AIDEA Mat-Su Industrial Park (Houston)
The Alaska Department of Natural Resources proposed a noncompetitive sale of over 31 square miles of state land north of Houston to AIDEA for a multi use industrial and energy development district that could include scalable data centers, a logistics hub, and utility corridors. It is reported, as reported September 11, 2026.
How much power it needs, how much water it would use and who would use it have not been disclosed.
How to read this page. Every fact links to the source it rests on; a number in brackets is its place in the source list. A figure no source gives reads Not disclosed, and nothing is estimated. Where sources give different figures, each is shown with who gave it, and another source's figure never stands in for the record's own. Entries are added and never overwritten; corrections are listed under What happened.
What is known
Each figure as its source gave it. The number in brackets is its place in the source list.
- Land
- 20,000 acres
- third party estimate [3]
- Power it would draw
- Not disclosed
- Water
- Not disclosed
- Reported by others: 300,000 gallons a day (Yahoo). Their figure, not the record's.
- Who leads it
- Alaska Industrial Development and Export Authority (AIDEA)
- as stated by the source
- Who would use it
- Not disclosed
- Jobs once it runs
- Not disclosed
- Tax each year
- Not disclosed
Every field, with who said it and when (Researcher view)
Impact figures
| Field | Value | Who says so | Source | Last verified |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| How much power it needs | Not disclosed | |||
| How much water it would use | Not disclosed | |||
| How loud it would be | Not disclosed | |||
| Jobs once it runs | Not disclosed | |||
| Tax it would pay each year | Not disclosed |
The record's fields
| Field | Value | Who says so | Source | Last verified |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Who is building it | Alaska Industrial Development and Export Authority (AIDEA) | as stated by the source | October 7, 2026 | |
| Who is constructing it | Not disclosed | |||
| How much land | 20,000 acres | third party estimate | [3] yahoo.com | October 7, 2026 |
| Where its power comes from | Not disclosed | |||
| Grid connection | Not disclosed | |||
| How it is cooled | Not disclosed |
How much water it would use, also reported: 300,000 gallons a day, 2026 (Yahoo: Alaska Youth for Environmental Action cited that a midsize data center can require around 300,000 gallons of water per day and substantial electricity.) .
The developer's figure is what the company said; what a permit allows is the ceiling a permit sets; measured means observed. Water is in gallons a day or a year, whichever the source stated; a tax claim given as a range shows both ends, each linked to the source that gave it.
Still not public, and where it would show up
The record adds each the day a source gives it. Why these documents.
- Water useA state water right filing or a water supply agreement.
- Who would use itA lease announcement or a tenant named in a filing.
- Power the campus would drawA utility or public service commission docket, an interconnection filing, or an air permit for an on site plant.
- Jobs and taxAn incentive agreement, a county's economic development filing or a fiscal note.
What happened
-
· Status: rumored (source date; the content gives no date of its own)
AIDEA plans to build roads manufacturing pads and a data center on the land [1]
The full AIDEA Mat-Su Industrial Park (Houston) timeline, in order
The site
Where in Matanuska-Susitna County is not in the public record. The pin marks the county seat, not a building, and the outline is the county.
Tap a pin for the data center, the parcel for its record
- This record: Proposed, ringed
- data center
- Dashed edge: the exact site is not in the public record
- Smaller pins: 4 other published records in Alaska
Details
- this record's location, ringed
- parcel outline, from the county parcel record
- city limits, U.S. Census Bureau, on a town level record
- county boundary
The other pins are the published projects in the same state, each in its stage color. The imagery beneath is the USGS national orthoimagery, public domain, shown so the land around the site can be read.
- Where
- Houston, Matanuska-Susitna County, Alaska
- How exactly it is located
- County level, the county seat
- The parcel
- No parcel outline in the public record
- Nearest homes
- Not computed for a record placed at a place center
- Nearest records
- Nearest records are not computed for a record placed at a county seat.
Comparisons
1 metric with more than one figure
Water a day
1 figure, 1 sourceShow each source's words
- 300,000 gallons a day, Yahoo: Alaska Youth for Environmental Action cited that a midsize data center can require around 300,000 gallons of water per day and substantial electricity.
Questions about this project
7 questions answered from the record
How big is AIDEA Mat-Su Industrial Park (Houston)?
-
The record has one measure of its size: 20,000 acres (third party estimate, source). Its power capacity is not disclosed.
Who is building AIDEA Mat-Su Industrial Park (Houston)?
-
Alaska Industrial Development and Export Authority (AIDEA) is the developer. No construction contractor is named on the record yet.
Who will use AIDEA Mat-Su Industrial Park (Houston)?
-
Not disclosed. No source on file names a tenant, says whether the site is single or multi tenant, or states what it is for. The record keeps the use as not disclosed until one does; see Who it serves.
How much power and water does AIDEA Mat-Su Industrial Park (Houston) say it needs?
-
Power: not disclosed by any source on file. Water: not disclosed by any source on file.
Where does AIDEA Mat-Su Industrial Park (Houston) stand today?
-
It is reported, as reported September 11, 2026. The newest entry, reported September 11, 2026: AIDEA plans to build roads manufacturing pads and a data center on the land [1].
What has Houston or Matanuska-Susitna County decided about it?
-
No decision by Houston or Matanuska-Susitna County about data centers is on the record. The Matanuska-Susitna County page and the Alaska scorecard list every rated row the day a person publishes one.
What is still unknown about AIDEA Mat-Su Industrial Park (Houston)?
-
Not disclosed by any source on file: how much power it needs, how much water it would use, how loud it would be, jobs once it runs, tax it would pay each year, who is constructing it, where its power comes from, grid connection, how it is cooled. No missing primary document is listed for this record yet; What the record lacks is where one appears when a person names it.
Sources
Reporting
- Alaska teens oppose 20,000 acre industrial park proposal - Alaska Beacon, Alaska Beacon, September 11, 2026, local outlet
- Alaska’s economic development agency plans a Mat-Su industrial park, with data centers - Alaska Beacon, Alaska Beacon, July 16, 2026, local outlet
- Alaska teens push back on 20,000 acre Houston land transfer for industrial park, data center - Yahoo, Yahoo, September 15, 2026, local outlet
- New state proposal could bring data centers to the Mat-Su as part of industrial park - Alaska's News Source, Alaska's News Source, July 16, 2026, local outlet
4 sources on file.
Cite this record
Data Center Record, "AIDEA Mat-Su Industrial Park (Houston)", https://datacenterrecord.org/projects/aidea-mat-su-industrial-park-houston-ak, last verified October 7, 2026.
Cite this page
Data Center Record, "AIDEA Mat-Su Industrial Park (Houston)", https://datacenterrecord.org/projects/aidea-mat-su-industrial-park-houston-ak. Data: Data Center Record, datacenterrecord.org, CC BY 4.0.
The structured rows are CC BY 4.0. Link to this page; that is what turns a reuse into a citation. Prose stays under copyright.
For researchers
- Slug
- aidea-mat-su-industrial-park-houston-ak
- Status value
- rumored
- Stage
- Proposed
- Tier
- skeleton
- Tags
- skeleton
- Place id
- us/ak/matanuska-susitna-county/houston
- Coordinates
- 61.60194, -149.11722
- Location precision
- county
- Location source
- County seat (Palmer), Wikidata, placed at county level
- Coordinate source
- wikidata county seat
- Location source number
- Not disclosed
- Location last verified
- September 16, 2026
- EPA registry id
- Not disclosed
- Use type values
- not_disclosed
- Tenancy value
- not_disclosed
- Cooling type value
- not_disclosed
- Capacity basis
- not_disclosed
- Water basis
- not_disclosed, gallons_per_day
- Acreage basis
- third_party_estimate
- Interconnection value
- not_disclosed
- Capacity, if disclosed
- Not disclosed
- Rating of the county's rows
- Not disclosed
- Published
- 2026-09-05
- Last verified
- 2026-10-07