Data Center Record.

Proposed Built from one source

Apple Reno Data Center

Reno, Washoe County, NVDeveloper: AppleCensus GEOID 32031

Stage
Proposed
Undisclosed in public filings
Power, Land, Buildings, Water

Apple planned a 137 acre, 18,20 MW solar array adjacent to its Reno data center in partnership with NV Energy, expected to generate approximately 43.5 million kilowatt-hours of clean energy per year. It is reported; the record holds no sourced date for when it reached that stage.

How much power it needs, how much water it would use and who would use it have not been disclosed.

Last verified · 2 sources, 0 primary · Built from one source, not yet reviewed in depth by a person. · How to read this page

  • This record: Proposed, ringed
  • data center
  • Dashed edge: the exact site is not in the public record
  • Smaller pins: 13 other published records in Nevada
Details
  • this record's location, ringed
  • parcel outline, from the county parcel record
  • city limits, U.S. Census Bureau, on a town level record
  • county boundary

The other pins are the published projects in the same state, each in its stage color. The imagery beneath is the USGS national orthoimagery, public domain, shown so the land around the site can be read.

How to read this page. Every fact links to the source it rests on; a number in brackets is its place in the source list. A figure no source gives reads Not disclosed, and nothing is estimated. Where sources give different figures, each is shown with who gave it, and another source's figure never stands in for the record's own. Entries are added and never overwritten; corrections are listed under What happened.

What is known

Each figure as its source gave it. The number in brackets is its place in the source list.

Who leads it
Apple as stated by the source
Undisclosed in public filings
Land, Buildings, Power it would draw, Water, Who would use it, Jobs once it runs, Tax each year
Every field, with who said it and when (Researcher view)

Impact figures

FieldValueWho says soSourceLast verified
How much power it needs
How much water it would use
How loud it would be
Jobs once it runs
Tax it would pay each year

The record's fields

FieldValueWho says soSourceLast verified
Who is building it Apple as stated by the source October 21, 2026
Who is constructing it
How much land
Buildings
Where its power comes from
Grid connection
How it is cooled

A blank value cell means not disclosed by any source on file; a blank basis cell means the source gave the figure without saying on what basis.

The developer's figure is what the company said; what a permit allows is the ceiling a permit sets; measured means observed. Water is in gallons a day or a year, whichever the source stated; a tax claim given as a range shows both ends, each linked to the source that gave it.

Still not public, and where it would show up

The record adds each the day a source gives it. Why these documents.

  • Water use A state water right filing or a water supply agreement.
  • Who would use it A lease announcement or a tenant named in a filing.
  • Power the campus would draw A utility or public service commission docket, an interconnection filing, or an air permit for an on site plant.
  • Jobs and tax An incentive agreement, a county's economic development filing or a fiscal note.

What was decided

Acts of Washoe County and Reno about data centers, on the record with their source. A rule about the area is not a decision about this record.

DateWhoDecisionSource
Reno restrictive Reno extended the moratorium through August 2027 and determined to adopt new regulations at that time nnbw.com (opens in a new tab)
Reno restrictive Reno City Council approved a 30 day moratorium on accepting and processing new data center applications in June with 6-1 vote nnbw.com (opens in a new tab)

What happened

No dated entry is on the record yet.

The site

Where in Reno is not in the public record. The pin marks the center of Reno, not a building, and the outline is Washoe County.

The site map is at the top of the page.

Where
Reno, Washoe County, Nevada
How exactly it is located
Town level, the center of the city
The parcel
No parcel outline in the public record
Nearest homes
Not computed for a record placed at a place center
Nearest records
Nearest records are not computed for a record placed at the center of its town.

Questions about this project

4 questions answered from the record

Answered from the rows on this page.

Who is building Apple Reno Data Center?

Apple is the developer. No construction contractor is named on the record yet.

How much power and water does Apple Reno Data Center say it needs?

Power: not disclosed by any source on file. Water: not disclosed by any source on file.

Where does Apple Reno Data Center stand today?

It is reported; the date it reached that stage is not sourced, only the day a page was read. No dated entry is on the record yet.

What has Reno or Washoe County decided about it?

Reno (rated restrictive): Reno extended the moratorium through August 2027 and determined to adopt new regulations at that time (reported September 7, 2026, nnbw.com (opens in a new tab)); and Reno: Reno City Council approved a 30 day moratorium on accepting and processing new data center applications in June with 6-1 vote (reported September 7, 2026, nnbw.com (opens in a new tab)). 2 events are on the county's rows; a rule about the area is not a decision about this record.

Sources

Primary documents first: filings, minutes, dockets and official pages. Then reporting. The numbers are the ones the entries above cite.

Reporting

  1. Apple plans 137-acre, 20 Megawatt solar array adjacent to its new Reno data center in partnership with NV Energy - 9to5Mac (opens in a new tab), 9to5Mac, July 1, 2013, query feed
  2. Nevada utility regulators OK renewable energy power purchase agreements to serve Apple, Switch data center operations - Carson Now (opens in a new tab), Carson Now, January 25, 2016, query feed

2 sources on file.

About this data

Last verified
Next check Feeds every four hours, pages daily.
Figures Each figure as its source gave it, with its basis; another source's figure never stands in for the record's own, and nothing is estimated.
License Data CC BY-NC 4.0 (opens in a new tab); free for personal, academic, civic and newsroom reporting with attribution. Commercial, enterprise, financial or AI training use needs a commercial license. Prose stays under copyright.
Cite this page Data Center Record, "Apple Reno Data Center", https://datacenterrecord.org/projects/apple-reno-data-center-nv, last verified October 21, 2026. CSV · JSON
Cite this page

Data Center Record, "Apple Reno Data Center", https://datacenterrecord.org/projects/apple-reno-data-center-nv. Data: Data Center Record, datacenterrecord.org, CC BY-NC 4.0.

The structured rows are CC BY-NC 4.0. Link to this page; that is what turns a reuse into a citation. Prose stays under copyright.

Report a change
For researchers
Stage
Proposed
Tier
built from one source
Tags
Built from one source
Coordinates
39.5491, -119.84991
How the location is known
Location is the city center; exact site not disclosed.
Capacity, if disclosed
20 MW, not disclosed
Rating of the county's rows
Restrictive
Published
October 21, 2026
Last verified
October 21, 2026
Undisclosed in public filings
Location source, Coordinate source, Location source number, Location last verified, EPA registry id, Uses, Tenancy, Cooling, How capacity was disclosed, How water was disclosed, How acreage was disclosed, Interconnection

Researcher view · Apple Reno Data Center · 2 sources, 0 entries, 2 decisions nearby · basis and source tier on every row · verified October 21, 2026

Download CSV JSON