Data Center Record.

Reported Built from one source

Apple Prineville Campus

Apple operates a large data center campus in Prineville, Oregon, benefiting from Long Term Rural Enterprise Zone tax exemptions that are nearing expiration. It is reported, as reported May 30, 2024.

How much power it needs, how much water it would use and who would use it have not been disclosed.

Last verified · 10 sources, 1 primary · A skeleton record: built from one source, not yet reviewed in depth by a person. · How to read this page

How to read this page. Every fact links to the source it rests on; a number in brackets is its place in the source list. A figure no source gives reads Not disclosed, and nothing is estimated. Where sources give different figures, each is shown with who gave it, and another source's figure never stands in for the record's own. Entries are added and never overwritten; corrections are listed under What happened.

What is known

Each figure as its source gave it. The number in brackets is its place in the source list.

Land
Not disclosed
Power it would draw
Not disclosed
Reported by others: 30 to 40 MW (Data Center Knowledge). Their figure, not the record's.
Water
Not disclosed
Who leads it
Apple
as stated by the source
Who would use it
Not disclosed
Jobs once it runs
Not disclosed
Tax each year
Not disclosed
Every field, with who said it and when (Researcher view)

Impact figures

FieldValueWho says soSourceLast verified
How much power it needs Not disclosed
How much water it would use Not disclosed
How loud it would be Not disclosed
Jobs once it runs Not disclosed
Tax it would pay each year Not disclosed

The record's fields

FieldValueWho says soSourceLast verified
Who is building it Apple as stated by the source October 4, 2026
Who is constructing it Not disclosed
How much land Not disclosed
Where its power comes from Not disclosed
Grid connection Not disclosed
How it is cooled Not disclosed

How much power it needs, also reported: 30 to 40 MW, 2024 (Data Center Knowledge: Apple Prineville campus could require 30 to 40 megawatts of power to support its campus at full capacity) .

The developer's figure is what the company said; what a permit allows is the ceiling a permit sets; measured means observed. Water is in gallons a day or a year, whichever the source stated; a tax claim given as a range shows both ends, each linked to the source that gave it.

Still not public, and where it would show up

The record adds each the day a source gives it. Why these documents.

  • Water useA state water right filing or a water supply agreement.
  • Who would use itA lease announcement or a tenant named in a filing.
  • Power the campus would drawA utility or public service commission docket, an interconnection filing, or an air permit for an on site plant.
  • Jobs and taxAn incentive agreement, a county's economic development filing or a fiscal note.

What was decided

Acts of Crook County and Prineville about data centers, on the record with their source. A rule about the area is not a decision about this record.

DateWhoDecisionSource
Prineville Prineville officials were in discussion with two additional companies about building data centers in the town where Facebook opened its first company built data center datacenterknowledge.com

What happened

  1. (source date; the content gives no date of its own)

    Milestone Technologies will lay off 66 non union workers on June 28, 2026 [6]

  2. (source date; the content gives no date of its own)

    Facebook data center first phase was 150,000 square feet and opened in April [5]

  3. (source date; the content gives no date of its own)

    Apple has already begun work on a 10,000 square foot facility featuring modular data centers [4]

  4. (source date; the content gives no date of its own)

    Apple submitted a master plan for its 160 acre property in Prineville with plans to build two large data center buildings spanning more than 500,000 square feet of data halls [4]

  5. (source date; the content gives no date of its own)

    Apple acquired the 45 Mile Hydroelectric Plant, which had been under development by EBD Hydro and was transferred to Apple in December [3]

  6. (source date; the content gives no date of its own)

    The required electrical capacity would not be available until mid-2013 when a nearby substation could be upgraded [2]

  7. · Status: rumored (source date; the content gives no date of its own)

    Apple is considering building a new data center adjacent to Facebook's facility in Prineville, Oregon, using codename Maverick [2]

The full Apple Prineville Campus timeline, in order

15 corrections to this record

Every correction, with its reason
  1. · the summary of a record items row

    the record's rules: the sentence copied its source, was about its headline or carried a number the card's facts do not; written again from the card's facts, on the editor's word The old and new text.

  2. · the speaker role of a statements row

    Speaker read again from the statement's source line, "Mayor Jason Beebe": the title in front of the name (Mayor) is the role, not part of the name. The old and new text.

  3. · the speaker of a statements row

    Speaker read again from the statement's source line, "Mayor Jason Beebe": the title in front of the name (Mayor) is the role, not part of the name. The old and new text.

  4. · the speaker role of a statements row

    Speaker read again from the statement's source line, "Mayor Jason Beebe": the title in front of the name (Mayor) is the role, not part of the name. The old and new text.

  5. · the speaker of a statements row

    Speaker read again from the statement's source line, "Mayor Jason Beebe": the title in front of the name (Mayor) is the role, not part of the name. The old and new text.

  6. · the draft of a reference figures row

    The record could not read this figure's source: no text of the page reached the classifier, which scored card 4063 from the headline alone, and the number came from the headline; published by the bulk approve of 2026-09-25. A reference figure needs a source the record read: returned to draft, off every page, until a readable source that states it is cited (docs/batch-unread-figures-0929.md). The old and new text.

  7. · the draft of a reference figures row

    The record could not read this figure's source: no text of the page reached the classifier, which scored card 4062 from the headline alone, and the number came from the headline; published by the bulk approve of 2026-09-25. A reference figure needs a source the record read: returned to draft, off every page, until a readable source that states it is cited (docs/batch-unread-figures-0929.md). The old and new text.

  8. · the kind of source of a history entry

    The source was labeled with the Google News search that found it; it now carries its outlet's tier (the record's rules of 2026-09-23). The link did not change. The day's label corrections.

  9. · the kind of source of a history entry

    The source was labeled with the Google News search that found it; it now carries its outlet's tier (the record's rules of 2026-09-23). The link did not change. The day's label corrections.

  10. · the kind of source of a history entry

    The source was labeled with the Google News search that found it; it now carries its outlet's tier (the record's rules of 2026-09-23). The link did not change. The day's label corrections.

  11. · the summary of a projects row

    Hyphenated compound split to meet the writing rule (DECISIONS section 12); the words are unchanged. The old and new text.

  12. · the draft of a status history row

    Published on a project that was still a draft skeleton and still short of the record's skeleton minimum rule; returned to draft on 2026-09-17 pending the project meeting the rule or a person's approval. The old and new text.

  13. · the draft of a status history row

    Published on a project that was still a draft skeleton and still short of the record's skeleton minimum rule; returned to draft on 2026-09-17 pending the project meeting the rule or a person's approval. The old and new text.

  14. · the draft of a status history row

    Published on a project that was still a draft skeleton and still short of the record's skeleton minimum rule; returned to draft on 2026-09-17 pending the project meeting the rule or a person's approval. The old and new text.

  15. · the draft of a status history row

    Published on a project that was still a draft skeleton and still short of the record's skeleton minimum rule; returned to draft on 2026-09-17 pending the project meeting the rule or a person's approval. The old and new text.

Every correction on the record is on the corrections page.

What was said

Altman previously publicly pointed out that the space data center initiative is not realistic.
Sam Altman, OpenAI CEO · July 12, 2026 · paraphrased · 매일경제 local outlet
Layoffs due to end of contract with client at Prineville location
Milestone Technologies executive · April 30, 2026 · paraphrased · OPB local outlet

Every statement about data centers in Oregon, by speaker

8 more statements on this page

OpenAI CEO

Sam Altman said Musk is selling 'short term' space data centers to investors.

July 12, 2026, 매일경제 · 매일경제 local outlet · the record (Paraphrased; said in the source itself)

Meta spokesperson

Meta plans to rehire the majority of staff through a different firm as part of vendor partnership change

April 30, 2026, OPB · OPB local outlet · the record (Paraphrased; said in the source itself)

Jason Beebe, Mayor

Prineville is home to both Facebook and Apple data centers with 15 year tax exemptions beginning to expire

March 5, 2026, bendbulletin.com · bendbulletin.com local outlet · the record (Paraphrased; said in the source itself)

Casey Kaiser, assistant city manager

Meta and Apple funded nearly the entire aquifer system

March 5, 2026, KTVZ · KTVZ local outlet · the record (Paraphrased; said in the source itself)

Casey Kaiser, assistant city manager

Data centers pay same water rates and system development charges as any other industrial developer

March 5, 2026, KTVZ · KTVZ local outlet · the record (Paraphrased; said in the source itself)

Jason Beebe, Mayor

Regulations will likely aim to protect energy infrastructure and water supplies from being overburdened

March 5, 2026, bendbulletin.com · bendbulletin.com local outlet · the record (Paraphrased; said in the source itself)

Greg LeRoy, executive director of Good Jobs First, stated that since Oregon has no sales tax, it is property taxes that are the big dollars attracting data centers

August 21, 2025, bendbulletin.com · bendbulletin.com local outlet · the record (Paraphrased; said in the source itself)

Apple has committed to supporting 100 percent of its energy use in Prineville with renewable resources

May 31, 2024, Data Center Knowledge · Data Center Knowledge trade press · the record (Paraphrased; said in the source itself)

The site

The pin is the site, as the EPA's facility record places it. Location from an EPA water permit.

  • This record: Proposed, ringed
  • data center
  • Smaller pins: 13 other published records in Oregon
Details
  • this record's location, ringed
  • parcel outline, from the county parcel record
  • city limits, U.S. Census Bureau, on a town level record
  • county boundary

The other pins are the published projects in the same state, each in its stage color. The imagery beneath is the USGS national orthoimagery, public domain, shown so the land around the site can be read.

Where
1600 SW Baldwin Drive, Prineville, OR 97754, Prineville, Crook County, Oregon [source]
How exactly it is located
Exact, the point of the EPA's facility record
The parcel
No parcel outline in the public record
Nearest homes
Not computed for a record placed at a place center
Nearest records
By the straight line between two exact points.

Comparisons

1 metric with more than one figure

Every figure on the record for the same thing, the record's own or the document's first, each with who gave it, its date and its basis.

Capacity at full buildout

1 figure, 1 source
Show each source's words
  • 30 to 40 MW, Data Center Knowledge: Apple Prineville campus could require 30 to 40 megawatts of power to support its campus at full capacity

Questions about this project

7 questions answered from the record

Answered from the rows on this page.

How big is Apple Prineville Campus?

Not disclosed. No source on file gives its capacity, its acreage or a count of buildings. What the record holds instead is under Disclosed.

Who is building Apple Prineville Campus?

Apple is the developer. No construction contractor is named on the record yet.

Who will use Apple Prineville Campus?

Not disclosed. No source on file names a tenant, says whether the site is single or multi tenant, or states what it is for. The record keeps the use as not disclosed until one does; see Who it serves.

How much power and water does Apple Prineville Campus say it needs?

Power: not disclosed by any source on file. Water: not disclosed by any source on file.

Where does Apple Prineville Campus stand today?

It is reported, as reported May 30, 2024. The newest entry, reported April 30, 2026: Milestone Technologies will lay off 66 non union workers on June 28, 2026 [6].

What has Prineville or Crook County decided about it?

Prineville: Prineville officials were in discussion with two additional companies about building data centers in the town where Facebook opened its first company built data center (reported May 31, 2024, source). 1 event is on the county's rows; a rule about the area is not a decision about this record.

What is still unknown about Apple Prineville Campus?

Not disclosed by any source on file: how much power it needs, how much water it would use, how loud it would be, jobs once it runs, tax it would pay each year, who is constructing it, how much land, where its power comes from, grid connection, how it is cooled. No missing primary document is listed for this record yet; What the record lacks is where one appears when a person names it.

Sources

Primary documents first: filings, minutes, dockets and official pages. Then reporting. The numbers are the ones the entries above cite.

Primary documents

  1. EPA ECHO detailed facility report: Apple Data Center, U.S. Environmental Protection Agency

Reporting

  1. Report: Apple May Build Near Facebook in Oregon, Data Center Knowledge, May 30, 2024, trade press
  2. Apple Buys Hydro Power Facility Near Prineville Data Center, Data Center Knowledge, May 31, 2024, trade press
  3. Apple Expansion Boosts Prineville Data Center Ecosystem, Data Center Knowledge, May 31, 2024, trade press
  4. Facebook May Get New Neighbors in Prineville, Data Center Knowledge, May 31, 2024, trade press
  5. Prineville data center with connection to Meta will lay off 66 - Oregon Public Broadcasting, OPB, April 30, 2026, local outlet
  6. Data centers drain Crook County’s school tax base, bendbulletin.com, August 21, 2025, local outlet
  7. Prineville Wants More Out of Its Next Data Center Deal - The Source - Bend, Oregon, Bend, Oregon, June 30, 2026, local outlet
  8. 66 workers to lose jobs at Prineville data center tied to Meta, Central Oregon Daily, May 1, 2026, local outlet
  9. Meta Layoffs in Prineville, KBND, May 1, 2026, local outlet

10 sources on file.

Cite this record

Data Center Record, "Apple Prineville Campus", https://datacenterrecord.org/projects/apple-prineville-campus-or, last verified October 4, 2026.

Last verified , first recorded . Every correction is logged on the corrections page and under What happened.

Cite this page

Data Center Record, "Apple Prineville Campus", https://datacenterrecord.org/projects/apple-prineville-campus-or. Data: Data Center Record, datacenterrecord.org, CC BY 4.0.

The structured rows are CC BY 4.0. Link to this page; that is what turns a reuse into a citation. Prose stays under copyright.

Report a change
For researchers
Slug
apple-prineville-campus-or
Status value
rumored
Stage
Proposed
Tier
skeleton
Tags
skeleton
Place id
us/or/crook-county/prineville
Coordinates
44.289, -120.87685
Location precision
permit_point
Location source
https://echo.epa.gov/detailed-facility-report?fid=110071898474
Coordinate source
https://echo.epa.gov/detailed-facility-report?fid=110071898474
Location source number
[1]
Location last verified
October 4, 2026
EPA registry id
110071898474
Use type values
not_disclosed
Tenancy value
not_disclosed
Cooling type value
not_disclosed
Capacity basis
not_disclosed
Water basis
not_disclosed, gallons_per_day
Acreage basis
Not disclosed
Interconnection value
not_disclosed
Capacity, if disclosed
Not disclosed
Rating of the county's rows
Not disclosed
Published
2026-09-04
Last verified
2026-10-04