Data Center Record.

Reported Built from one source

Amazon Canton Data Centers

Amazon operates multiple data centers in Canton, Madison County, and is involved in a tax valuation dispute with the county while also planning a $25 billion expansion in Mississippi creating 2,000 jobs. It is reported, as reported June 11, 2026.

How much power it needs, how much water it would use and who would use it have not been disclosed.

Last verified · 11 sources, 0 primary · A skeleton record: built from one source, not yet reviewed in depth by a person. · How to read this page

How to read this page. Every fact links to the source it rests on; a number in brackets is its place in the source list. A figure no source gives reads Not disclosed, and nothing is estimated. Where sources give different figures, each is shown with who gave it, and another source's figure never stands in for the record's own. Entries are added and never overwritten; corrections are listed under What happened.

What is known

Each figure as its source gave it. The number in brackets is its place in the source list.

Land
Not disclosed
Power it would draw
Not disclosed
Water
Not disclosed
Who leads it
Amazon
as stated by the source
Who would use it
Not disclosed
Jobs once it runs
Not disclosed
Tax each year
Not disclosed
Every field, with who said it and when (Researcher view)

Impact figures

FieldValueWho says soSourceLast verified
How much power it needs Not disclosed
How much water it would use Not disclosed
How loud it would be Not disclosed
Jobs once it runs Not disclosed
Tax it would pay each year Not disclosed

The record's fields

FieldValueWho says soSourceLast verified
Who is building it Amazon as stated by the source September 17, 2026
Who is constructing it Not disclosed
How much land Not disclosed
Where its power comes from Not disclosed
Grid connection Not disclosed
How it is cooled Not disclosed

The developer's figure is what the company said; what a permit allows is the ceiling a permit sets; measured means observed. Water is in gallons a day or a year, whichever the source stated; a tax claim given as a range shows both ends, each linked to the source that gave it.

Still not public, and where it would show up

The record adds each the day a source gives it. Why these documents.

  • Water useA state water right filing or a water supply agreement.
  • Who would use itA lease announcement or a tenant named in a filing.
  • Power the campus would drawA utility or public service commission docket, an interconnection filing, or an air permit for an on site plant.
  • Jobs and taxAn incentive agreement, a county's economic development filing or a fiscal note.

What was decided

Acts of Madison County and Canton about data centers, on the record with their source. A rule about the area is not a decision about this record.

DateWhoDecisionSource
Madison County The Madison County Board of Aldermen upheld the tax assessor's valuation of $292 million per data center desotocountynews.com
Madison County Amazon will pay discounted fees of one third of typical property taxes for the first 10 years of each data center's operations over a 30 year term desotocountynews.com

What happened

  1. · Status: rumored (source date; the content gives no date of its own)

    Amazon established a workforce partnership for its Mississippi data centers [10]

The full Amazon Canton Data Centers timeline, in order

15 corrections to this record

Every correction, with its reason
  1. · the summary of a record items row

    the record's rules: the sentence copied its source, was about its headline or carried a number the card's facts do not; written again from the card's facts, on the editor's word The old and new text.

  2. · the kind of source of a history entry

    The source was labeled with the Google News search that found it; it now carries its outlet's tier (the record's rules of 2026-09-23). The link did not change. The day's label corrections.

  3. · the kind of source of a history entry

    The source was labeled with the Google News search that found it; it now carries its outlet's tier (the record's rules of 2026-09-23). The link did not change. The day's label corrections.

  4. · the kind of source of a history entry

    The source was labeled with the Google News search that found it; it now carries its outlet's tier (the record's rules of 2026-09-23). The link did not change. The day's label corrections.

  5. · the kind of source of a history entry

    The source was labeled with the Google News search that found it; it now carries its outlet's tier (the record's rules of 2026-09-23). The link did not change. The day's label corrections.

  6. · the kind of source of a history entry

    The source was labeled with the Google News search that found it; it now carries its outlet's tier (the record's rules of 2026-09-23). The link did not change. The day's label corrections.

  7. · the kind of source of a history entry

    The source was labeled with the Google News search that found it; it now carries its outlet's tier (the record's rules of 2026-09-23). The link did not change. The day's label corrections.

  8. · the kind of source of a history entry

    The source was labeled with the Google News search that found it; it now carries its outlet's tier (the record's rules of 2026-09-23). The link did not change. The day's label corrections.

  9. · the kind of source of a history entry

    The source was labeled with the Google News search that found it; it now carries its outlet's tier (the record's rules of 2026-09-23). The link did not change. The day's label corrections.

  10. · the kind of source of a history entry

    The source was labeled with the Google News search that found it; it now carries its outlet's tier (the record's rules of 2026-09-23). The link did not change. The day's label corrections.

  11. · the kind of source of a history entry

    The source was labeled with the Google News search that found it; it now carries its outlet's tier (the record's rules of 2026-09-23). The link did not change. The day's label corrections.

  12. · the kind of source of a history entry

    Tier after resolution (2026-09-21). The source on file is clarionledger.com, the publisher's own page. The item reached the record through Google News: "data center" Mississippi, which the record carries at tier 1, and the approve copied the feed's tier onto this row. The tier now comes from the outlet, which the record already carries at tier 4 on 1 row of monitoring_sources. DECISIONS section 7. The speaker, the claim, the date and the url are unchanged. The day's label corrections.

  13. · the kind of source of a history entry

    Tier after resolution (2026-09-21). The source on file is clarionledger.com, the publisher's own page. The item reached the record through Google News: "data center" Mississippi, which the record carries at tier 1, and the approve copied the feed's tier onto this row. The tier now comes from the outlet, which the record already carries at tier 4 on 1 row of monitoring_sources. DECISIONS section 7. The speaker, the claim, the date and the url are unchanged. The day's label corrections.

  14. · the draft of a status history row

    Published on a project that was still a draft skeleton and still short of the record's skeleton minimum rule; returned to draft on 2026-09-17 pending the project meeting the rule or a person's approval. The old and new text.

  15. · the draft of a status history row

    Published on a project that was still a draft skeleton and still short of the record's skeleton minimum rule; returned to draft on 2026-09-17 pending the project meeting the rule or a person's approval. The old and new text.

Every correction on the record is on the corrections page.

What was said

Drew Marsh, Entergy chair and CEO, said large customers like data centers help pick up grid maintenance costs existing customers would otherwise bear alone
Drew Marsh, chair and CEO, Entergy · August 27, 2026 · paraphrased · PR Newswire local outlet
Data centers pay 100% of their own grid connection and usage costs plus create additional benefits like tax revenues, jobs, and bill assistance contributions
Entergy · August 27, 2026 · paraphrased · PR Newswire local outlet

Every statement about data centers in Mississippi, by speaker

1 more statement on this page

Amazon press release about Ridgeland and Canton projects states commitment to building data centers responsibly in Mississippi

April 17, 2026, www.facebook.com · www.facebook.com local outlet · the record (Paraphrased; said in the source itself)

The site

Where in Madison County is not in the public record. The pin marks the county seat, not a building, and the outline is the county.

  • This record: Proposed, ringed
  • data center
  • Dashed edge: the exact site is not in the public record
  • Smaller pins: 6 other published records in Mississippi
Details
  • this record's location, ringed
  • parcel outline, from the county parcel record
  • city limits, U.S. Census Bureau, on a town level record
  • county boundary

The other pins are the published projects in the same state, each in its stage color. The imagery beneath is the USGS national orthoimagery, public domain, shown so the land around the site can be read.

Where
Canton, Madison County, Mississippi
How exactly it is located
County level, the county seat
The parcel
No parcel outline in the public record
Nearest homes
Not computed for a record placed at a place center
Nearest records
Nearest records are not computed for a record placed at a county seat.

Questions about this project

4 questions answered from the record

Answered from the rows on this page.

Who is building Amazon Canton Data Centers?

Amazon is the developer. No construction contractor is named on the record yet.

How much power and water does Amazon Canton Data Centers say it needs?

Power: not disclosed by any source on file. Water: not disclosed by any source on file.

Where does Amazon Canton Data Centers stand today?

It is reported, as reported June 11, 2026. The newest entry, reported June 11, 2026: Amazon established a workforce partnership for its Mississippi data centers [10].

What has Canton or Madison County decided about it?

Madison County: The Madison County Board of Aldermen upheld the tax assessor's valuation of $292 million per data center (reported August 25, 2026, source); and Madison County: Amazon will pay discounted fees of one third of typical property taxes for the first 10 years of each data center's operations over a 30 year term (reported August 25, 2026, source). 2 events are on the county's rows; a rule about the area is not a decision about this record.

Sources

Primary documents first: filings, minutes, dockets and official pages. Then reporting. The numbers are the ones the entries above cite.

Reporting

  1. Amazon fights Madison County to lower data center fees - The Clarion-Ledger, The Clarion-Ledger, September 3, 2026, local outlet
  2. Madison County, Amazon spar over data center tax values - WLBT, WLBT, August 18, 2026, local outlet
  3. Entergy customers begin seeing benefits from data center agreements, Fair Share Plus pledge keeps money in customers' pockets - PR Newswire, PR Newswire, August 27, 2026, local outlet
  4. Madison County Denies Amazon’s Valuation Appeal for Canton Data Centers, Preserving Millions in Tax Revenue - Mississippi Free Press, Mississippi Free Press, August 19, 2026, local outlet
  5. Where do Amazon’s data centers in Mississippi stand? - Mississippi Today, Mississippi Today, June 9, 2026, local outlet
  6. Entergy says Amazon's $25 billion MS expansion is helping your power bill - The Clarion-Ledger, The Clarion-Ledger, August 27, 2026, local outlet
  7. Amazon plans to invest $25 billion in Mississippi data centers, create 2,000 jobs - About Amazon, About Amazon, April 9, 2026, local outlet
  8. ‘When Amazon comes to town.’ Clinton and company host ribbon cutting for new data center - Mississippi Today, Mississippi Today, June 9, 2026, local outlet
  9. ‘Exciting day in Mississippi’: Ribbon-cutting marks opening of Clinton data center - WLBT, WLBT, June 9, 2026, local outlet
  10. A new workforce partnership, Amazon’s data centers: Mississippi Marketplace - Mississippi Today, Mississippi Today, June 11, 2026, local outlet
  11. Amazon fights Madison County to lower data center fees - The Clarion Ledger, The Clarion-Ledger, September 3, 2026, local outlet

11 sources on file.

Cite this record

Data Center Record, "Amazon Canton Data Centers", https://datacenterrecord.org/projects/amazon-canton-data-centers-ms, last verified September 17, 2026.

Last verified , first recorded . Every correction is logged on the corrections page and under What happened.

Cite this page

Data Center Record, "Amazon Canton Data Centers", https://datacenterrecord.org/projects/amazon-canton-data-centers-ms. Data: Data Center Record, datacenterrecord.org, CC BY 4.0.

The structured rows are CC BY 4.0. Link to this page; that is what turns a reuse into a citation. Prose stays under copyright.

Report a change
For researchers
Slug
amazon-canton-data-centers-ms
Status value
rumored
Stage
Proposed
Tier
skeleton
Tags
skeleton
Place id
us/ms/madison-county/canton
Coordinates
32.6119, -90.0317
Location precision
county
Location source
County seat (Canton), Wikidata, placed at county level
Coordinate source
wikidata county seat
Location source number
Not disclosed
Location last verified
September 16, 2026
EPA registry id
Not disclosed
Use type values
not_disclosed
Tenancy value
not_disclosed
Cooling type value
not_disclosed
Capacity basis
not_disclosed
Water basis
not_disclosed, gallons_per_day
Acreage basis
Not disclosed
Interconnection value
not_disclosed
Capacity, if disclosed
Not disclosed
Rating of the county's rows
Not disclosed
Published
2026-09-05
Last verified
2026-09-17