Data Center Record.

Running Built from one source

Cologix Ashburn

Cologix lists 2 data centers at Ashburn, Virginia among the sites it operates. It is running; the record holds no sourced date for when it reached that stage.

How much power it needs, how much water it would use and who would use it have not been disclosed.

Last verified · 7 sources, 2 primary · A skeleton record: built from one source, not yet reviewed in depth by a person. · How to read this page

How to read this page. Every fact links to the source it rests on; a number in brackets is its place in the source list. A figure no source gives reads Not disclosed, and nothing is estimated. Where sources give different figures, each is shown with who gave it, and another source's figure never stands in for the record's own. Entries are added and never overwritten; corrections are listed under What happened.

What is known

Each figure as its source gave it. The number in brackets is its place in the source list.

Land
Not disclosed
Power it would draw
Not disclosed
Water
Not disclosed
Who leads it
Cologix
as stated by the source
Who would use it
Not disclosed
Jobs once it runs
Not disclosed
Tax each year
Not disclosed
Every field, with who said it and when (Researcher view)

Impact figures

FieldValueWho says soSourceLast verified
How much power it needs Not disclosed
How much water it would use Not disclosed
How loud it would be Not disclosed
Jobs once it runs Not disclosed
Tax it would pay each year Not disclosed

The record's fields

FieldValueWho says soSourceLast verified
Who is building it Cologix as stated by the source October 4, 2026
Who is constructing it Not disclosed
How much land Not disclosed
Where its power comes from Not disclosed
Grid connection Not disclosed
How it is cooled Not disclosed

The developer's figure is what the company said; what a permit allows is the ceiling a permit sets; measured means observed. Water is in gallons a day or a year, whichever the source stated; a tax claim given as a range shows both ends, each linked to the source that gave it.

Still not public, and where it would show up

The record adds each the day a source gives it. Why these documents.

  • Water useA state water right filing or a water supply agreement.
  • Who would use itA lease announcement or a tenant named in a filing.
  • Power the campus would drawA utility or public service commission docket, an interconnection filing, or an air permit for an on site plant.
  • Jobs and taxAn incentive agreement, a county's economic development filing or a fiscal note.

What was decided

Acts of Loudoun County and Ashburn about data centers, on the record with their source. A rule about the area is not a decision about this record.

DateWhoDecisionSource
Loudoun County restrictive Virginia Loudoun County moved future projects to special exception process commercialobserver.com
Loudoun County restrictive Loudoun County holding two open house meetings on September 28 and 30, 2026 to discuss phase two data center policy standards patch.com
Loudoun County restrictive Phase one of Loudoun County data center policy overhaul was approved in March 2025 and ended by right data center development except for already approved projects patch.com
Loudoun County restrictive Loudoun County Board of Supervisors launched data center policy review project in 2024 patch.com
Loudoun County restrictive Loudoun County had already removed data centers as a by right zoning option and is exploring removing by right status to grandfathered projects datacenterdynamics.com
Loudoun County restrictive Loudoun County Board of Supervisors voted 7-1-1 to direct staff to prepare a 12 month pause resolution on data center and substation applications, effective September 15, 2026. yahoo.com
1 earlier decision on the county's rows
DateWhoDecisionSource
Loudoun County restrictive Virginia's Loudoun County is considering limits on new data centers after decades of rapid growth baltimoresun.com

What happened

  1. · Status: running (the day the page was read; it gives no date of its own)

    Cologix lists Cologix ASH1, Cologix ASH2 at Ashburn, Virginia on its own page of data center locations, read September 14, 2026. [2]

The full Cologix Ashburn timeline, in order

The site

The pin is the site, as the EPA's facility record places it. Location from an EPA air permit.

  • This record: Running, ringed
  • data center
  • Smaller pins: 35 other published records in Virginia
Details
  • this record's location, ringed
  • parcel outline, from the county parcel record
  • city limits, U.S. Census Bureau, on a town level record
  • county boundary

The other pins are the published projects in the same state, each in its stage color. The imagery beneath is the USGS national orthoimagery, public domain, shown so the land around the site can be read.

Where
21745 Beaumeade Circle, Ashburn, VA 20147, Ashburn, Loudoun County, Virginia [source]
How exactly it is located
Exact, the point of the EPA's facility record
The parcel
No parcel outline in the public record
Nearest homes
Not computed for a record placed at a place center
Nearest records
By the straight line between two exact points.

Questions about this project

4 questions answered from the record

Answered from the rows on this page.

Who is building Cologix Ashburn?

Cologix is the developer. No construction contractor is named on the record yet.

How much power and water does Cologix Ashburn say it needs?

Power: not disclosed by any source on file. Water: not disclosed by any source on file.

Where does Cologix Ashburn stand today?

It is running; the date it reached that stage is not sourced, only the day a page was read. The newest entry, read on September 14, 2026: Cologix lists Cologix ASH1, Cologix ASH2 at Ashburn, Virginia on its own page of data center locations, read September 14, 2026. [2]

What has Ashburn or Loudoun County decided about it?

Loudoun County (rated restrictive): Virginia Loudoun County moved future projects to special exception process (reported September 23, 2026, source); and Loudoun County: Loudoun County holding two open house meetings on September 28 and 30, 2026 to discuss phase two data center policy standards (reported September 21, 2026, source). 7 events are on the county's rows; a rule about the area is not a decision about this record.

Sources

Primary documents first: filings, minutes, dockets and official pages. Then reporting. The numbers are the ones the entries above cite.

Primary documents

  1. EPA ECHO detailed facility report: Cologix ASH1, U.S. Environmental Protection Agency
  2. Cologix: Data centers, Cologix, September 14, 2026

Reporting

  1. Cologix expands digital infra footprint in Virginia’s Data Center Alley - Institutional Real Estate, Inc., Institutional Real Estate, Inc., February 9, 2026, query feed
  2. Why Cologix is Expanding its Ashburn Campus by 38 Acres - Data Centre Magazine, Data Centre Magazine, February 12, 2026, query feed
  3. Cologix Buys Land for New Campus in Ashburn - Data Center Richness | Substack, Data Center Richness | Substack, February 5, 2026, query feed
  4. Data Center Developer Buys Ashburn Office Park for 4 Times Assessed Value - Northern Virginia Magazine, Northern Virginia Magazine, February 26, 2026, query feed
  5. Cologix acquires land in Ashburn, Virginia, for data center - Data Center Dynamics, Data Center Dynamics, February 6, 2026, query feed

7 sources on file.

Cite this record

Data Center Record, "Cologix Ashburn", https://datacenterrecord.org/projects/cologix-ashburn-va, last verified October 4, 2026.

Last verified , first recorded . Every correction is logged on the corrections page.

Cite this page

Data Center Record, "Cologix Ashburn", https://datacenterrecord.org/projects/cologix-ashburn-va. Data: Data Center Record, datacenterrecord.org, CC BY 4.0.

The structured rows are CC BY 4.0. Link to this page; that is what turns a reuse into a citation. Prose stays under copyright.

Report a change
For researchers
Slug
cologix-ashburn-va
Status value
operational
Stage
Running
Tier
skeleton
Tags
skeleton
Place id
us/va/loudoun-county/ashburn
Coordinates
39.016339, -77.45751
Location precision
permit_point
Location source
https://echo.epa.gov/detailed-facility-report?fid=110071655076
Coordinate source
https://echo.epa.gov/detailed-facility-report?fid=110071655076
Location source number
[1]
Location last verified
October 4, 2026
EPA registry id
110071655076
Use type values
not_disclosed
Tenancy value
not_disclosed
Cooling type value
not_disclosed
Capacity basis
not_disclosed
Water basis
not_disclosed, gallons_per_day
Acreage basis
Not disclosed
Interconnection value
not_disclosed
Capacity, if disclosed
Not disclosed
Rating of the county's rows
Restrictive
Published
2026-09-14
Last verified
2026-10-04