Delaware City Data Center
A state board upheld the environmental denial of a data center proposed for Delaware City, confirming rejection of the project on environmental grounds; the project was also exempted from new state data center regulations that took effect in March 2026. It is reported; the record holds no sourced date for when it reached that stage.
How much water it would use and who would use it have not been disclosed.
How to read this page. Every fact links to the source it rests on; a number in brackets is its place in the source list. A figure no source gives reads Not disclosed, and nothing is estimated. Where sources give different figures, each is shown with who gave it, and another source's figure never stands in for the record's own. Entries are added and never overwritten; corrections are listed under What happened.
What is known
Each figure as its source gave it. The number in brackets is its place in the source list.
- Land
- Not disclosed
- Power it would draw
- 1.2 GW
- third party estimate [1]
- Water
- Not disclosed
- Who leads it
- Not disclosed
- Who would use it
- Not disclosed
- Jobs once it runs
- Not disclosed
- Tax each year
- Not disclosed
Every field, with who said it and when (Researcher view)
Impact figures
| Field | Value | Who says so | Source | Last verified |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| How much power it needs | 1.2 GW | third party estimate | [1] baytobaynews.com | September 25, 2026 |
| How much water it would use | Not disclosed | |||
| How loud it would be | Not disclosed | |||
| Jobs once it runs | Not disclosed | |||
| Tax it would pay each year | Not disclosed |
The record's fields
| Field | Value | Who says so | Source | Last verified |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Who is building it | Not disclosed | |||
| Who is constructing it | Not disclosed | |||
| How much land | Not disclosed | |||
| Where its power comes from | Not disclosed | |||
| Grid connection | Not disclosed | |||
| How it is cooled | Not disclosed |
Jobs once it runs, also reported: 700 jobs, 2026 (Technical.ly: Project Washington projected 700 permanent jobs and 3,500 construction jobs); 106 jobs per 100,000 square feet, 2026 (Technical.ly: Merck biologics center projects at least 106 permanent jobs per 100,000 square feet); 20 jobs, 2026 (Technical.ly: A typical 250,000 square foot data center employed about 50 full time workers in 2024, or about 20 jobs per 100,000 square feet); 12 jobs per 100,000 square feet, 2026 (Technical.ly: Project Washington projects about 12 permanent jobs per 100,000 square feet) .
The developer's figure is what the company said; what a permit allows is the ceiling a permit sets; measured means observed. Water is in gallons a day or a year, whichever the source stated; a tax claim given as a range shows both ends, each linked to the source that gave it.
Still not public, and where it would show up
The record adds each the day a source gives it. Why these documents.
- Water useA state water right filing or a water supply agreement.
- Who would use itA lease announcement or a tenant named in a filing.
- Who is behind itA land record, a zoning application or a company's own announcement.
- Jobs and taxAn incentive agreement, a county's economic development filing or a fiscal note.
What was decided
Acts of New Castle County and Delaware City about data centers, on the record with their source. A rule about the area is not a decision about this record.
| Date | Who | Decision | Source |
|---|---|---|---|
| New Castle County | Commissioners debated whether complaint triggered acoustical testing should be mandatory versus discretionary. | citizenportal.ai | |
| New Castle County | Planning Commission reviewed draft ordinance 568 for data center standards including noise, buffers, and enforcement. | citizenportal.ai | |
| New Castle County | New Castle County put similar requirements in place after months of public conflict over a controversial project near Delaware City | yahoo.com |
What happened
No dated entry is on the record yet.
2 corrections to this record
Every correction, with its reason
-
· the kind of source of a history entry
The source was labeled with the Google News search that found it; it now carries its outlet's tier (the record's rules of 2026-09-23). The link did not change. The day's label corrections.
-
· the kind of source of a history entry
The source was labeled with the Google News search that found it; it now carries its outlet's tier (the record's rules of 2026-09-23). The link did not change. The day's label corrections.
Every correction on the record is on the corrections page.
What was said
Paul Waddell, Dover electric director, said the city needs better understanding of how data centers might affect the electric grid and utility systems
The site
Where in New Castle County is not in the public record. The pin marks the county seat, not a building, and the outline is the county.
Tap a pin for the data center, the parcel for its record
- This record: Proposed, ringed
- data center
- Dashed edge: the exact site is not in the public record
Details
- this record's location, ringed
- parcel outline, from the county parcel record
- city limits, U.S. Census Bureau, on a town level record
- county boundary
The other pins are the published projects in the same state, each in its stage color. The imagery beneath is the USGS national orthoimagery, public domain, shown so the land around the site can be read.
- Where
- Delaware City, New Castle County, Delaware
- How exactly it is located
- County level, the county seat
- The parcel
- No parcel outline in the public record
- Nearest homes
- Not computed for a record placed at a place center
- Nearest records
- Nearest records are not computed for a record placed at a county seat.
Comparisons
1 metric with more than one figure
Permanent jobs
4 figures, 1 sourceShow each source's words
- 700 jobs, Technical.ly: Project Washington projected 700 permanent jobs and 3,500 construction jobs
- 106 jobs per 100,000 square feet, Technical.ly: Merck biologics center projects at least 106 permanent jobs per 100,000 square feet
- 20 jobs, Technical.ly: A typical 250,000 square foot data center employed about 50 full time workers in 2024, or about 20 jobs per 100,000 square feet
- 12 jobs per 100,000 square feet, Technical.ly: Project Washington projects about 12 permanent jobs per 100,000 square feet
Questions about this project
7 questions answered from the record
How big is Delaware City Data Center?
-
The record has one measure of its size: 1.2 GW (third party estimate, source). Its acreage is not disclosed.
Who is building Delaware City Data Center?
-
Not disclosed. No source on file names the developer. The sources read for this record are listed under Sources.
Who will use Delaware City Data Center?
-
Not disclosed. No source on file names a tenant, says whether the site is single or multi tenant, or states what it is for. The record keeps the use as not disclosed until one does; see Who it serves.
How much power and water does Delaware City Data Center say it needs?
-
Power: 1.2 GW (third party estimate, source). Water: not disclosed by any source on file.
Where does Delaware City Data Center stand today?
-
It is reported; the date it reached that stage is not sourced, only the day a page was read. No dated entry is on the record yet.
What has Delaware City or New Castle County decided about it?
-
New Castle County: Commissioners debated whether complaint triggered acoustical testing should be mandatory versus discretionary. (reported September 16, 2026, source); and New Castle County: Planning Commission reviewed draft ordinance 568 for data center standards including noise, buffers, and enforcement. (reported September 16, 2026, source). 3 events are on the county's rows; a rule about the area is not a decision about this record.
What is still unknown about Delaware City Data Center?
-
Not disclosed by any source on file: how much water it would use, how loud it would be, jobs once it runs, tax it would pay each year, who is building it, who is constructing it, how much land, where its power comes from, grid connection, how it is cooled. No missing primary document is listed for this record yet; What the record lacks is where one appears when a person names it.
Sources
Reporting
- Delaware City data center developers still looking to move forward amid setbacks, baytobaynews.com, April 6, 2026, local outlet
- Delaware city advances 18-month data center moratorium amid power, water, and land fears - Yahoo, Yahoo, August 20, 2026, local outlet
- Delaware City data center environmental denial upheld by state board - Spotlight Delaware, Spotlight Delaware, March 26, 2026, local outlet
- New data center regulations go into effect, but not for Delaware City proposal - Spotlight Delaware, Spotlight Delaware, March 19, 2026, local outlet
4 sources on file.
Cite this record
Data Center Record, "Delaware City Data Center", https://datacenterrecord.org/projects/delaware-city-data-center-de, last verified September 25, 2026.
Cite this page
Data Center Record, "Delaware City Data Center", https://datacenterrecord.org/projects/delaware-city-data-center-de. Data: Data Center Record, datacenterrecord.org, CC BY 4.0.
The structured rows are CC BY 4.0. Link to this page; that is what turns a reuse into a citation. Prose stays under copyright.
For researchers
- Slug
- delaware-city-data-center-de
- Status value
- rumored
- Stage
- Proposed
- Tier
- skeleton
- Tags
- skeleton
- Place id
- us/de/new-castle-county/delaware-city
- Coordinates
- 39.74833, -75.55139
- Location precision
- county
- Location source
- County seat (Wilmington), Wikidata, placed at county level
- Coordinate source
- wikidata county seat
- Location source number
- Not disclosed
- Location last verified
- September 16, 2026
- EPA registry id
- Not disclosed
- Use type values
- not_disclosed
- Tenancy value
- not_disclosed
- Cooling type value
- not_disclosed
- Capacity basis
- third_party_estimate
- Water basis
- not_disclosed, gallons_per_day
- Acreage basis
- Not disclosed
- Interconnection value
- not_disclosed
- Capacity, if disclosed
- 1.2 GW, third party estimate
- Rating of the county's rows
- Not disclosed
- Published
- 2026-09-05
- Last verified
- 2026-09-25