Data Center Record.

Waiting on permits Built from one source

Project Beehive

Valar Atomics' proposed campus of small nuclear reactors, manufacturing and data centers on federal land near Price and state trust land north of Wellington, in Carbon County. It is waiting on permits, as reported September 30, 2026.

How much power it needs, how much water it would use and who would use it have not been disclosed.

Last verified · 5 sources, 1 primary · A skeleton record: built from one source, not yet reviewed in depth by a person. · How to read this page

How to read this page. Every fact links to the source it rests on; a number in brackets is its place in the source list. A figure no source gives reads Not disclosed, and nothing is estimated. Where sources give different figures, each is shown with who gave it, and another source's figure never stands in for the record's own. Entries are added and never overwritten; corrections are listed under What happened.

What is known

Each figure as its source gave it. The number in brackets is its place in the source list.

Land
Not disclosed
Power it would draw
Not disclosed
Reported by others: 9.6 GW (NPR); 4 percent (Electric Power Research Institute, Have Data Centers Raised Your Electric Bill? Causal Evidence from the United States). Their figure, not the record's.
Water
Not disclosed
Who leads it
Valar Atomics
as stated by the source [3]
Who would use it
Not disclosed
Jobs once it runs
Not disclosed
Tax each year
Not disclosed
Where its power comes from
small modular nuclear reactors, high temperature gas cooled
as stated by the source [1]
Every field, with who said it and when (Researcher view)

Impact figures

FieldValueWho says soSourceLast verified
How much power it needs Not disclosed
How much water it would use Not disclosed
How loud it would be Not disclosed
Jobs once it runs Not disclosed
Tax it would pay each year Not disclosed

The record's fields

FieldValueWho says soSourceLast verified
Who is building it Valar Atomics as stated by the source [3] npr.org October 2, 2026
Who is constructing it Not disclosed
How much land Not disclosed
Where its power comes from small modular nuclear reactors, high temperature gas cooled as stated by the source [1] utah.gov October 2, 2026
Grid connection Not disclosed
How it is cooled Not disclosed

How much power it needs, also reported: 9.6 GW, 2026 (NPR: Valar Atomics' Project Beehive reactors would produce around 9.6 gigawatts of power for the data centers in aggregate, according to the company's proposal to federal regulators as NPR reported it.); 4 percent, 2024 (Electric Power Research Institute, Have Data Centers Raised Your Electric Bill? Causal Evidence from the United States: Effect of a doubling of data center capacity on residential retail electricity prices, a fall of roughly) .

The developer's figure is what the company said; what a permit allows is the ceiling a permit sets; measured means observed. Water is in gallons a day or a year, whichever the source stated; a tax claim given as a range shows both ends, each linked to the source that gave it.

Still not public, and where it would show up

The record adds each the day a source gives it. Why these documents.

  • Water useA state water right filing or a water supply agreement.
  • Who would use itA lease announcement or a tenant named in a filing.
  • Power the campus would drawA utility or public service commission docket, an interconnection filing, or an air permit for an on site plant.
  • Jobs and taxAn incentive agreement, a county's economic development filing or a fiscal note.

What happened

  1. · Status: permitting (source date; the content gives no date of its own)

    Valar Atomics filed an initial application with the Bureau of Land Management to use about 9,000 acres of public land near Price for an industrial campus that could include a gas cooled nuclear reactor, a data center and manufacturing, the bureau's Utah office confirmed. [4], also [3]

  2. (content date)

    Utah's Trust Lands Administration board unanimously approved leasing state trust land about five miles north of Wellington to Valar Atomics for up to 100 years, where the company plans small nuclear reactors to power industrial uses and data centers. [2], also [4]

  3. · Status: proposed (content date)

    Utah's Trust Lands Administration board heard Valar Atomics' proposed lease of state trust land north of Wellington as a discussion item, with public comment in favor from all three Carbon County commissioners and the deputy director of the Utah Office of Energy Development. [1]

The full Project Beehive timeline, in order

10 corrections to this record

Every correction, with its reason
  1. · the project slug of a record items row

    The item reports Valar Atomics' Project Beehive in Carbon County and is linked to its record. The old and new text.

  2. · the project slug of a record items row

    The item reports Valar Atomics' Project Beehive in Carbon County; its card had been hinted to Volition Spanish Fork, a different Utah record, and the item linked there. The old and new text.

  3. · the headline of a record items row

    The publisher's name and the headline as the Tribune prints them, without Google News's suffix. The old and new text.

  4. · the outlet of a record items row

    The publisher's name and the headline as the Tribune prints them, without Google News's suffix. The old and new text.

  5. · the project slug of a record items row

    The item reports Valar Atomics' Project Beehive in Carbon County and is linked to its record. The old and new text.

  6. · the project slug of a record items row

    The item reports Valar Atomics' Project Beehive in Carbon County; its card had been hinted to Volition Spanish Fork, a different Utah record, and the item linked there. The old and new text.

  7. · the summary of a record items row

    NPR reported more than 9,000 acres of federal land; 9,500 acres is its total with the state land, which the item had given as federal. The old and new text.

  8. · the outlet of a record items row

    Georgia Public Broadcasting's page carried NPR's story; the item cites NPR's own page. The old and new text.

  9. · the url of a record items row

    Georgia Public Broadcasting's page carried NPR's story; the item cites NPR's own page. The old and new text.

  10. · the project slug of a record items row

    The item reports Valar Atomics' Project Beehive in Carbon County and is linked to its record. The old and new text.

Every correction on the record is on the corrections page.

What was said

Valar Atomics said 'No construction begins before permits and approvals,' and that it is committed to public engagement on the project.
Valar Atomics, in a written statement to NPR · September 30, 2026 · paraphrased · NPR national outlet
Tony Martines said nuclear power fits the long range plans of Carbon County, an energy producing community, adding 'We have the workforce. We have the space. We have all the infrastructure.'
Tony Martines, Carbon County commissioner · September 17, 2026 · paraphrased · KSL local outlet

Every statement about data centers in Utah, by speaker

9 more statements on this page

executive director of the Healthy Environment Alliance of Utah

Lexi Tuddenham said the project raises larger questions about federal land, and that nuclear waste storage, nuclear development and data centers on public land would have 'tremendous implications for how public lands are used.'

September 30, 2026, NPR · NPR national outlet · the record (Paraphrased; said in the source itself)

executive director of the Healthy Environment Alliance of Utah

Lexi Tuddenham said 'We have a right to know as citizens what is going on, not just with our state lands, but also with our federal lands.'

September 30, 2026, KSL · KSL local outlet · the record (Paraphrased; said in the source itself)

wildlands director at the Southern Utah Wilderness Alliance

Neal Clark said 'It's concerning to see that the Trump administration, with the support of the state of Utah, is pushing this forward on significant acreage of public lands.'

September 30, 2026, NPR · NPR national outlet · the record (Paraphrased; said in the source itself)

Carbon County resident and unaffiliated candidate for the county commission

Cheryl Lupo said 'People are up in arms' over the data centers planned in Carbon County, because, she said, residents are not being heard.

September 24, 2026, The Salt Lake Tribune · The Salt Lake Tribune local outlet · the record (Paraphrased; said in the source itself)

Larry Jensen said 'the Carbon County commissioners are committed to allowing these things to move forward,' even with pushback from some residents, and that the silent majority is who the commissioners represent.

September 17, 2026, The Salt Lake Tribune · The Salt Lake Tribune local outlet · the record (Paraphrased; content date; reported from elsewhere)

head of commercial development at Valar Atomics

Cory Gardner said 'America stands no chance against our adversaries without energy abundance,' and that Valar Atomics believes it should start in Utah.

September 17, 2026, KSL · KSL local outlet · the record (Paraphrased; content date; reported from elsewhere)

chair of the Trust Lands Administration board

Mike Nelson said of the Valar Atomics lease, 'We weren't always sure what to ask about,' because the deal was a first for the board.

September 17, 2026, The Salt Lake Tribune · The Salt Lake Tribune local outlet · the record (Paraphrased; content date; reported from elsewhere)

Larry Jensen, speaking for the three Carbon County commissioners, told the Trust Lands Administration board that the Valar Atomics project is critical to rebuilding the county's industrial valuation and easing the property tax burden that shifted onto residents as local coal production collapsed, as the board's minutes record it.

August 20, 2026, Utah Trust Lands Administration · Utah Trust Lands Administration primary source · the record (Paraphrased; content date; reported from elsewhere)

deputy director of the Utah Office of Energy Development

Jake Garfield told the Trust Lands Administration board that Valar Atomics has been a strong partner as a tenant at the San Rafael Energy Lab, and that small modular reactors offer a path for data centers to grow without adding air emissions or heavy water use, as the board's minutes record it.

August 20, 2026, Utah Trust Lands Administration · Utah Trust Lands Administration primary source · the record (Paraphrased; content date; reported from elsewhere)

The site

Where in Price is not in the public record. The pin marks the center of Price, not a building, and the outline is Carbon County.

  • This record: Proposed, ringed
  • data center
  • Dashed edge: the exact site is not in the public record
  • Smaller pins: 12 other published records in Utah
Details
  • this record's location, ringed
  • parcel outline, from the county parcel record
  • city limits, U.S. Census Bureau, on a town level record
  • county boundary

The other pins are the published projects in the same state, each in its stage color. The imagery beneath is the USGS national orthoimagery, public domain, shown so the land around the site can be read.

Where
Price, Carbon County, Utah
How exactly it is located
Town level, the center of the city
The parcel
No parcel outline in the public record
Nearest homes
Not computed for a record placed at a place center
Nearest records
Nearest records are not computed for a record placed at the center of its town.

Comparisons

2 metrics with more than one figure

Every figure on the record for the same thing, the record's own or the document's first, each with who gave it, its date and its basis.

Capacity at full buildout

2 figures, 2 sources

Show each source's words
  • 4 percent, Electric Power Research Institute, Have Data Centers Raised Your Electric Bill? Causal Evidence from the United States: Effect of a doubling of data center capacity on residential retail electricity prices, a fall of roughly
  • 9.6 GW, Valar Atomics' proposal to federal regulators, as NPR reported it, via NPR: Valar Atomics' Project Beehive reactors would produce around 9.6 gigawatts of power for the data centers in aggregate, according to the company's proposal to federal regulators as NPR reported it.

Project footprint

2 figures, 2 sources

9,000 acresFederal land in the application

Bureau of Land Management, Utah office, via KSL, Sep 30, 2026

Show each source's words
  • 9,000 acres, Bureau of Land Management, Utah office, via KSL: Valar Atomics' application to the Bureau of Land Management covers approximately 9,000 acres of public land near Price, the bureau told KSL.
  • 640 acres, Trust Lands Administration staff memorandum, via Utah Trust Lands Administration: Valar Atomics' lease agreement covers up to 640 acres of state trust land in Carbon County: 480 acres, with an option to add the other 160 if the Utah National Guard's lease on that part of the section is relocated, according to the Trust Lands Administration's staff memorandum.

Questions about this project

7 questions answered from the record

Answered from the rows on this page.

How big is Project Beehive?

Not disclosed. No source on file gives its capacity, its acreage or a count of buildings. What the record holds instead is under Disclosed.

Who is building Project Beehive?

Valar Atomics is the developer, source. No construction contractor is named on the record yet.

Who will use Project Beehive?

Not disclosed. No source on file names a tenant, says whether the site is single or multi tenant, or states what it is for. The record keeps the use as not disclosed until one does; see Who it serves.

How much power and water does Project Beehive say it needs?

Power: not disclosed by any source on file. Water: not disclosed by any source on file.

What has Price or Carbon County decided about it?

No decision by Price or Carbon County about data centers is on the record. The Carbon County page and the Utah scorecard list every rated row the day a person publishes one.

What is still unknown about Project Beehive?

Not disclosed by any source on file: how much power it needs, how much water it would use, how loud it would be, jobs once it runs, tax it would pay each year, who is constructing it, how much land, grid connection, how it is cooled. No missing primary document is listed for this record yet; What the record lacks is where one appears when a person names it.

Sources

Primary documents first: filings, minutes, dockets and official pages. Then reporting. The numbers are the ones the entries above cite.

Primary documents

  1. Board of Trustees meeting materials, September 17, 2026, Utah Trust Lands Administration, September 14, 2026

Reporting

  1. 2 big data centers are coming to Utah’s coal country. How they’ll be powered has residents ‘up in arms.’, The Salt Lake Tribune, September 24, 2026, local outlet
  2. A startup wants to build a massive nuclear powered data center on public land in Utah, NPR, September 30, 2026, local outlet
  3. Nuclear powered AI data center proposed on state and federal land in central eastern Utah, KSL, September 30, 2026, local outlet
  4. A startup wants to build a massive nuclear-powered data center on public land in Utah, Georgia Public Broadcasting, September 30, 2026, local outlet

5 sources on file.

Cite this record

Data Center Record, "Project Beehive", https://datacenterrecord.org/projects/valar-atomics-price-data-center-ut, last verified October 2, 2026.

Last verified , first recorded . Every correction is logged on the corrections page and under What happened.

Cite this page

Data Center Record, "Project Beehive", https://datacenterrecord.org/projects/valar-atomics-price-data-center-ut. Data: Data Center Record, datacenterrecord.org, CC BY 4.0.

The structured rows are CC BY 4.0. Link to this page; that is what turns a reuse into a citation. Prose stays under copyright.

Report a change
For researchers
Slug
valar-atomics-price-data-center-ut
Status value
permitting
Stage
Proposed
Tier
skeleton
Tags
skeleton
Place id
us/ut/carbon-county/price
Coordinates
39.604, -110.8004
Location precision
city
Location source
Not disclosed
Coordinate source
U.S. Census Bureau 2020 gazetteer place point
Location source number
Not disclosed
Location last verified
Not disclosed
EPA registry id
Not disclosed
Use type values
not_disclosed
Tenancy value
not_disclosed
Cooling type value
not_disclosed
Capacity basis
not_disclosed
Water basis
not_disclosed, gallons_per_day
Acreage basis
Not disclosed
Interconnection value
not_disclosed
Capacity, if disclosed
Not disclosed
Rating of the county's rows
Not disclosed
Published
2026-10-01
Last verified
2026-10-02