Data Center Record.

Data centers in Idaho

Idaho has 4 data center sites, 0 buildings where disclosed on the record: 1 running and 3 proposed. Most are in Ada County (3) and Bannock County (1), and records are in 2 of 44 counties. The largest proposal is ValorC3 Boise Data Center in Ada County, 92 acres (third party estimate); it is reported, as reported September 10, 2026.

Idaho allows new data centers. From the state's own rule: Idaho provided sales tax exemption for data centers approved in 2020 legislative session, September 11, 2026.

2 sites the EPA's registry shows and no record has verified are on the map apart from the count. What not yet verified means.

How to read this page. Every count comes from the records on this page and links to where it is counted. Nothing is published until a person reads its source, and a figure no source gives reads Not disclosed; nothing is estimated. A rating changes only when a person sets it.

Projects and campuses on the record

Facility and countyStageOperatorPower (MW)Latest entry
Kuna Data Centers (two projects) Kuna, Ada CountyProposed
Lex Developments Pocatello AI Data Center Pocatello, Bannock CountyProposedLex Developments
ValorC3 Boise Data Center Boise, Ada CountyProposedValorC314ValorC3 Boise data center built in 2020 using hybrid cooling godatacenters.com (opens in a new tab) news outlet reported September 10, 2026
Meta Kuna Data Center Kuna, Ada CountyRunningMetaGroundbreaking was in 2022 idahopress.com (opens in a new tab) local outlet reported September 19, 2026

A blank cell means not disclosed by any source on file. Power is the developer's figure or a permit's, each linked on the record. All 4 Idaho projects.

Every Idaho record 4 records, and 2 sites not yet verified listed apart · sort by any column · blank cell: not disclosed

RecordPlaceStageOperatorMWBasisLocatedTierVerified
Emerald Data CenterBoise, AdaNot yet verifiedEPA registry22026-10-20
U S Bank Coeur D'alene Data CenterCoeur D'alene, KootenaiNot yet verifiedEPA registry22026-10-20
Meta Kuna Data CenterKuna, AdaRunningMetacentroid22026-09-19
Kuna Data Centers (two projects)Kuna, AdaProposedcentroid42026-09-17
Lex Developments Pocatello AI Data CenterPocatello, BannockProposedLex Developmentscentroid12026-09-17
ValorC3 Boise Data CenterBoise, AdaProposedValorC314centroid32026-10-06

Tier 1: an official or company source. Tier 2: a news report resolving to the outlet's own page. Located: a site coordinate from a permit, a parcel or an address, or the county or town centroid. Verified: the last day a person read the source. A blank cell means not disclosed by any source on file.

Every Idaho county (44)

2 of 44 counties have a record. A county without one is listed, not linked, until its first published record.

CountyCensus GEOIDProjectsRules
Ada County1600130
Bannock County1600511
Washington County1608701

A county without a record is listed, not linked.

41 counties with no records yet
  • Adams County
  • Bear Lake County
  • Benewah County
  • Bingham County
  • Blaine County
  • Boise County
  • Bonner County
  • Bonneville County
  • Boundary County
  • Butte County
  • Camas County
  • Canyon County
  • Caribou County
  • Cassia County
  • Clark County
  • Clearwater County
  • Custer County
  • Elmore County
  • Franklin County
  • Fremont County
  • Gem County
  • Gooding County
  • Idaho County
  • Jefferson County
  • Jerome County
  • Kootenai County
  • Latah County
  • Lemhi County
  • Lewis County
  • Lincoln County
  • Madison County
  • Minidoka County
  • Nez Perce County
  • Oneida County
  • Owyhee County
  • Payette County
  • Power County
  • Shoshone County
  • Teton County
  • Twin Falls County
  • Valley County

The rules in Idaho 4 rows · rating rests only on a binding act in force

What the state and its counties and cities have decided. Each row is rated by what it has decided, open, case by case, restrictive or closed, never by whether that is good or bad.

BodyLevelRatingIn force untilLatest actActsVerified
IdahostateopenIdaho provided sales tax exemption for data centers approved in 2020 legislative session. postregister.com (opens in a new tab) local outlet Sep 11, 20264 acts on this row
Every act on the Idaho row
  1. event

    Public opposition blocked proposed data center in Pocatello, Idaho temporarily

    postregister.com (opens in a new tab) local outlet

  2. litigation

    Neighboring farmers challenging approved data center project in Idaho before state Supreme Court

    postregister.com (opens in a new tab) local outlet

  3. litigation

    Farmers appealed to Idaho Supreme Court after petition seeking to block local data center was thrown out

    boisedev.com (opens in a new tab) news outlet

  4. event

    Idaho provided sales tax exemption for data centers approved in 2020 legislative session

    postregister.com (opens in a new tab) local outlet

Last verified September 23, 2026.

42026-09-23
Kunacitynot ratedNo dated act on this row yet.
Pocatellocitynot ratedCity Council affirms denial of Hoku data center a second time. idahostatejournal.com (opens in a new tab) local outlet Reported Sep 221 act on this row
Every act on the Pocatello row
  1. denial

    City Council affirms denial of Hoku data center a second time

    idahostatejournal.com (opens in a new tab) local outlet

Last verified September 22, 2026.

12026-09-22
Washington Countycountynot ratedWashington County residents raised data center concerns as county weighs ordinance. ktvb.com (opens in a new tab) local outlet Reported Jul 231 act on this row
Every act on the Washington County row
  1. ordinance

    Washington County residents raised data center concerns as county weighs ordinance

    ktvb.com (opens in a new tab) local outlet

Last verified July 23, 2026.

12026-07-23

Reported: the source's date; the item names no day of its own. A rating rests only on a binding act in force; "not rated" means no person has set one. A blank cell means the record holds nothing for it.

Idaho laws and the full scorecard

Bills and laws in Idaho

2 signed into law, 7 bills tracked

7 bills tracked in the Idaho legislature, 2 of them signed into law, grouped by where each stands. A row opens its own page; the Idaho laws page has what each law requires.

Signed into law 2

In committee 5

7 bills tracked, 2 signed · LegiScan, CC BY 4.0

NumberSessionStatusDateTitle
H. 897 2026 Regular Session In committee 2026-04-02 Amends existing law to revise a sales tax exemption for data center equipment and to revise a certain property tax exemption for certain capital investments.
H. 911 2026 Regular Session Signed 2026-04-02 Adds to existing law to provide for new large loads.
H. 820 2026 Regular Session In committee 2026-03-05 Amends existing law to revise a sales tax exemption for data center equipment and to revise a certain property tax exemption for certain capital investments.
S. 1368 2026 Regular Session In committee 2026-03-05 Adds to existing law to provide for new large loads.
H. 756 2026 Regular Session In committee 2026-02-25 Amends and adds to existing law to provide for new large loads.
H. 609 2026 Regular Session In committee 2026-02-10 Amends existing law to revise a sales tax exemption for data center equipment and to revise a property tax exemption for certain capital investments.
H. 521 2020 Regular Session Signed 2020-03-20 Adds to and amends existing law to provide a sales and use tax exemption for the purchase or use of eligible server equipment and new data center facilities by a qualifying business.

7 bills tracked in Idaho; 2026 Regular Session, legislature adjourned; last checked October 26, 2026. The last check found: 6 bills matched the watch terms as of October 26, 2026. Search terms: data center, data centre, large load, hyperscale, computing facility, server farm, high load factor (indirect), energy intensive facility (indirect), large electric load (indirect), digital asset mining (indirect), cryptocurrency mining (indirect), qualified technology facility (indirect), colocation (indirect), moratorium (with another term), sales tax exemption (with another term). The search on LegiScan. (opens in a new tab)

Bill data from LegiScan (opens in a new tab), licensed CC BY 4.0 (opens in a new tab). The record chooses the bills, writes each stage in its own words and cites the legislature's own page for every bill.

How this state's members voted

H.R. 9340, Ratepayer Protection Act: U.S. House of Representatives, roll call 312, September 16, 2026. On Motion to Suspend the Rules and Pass, as Amended. Passed, 417 to 3. Idaho's members: 2 yea, 0 nay. How each member voted

MemberPartyPosition
FulcherRYea
SimpsonRYea

A blank party cell means the clerk's roll gives none.

H.R. 9340, Ratepayer Protection Act: U.S. Senate, roll call 254, September 30, 2026. On Cloture on the Motion to Proceed H.R. 9340. Cloture on the Motion to Proceed Rejected, 57 to 43. Idaho's members: 2 yea, 0 nay. How each member voted

MemberPartyPosition
Crapo (R-ID)RYea
Risch (R-ID)RYea

A blank party cell means the clerk's roll gives none.

Positions as the clerk records them. How bills and votes are recorded.

What was said

Lisa Grow says the pace and scale of Idaho's growth is unprecedented and Idaho Power must adapt and innovate to keep up with growth statewide and manage resources to keep costs down.
Lisa Grow, Idaho Power President and CEO · September 25, 2026 · paraphrased · Idaho Business Review (opens in a new tab) local outlet
Boise Mayor Lauren McLean stated opposition to proposed data center on federal land south of Boise, calling sale of public lands shortsighted and calling for statewide framework protecting natural resources.
Lauren McLean, Boise Mayor · September 23, 2026 · paraphrased · KBOI (opens in a new tab) local outlet

Every Idaho statement, by speaker (12)

10 more on this page, one per speaker and claim; 12 statements in all

Rep. Mike Simpson stated he heard from Idahoans about data center concerns, particularly rising costs, and supports establishing guardrails to ensure state and local control over data centers

U.S. Representative from Idaho Congressman Mike Simpson (.gov) (opens in a new tab) primary source · [Archived Copy] (opens in a new tab)
Context & source notes

Provenance: Paraphrased; said in the source itself.

Primary source: Congressman Mike Simpson (.gov) (opens in a new tab).

Archived copy: Wayback Machine (opens in a new tab).

15 states have or are considering legislation curtailing or banning data center construction

USA Today columnist USA Today (opens in a new tab) national outlet
Context & source notes

Provenance: Paraphrased; said in the source itself.

Primary source: USA Today (opens in a new tab).

Josh Johnson, Idaho Conservation League, stated that the Stratos data center in Box Elder County, Utah is predicted to need at least 7 gigawatts of energy, which is more than twice the current energy consumption of the entire state of Utah.

central Idaho director for the Idaho Conservation League Idaho Business Review (opens in a new tab) local outlet project record
Context & source notes

Provenance: Paraphrased; said in the source itself.

Primary source: Idaho Business Review (opens in a new tab).

On the November 3, 2026 ballot in Idaho: Governor (5), U.S. Senate (4), U.S. House, District 1 (4), U.S. House, District 2 (5); 1 of 18 candidates with a statement on data centers on the record. Every candidate.

Already running in Idaho

1 site is serving load, 1 of them in Ada County.

See the 1 running site
  1. Meta Kuna Data Center Kuna, Ada County Running · Operational since 2022 (4 years)

Questions about Idaho data centers

How many data center projects are on the record in Idaho?

4 projects are on the record in Idaho: 3 reported, 1 running and 2 not yet verified. Each is listed under Projects with its status history and sources. Resources: the questions people ask about data centers

answered from the rows above

Where in Idaho are they?

Records are in 2 counties: Ada County (3) and Bannock County (1). The county table lists every county with its count, zero included. Resources: the questions people ask about data centers

answered from the rows above

How much power is disclosed for data centers in Idaho?

Not disclosed. None of the 4 records on file for Idaho states a power figure. Resources: the questions people ask about data centers

answered from the rows above

How much water do data centers in Idaho say they will use?

Not disclosed. None of the 4 records on file for Idaho states a water figure. Resources: the questions people ask about data centers

answered from the rows above

Who is building data centers in Idaho?

3 developers are named on the record: Lex Developments, Meta and ValorC3. 1 record names no developer; each name above opens the record, where the developer's source is listed. Resources: the questions people ask about data centers

answered from the rows above

Which counties and cities in Idaho have rules about data centers?

3 county and city rows are on the record, none of them rated yet: Kuna has no rating yet, Pocatello has no rating yet: City Council affirms denial of Hoku data center a second time (reported September 22, 2026, source (opens in a new tab)) and Washington County has no rating yet: Washington County residents raised data center concerns as county weighs ordinance (reported July 23, 2026, source (opens in a new tab)). The state's own row is rated open, with 4 dated acts listed under the scorecard. Resources: the questions people ask about data centers

answered from the rows above

What is proposed or being built near me in Idaho, by county?

3 records are not yet running. Ada County: ValorC3 Boise Data Center (reported) and Kuna Data Centers (two projects) (reported); and Bannock County: Lex Developments Pocatello AI Data Center (reported). A county name opens its page with the map and every record there. Resources: the questions people ask about data centers

answered from the rows above

What has the state of Idaho itself decided?

2 state laws are on the record: H. 911 (signed, April 2, 2026, source (opens in a new tab)) and H. 521 (signed, March 20, 2020, source (opens in a new tab)). The state's own scorecard row carries 4 dated acts, the newest reported September 11, 2026; the laws page has what each law requires in the words of its text. Resources: the questions people ask about data centers

answered from the rows above

Disclosed figures

nothing disclosed by 4 records

summed only where a record disclosed the figure

FigureDisclosed totalDisclosedWithout a figureBasis
Power04
Water, stated per day04
Water, stated per year04
Permanent jobs04
Tax each year04

A blank cell means no record in Idaho disclosed the figure. Third party figures on the same metrics are listed apart below; a figure a project disclosed about itself is never mixed with them.

FigureDisclosed totalDisclosedWithout a figureBasis
Power04
Water, stated per day04
Water, stated per year04
Permanent jobs04
Tax each year04

A blank total means no record disclosed the figure; the count without one says how many.

Summed only where a record disclosed the figure; a record with no figure adds nothing and is counted as not disclosed. Water is summed per day and per year separately, as the sources stated it, and never converted. A tax claim given as a range is summed at both ends.

The disclosed totals are in the table above.

No source on file states what any of the 4 tracked facilities in Idaho are for. 2 sites not yet verified are named apart and are not in that number.

What each use disclosed

UseRecordsPowerWaterJobsTax each year
No stated use4

A blank cell means no record with that use disclosed the figure.

A record that lists several uses counts once under each. Each cell is the sum over the records with that use, disclosed rows only.

No source on file states how any of the 4 tracked facilities in Idaho are cooled. 2 sites not yet verified are named apart and are not in that number.

Sources read for Idaho

8 sources

8 sources are read for Idaho:

Newspapers
Idaho Press, Post Register
Public broadcaster
Boise State Public Radio
Utility commission dockets
Idaho Public Utilities Commission
Search feeds
4 news searches
Every feed, with its kind and tier

What the monitor reads for Idaho: feeds every four hours, pages daily.

About this data

Last verified
Next check Feeds every four hours, pages daily.
Figures Only what a source states, with its basis. Nothing is estimated, and a figure no source gives reads not disclosed.
License Data CC BY-NC 4.0 (opens in a new tab); free for personal, academic, civic and newsroom reporting with attribution. Commercial, enterprise, financial or AI training use needs a commercial license. Prose stays under copyright.
Cite this page Data Center Record, "Data centers in Idaho", https://datacenterrecord.org/states/id, updated October 6, 2026. CSV · JSON · GeoJSON
Cite this page

Data Center Record, "Data center records in Idaho", https://datacenterrecord.org/states/id. Data: Data Center Record, datacenterrecord.org, CC BY-NC 4.0.

The structured rows are CC BY-NC 4.0. Link to this page; that is what turns a reuse into a citation. Prose stays under copyright.

Report a change
For researchers
State code
ID
Rating of the state's own row
Open
Count by status
reported 3, running 1, not yet verified 2
Located records
0 located, 4 at a centroid, 0 without coordinates

Researcher view · Idaho · 4 data center sites, 0 buildings where disclosed, 4 rule rows, 7 bills · basis and source tier on every row · verified October 6, 2026

Download CSV JSON GeoJSON