand, Historical and Forecast, page 26, Zone J, 2024 row
Water used at home each day per person, United States 82 gallons a day per person 2015 EPA WaterSense, Statistics and Facts (opens in a new tab), Statistics and Facts, the first bullet under Water Use (page last updated March 11, 2026)
Average monthly electricity consumption per residential customer, United States, 2023 855 kWh 2023 EIA, Table 5A, 2023 edition (opens in a new tab), Table 5A, Residential Average Monthly Bill by Census Division and State, 2023 edition, U.S. Total row (page 2 of 2), read from the Internet Archive's capture of EIA's own PDF of May 24, 2025

US data center water in 2023

In 2023, US data centers consumed 66 billion liters of water on site, according to a 2024 report to Congress by the Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory, about 17.4 billion gallons, or 47.8 million gallons a day. Each day that comes to about what 583,000 people use at home, at the EPA's 82 gallons a person a day (a figure for 2015), and what at most 159,000 American families use at home, at the EPA's more than 300 gallons a family a day (the EPA gives no year for it). The two count different water: the data center figure is water consumed, the part evaporated or otherwise taken out of the local water supply, and the EPA's is water used at home, which the EPA does not split into water consumed and water returned.

The arithmetic
Math

Liters to gallons

  1. 66 billion liters a year = 66,000,000,000 liters a year.
  2. 66,000,000,000 liters ÷ 3.785411784 liters a gallon = 17,435,355,456 gallons a year.
  3. 17,435,355,456 gallons a year ÷ 365 days = 47,768,097 gallons a day.
  1. Direct water consumed on site by US data centers in 2023: 66 billion liters a year (2023).
  2. 66 billion liters = 66,000,000,000 liters; 66,000,000,000 liters ÷ 3.785411784 liters a gallon = 17,435,355,456 gallons; 17,435,355,456 gallons a year ÷ 365 = 47,768,097 gallons a day.
  3. Water used at home each day per person, United States: 82 gallons a day per person (2015).
  4. 47,768,097.14 ÷ 82 = 582,537.77 (gallons a day over gallons a day).

Sources:

The two rows are from different years: the figure is for 2023 and the unit for 2015.

The two count different water: the data center figure is water consumed, the part evaporated or otherwise taken out of the local water supply, and the EPA's is water used at home, which the EPA does not split into water consumed and water returned.

A comparison is arithmetic on two published rows and is never a new fact (how comparisons are made).

  1. Direct water consumed on site by US data centers in 2023: 66 billion liters a year (2023).
  2. 66 billion liters = 66,000,000,000 liters; 66,000,000,000 liters ÷ 3.785411784 liters a gallon = 17,435,355,456 gallons; 17,435,355,456 gallons a year ÷ 365 = 47,768,097 gallons a day.
  3. Water used at home each day by the average American family, more than: 300 gallons a day.
  4. 47,768,097.14 ÷ 300 = 159,226.99 (gallons a day over gallons a day).

Sources:

The figure is for 2023; the unit's source gives no year for it.

The two count different water: the data center figure is water consumed, the part evaporated or otherwise taken out of the local water supply, and the EPA's is water used at home, which the EPA does not split into water consumed and water returned.

A comparison is arithmetic on two published rows and is never a new fact (how comparisons are made).

What others project

These are other groups' forecasts, not the record's figures.

Who and whenFigureWhat it measuresIn the record's yardstickAbout the maker
arkansasonline.com (opens in a new tab), September 2026 65,000,000,000 USD USD No yardstick of this kind
LBNL for DOE, 2024 United States Data Center Energy Usage Report (opens in a new tab), December 2024 6.7 to 12 percent percent of US electricity consumption No yardstick of this kind A projection, never a count.
LBNL for DOE, 2024 United States Data Center Energy Usage Report (opens in a new tab), December 2024 325 to 580 TWh annual energy About 6.5 to 12 times the electricity New York City used in 2024 Federal laboratory for the Department of Energy; the report was requested by Congress in the Energy Act of 2020. A projection, never a count.
Bloom Energy, 2025 Data Center Power Report (opens in a new tab), January 2025 35 GW capacity About 3.4 times New York City's summer peak demand in 2024 Survey of about 100 data center leaders (data collected April to November 2024) by a company that sells onsite power; the release compares the 35 GW to over six times the average energy capacity New York City uses annually, a comparison of capacity to energy the record does not make.
Rystad Energy, Data centers reshape US power sector (opens in a new tab), February 2025 100 GW capacity About 9.8 times New York City's summer peak demand in 2024 Over 100 GW; a consultancy's count of announcements, not of built capacity.
Rystad Energy, Data centers reshape US power sector (opens in a new tab), February 2025 395 to 660 TWh annual energy About 7.9 to 13 times the electricity New York City used in 2024 A consultancy's projection.
The arithmetic

LBNL for DOE, 2024 United States Data Center Energy Usage Report: 325 to 580 TWh

Math
  1. Electricity use projected for US data centers in 2028: 325 to 580 TWh a year (2028).
  2. 325 TWh = 325,000,000,000 kWh; high end 580 TWh = 580,000,000,000 kWh.
  3. New York City (NYISO Zone J) annual electricity use, actual, 2024: 49,703 GWh a year (2024).
  4. 49,703 GWh = 49,703,000,000 kWh.
  5. 325,000,000,000 ÷ 49,703,000,000 = 6.54; high end 580,000,000,000 ÷ 49,703,000,000 = 11.67 (kWh a year over kWh a year).

Sources:

The two rows are from different years: the figure is for 2028 and the unit for 2024.

A comparison is arithmetic on two published rows and is never a new fact (how comparisons are made).

Bloom Energy, 2025 Data Center Power Report: 35 GW

Math
  1. US data center capacity Bloom Energy expects to be announced within five years of January 2025: 35 GW (2030).
  2. 35 GW × 1,000 = 35,000 MW.
  3. New York City (NYISO Zone J) summer peak demand, actual, 2024: 10,245 MW (2024).
  4. 35,000 ÷ 10,245 = 3.42 (MW over MW).

Sources:

The two rows are from different years: the figure is for 2030 and the unit for 2024.

A comparison is arithmetic on two published rows and is never a new fact (how comparisons are made).

Rystad Energy, Data centers reshape US power sector: 100 GW

Math
  1. US data center land acquisition and construction announcements with commercial operation dates from 2024 to 2035, over: 100 GW (2035).
  2. 100 GW × 1,000 = 100,000 MW.
  3. New York City (NYISO Zone J) summer peak demand, actual, 2024: 10,245 MW (2024).
  4. 100,000 ÷ 10,245 = 9.76 (MW over MW).

Sources:

The two rows are from different years: the figure is for 2035 and the unit for 2024.

A comparison is arithmetic on two published rows and is never a new fact (how comparisons are made).

Rystad Energy, Data centers reshape US power sector: 395 to 660 TWh

Math
  1. Electricity US data centers are projected to require by 2035 (Rystad Energy): 395 to 660 TWh a year (2035).
  2. 395 TWh = 395,000,000,000 kWh; high end 660 TWh = 660,000,000,000 kWh.
  3. New York City (NYISO Zone J) annual electricity use, actual, 2024: 49,703 GWh a year (2024).
  4. 49,703 GWh = 49,703,000,000 kWh.
  5. 395,000,000,000 ÷ 49,703,000,000 = 7.95; high end 660,000,000,000 ÷ 49,703,000,000 = 13.28 (kWh a year over kWh a year).

Sources:

The two rows are from different years: the figure is for 2035 and the unit for 2024.

A comparison is arithmetic on two published rows and is never a new fact (how comparisons are made).

Units: New York City (NYISO Zone J) annual electricity use, actual, 2024: 49,703 GWh a year (2024). NYISO, 2025 Load and Capacity Data Report (Gold Book), Table I-2, Baseline Annual Energy, Historical and Forecast, page 23, Zone J, 2024 row. Water used at home each day by the average American family, more than: 300 gallons a day. EPA WaterSense, How We Use Water, the page's opening paragraph (page last updated August 4, 2026). Average monthly electricity consumption per residential customer, United States: 863 kWh a month per residential customer (2024). EIA, Table 5A, 2024 edition, Table 5A, Residential Average Monthly Bill by Census Division and State, 2024 edition, U.S. Total row (page 2 of 2). New York City (NYISO Zone J) summer peak demand, actual, 2024: 10,245 MW (2024). NYISO, 2025 Load and Capacity Data Report (Gold Book), Table I-4a, Baseline Summer Non-Coincident Peak Demand, Historical and Forecast, page 26, Zone J, 2024 row. Water used at home each day per person, United States: 82 gallons a day per person (2015). EPA WaterSense, Statistics and Facts, Statistics and Facts, the first bullet under Water Use (page last updated March 11, 2026). Average monthly electricity consumption per residential customer, United States, 2023: 855 kWh a month per residential customer (2023). EIA, Table 5A, 2023 edition, Table 5A, Residential Average Monthly Bill by Census Division and State, 2023 edition, U.S. Total row (page 2 of 2), read from the Internet Archive's capture of EIA's own PDF of May 24, 2025.

Researcher view · basis and source tier on every row · docket and Census GEOIDs · citation and export tools

Commercial and bulk data