Data Center Record.

Reported Built from one source

Amazon Eastern Oregon Data Centers

Amazon operates data centers in Morrow County, Oregon that went online beginning in 2011 and have been linked to nitrate groundwater contamination and a cluster of rare health conditions in the surrounding community. It is reported, since March 31, 2026.

How much power it needs, how much water it would use and who would use it have not been disclosed.

Last verified · 7 sources, 1 primary · A skeleton record: built from one source, not yet reviewed in depth by a person. · How to read this page

How to read this page. Every fact links to the source it rests on; a number in brackets is its place in the source list. A figure no source gives reads Not disclosed, and nothing is estimated. Where sources give different figures, each is shown with who gave it, and another source's figure never stands in for the record's own. Entries are added and never overwritten; corrections are listed under What happened.

What is known

Each figure as its source gave it. The number in brackets is its place in the source list.

Land
Not disclosed
Power it would draw
Not disclosed
Water
Not disclosed
Who leads it
Amazon
as stated by the source
Who would use it
Not disclosed
Jobs once it runs
Not disclosed
Tax each year
Not disclosed
Every field, with who said it and when (Researcher view)

Impact figures

FieldValueWho says soSourceLast verified
How much power it needs Not disclosed
How much water it would use Not disclosed
How loud it would be Not disclosed
Jobs once it runs Not disclosed
Tax it would pay each year Not disclosed

The record's fields

FieldValueWho says soSourceLast verified
Who is building it Amazon as stated by the source September 17, 2026
Who is constructing it Not disclosed
How much land Not disclosed
Where its power comes from Not disclosed
Grid connection Not disclosed
How it is cooled Not disclosed

The developer's figure is what the company said; what a permit allows is the ceiling a permit sets; measured means observed. Water is in gallons a day or a year, whichever the source stated; a tax claim given as a range shows both ends, each linked to the source that gave it.

Still not public, and where it would show up

The record adds each the day a source gives it. Why these documents.

  • Water useA state water right filing or a water supply agreement.
  • Who would use itA lease announcement or a tenant named in a filing.
  • Power the campus would drawA utility or public service commission docket, an interconnection filing, or an air permit for an on site plant.
  • Jobs and taxAn incentive agreement, a county's economic development filing or a fiscal note.

What happened

  1. (source date; the content gives no date of its own)

    Amazon data center project is proceeding in the Boardman area with Oregon Department of Environmental Quality opening public comment period for air quality permit [4]

  2. · In court (content date)

    Settlement motion filed in U.S. District Court for the District of Oregon, Pendleton Division [1]

The full Amazon Eastern Oregon Data Centers timeline, in order

7 corrections to this record

Every correction, with its reason
  1. · the capacity mw of a projects row

    The capacity carried no source url. It came from the state batch extraction of 2026-09-04, which read two entries that are still draft and never approved ("would require a gigawatt of electricity", "consuming up to 1 gigawatt of power"); no published source on the record states it, so the field reads Not disclosed until one does (the editor's word of 2026-10-06). The old and new text.

  2. · the kind of source of a history entry

    The source was labeled with the Google News search that found it; it now carries its outlet's tier (the record's rules of 2026-09-23). The link did not change. The day's label corrections.

  3. · the kind of source of a history entry

    The source was labeled with the Google News search that found it; it now carries its outlet's tier (the record's rules of 2026-09-23). The link did not change. The day's label corrections.

  4. · the kind of source of a history entry

    The source was labeled with the Google News search that found it; it now carries its outlet's tier (the record's rules of 2026-09-23). The link did not change. The day's label corrections.

  5. · the kind of source of a history entry

    The source was labeled with the Google News search that found it; it now carries its outlet's tier (the record's rules of 2026-09-23). The link did not change. The day's label corrections.

  6. · the kind of source of a history entry

    The source was labeled with the Google News search that found it; it now carries its outlet's tier (the record's rules of 2026-09-23). The link did not change. The day's label corrections.

  7. · the effective at of a status history row

    Dated from its source: hbsslaw.com (its own cited source) answers 403 and could not be read directly; independent reporting on the same settlement (oregoncapitalchronicle.com/2026/03/31/..., KOIN, The Food and Environment Reporting Network) agrees the motion was filed March 31, 2026. The old and new text.

Every correction on the record is on the corrections page.

What was said

Jim Doherty, former Morrow County Commissioner, said opposition to data centers is a unifying moment between rural and urban Oregon
Jim Doherty, former Morrow County Commissioner · September 10, 2026 · paraphrased · OPB local outlet
Amazon representative said Amazon data center uses less water than local agriculture industry
Courtney Lee, senior manager for state and local policy, Amazon Web Services · September 10, 2026 · paraphrased · OPB local outlet

Every statement about data centers in Oregon, by speaker

2 more statements on this page

Courtney Lee, senior manager for state and local policy, Amazon Web Services

Amazon representative said company runs diesel generators about 12 hours per year for testing and maintenance

September 10, 2026, OPB · OPB local outlet · the record (Paraphrased; said in the source itself)

Chair, Morrow County Board of Commissioners

David Sykes, chair of the Morrow County Board of Commissioners, said decisions over data centers on private property are up to local government

September 10, 2026, OPB · OPB local outlet · the record (Paraphrased; said in the source itself)

The site

Where in Morrow County is not in the public record. The pin marks the county seat, not a building, and the outline is the county.

  • This record: Proposed, ringed
  • data center
  • Dashed edge: the exact site is not in the public record
  • Smaller pins: 13 other published records in Oregon
Details
  • this record's location, ringed
  • parcel outline, from the county parcel record
  • city limits, U.S. Census Bureau, on a town level record
  • county boundary

The other pins are the published projects in the same state, each in its stage color. The imagery beneath is the USGS national orthoimagery, public domain, shown so the land around the site can be read.

Where
Boardman, Morrow County, Oregon
How exactly it is located
County level, the county seat
The parcel
No parcel outline in the public record
Nearest homes
Not computed for a record placed at a place center
Nearest records
Nearest records are not computed for a record placed at a county seat.

Questions about this project

4 questions answered from the record

Answered from the rows on this page.

Who is building Amazon Eastern Oregon Data Centers?

Amazon is the developer. No construction contractor is named on the record yet.

How much power and water does Amazon Eastern Oregon Data Centers say it needs?

Power: not disclosed by any source on file. Water: not disclosed by any source on file.

Where does Amazon Eastern Oregon Data Centers stand today?

It is reported, since March 31, 2026. The newest entry, reported September 10, 2026: Amazon data center project is proceeding in the Boardman area with Oregon Department of Environmental Quality opening public comment period for air quality permit [4].

What has Boardman or Morrow County decided about it?

No decision by Boardman or Morrow County about data centers is on the record. The Morrow County page and the Oregon scorecard list every rated row the day a person publishes one.

Sources

Primary documents first: filings, minutes, dockets and official pages. Then reporting. The numbers are the ones the entries above cite.

Primary documents

  1. Group 7: Amazon Data Services Boardman campus, Boardman, Morrow County, OR: hbsslaw.com, hbsslaw.com

Reporting

  1. Amazon Data Center Linked to Cluster of Rare Cancers - Futurism, Futurism, November 29, 2025, local outlet
  2. ‘The Precedent Is Flint’: How Oregon’s Data Center Boom Is Supercharging a Water Crisis - Rolling Stone, Rolling Stone, November 24, 2025, local outlet
  3. Kotek’s push against data centers unlikely to slow expansion in Eastern Oregon, local officials say, OPB, September 10, 2026, local outlet
  4. Petition seeks pause on eastern Oregon data centers - Nonstop Local News, Nonstop Local News, July 29, 2026, local outlet
  5. As new data centers are headed to Eastern Oregon, opponents share their concerns - Oregon Public Broadcasting - OPB, OPB, August 20, 2026, local outlet
  6. Report: Amazon buys 1,300 acres near Columbia River that could become a giant data center - GeekWire, GeekWire, March 30, 2026, local outlet

7 sources on file.

Cite this record

Data Center Record, "Amazon Eastern Oregon Data Centers", https://datacenterrecord.org/projects/amazon-eastern-oregon-data-centers-morrow-or, last verified September 17, 2026.

Last verified , first recorded . Every correction is logged on the corrections page and under What happened.

Cite this page

Data Center Record, "Amazon Eastern Oregon Data Centers", https://datacenterrecord.org/projects/amazon-eastern-oregon-data-centers-morrow-or. Data: Data Center Record, datacenterrecord.org, CC BY 4.0.

The structured rows are CC BY 4.0. Link to this page; that is what turns a reuse into a citation. Prose stays under copyright.

Report a change
For researchers
Slug
amazon-eastern-oregon-data-centers-morrow-or
Status value
rumored
Stage
Proposed
Tier
skeleton
Tags
skeleton
Place id
us/or/morrow-county/boardman
Coordinates
45.35611, -119.55278
Location precision
county
Location source
County seat (Heppner), Wikidata, placed at county level
Coordinate source
wikidata county seat
Location source number
Not disclosed
Location last verified
September 16, 2026
EPA registry id
Not disclosed
Use type values
not_disclosed
Tenancy value
not_disclosed
Cooling type value
not_disclosed
Capacity basis
not_disclosed
Water basis
not_disclosed, gallons_per_day
Acreage basis
Not disclosed
Interconnection value
not_disclosed
Capacity, if disclosed
Not disclosed
Rating of the county's rows
Not disclosed
Published
2026-09-04
Last verified
2026-09-17