Holyoke Paper Mill Data Center
A developer plans a $200 million data center at a former Holyoke paper mill, while city councilors are considering a ban on data centers. It is reported, as reported September 11, 2026.
How much power it needs, how much water it would use and who would use it have not been disclosed.
How to read this page. Every fact links to the source it rests on; a number in brackets is its place in the source list. A figure no source gives reads Not disclosed, and nothing is estimated. Where sources give different figures, each is shown with who gave it, and another source's figure never stands in for the record's own. Entries are added and never overwritten; corrections are listed under What happened.
What is known
Each figure as its source gave it. The number in brackets is its place in the source list.
- Land
- Not disclosed
- Water
- Not disclosed
- Reported by others: 30,000 gallons per day (WBUR). Their figure, not the record's.
- Who leads it
- Not disclosed
- Who would use it
- Not disclosed
- Jobs once it runs
- Not disclosed
- Tax each year
- Not disclosed
Every field, with who said it and when (Researcher view)
Impact figures
| Field | Value | Who says so | Source | Last verified |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| How much power it needs | Not disclosed | |||
| How much water it would use | Not disclosed | |||
| How loud it would be | Not disclosed | |||
| Jobs once it runs | Not disclosed | |||
| Tax it would pay each year | Not disclosed |
The record's fields
| Field | Value | Who says so | Source | Last verified |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Who is building it | Not disclosed | |||
| Who is constructing it | Not disclosed | |||
| How much land | Not disclosed | |||
| Where its power comes from | Not disclosed | |||
| Grid connection | Not disclosed | |||
| How it is cooled | Not disclosed |
How much power it needs, also reported: 12 MW, 2026 (WBUR: Data center is permitted to draw up to 12 megawatts of energy from the grid) .
How much water it would use, also reported: 30,000 gallons per day, 2026 (WBUR: Data center consumes between 20 to 30,000 gallons of water per day) .
The developer's figure is what the company said; what a permit allows is the ceiling a permit sets; measured means observed. Water is in gallons a day or a year, whichever the source stated; a tax claim given as a range shows both ends, each linked to the source that gave it.
Still not public, and where it would show up
The record adds each the day a source gives it. Why these documents.
- Water useA state water right filing or a water supply agreement.
- Who would use itA lease announcement or a tenant named in a filing.
- Power the campus would drawA utility or public service commission docket, an interconnection filing, or an air permit for an on site plant.
- Who is behind itA land record, a zoning application or a company's own announcement.
- Jobs and taxAn incentive agreement, a county's economic development filing or a fiscal note.
What was decided
Acts of Hampden County and Holyoke about data centers, on the record with their source. A rule about the area is not a decision about this record.
| Date | Who | Decision | Source |
|---|---|---|---|
| Westfield | City councilors in Westfield voted earlier this year to enact a one year moratorium on additional data centers | bostonglobe.com |
What happened
-
· Status: rumored (source date; the content gives no date of its own)
Facility received highest rating for energy efficiency from U.S. Green Building Council in 2013 [3]
The full Holyoke Paper Mill Data Center timeline, in order
2 corrections to this record
Every correction, with its reason
-
· the kind of source of a history entry
The source was labeled with the Google News search that found it; it now carries its outlet's tier (the record's rules of 2026-09-23). The link did not change. The day's label corrections.
-
· the kind of source of a history entry
The source was labeled with the Google News search that found it; it now carries its outlet's tier (the record's rules of 2026-09-23). The link did not change. The day's label corrections.
Every correction on the record is on the corrections page.
What was said
Massachusetts Green High Performance Computing Center operates on carbon free power
Every statement about data centers in Massachusetts, by speaker
The site
Where in Hampden County is not in the public record. The pin marks the county seat, not a building, and the outline is the county.
Tap a pin for the data center, the parcel for its record
- This record: Proposed, ringed
- data center
- Dashed edge: the exact site is not in the public record
- Smaller pins: 7 other published records in Massachusetts
Details
- this record's location, ringed
- parcel outline, from the county parcel record
- city limits, U.S. Census Bureau, on a town level record
- county boundary
The other pins are the published projects in the same state, each in its stage color. The imagery beneath is the USGS national orthoimagery, public domain, shown so the land around the site can be read.
- Where
- Holyoke, Hampden County, Massachusetts
- How exactly it is located
- County level, the county seat
- The parcel
- No parcel outline in the public record
- Nearest homes
- Not computed for a record placed at a place center
- Nearest records
- Nearest records are not computed for a record placed at a county seat.
Comparisons
2 metrics with more than one figure
Capacity at full buildout
1 figure, 1 sourceShow each source's words
- 12 MW, WBUR: Data center is permitted to draw up to 12 megawatts of energy from the grid
Water a day
1 figure, 1 sourceShow each source's words
- 30,000 gallons per day, WBUR: Data center consumes between 20 to 30,000 gallons of water per day
Questions about this project
7 questions answered from the record
How big is Holyoke Paper Mill Data Center?
-
Not disclosed. No source on file gives its capacity, its acreage or a count of buildings. What the record holds instead is under Disclosed.
Who is building Holyoke Paper Mill Data Center?
-
Not disclosed. No source on file names the developer. The sources read for this record are listed under Sources.
Who will use Holyoke Paper Mill Data Center?
-
Not disclosed. No source on file names a tenant, says whether the site is single or multi tenant, or states what it is for. The record keeps the use as not disclosed until one does; see Who it serves.
How much power and water does Holyoke Paper Mill Data Center say it needs?
-
Power: not disclosed by any source on file. Water: not disclosed by any source on file.
Where does Holyoke Paper Mill Data Center stand today?
-
It is reported, as reported September 11, 2026. The newest entry, reported September 11, 2026: Facility received highest rating for energy efficiency from U.S. Green Building Council in 2013 [3].
What has Holyoke or Hampden County decided about it?
-
Westfield: City councilors in Westfield voted earlier this year to enact a one year moratorium on additional data centers (reported September 8, 2026, source). 1 event is on the county's rows; a rule about the area is not a decision about this record.
What is still unknown about Holyoke Paper Mill Data Center?
-
Not disclosed by any source on file: how much power it needs, how much water it would use, how loud it would be, jobs once it runs, tax it would pay each year, who is building it, who is constructing it, how much land, where its power comes from, grid connection, how it is cooled. No missing primary document is listed for this record yet; What the record lacks is where one appears when a person names it.
Sources
Reporting
- Developer plans $200M data center at former Holyoke paper mill: ‘We have the power’ - masslive.com, masslive.com, June 2, 2026, local outlet
- Holyoke councilors mull data center ban as developer seeks former complex - WAMC, WAMC, June 16, 2026, local outlet
- Holyoke banned new data centers. But it likes the eco-conscious one it already has - WBUR, WBUR, September 11, 2026, local outlet
3 sources on file.
Cite this record
Data Center Record, "Holyoke Paper Mill Data Center", https://datacenterrecord.org/projects/holyoke-paper-mill-data-center-ma, last verified September 17, 2026.
Cite this page
Data Center Record, "Holyoke Paper Mill Data Center", https://datacenterrecord.org/projects/holyoke-paper-mill-data-center-ma. Data: Data Center Record, datacenterrecord.org, CC BY 4.0.
The structured rows are CC BY 4.0. Link to this page; that is what turns a reuse into a citation. Prose stays under copyright.
For researchers
- Slug
- holyoke-paper-mill-data-center-ma
- Status value
- rumored
- Stage
- Proposed
- Tier
- skeleton
- Tags
- skeleton
- Place id
- us/ma/hampden-county/holyoke
- Coordinates
- 42.11241, -72.54745
- Location precision
- county
- Location source
- County seat (Springfield), Wikidata, placed at county level
- Coordinate source
- wikidata county seat
- Location source number
- Not disclosed
- Location last verified
- September 16, 2026
- EPA registry id
- Not disclosed
- Use type values
- not_disclosed
- Tenancy value
- not_disclosed
- Cooling type value
- not_disclosed
- Capacity basis
- not_disclosed
- Water basis
- not_disclosed, gallons_per_day
- Acreage basis
- Not disclosed
- Interconnection value
- not_disclosed
- Capacity, if disclosed
- Not disclosed
- Rating of the county's rows
- Not disclosed
- Published
- 2026-09-05
- Last verified
- 2026-09-17