NextEra and Brookfield Kentucky Data Center Campus
Paducah, McCracken County, KYDeveloper: NextEra / BrookfieldCensus GEOID 21145
- Stage
- Proposed
- Undisclosed in public filings
- Power, Land, Buildings, Water
NextEra and Brookfield plan a $100 billion data center campus in Kentucky. It is reported; the record holds no sourced date for when it reached that stage.
How much power it needs, how much water it would use and who would use it have not been disclosed.
Tap a pin for the data center, the parcel for its record
- This record: Proposed, ringed
- data center
- Dashed edge: the exact site is not in the public record
- Smaller pins: 6 other published records in Kentucky
Details
- this record's location, ringed
- parcel outline, from the county parcel record
- city limits, U.S. Census Bureau, on a town level record
- county boundary
The other pins are the published projects in the same state, each in its stage color. The imagery beneath is the USGS national orthoimagery, public domain, shown so the land around the site can be read.
How to read this page. Every fact links to the source it rests on; a number in brackets is its place in the source list. A figure no source gives reads Not disclosed, and nothing is estimated. Where sources give different figures, each is shown with who gave it, and another source's figure never stands in for the record's own. Entries are added and never overwritten; corrections are listed under What happened.
What is known
Each figure as its source gave it. The number in brackets is its place in the source list.
- Who leads it
- NextEra / Brookfield as stated by the source
- Undisclosed in public filings
- Land, Buildings, Power it would draw, Water, Who would use it, Jobs once it runs, Tax each year Reported by others: 4.6 GW (Daily Energy Insider (opens in a new tab)); 2.6 GW (Daily Energy Insider (opens in a new tab)), and 3 more under Comparisons. Their figure, not the record's.
Every field, with who said it and when (Researcher view)
Impact figures
| Field | Value | Who says so | Source | Last verified |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| How much power it needs | ||||
| How much water it would use | ||||
| How loud it would be | ||||
| Jobs once it runs | ||||
| Tax it would pay each year |
The record's fields
| Field | Value | Who says so | Source | Last verified |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Who is building it | NextEra / Brookfield | as stated by the source | October 22, 2026 | |
| Who is constructing it | ||||
| How much land | ||||
| Buildings | ||||
| Where its power comes from | ||||
| Grid connection | ||||
| How it is cooled |
How much power it needs, also reported: 4.6 GW, 2026 (Daily Energy Insider (opens in a new tab): Project will generate 4.6 gigawatts of newly built generation resources); 2.6 GW, 2026 (Daily Energy Insider (opens in a new tab): Project will include 2.6 gigawatts battery energy storage); 2 GW, 2026 (Daily Energy Insider (opens in a new tab): Project will include 2 gigawatts natural gas generation); 1.8 GW, 2026 (Daily Energy Insider (opens in a new tab): Campus will provide 1.8 gigawatts utility capacity); 1.2 GW, 2026 (Daily Energy Insider (opens in a new tab): Campus will provide 1.2 gigawatts computing capacity) .
Jobs once it runs, also reported: 8,000 jobs, 2026 (WPSD Local 6 (opens in a new tab): The Paducah American Energy Hub data center at the Department of Energy Paducah Site is a historic $100 billion investment that will potentially create 8,000 construction jobs and 600 permanent ones., Daily Energy Insider (opens in a new tab): Project expected to create 8000 construction jobs); 600 jobs, 2026 (Daily Energy Insider (opens in a new tab): Project expected to create 600 permanent operations jobs) .
A blank value cell means not disclosed by any source on file; a blank basis cell means the source gave the figure without saying on what basis.
The developer's figure is what the company said; what a permit allows is the ceiling a permit sets; measured means observed. Water is in gallons a day or a year, whichever the source stated; a tax claim given as a range shows both ends, each linked to the source that gave it.
Still not public, and where it would show up
The record adds each the day a source gives it. Why these documents.
- Water use A state water right filing or a water supply agreement.
- Who would use it A lease announcement or a tenant named in a filing.
- Power the campus would draw A utility or public service commission docket, an interconnection filing, or an air permit for an on site plant.
- Jobs and tax An incentive agreement, a county's economic development filing or a fiscal note.
What happened
No dated entry is on the record yet.
4 corrections to this record
Every correction, with its reason
Every correction on the record is on the corrections page.
The site
Where in Paducah is not in the public record. The pin marks the center of Paducah, not a building, and the outline is McCracken County.
- Where
- Paducah, McCracken County, Kentucky
- How exactly it is located
- Town level, the center of the city
- The parcel
- No parcel outline in the public record
- Nearest homes
- Not computed for a record placed at a place center
- Nearest records
- Nearest records are not computed for a record placed at the center of its town.
Comparisons
3 metrics with more than one figure
Capacity at full buildout
5 figures, 1 sourceShow each source's words
- 4.6 GW, Daily Energy Insider: Project will generate 4.6 gigawatts of newly built generation resources
- 2.6 GW, Daily Energy Insider: Project will include 2.6 gigawatts battery energy storage
- 2 GW, Daily Energy Insider: Project will include 2 gigawatts natural gas generation
- 1.8 GW, Daily Energy Insider: Campus will provide 1.8 gigawatts utility capacity
- 1.2 GW, Daily Energy Insider: Campus will provide 1.2 gigawatts computing capacity
Construction jobs
1 figure, 1 sourceShow each source's words
- 8,000 jobs, Daily Energy Insider: Project expected to create 8000 construction jobs
Permanent jobs
2 figures, 2 sourcesShow each source's words
- 8,000 jobs, WPSD Local 6: The Paducah American Energy Hub data center at the Department of Energy Paducah Site is a historic $100 billion investment that will potentially create 8,000 construction jobs and 600 permanent ones.
- 600 jobs, Daily Energy Insider: Project expected to create 600 permanent operations jobs
Keep going
Questions about this project
7 questions answered from the record
How big is NextEra and Brookfield Kentucky Data Center Campus?
-
Not disclosed. No source on file gives its capacity, its acreage or a count of buildings. What the record holds instead is under Disclosed.
Who is building NextEra and Brookfield Kentucky Data Center Campus?
-
NextEra / Brookfield is the developer. No construction contractor is named on the record yet.
Who will use NextEra and Brookfield Kentucky Data Center Campus?
-
Not disclosed. No source on file names a tenant, says whether the site is single or multi tenant, or states what it is for. The record keeps the use as not disclosed until one does; see Who it serves.
How much power and water does NextEra and Brookfield Kentucky Data Center Campus say it needs?
-
Power: not disclosed by any source on file. Water: not disclosed by any source on file.
Where does NextEra and Brookfield Kentucky Data Center Campus stand today?
-
It is reported; the date it reached that stage is not sourced, only the day a page was read. No dated entry is on the record yet.
What has Paducah or McCracken County decided about it?
-
No decision by Paducah or McCracken County about data centers is on the record. The McCracken County page and the Kentucky scorecard list every rated row the day a person publishes one.
What is still unknown about NextEra and Brookfield Kentucky Data Center Campus?
-
Not disclosed by any source on file: how much power it needs, how much water it would use, how loud it would be, jobs once it runs, tax it would pay each year, who is constructing it, how much land, buildings, where its power comes from, grid connection, how it is cooled. No missing primary document is listed for this record yet; What the record lacks is where one appears when a person names it.
Sources
Reporting
- Brookfield, NextEra to Develop $100B Data Center Campus at DOE's Paducah Site, Paired With 4.6 GW of Dedicated Generation (opens in a new tab), www.powermag.com, August 17, 2026, news outlet
- NextEra, Brookfield Plan $100 Billion Kentucky Data Center Campus - EnergyNow.com (opens in a new tab), EnergyNow.com, September 4, 2026, news outlet
- NextEra, Brookfield lead $100B plan for AI data center campus at former Kentucky nuclear site - Daily Energy Insider (opens in a new tab), Daily Energy Insider, September 6, 2026, news outlet
3 sources on file.
About this data
Last verified , first recorded . Every correction is logged on the corrections page and under What happened. Report a correction · Send a tip about NextEra and Brookfield Kentucky Data Center Campus
Cite this page
Data Center Record, "NextEra and Brookfield Kentucky Data Center Campus", https://datacenterrecord.org/projects/nextera-and-brookfield-kentucky-data-center-campus-ky. Data: Data Center Record, datacenterrecord.org, CC BY-NC 4.0.
The structured rows are CC BY-NC 4.0. Link to this page; that is what turns a reuse into a citation. Prose stays under copyright.
For researchers
- Stage
- Proposed
- Tier
- built from one source
- Tags
- Built from one source
- Coordinates
- 37.07089, -88.64448
- How the location is known
- Location is the city center; exact site not disclosed.
- Published
- September 5, 2026
- Last verified
- October 22, 2026
- Undisclosed in public filings
- Location source, Coordinate source, Location source number, Location last verified, EPA registry id, Uses, Tenancy, Cooling, How capacity was disclosed, How water was disclosed, How acreage was disclosed, Interconnection, Capacity, if disclosed, Rating of the county's rows