Homer City Plant Redevelopment
The Homer City plant redevelopment is now being built by 1,800 contractors and tradespeople. It is reported; the record holds no sourced date for when it reached that stage.
How much power it needs, how much water it would use and who would use it have not been disclosed.
How to read this page. Every fact links to the source it rests on; a number in brackets is its place in the source list. A figure no source gives reads Not disclosed, and nothing is estimated. Where sources give different figures, each is shown with who gave it, and another source's figure never stands in for the record's own. Entries are added and never overwritten; corrections are listed under What happened.
What is known
Each figure as its source gave it. The number in brackets is its place in the source list.
- Land
- 3,200 acres
- third party estimate [2]
- Power it would draw
- Not disclosed
- Water
- Not disclosed
- Reported by others: 25,000,000 gallons per day (Input Fort Wayne). Their figure, not the record's.
- Who leads it
- Not disclosed
- Who would use it
- Not disclosed
- Jobs once it runs
- Not disclosed
- Tax each year
- Not disclosed
Every field, with who said it and when (Researcher view)
Impact figures
| Field | Value | Who says so | Source | Last verified |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| How much power it needs | Not disclosed | |||
| How much water it would use | Not disclosed | |||
| How loud it would be | Not disclosed | |||
| Jobs once it runs | Not disclosed | |||
| Tax it would pay each year | Not disclosed |
The record's fields
| Field | Value | Who says so | Source | Last verified |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Who is building it | Not disclosed | |||
| Who is constructing it | Not disclosed | |||
| How much land | 3,200 acres | third party estimate | [2] goerie.com | September 25, 2026 |
| Where its power comes from | Not disclosed | |||
| Grid connection | Not disclosed | |||
| How it is cooled | Not disclosed |
How much water it would use, also reported: 25,000,000 gallons per day, 2026 (Input Fort Wayne: Plans to supply up to 25 million gallons of water per day to Lebanon and LEAP from White River watershed) .
Jobs once it runs, also reported: 1,500 to 2,000 jobs, 2026 (WCCS AM1160 & 101.1FM: AWS stated proposed data centers would generate between 1500 and 2000 jobs) .
The developer's figure is what the company said; what a permit allows is the ceiling a permit sets; measured means observed. Water is in gallons a day or a year, whichever the source stated; a tax claim given as a range shows both ends, each linked to the source that gave it.
Still not public, and where it would show up
The record adds each the day a source gives it. Why these documents.
- Water useA state water right filing or a water supply agreement.
- Who would use itA lease announcement or a tenant named in a filing.
- Power the campus would drawA utility or public service commission docket, an interconnection filing, or an air permit for an on site plant.
- Who is behind itA land record, a zoning application or a company's own announcement.
- Jobs and taxAn incentive agreement, a county's economic development filing or a fiscal note.
What was decided
Acts of Indiana County and Homer City about data centers, on the record with their source. A rule about the area is not a decision about this record.
| Date | Who | Decision | Source |
|---|---|---|---|
| Indiana County | Indiana County Conservation District issued two PAG-02 Stormwater General Permits (PAC320065 and PAC320066) to Homer City Generation LP for AI Data Center/Power Plant Complex in Center and Blacklick Townships, Indiana County. | paenvironmentdaily.blogspot.com | |
| Indiana County | Tabling decision triggers 90 day investigation period for Planning Commission review | wccsradio.com | |
| Indiana County | Indiana County Planning Commission voted to table Amazon Web Services application for data centers in Center and Black Lick Townships | wccsradio.com |
What happened
No dated entry is on the record yet.
10 corrections to this record
Every correction, with its reason
-
· the status of a projects row
The stage was set by timeline entries that were returned to draft on 2026-09-17 (they had been published onto the record while it was still a draft skeleton). With no published entry behind it the record reads rumored until one is approved. The old and new text.
-
· the kind of source of a history entry
The source was labeled with the Google News search that found it; it now carries its outlet's tier (the record's rules of 2026-09-23). The link did not change. The day's label corrections.
-
· the kind of source of a history entry
The source was labeled with the Google News search that found it; it now carries its outlet's tier (the record's rules of 2026-09-23). The link did not change. The day's label corrections.
-
· the draft of a status history row
Published on a project that was still a draft skeleton and still short of the record's skeleton minimum rule; returned to draft on 2026-09-17 pending the project meeting the rule or a person's approval. The old and new text.
-
· the draft of a status history row
Published on a project that was still a draft skeleton and still short of the record's skeleton minimum rule; returned to draft on 2026-09-17 pending the project meeting the rule or a person's approval. The old and new text.
-
· the draft of a status history row
Published on a project that was still a draft skeleton and still short of the record's skeleton minimum rule; returned to draft on 2026-09-17 pending the project meeting the rule or a person's approval. The old and new text.
-
· the draft of a status history row
Published on a project that was still a draft skeleton and still short of the record's skeleton minimum rule; returned to draft on 2026-09-17 pending the project meeting the rule or a person's approval. The old and new text.
-
· the draft of a status history row
Published on a project that was still a draft skeleton and still short of the record's skeleton minimum rule; returned to draft on 2026-09-17 pending the project meeting the rule or a person's approval. The old and new text.
-
· the draft of a status history row
Published on a project that was still a draft skeleton and still short of the record's skeleton minimum rule; returned to draft on 2026-09-17 pending the project meeting the rule or a person's approval. The old and new text.
-
· the draft of a status history row
Published on a project that was still a draft skeleton and still short of the record's skeleton minimum rule; returned to draft on 2026-09-17 pending the project meeting the rule or a person's approval. The old and new text.
Every correction on the record is on the corrections page.
What was said
Mary Nelson, Erie resident, calls for local oversight and complete transparency on data center development
Every statement about data centers in Pennsylvania, by speaker
The site
Where in Indiana County is not in the public record. The pin marks the county seat, not a building, and the outline is the county.
Tap a pin for the data center, the parcel for its record
- This record: Proposed, ringed
- data center
- Dashed edge: the exact site is not in the public record
- Smaller pins: 19 other published records in Pennsylvania
Details
- this record's location, ringed
- parcel outline, from the county parcel record
- city limits, U.S. Census Bureau, on a town level record
- county boundary
The other pins are the published projects in the same state, each in its stage color. The imagery beneath is the USGS national orthoimagery, public domain, shown so the land around the site can be read.
- Where
- Homer City, Indiana County, Pennsylvania
- How exactly it is located
- County level, the county seat
- The parcel
- No parcel outline in the public record
- Nearest homes
- Not computed for a record placed at a place center
- Nearest records
- Nearest records are not computed for a record placed at a county seat.
Comparisons
3 metrics with more than one figure
Project footprint
1 figure, 1 sourceShow each source's words
- 1,000,000 to 1,500,000 gallons per acre, dailyjournal.net: Functioning wetland can hold 1 to 1.5 million gallons of water per acre
Permanent jobs
1 figure, 1 sourceShow each source's words
- 1,500 to 2,000 jobs, WCCS AM1160 & 101.1FM: AWS stated proposed data centers would generate between 1500 and 2000 jobs
Water a day
1 figure, 1 sourceShow each source's words
- 25,000,000 gallons per day, Input Fort Wayne: Plans to supply up to 25 million gallons of water per day to Lebanon and LEAP from White River watershed
Questions about this project
7 questions answered from the record
How big is Homer City Plant Redevelopment?
-
The record has one measure of its size: 3,200 acres (third party estimate, source). Its power capacity is not disclosed.
Who is building Homer City Plant Redevelopment?
-
Not disclosed. No source on file names the developer. The sources read for this record are listed under Sources.
Who will use Homer City Plant Redevelopment?
-
Not disclosed. No source on file names a tenant, says whether the site is single or multi tenant, or states what it is for. The record keeps the use as not disclosed until one does; see Who it serves.
How much power and water does Homer City Plant Redevelopment say it needs?
-
Power: not disclosed by any source on file. Water: not disclosed by any source on file.
Where does Homer City Plant Redevelopment stand today?
-
It is reported; the date it reached that stage is not sourced, only the day a page was read. No dated entry is on the record yet.
What has Homer City or Indiana County decided about it?
-
Indiana County (rated case by case): Indiana County Conservation District issued two PAG-02 Stormwater General Permits (PAC320065 and PAC320066) to Homer City Generation LP for AI Data Center/Power Plant Complex in Center and Blacklick Townships, Indiana County. (reported September 25, 2026, source); and Indiana County: Tabling decision triggers 90 day investigation period for Planning Commission review (reported September 10, 2026, source). 3 events are on the county's rows; a rule about the area is not a decision about this record.
What is still unknown about Homer City Plant Redevelopment?
-
Not disclosed by any source on file: how much power it needs, how much water it would use, how loud it would be, jobs once it runs, tax it would pay each year, who is building it, who is constructing it, where its power comes from, grid connection, how it is cooled. No missing primary document is listed for this record yet; What the record lacks is where one appears when a person names it.
Sources
Reporting
- Homer City plant’s redevelopment now fueled by 1,800 contractors and tradespeople, Pittsburgh Post-Gazette, September 4, 2026, local outlet
- Regulate data centers, shale energy to protect people, planet | Letter - Erie Times-News, Erie Times-News, September 18, 2026, local outlet
- DEP To Hold Oct. 14 Meeting/Hearing On Major Amendment To Water Quality Permit For Homer City Data Center/Power Plant Complex In Indiana County; Stormwater Permit Issued - PA Environment Digest Blog, PA Environment Digest Blog, September 11, 2026, local outlet
- 53 trucks hauling oversized loads to move through Armstrong, Westmoreland and Indiana counties - CBS News, CBS News, September 2, 2026, local outlet
4 sources on file.
Cite this record
Data Center Record, "Homer City Plant Redevelopment", https://datacenterrecord.org/projects/homer-city-plant-redevelopment-pa, last verified September 25, 2026.
Cite this page
Data Center Record, "Homer City Plant Redevelopment", https://datacenterrecord.org/projects/homer-city-plant-redevelopment-pa. Data: Data Center Record, datacenterrecord.org, CC BY 4.0.
The structured rows are CC BY 4.0. Link to this page; that is what turns a reuse into a citation. Prose stays under copyright.
For researchers
- Slug
- homer-city-plant-redevelopment-pa
- Status value
- rumored
- Stage
- Proposed
- Tier
- skeleton
- Tags
- skeleton
- Place id
- us/pa/indiana-county/homer-city
- Coordinates
- 40.6211, -79.155
- Location precision
- county
- Location source
- County seat (Indiana), Wikidata, placed at county level
- Coordinate source
- wikidata county seat
- Location source number
- Not disclosed
- Location last verified
- September 16, 2026
- EPA registry id
- Not disclosed
- Use type values
- not_disclosed
- Tenancy value
- not_disclosed
- Cooling type value
- not_disclosed
- Capacity basis
- not_disclosed
- Water basis
- not_disclosed, gallons_per_day
- Acreage basis
- third_party_estimate
- Interconnection value
- not_disclosed
- Capacity, if disclosed
- Not disclosed
- Rating of the county's rows
- Case by case
- Published
- 2026-09-04
- Last verified
- 2026-09-25