eBay Topaz Data Center (SLC2)
South Jordan, Salt Lake County, UTDeveloper: eBay Inc.Census GEOID 49035
- Stage
- Running
- Undisclosed in public filings
- Power, Land, Water
eBay Inc. operates its Topaz SLC Data Center at 6614 West Crimson View Drive in South Jordan, Salt Lake County, Utah, regulated under Utah Division of Air Quality Clean Air Act ID 21467111 and EPA FRS 110070397211. It is running, since January 15, 2025.
How much power it needs, how much water it would use and who would use it have not been disclosed.
Tap a pin for the data center, the parcel for its record
- This record: Running, ringed
- data center
- Smaller pins: 22 other published records in Utah
Details
- this record's location, ringed
- parcel outline, from the county parcel record
- city limits, U.S. Census Bureau, on a town level record
- county boundary
The other pins are the published projects in the same state, each in its stage color. The imagery beneath is the USGS national orthoimagery, public domain, shown so the land around the site can be read.
How to read this page. Every fact links to the source it rests on; a number in brackets is its place in the source list. A figure no source gives reads Not disclosed, and nothing is estimated. Where sources give different figures, each is shown with who gave it, and another source's figure never stands in for the record's own. Entries are added and never overwritten; corrections are listed under What happened.
What is known
Each figure as its source gave it. The number in brackets is its place in the source list.
- Who leads it
- eBay Inc. as stated by the source
- Undisclosed in public filings
- Land, Power it would draw, Water, Who would use it, Jobs once it runs, Tax each year
Every field, with who said it and when (Researcher view)
Impact figures
| Field | Value | Who says so | Source | Last verified |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| How much power it needs | ||||
| How much water it would use | ||||
| How loud it would be | ||||
| Jobs once it runs | ||||
| Tax it would pay each year |
The record's fields
| Field | Value | Who says so | Source | Last verified |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Who is building it | eBay Inc. | as stated by the source | daqpermitting.utah.gov (opens in a new tab) | October 23, 2026 |
| Who is constructing it | ||||
| How much land | ||||
| Buildings | 1 building | air permit generator list, verified October 23, 2026 | [2] echo.epa.gov (opens in a new tab) | October 23, 2026 |
| Where its power comes from | ||||
| Grid connection | ||||
| How it is cooled |
A blank value cell means not disclosed by any source on file; a blank basis cell means the source gave the figure without saying on what basis.
The developer's figure is what the company said; what a permit allows is the ceiling a permit sets; measured means observed. Water is in gallons a day or a year, whichever the source stated; a tax claim given as a range shows both ends, each linked to the source that gave it.
Still not public, and where it would show up
The record adds each the day a source gives it. Why these documents.
- Water use A state water right filing or a water supply agreement.
- Who would use it A lease announcement or a tenant named in a filing.
- Power the campus would draw A utility or public service commission docket, an interconnection filing, or an air permit for an on site plant.
- Jobs and tax An incentive agreement, a county's economic development filing or a fiscal note.
What was decided
Acts of Salt Lake County and South Jordan about data centers, on the record with their source. A rule about the area is not a decision about this record.
| Date | Who | Decision | Source |
|---|---|---|---|
| Salt Lake County | County staff will look at every legal option available for data center regulations in unincorporated parts of the county. | sltrib.com (opens in a new tab) | |
| Salt Lake County | Salt Lake County hit pause on data centers and is developing new regulations. | sltrib.com (opens in a new tab) | |
| Salt Lake County | Salt Lake County Health Regulation #21 (Noise Control) restricts nighttime sound levels between 10 p.m. and 7 a.m. in residential receiving zones and governs the Salt Lake County Health Department noise enforcement investigation at the Aligned West Jordan campus. | saltlakecounty.gov (opens in a new tab) | |
| Salt Lake County | Salt Lake County Mayor and County Council voted against the tax breaks | datacenterknowledge.com (opens in a new tab) |
What happened
-
· Status: running (content date)
eBay operates its enterprise Topaz data center facility in southern Salt Lake County under a Utah Division of Air Quality approval order.
The site
The pin is the site, as the EPA's facility record places it. Location from an EPA facility record.
- Where
- 6614 West Crimson View Drive, South Jordan, UT 84095, South Jordan, Salt Lake County, Utah [2] echo.epa.gov (opens in a new tab)
- How exactly it is located
- Exact, the point of the EPA's facility record
- The parcel
- No parcel outline in the public record
- Nearest homes
- Not computed for a record placed at a place center
- Nearest records
- Novva West Jordan Data Center Campus, 0.8 mi
- Aligned Data Centers West Jordan (SLC-01, SLC-02, SLC-03), 4.5 mi
- Flexential Salt Lake City South Valley (SLC09), 5.3 mi
- DataBank Granite Point Campus (SLC2, SLC3, SLC4, SLC5, SLC6), 8.9 mi
- Aligned SLC-04, 9.0 mi
Keep going
Questions about this project
5 questions answered from the record
How big is eBay Topaz Data Center (SLC2)?
-
The record has one measure of its size: 1 building (air permit generator list, verified October 23, 2026, echo.epa.gov (opens in a new tab)). Its power capacity is not disclosed.
Who is building eBay Topaz Data Center (SLC2)?
-
eBay Inc. is the developer, daqpermitting.utah.gov (opens in a new tab). No construction contractor is named on the record yet.
How much power and water does eBay Topaz Data Center (SLC2) say it needs?
-
Power: not disclosed by any source on file. Water: not disclosed by any source on file.
Where does eBay Topaz Data Center (SLC2) stand today?
-
It is running, since January 15, 2025. The newest entry, January 15, 2025: eBay operates its enterprise Topaz data center facility in southern Salt Lake County under a Utah Division of Air Quality approval order. [2]
What has South Jordan or Salt Lake County decided about it?
-
Salt Lake County: County staff will look at every legal option available for data center regulations in unincorporated parts of the county (reported September 18, 2026, sltrib.com (opens in a new tab)); and Salt Lake County: Salt Lake County hit pause on data centers and is developing new regulations (reported September 18, 2026, sltrib.com (opens in a new tab)). 4 events are on the county's rows; a rule about the area is not a decision about this record.
Sources
Reporting
- Closer Look: eBay's Solar Array at its Utah Data Center - DataCenterKnowledge (opens in a new tab), DataCenterKnowledge, May 30, 2024, query feed
- EPA ECHO Detailed Facility Report: EBAY INC.: SLC DATA CENTER (FRS 110070397211, CAA 21467111, CWA UTPIU008Q / UTRC10583) (opens in a new tab), U.S. Environmental Protection Agency / Utah Division of Air Quality, October 23, 2026, query feed
2 sources on file.
About this data
Last verified , first recorded . Every correction is logged on the corrections page. Report a correction · Send a tip about eBay Topaz Data Center (SLC2)
Cite this page
Data Center Record, "eBay Topaz Data Center (SLC2)", https://datacenterrecord.org/projects/ebay-topaz-data-center-south-jordan-ut. Data: Data Center Record, datacenterrecord.org, CC BY-NC 4.0.
The structured rows are CC BY-NC 4.0. Link to this page; that is what turns a reuse into a citation. Prose stays under copyright.
For researchers
- Stage
- Running
- Tier
- reviewed in depth
- Tags
- Reviewed in depth
- Coordinates
- 40.56168, -112.04833
- How the location is known
- Location from an EPA facility record.
- Location source
- EPA ECHO Detailed Facility Report 110070397211 (EBAY INC.: SLC DATA CENTER, 6614 West Crimson View Drive, South Jordan, UT 84095, CAA ID 21467111).
- Coordinate source
- EPA ECHO FRS 110070397211 coordinates at 6614 West Crimson View Drive, South Jordan
- Location source number
- [2]
- Location last verified
- October 23, 2026
- EPA registry id
- 110070397211
- Published
- October 4, 2026
- Last verified
- October 23, 2026
- Undisclosed in public filings
- Uses, Tenancy, Cooling, How capacity was disclosed, How water was disclosed, How acreage was disclosed, Interconnection, Capacity, if disclosed, Rating of the county's rows