Novva Salt Lake City data center
Novva Data Centers lists a data center at Salt Lake City, Utah among the sites it operates. It is running, as reported October 24, 2022.
How much power it needs, how much water it would use and who would use it have not been disclosed.
How to read this page. Every fact links to the source it rests on; a number in brackets is its place in the source list. A figure no source gives reads Not disclosed, and nothing is estimated. Where sources give different figures, each is shown with who gave it, and another source's figure never stands in for the record's own. Entries are added and never overwritten; corrections are listed under What happened.
What is known
Each figure as its source gave it. The number in brackets is its place in the source list.
- Land
- 37 acres
- third party estimate [3]
- Power it would draw
- Not disclosed
- Reported by others: 1 GW (Data Center Frontier). Their figure, not the record's.
- Water
- Not disclosed
- Who leads it
- Novva Data Centers
- as stated by the source
- Who would use it
- Not disclosed
- Jobs once it runs
- Not disclosed
- Tax each year
- Not disclosed
Every field, with who said it and when (Researcher view)
Impact figures
| Field | Value | Who says so | Source | Last verified |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| How much power it needs | Not disclosed | |||
| How much water it would use | Not disclosed | |||
| How loud it would be | Not disclosed | |||
| Jobs once it runs | Not disclosed | |||
| Tax it would pay each year | Not disclosed |
The record's fields
| Field | Value | Who says so | Source | Last verified |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Who is building it | Novva Data Centers | as stated by the source | October 3, 2026 | |
| Who is constructing it | Not disclosed | |||
| How much land | 37 acres | third party estimate | [3] datacenterfrontier.com | October 3, 2026 |
| Where its power comes from | Not disclosed | |||
| Grid connection | Not disclosed | |||
| How it is cooled | Not disclosed |
How much power it needs, also reported: 1 GW, 2022 (Data Center Frontier: Novva long term goal to deploy up to 1 gigawatt capacity by 2027) .
The developer's figure is what the company said; what a permit allows is the ceiling a permit sets; measured means observed. Water is in gallons a day or a year, whichever the source stated; a tax claim given as a range shows both ends, each linked to the source that gave it.
Still not public, and where it would show up
The record adds each the day a source gives it. Why these documents.
- Water useA state water right filing or a water supply agreement.
- Who would use itA lease announcement or a tenant named in a filing.
- Power the campus would drawA utility or public service commission docket, an interconnection filing, or an air permit for an on site plant.
- Jobs and taxAn incentive agreement, a county's economic development filing or a fiscal note.
What was decided
Acts of Salt Lake County and Salt Lake City about data centers, on the record with their source. A rule about the area is not a decision about this record.
| Date | Who | Decision | Source |
|---|---|---|---|
| Salt Lake County | County staff will look at every legal option available for data center regulations in unincorporated parts of the county. | sltrib.com | |
| Salt Lake County | Salt Lake County hit pause on data centers and is developing new regulations. | sltrib.com | |
| Salt Lake County | Salt Lake County Mayor and County Council voted against the tax breaks | datacenterknowledge.com |
What happened
-
(the day the page was read; it gives no date of its own)
Novva Data Centers lists Novva Salt Lake City data center at Salt Lake City, Utah on its own page of data center locations, read September 14, 2026. [2]
-
(source date; the content gives no date of its own)
Campus already leased to a leading global tech company in 2023 [4]
-
(source date; the content gives no date of its own)
Novva data centers use cooling system with ambient air, heat exchange coils and refrigerant, consuming about 84% less water than similar data centers in the area [4]
-
(source date; the content gives no date of its own)
Phases 2 and 3 are expected to be completed next year (2026) [4]
-
(source date; the content gives no date of its own)
Phase 3 construction started last year, covers 318,000 sq ft and adds 72 MW of capacity [4]
-
(source date; the content gives no date of its own)
Phase 2 construction started in late 2023, covers 318,000 sq ft and adds 72 MW of capacity [4]
-
(source date; the content gives no date of its own)
Phase 1 facility began operating in 2023, built by Layton Construction Co. [4]
-
· Status: running (source date; the content gives no date of its own)
Novva began construction on 100 megawatt data center in North Las Vegas, Nevada, expected to open late 2023, 275,000 square feet, $400 million, on 20 acre campus [3]
The full Novva Salt Lake City data center timeline, in order
1 correction to this record
Every correction, with its reason
-
· the effective at of a status history row
Dated from its source: the row's own text states it: "... read September 14, 2026." The old and new text.
Every correction on the record is on the corrections page.
The site
Where in Salt Lake City is not in the public record. The pin marks the center of Salt Lake City, not a building, and the outline is Salt Lake County.
Tap a pin for the data center, the parcel for its record
- This record: Running, ringed
- data center
- Dashed edge: the exact site is not in the public record
- Smaller pins: 12 other published records in Utah
Details
- this record's location, ringed
- parcel outline, from the county parcel record
- city limits, U.S. Census Bureau, on a town level record
- county boundary
The other pins are the published projects in the same state, each in its stage color. The imagery beneath is the USGS national orthoimagery, public domain, shown so the land around the site can be read.
- Where
- Salt Lake City, Salt Lake County, Utah
- How exactly it is located
- Town level, the center of the city
- The parcel
- No parcel outline in the public record
- Nearest homes
- Not computed for a record placed at a place center
- Nearest records
- Nearest records are not computed for a record placed at the center of its town.
Comparisons
1 metric with more than one figure
Capacity at full buildout
1 figure, 1 sourceShow each source's words
- 1 GW, Data Center Frontier: Novva long term goal to deploy up to 1 gigawatt capacity by 2027
Questions about this project
7 questions answered from the record
How big is Novva Salt Lake City data center?
-
The record has one measure of its size: 37 acres (third party estimate, source). Its power capacity is not disclosed.
Who is building Novva Salt Lake City data center?
-
Novva Data Centers is the developer. No construction contractor is named on the record yet.
Who will use Novva Salt Lake City data center?
-
Not disclosed. No source on file names a tenant, says whether the site is single or multi tenant, or states what it is for. The record keeps the use as not disclosed until one does; see Who it serves.
How much power and water does Novva Salt Lake City data center say it needs?
-
Power: not disclosed by any source on file. Water: not disclosed by any source on file.
Where does Novva Salt Lake City data center stand today?
-
It is running, as reported October 24, 2022. The newest entry, reported March 13, 2025: Campus already leased to a leading global tech company in 2023 [4].
What has Salt Lake City or Salt Lake County decided about it?
-
Salt Lake County: County staff will look at every legal option available for data center regulations in unincorporated parts of the county. (reported September 18, 2026, source); and Salt Lake County: Salt Lake County hit pause on data centers and is developing new regulations. (reported September 18, 2026, source). 3 events are on the county's rows; a rule about the area is not a decision about this record.
What is still unknown about Novva Salt Lake City data center?
-
Not disclosed by any source on file: how much power it needs, how much water it would use, how loud it would be, jobs once it runs, tax it would pay each year, who is constructing it, where its power comes from, grid connection, how it is cooled. No missing primary document is listed for this record yet; What the record lacks is where one appears when a person names it.
Sources
Primary documents
- Novva Data Centers: Locations, Novva Data Centers, September 14, 2026
- Novva Data Centers lists Novva Salt Lake City data center at Salt Lake City, Utah, Novva Data Centers
Reporting
- As It Expands, Novva Data Centers Sees Design, Tech As Differentiators - Data Center Frontier, Data Center Frontier, October 24, 2022, trade press
- Novva Secures $2B to Complete Utah Data Center Campus Construction - enr.com, enr.com, March 13, 2025, local outlet
4 sources on file.
Cite this record
Data Center Record, "Novva Salt Lake City data center", https://datacenterrecord.org/projects/novva-salt-lake-city-data-center-ut, last verified October 3, 2026.
Cite this page
Data Center Record, "Novva Salt Lake City data center", https://datacenterrecord.org/projects/novva-salt-lake-city-data-center-ut. Data: Data Center Record, datacenterrecord.org, CC BY 4.0.
The structured rows are CC BY 4.0. Link to this page; that is what turns a reuse into a citation. Prose stays under copyright.
For researchers
- Slug
- novva-salt-lake-city-data-center-ut
- Status value
- operational
- Stage
- Running
- Tier
- skeleton
- Tags
- skeleton
- Place id
- us/ut/salt-lake-county/salt-lake-city
- Coordinates
- 40.7772238, -111.9305069
- Location precision
- city
- Location source
- U.S. Census Bureau TIGERweb city centroid, public domain
- Coordinate source
- tigerweb city centroid
- Location source number
- Not disclosed
- Location last verified
- September 14, 2026
- EPA registry id
- Not disclosed
- Use type values
- not_disclosed
- Tenancy value
- not_disclosed
- Cooling type value
- not_disclosed
- Capacity basis
- not_disclosed
- Water basis
- not_disclosed, gallons_per_day
- Acreage basis
- third_party_estimate
- Interconnection value
- not_disclosed
- Capacity, if disclosed
- Not disclosed
- Rating of the county's rows
- Not disclosed
- Published
- 2026-09-14
- Last verified
- 2026-10-03