Loudoun Data Center 1 (LDC1)
Ashburn, Loudoun County, VADeveloper: Loudoun Data Center 1 LLCCensus GEOID 51107
- Stage
- Running
- Undisclosed in public filings
- Power, Land, Water
The EPA's facility registry lists Loudoun Data Center 1 (LDC1) at 21955 Loudoun County Parkway, Ashburn, VA 20147 in Ashburn, Virginia, with a hazardous waste record. It is running; the record holds no sourced date for when it reached that stage.
How much power it needs, how much water it would use and who would use it have not been disclosed.
Tap a pin for the data center, the parcel for its record
- This record: Running, ringed
- data center
- Smaller pins: 55 other published records in Virginia
Details
- this record's location, ringed
- parcel outline, from the county parcel record
- city limits, U.S. Census Bureau, on a town level record
- county boundary
The other pins are the published projects in the same state, each in its stage color. The imagery beneath is the USGS national orthoimagery, public domain, shown so the land around the site can be read.
How to read this page. Every fact links to the source it rests on; a number in brackets is its place in the source list. A figure no source gives reads Not disclosed, and nothing is estimated. Where sources give different figures, each is shown with who gave it, and another source's figure never stands in for the record's own. Entries are added and never overwritten; corrections are listed under What happened.
What is known
Each figure as its source gave it. The number in brackets is its place in the source list.
- Undisclosed in public filings
- Land, Power it would draw, Water, Who would use it, Jobs once it runs, Tax each year
Every field, with who said it and when (Researcher view)
Impact figures
| Field | Value | Who says so | Source | Last verified |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| How much power it needs | ||||
| How much water it would use | ||||
| How loud it would be | ||||
| Jobs once it runs | ||||
| Tax it would pay each year |
The record's fields
| Field | Value | Who says so | Source | Last verified |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Who is building it | Loudoun Data Center 1 LLC | as stated by the source | [1] echo.epa.gov (opens in a new tab) | October 24, 2026 |
| Who is constructing it | ||||
| How much land | ||||
| Buildings | 1 building | air permit generator list | [1] echo.epa.gov (opens in a new tab) | October 24, 2026 |
| Where its power comes from | ||||
| Grid connection | ||||
| How it is cooled |
Jobs once it runs, also reported: 17,000 jobs, 2026 (Pelican Institute (opens in a new tab): Loudoun County reported over 17,000 direct and indirect jobs related to data centers); 17.4 percent, 2026 (Pelican Institute (opens in a new tab): Employment in Loudoun surged 17.4% since early 2020) .
Tax it would pay each year, also reported: 1,200,000,000 USD, 2026 (FOX 5 DC (opens in a new tab): Data centers expected to bring in about $1.2 billion in tax revenue in Loudoun County in 2026, datacenterrichness.substack.com (opens in a new tab): Data centers generate approximately 1.2 billion dollars in local tax revenue annually in Loudoun County, accounting for roughly 45 percent of all county revenue while occupying only 3 percent of the land., Pelican Institute (opens in a new tab): In Fiscal Year 2026, data centers generated $1.2 billion in real and personal property tax revenue in Loudoun County, representing 39% of the county's overall budget, Fox News (opens in a new tab): Data centers generated $1.2 billion in tax revenue for Loudoun County in fiscal year 2026, representing 39 percent of the county budget.); 1,300,000,000 USD, 2026 (bondbuyer.com (opens in a new tab): Loudoun County expected to produce $1.3 billion in tax revenue from data centers this year., loudounnow.com (opens in a new tab): Loudoun County data centers are expected to provide 1.3 billion dollars of tax revenue to the county this year); 1,000,000,000 dollars a year, 2026 (Virginia Business (opens in a new tab): Loudoun County data centers generate more than 1 billion dollars in annual local tax revenue); 6,000 dollars a year, 2026 (Bluegrass Institute (opens in a new tab): Loudoun County tax cut averages almost 6000 dollars per household); 5,800 USD, 2026 (Fox News (opens in a new tab): Loudoun County homeowners save an average of $5,800 a year in property taxes thanks to data centers, according to Tax Foundation VP Jared Walczak); 24 USD, 2026 (Mid Florida Newspapers (opens in a new tab): Loudoun County, Virginia receives $24 in tax revenue for every $1 county spending on data centers) .
A blank value cell means not disclosed by any source on file; a blank basis cell means the source gave the figure without saying on what basis.
The developer's figure is what the company said; what a permit allows is the ceiling a permit sets; measured means observed. Water is in gallons a day or a year, whichever the source stated; a tax claim given as a range shows both ends, each linked to the source that gave it.
Still not public, and where it would show up
The record adds each the day a source gives it. Why these documents.
- Water use A state water right filing or a water supply agreement.
- Who would use it A lease announcement or a tenant named in a filing.
- Power the campus would draw A utility or public service commission docket, an interconnection filing, or an air permit for an on site plant.
- Jobs and tax An incentive agreement, a county's economic development filing or a fiscal note.
What was decided
Acts of Loudoun County and Ashburn about data centers, on the record with their source. A rule about the area is not a decision about this record.
| Date | Who | Decision | Source |
|---|---|---|---|
| Loudoun County | Virginia Loudoun County moved future projects to special exception process | commercialobserver.com (opens in a new tab) | |
| Loudoun County | Loudoun County holding two open house meetings on September 28 and 30, 2026 to discuss phase two data center policy standards | patch.com (opens in a new tab) | |
| Loudoun County | Phase one of Loudoun County data center policy overhaul was approved in March 2025 and ended by right data center development except for already approved projects | patch.com (opens in a new tab) | |
| Loudoun County | Loudoun County Board of Supervisors launched data center policy review project in 2024 | patch.com (opens in a new tab) | |
| Loudoun County | Loudoun County had already removed data centers as a by right zoning option and is exploring removing by right status to grandfathered projects | datacenterdynamics.com (opens in a new tab) | |
| Loudoun County | Loudoun County Board of Supervisors voted 7-1 on motion to pause data center applications for 12 months, effective immediately | datacenterdynamics.com (opens in a new tab) |
6 earlier decisions on the county's rows
| Date | Who | Decision | Source |
|---|---|---|---|
| Loudoun County | Loudoun County Board of Supervisors voted 7-1-1 to direct staff to prepare a 12 month pause resolution on data center and substation applications, effective September 15, 2026. | yahoo.com (opens in a new tab) | |
| Loudoun County | Staff recommendation is that Loudoun County board take no action on data center moratorium | fox5dc.com (opens in a new tab) | |
| Loudoun County | Loudoun County supervisors scheduled to discuss possible data center moratorium at business meeting Tuesday at 4 p.m. | fox5dc.com (opens in a new tab) | |
| Loudoun County | Virginia's Loudoun County is considering limits on new data centers after decades of rapid growth | baltimoresun.com (opens in a new tab) | |
| Loudoun County | By 2008, Loudoun County launched a marketing push to lure more data center facilities to the area | moneywise.com (opens in a new tab) | |
| Loudoun County | In 2000, Loudoun's zoning administrator determined that data centers could be treated like office buildings and built by right in office zoned areas without Board of Supervisors approval | moneywise.com (opens in a new tab) |
What happened
No dated entry is on the record yet.
-
Read on October 24, 2026 (the day the page was read; it gives no date of its own)
EPA ECHO Detailed Facility Report lists active Virginia DEQ stationary generator air permit registration at this facility.
The site
The pin is the site, as the EPA's facility record places it. Location from an EPA hazardous waste record.
- Where
- 21955 Loudoun County Parkway, Ashburn, VA 20147, Ashburn, Loudoun County, Virginia [1] echo.epa.gov (opens in a new tab)
- How exactly it is located
- Exact, the point of the EPA's facility record
- The parcel
- No parcel outline in the public record
- Nearest homes
- Not computed for a record placed at a place center
- Nearest records
- Equinix Ashburn, 0.5 mi
- Aligned Data Centers Ashburn, 0.5 mi
- Cologix Ashburn, 0.6 mi
- H5 Ashburn, 0.7 mi
- QTS Ashburn 3, 0.8 mi
Comparisons
2 metrics with more than one figure
Permanent jobs
2 figures, 1 sourceShow each source's words
- 17,000 jobs, Pelican Institute: Loudoun County reported over 17,000 direct and indirect jobs related to data centers
- 17.4 percent, Pelican Institute: Employment in Loudoun surged 17.4% since early 2020
Tax each year
6 figures, 10 sourcesloudounnow.com, Sep 8, 2026 (opens in a new tab); bondbuyer.com, Sep 14, 2026 (opens in a new tab)
Fox News, Jun 29, 2026 (opens in a new tab); FOX 5 DC, Sep 7, 2026 (opens in a new tab); Pelican Institute, Sep 22, 2026 (opens in a new tab); datacenterrichness.substack.com, Oct 1, 2026 (opens in a new tab)
Show each source's words
- 1,300,000,000 dollars, loudounnow.com: Loudoun County data centers are expected to provide 1.3 billion dollars of tax revenue to the county this year
- 1,300,000,000 dollars, bondbuyer.com: Loudoun County expected to produce $1.3 billion in tax revenue from data centers this year.
- 1,200,000,000 dollars, Fox News: Data centers generated $1.2 billion in tax revenue for Loudoun County in fiscal year 2026, representing 39 percent of the county budget.
- 1,200,000,000 dollars, FOX 5 DC: Data centers expected to bring in about $1.2 billion in tax revenue in Loudoun County in 2026
- 1,200,000,000 dollars, Pelican Institute: In Fiscal Year 2026, data centers generated $1.2 billion in real and personal property tax revenue in Loudoun County, representing 39% of the county's overall budget
- 1,200,000,000 dollars, datacenterrichness.substack.com: Data centers generate approximately 1.2 billion dollars in local tax revenue annually in Loudoun County, accounting for roughly 45 percent of all county revenue while occupying only 3 percent of the land.
- 1,000,000,000 dollars a year, Virginia Business: Loudoun County data centers generate more than 1 billion dollars in annual local tax revenue
- 6,000 dollars a year, Bluegrass Institute: Loudoun County tax cut averages almost 6000 dollars per household
- 5,800 USD, Fox News: Loudoun County homeowners save an average of $5,800 a year in property taxes thanks to data centers, according to Tax Foundation VP Jared Walczak
- 24 USD, Mid Florida Newspapers: Loudoun County, Virginia receives $24 in tax revenue for every $1 county spending on data centers
Keep going
Questions about this project
7 questions answered from the record
How big is Loudoun Data Center 1 (LDC1)?
-
The record has one measure of its size: 1 building (air permit generator list, echo.epa.gov (opens in a new tab)). Its power capacity is not disclosed.
Who is building Loudoun Data Center 1 (LDC1)?
-
Loudoun Data Center 1 LLC is the developer, echo.epa.gov (opens in a new tab). No construction contractor is named on the record yet.
Who will use Loudoun Data Center 1 (LDC1)?
-
Not disclosed. No source on file names a tenant, says whether the site is single or multi tenant, or states what it is for. The record keeps the use as not disclosed until one does; see Who it serves.
How much power and water does Loudoun Data Center 1 (LDC1) say it needs?
-
Power: not disclosed by any source on file. Water: not disclosed by any source on file.
Where does Loudoun Data Center 1 (LDC1) stand today?
-
It is running; the date it reached that stage is not sourced, only the day a page was read. No dated entry is on the record yet.
What has Ashburn or Loudoun County decided about it?
-
Loudoun County (rated restrictive): Virginia Loudoun County moved future projects to special exception process (reported September 23, 2026, commercialobserver.com (opens in a new tab)); and Loudoun County: Loudoun County holding two open house meetings on September 28 and 30, 2026 to discuss phase two data center policy standards (reported September 21, 2026, patch.com (opens in a new tab)). 12 events are on the county's rows; a rule about the area is not a decision about this record.
What is still unknown about Loudoun Data Center 1 (LDC1)?
-
Not disclosed by any source on file: how much power it needs, how much water it would use, how loud it would be, jobs once it runs, tax it would pay each year, who is constructing it, how much land, where its power comes from, grid connection, how it is cooled. No missing primary document is listed for this record yet; What the record lacks is where one appears when a person names it.
Sources
Primary documents
- EPA ECHO detailed facility report: Loudoun Data Center 1 (LDC1) (opens in a new tab), U.S. Environmental Protection Agency
1 source on file.
About this data
Last verified , first recorded . Every correction is logged on the corrections page. Report a correction · Send a tip about Loudoun Data Center 1 (LDC1)
Cite this page
Data Center Record, "Loudoun Data Center 1 (LDC1)", https://datacenterrecord.org/projects/loudoun-data-center-1-ldc1-ashburn-va. Data: Data Center Record, datacenterrecord.org, CC BY-NC 4.0.
The structured rows are CC BY-NC 4.0. Link to this page; that is what turns a reuse into a citation. Prose stays under copyright.
For researchers
- Stage
- Running
- Tier
- reviewed in depth
- Tags
- Reviewed in depth
- Coordinates
- 39.009005, -77.463783
- How the location is known
- Location from an EPA facility record.
- Location source
- EPA ECHO facility record 110071334381: the registry placed its point by gdt address matching geocoding, accurate to 150 m
- Coordinate source
- epa frs point
- Location source number
- [1]
- Location last verified
- October 24, 2026
- EPA registry id
- 110071334381
- Rating of the county's rows
- Restrictive
- Published
- October 20, 2026
- Last verified
- October 24, 2026
- Undisclosed in public filings
- Uses, Tenancy, Cooling, How capacity was disclosed, How water was disclosed, How acreage was disclosed, Interconnection, Capacity, if disclosed