Data Center Record.

Running Built from one source

Meta Kuna Data Center

Meta's Kuna data center, built for AI workloads, is now operational in Idaho. It is running, as reported September 4, 2026.

How much power it needs, how much water it would use and who would use it have not been disclosed.

Last verified · 9 sources, 1 primary · A skeleton record: built from one source, not yet reviewed in depth by a person. · How to read this page

How to read this page. Every fact links to the source it rests on; a number in brackets is its place in the source list. A figure no source gives reads Not disclosed, and nothing is estimated. Where sources give different figures, each is shown with who gave it, and another source's figure never stands in for the record's own. Entries are added and never overwritten; corrections are listed under What happened.

What is known

Each figure as its source gave it. The number in brackets is its place in the source list.

Land
Not disclosed
Power it would draw
Not disclosed
Reported by others: 645 MW (GovTech). Their figure, not the record's.
Water
Not disclosed
Who leads it
Meta
as stated by the source
Who would use it
Not disclosed
Jobs once it runs
Not disclosed
Tax each year
Not disclosed
Every field, with who said it and when (Researcher view)

Impact figures

FieldValueWho says soSourceLast verified
How much power it needs Not disclosed
How much water it would use Not disclosed
How loud it would be Not disclosed
Jobs once it runs Not disclosed
Tax it would pay each year Not disclosed

The record's fields

FieldValueWho says soSourceLast verified
Who is building it Meta as stated by the source September 19, 2026
Who is constructing it Not disclosed
How much land Not disclosed
Where its power comes from Not disclosed
Grid connection Not disclosed
How it is cooled Not disclosed

How much power it needs, also reported: 645 MW, 2026 (GovTech: Meta backing three solar projects expected to add 645 megawatts to grid to offset data center power consumption) .

The developer's figure is what the company said; what a permit allows is the ceiling a permit sets; measured means observed. Water is in gallons a day or a year, whichever the source stated; a tax claim given as a range shows both ends, each linked to the source that gave it.

Still not public, and where it would show up

The record adds each the day a source gives it. Why these documents.

  • Water useA state water right filing or a water supply agreement.
  • Who would use itA lease announcement or a tenant named in a filing.
  • Power the campus would drawA utility or public service commission docket, an interconnection filing, or an air permit for an on site plant.
  • Jobs and taxAn incentive agreement, a county's economic development filing or a fiscal note.

What happened

  1. (source date; the content gives no date of its own)

    Groundbreaking was in 2022 [2]

  2. (source date; the content gives no date of its own)

    Meta's Kuna data center grand opening held September 3, 2026 [2]

  3. (source date; the content gives no date of its own)

    Meta's data center in Kuna, Idaho held grand opening event with community members, stakeholders, and policy experts [3]

  4. (source date; the content gives no date of its own)

    Meta's data center in Kuna, Idaho held grand opening on September 3, 2026. [4]

  5. (source date; the content gives no date of its own)

    Data center broke ground in 2022 [5]

  6. (source date; the content gives no date of its own)

    Meta Kuna Data Center is online and fully operational [5]

  7. (source date; the content gives no date of its own)

    Meta formally turned on Kuna data center with closed loop cooling system [6]

  8. (source date; the content gives no date of its own)

    This is Meta's first data center in Idaho [7]

8 earlier entries
  1. (source date; the content gives no date of its own)

    This is Meta's 28th American data center [7]

  2. (source date; the content gives no date of its own)

    The largest building on the Kuna campus is 350,000 square feet [7]

  3. (source date; the content gives no date of its own)

    Meta paid $100 million to build transmission infrastructure for the data center [7]

  4. (source date; the content gives no date of its own)

    Meta backed three solar projects expected to add 645 megawatts to offset the data center's power consumption [7]

  5. (source date; the content gives no date of its own)

    The Kuna data center uses a closed loop cooling system that requires about 200,000 gallons of water [7]

  6. (source date; the content gives no date of its own)

    The Kuna data center is 750,000 square feet [7]

  7. (source date; the content gives no date of its own)

    The Kuna data center cost $1.2 billion [7]

  8. · running (source date; the content gives no date of its own)

    Meta's Kuna data center formally opened on September 4, 2026 [7]

The full Meta Kuna Data Center timeline, in order

17 corrections to this record

Every correction, with its reason
  1. · the kind of source of a history entry

    The source was labeled with the Google News search that found it; it now carries its outlet's tier (the record's rules of 2026-09-23). The link did not change. The day's label corrections.

  2. · the kind of source of a history entry

    The source was labeled with the Google News search that found it; it now carries its outlet's tier (the record's rules of 2026-09-23). The link did not change. The day's label corrections.

  3. · the kind of source of a history entry

    The source was labeled with the Google News search that found it; it now carries its outlet's tier (the record's rules of 2026-09-23). The link did not change. The day's label corrections.

  4. · the kind of source of a history entry

    The source was labeled with the Google News search that found it; it now carries its outlet's tier (the record's rules of 2026-09-23). The link did not change. The day's label corrections.

  5. · the kind of source of a history entry

    The source was labeled with the Google News search that found it; it now carries its outlet's tier (the record's rules of 2026-09-23). The link did not change. The day's label corrections.

  6. · the kind of source of a history entry

    The source was labeled with the Google News search that found it; it now carries its outlet's tier: cdapress.com is a news outlet (tiered by kind, the record's rules of 2026-09-23). The link did not change. The day's label corrections.

  7. · the kind of source of a history entry

    The source was labeled with the Google News search that found it; it now carries its outlet's tier: kezj.com is a news outlet (tiered by kind, the record's rules of 2026-09-23). The link did not change. The day's label corrections.

  8. · the kind of source of a history entry

    The source was labeled with the Google News search that found it; it now carries its outlet's tier: cdapress.com is a news outlet (tiered by kind, the record's rules of 2026-09-23). The link did not change. The day's label corrections.

  9. · the kind of source of a history entry

    The source was labeled with the Google News search that found it; it now carries its outlet's tier: cdapress.com is a news outlet (tiered by kind, the record's rules of 2026-09-23). The link did not change. The day's label corrections.

  10. · the kind of source of a history entry

    The source was labeled with the Google News search that found it; it now carries its outlet's tier: cdapress.com is a news outlet (tiered by kind, the record's rules of 2026-09-23). The link did not change. The day's label corrections.

  11. · the kind of source of a history entry

    The source was labeled with the Google News search that found it; it now carries its outlet's tier: kezj.com is a news outlet (tiered by kind, the record's rules of 2026-09-23). The link did not change. The day's label corrections.

  12. · the kind of source of a history entry

    The source was labeled with the Google News search that found it; it now carries its outlet's tier: cdapress.com is a news outlet (tiered by kind, the record's rules of 2026-09-23). The link did not change. The day's label corrections.

  13. · the kind of source of a history entry

    The source was labeled with the Google News search that found it; it now carries its outlet's tier: cdapress.com is a news outlet (tiered by kind, the record's rules of 2026-09-23). The link did not change. The day's label corrections.

  14. · the kind of source of a history entry

    The source was labeled with the Google News search that found it; it now carries its outlet's tier: cdapress.com is a news outlet (tiered by kind, the record's rules of 2026-09-23). The link did not change. The day's label corrections.

  15. · the kind of source of a history entry

    The source was labeled with the Google News search that found it; it now carries its outlet's tier: the tier the record already gives govtech.com. The link did not change. The day's label corrections.

  16. · the kind of source of a history entry

    The source was labeled with the Google News search that found it; it now carries its outlet's tier: cdapress.com is a news outlet (tiered by kind, the record's rules of 2026-09-23). The link did not change. The day's label corrections.

  17. · the kind of source of a history entry

    The source was labeled with the Google News search that found it; it now carries its outlet's tier: cdapress.com is a news outlet (tiered by kind, the record's rules of 2026-09-23). The link did not change. The day's label corrections.

Every correction on the record is on the corrections page.

What was said

Lisa Grow says the pace and scale of Idaho's growth is unprecedented and Idaho Power must adapt and innovate to keep up with growth statewide and manage resources to keep costs down.
Lisa Grow, Idaho Power President and CEO · September 25, 2026 · paraphrased · Idaho Business Review local outlet
Meta aims to be net water positive by 2030
Meta · September 19, 2026 · paraphrased · Idaho Press local outlet

Every statement about data centers in Idaho, by speaker

4 more statements on this page

Meta

Closed water loop design uses 87 times less water than original plan

September 19, 2026, Idaho Press · Idaho Press local outlet · the record (Paraphrased; said in the source itself)

Meta

Zero operational water use for majority of year with closed loop system

September 19, 2026, Idaho Press · Idaho Press local outlet · the record (Paraphrased; said in the source itself)

Scott Stillings, critical operations manager, said the same water used to cool the facility today will be used for the next 10 years

September 4, 2026, Coeur d'Alene Press · Coeur d'Alene Press local outlet · the record (Paraphrased; said in the source itself)

Brad Davis, Meta Director of Global Economic Development, said the closed loop cooling system runs without extra cooling water for much of the year and needs refill every 7 to 10 years

September 4, 2026, Coeur d'Alene Press · Coeur d'Alene Press local outlet · the record (Paraphrased; said in the source itself)

The site

Where in Ada County is not in the public record. The pin marks the county seat, not a building, and the outline is the county.

  • This record: Running, ringed
  • data center
  • Dashed edge: the exact site is not in the public record
  • Smaller pins: 3 other published records in Idaho
Details
  • this record's location, ringed
  • parcel outline, from the county parcel record
  • city limits, U.S. Census Bureau, on a town level record
  • county boundary

The other pins are the published projects in the same state, each in its stage color. The imagery beneath is the USGS national orthoimagery, public domain, shown so the land around the site can be read.

Where
Kuna, Ada County, Idaho
How exactly it is located
County level, the county seat
The parcel
No parcel outline in the public record
Nearest homes
Not computed for a record placed at a place center
Nearest records
Nearest records are not computed for a record placed at a county seat.

Comparisons

1 metric with more than one figure

Every figure on the record for the same thing, the record's own or the document's first, each with who gave it, its date and its basis.

Capacity at full buildout

1 figure, 1 source
645 MWReported

GovTech, Sep 4, 2026

Show each source's words
  • 645 MW, GovTech: Meta backing three solar projects expected to add 645 megawatts to grid to offset data center power consumption

Questions about this project

7 questions answered from the record

Answered from the rows on this page.

How big is Meta Kuna Data Center?

Not disclosed. No source on file gives its capacity, its acreage or a count of buildings. What the record holds instead is under Disclosed.

Who is building Meta Kuna Data Center?

Meta is the developer. No construction contractor is named on the record yet.

Who will use Meta Kuna Data Center?

Not disclosed. No source on file names a tenant, says whether the site is single or multi tenant, or states what it is for. The record keeps the use as not disclosed until one does; see Who it serves.

How much power and water does Meta Kuna Data Center say it needs?

Power: not disclosed by any source on file. Water: not disclosed by any source on file.

Where does Meta Kuna Data Center stand today?

It is running, as reported September 4, 2026. The newest entry, reported September 19, 2026: Groundbreaking was in 2022 [2].

What has Kuna or Ada County decided about it?

No decision by Kuna or Ada County about data centers is on the record. The Ada County page and the Idaho scorecard list every rated row the day a person publishes one.

What is still unknown about Meta Kuna Data Center?

Not disclosed by any source on file: how much power it needs, how much water it would use, how loud it would be, jobs once it runs, tax it would pay each year, who is constructing it, how much land, where its power comes from, grid connection, how it is cooled. No missing primary document is listed for this record yet; What the record lacks is where one appears when a person names it.

Sources

Primary documents first: filings, minutes, dockets and official pages. Then reporting. The numbers are the ones the entries above cite.

Primary documents

  1. Meta: Our U.S. data center fleet, Meta, September 14, 2026

Reporting

  1. Guest commentary: Idaho town sees major tech investment with new data center - Idaho Press, Idaho Press, September 19, 2026, local outlet
  2. Op Ed: Idaho town sees major tech investment with new data center - The Black Chronicle, The Black Chronicle, September 18, 2026, local outlet
  3. Op Ed: Idaho town sees major tech investment with new data center - The Center Square, The Center Square, September 18, 2026, local outlet
  4. ‘We Are Online': Meta Announces The Kuna Data Center Is Now Operating - 95.7 KEZJ, 95.7 KEZJ, September 8, 2026, local outlet
  5. Meta Turns on $1.2B Data Center, Promising Water Efficiency - GovTech, GovTech, September 4, 2026, local outlet
  6. Meta turns on its $1.2B Idaho data center with promise of water efficiency - Coeur d'Alene Press, Coeur d'Alene Press, September 4, 2026, local outlet
  7. ‘We Are Online': Meta Announces The Kuna Data Center Is Now Operating - 1035kissfmboise.com, 1035kissfmboise.com, September 4, 2026, local outlet
  8. Inside Meta’s new Kuna data center built for AI - Idaho News 6, Idaho News 6, September 3, 2026, local outlet

9 sources on file.

Cite this record

Data Center Record, "Meta Kuna Data Center", https://datacenterrecord.org/projects/meta-kuna-data-center-id, last verified September 19, 2026.

Last verified , first recorded . Every correction is logged on the corrections page and under What happened.

Cite this page

Data Center Record, "Meta Kuna Data Center", https://datacenterrecord.org/projects/meta-kuna-data-center-id. Data: Data Center Record, datacenterrecord.org, CC BY 4.0.

The structured rows are CC BY 4.0. Link to this page; that is what turns a reuse into a citation. Prose stays under copyright.

Report a change
For researchers
Slug
meta-kuna-data-center-id
Status value
operational
Stage
Running
Tier
skeleton
Tags
skeleton
Place id
us/id/ada-county/kuna
Coordinates
43.61361, -116.23778
Location precision
county
Location source
County seat (Boise), Wikidata, placed at county level
Coordinate source
wikidata county seat
Location source number
Not disclosed
Location last verified
September 16, 2026
EPA registry id
Not disclosed
Use type values
not_disclosed
Tenancy value
not_disclosed
Cooling type value
not_disclosed
Capacity basis
not_disclosed
Water basis
not_disclosed, gallons_per_day
Acreage basis
Not disclosed
Interconnection value
not_disclosed
Capacity, if disclosed
Not disclosed
Rating of the county's rows
Not disclosed
Published
2026-09-05
Last verified
2026-09-19