Data Center Record.

Waiting on permits Built from one source

Iron Horse data center campus

Hanover leaders recommended approval of the Iron Horse data center campus. It is waiting on permits, since August 21, 2026.

How much power it needs, how much water it would use and who would use it have not been disclosed.

Last verified · 4 sources, 0 primary · A skeleton record: built from one source, not yet reviewed in depth by a person. · How to read this page

How to read this page. Every fact links to the source it rests on; a number in brackets is its place in the source list. A figure no source gives reads Not disclosed, and nothing is estimated. Where sources give different figures, each is shown with who gave it, and another source's figure never stands in for the record's own. Entries are added and never overwritten; corrections are listed under What happened.

What is known

Each figure as its source gave it. The number in brackets is its place in the source list.

Land
Not disclosed
Power it would draw
Not disclosed
Reported by others: 900 MW (Data Center Dynamics). Their figure, not the record's.
Water
Not disclosed
Who leads it
Not disclosed
Who would use it
Not disclosed
Jobs once it runs
Not disclosed
Tax each year
Not disclosed
Every field, with who said it and when (Researcher view)

Impact figures

FieldValueWho says soSourceLast verified
How much power it needs Not disclosed
How much water it would use Not disclosed
How loud it would be Not disclosed
Jobs once it runs Not disclosed
Tax it would pay each year Not disclosed

The record's fields

FieldValueWho says soSourceLast verified
Who is building it Not disclosed
Who is constructing it Not disclosed
How much land Not disclosed
Where its power comes from Not disclosed
Grid connection Not disclosed
How it is cooled Not disclosed

How much power it needs, also reported: 900 MW, 2026 (Data Center Dynamics: Data center campus capacity claimed at 900MW) .

The developer's figure is what the company said; what a permit allows is the ceiling a permit sets; measured means observed. Water is in gallons a day or a year, whichever the source stated; a tax claim given as a range shows both ends, each linked to the source that gave it.

Still not public, and where it would show up

The record adds each the day a source gives it. Why these documents.

  • Water useA state water right filing or a water supply agreement.
  • Who would use itA lease announcement or a tenant named in a filing.
  • Power the campus would drawA utility or public service commission docket, an interconnection filing, or an air permit for an on site plant.
  • Who is behind itA land record, a zoning application or a company's own announcement.
  • Jobs and taxAn incentive agreement, a county's economic development filing or a fiscal note.

What was decided

Acts of Hanover County and the cities in it about data centers, on the record with their source. A rule about the area is not a decision about this record.

DateWhoDecisionSource
Hanover County Hanover County leaders recommend approval of Iron Horse data center campus wric.com
Hanover County Planning officials recommended application be refused datacenterdynamics.com

What happened

  1. (content date)

    Hanover leaders recommended approval of the Iron Horse data center campus. [3]

  2. · Status: permitting (source date; the content gives no date of its own)

    Iron Horse data center proposal deferred in Hanover County [4]

  3. (source date; the content gives no date of its own)

    430 acre data center tract rejected by local officials in Hanover County [2]

  4. (source date; the content gives no date of its own)

    HHHunt developer planning 10 building data center campus on 400 acres [1]

  5. · Status: stalled or cancelled (source date; the content gives no date of its own)

    400 acre data center campus withdrawn; originally planned 10 buildings, 3.9 million sq ft total [1]

The full Iron Horse data center campus timeline, in order

9 corrections to this record

Every correction, with its reason
  1. · the kind of source of a history entry

    The source was labeled with the Google News search that found it; it now carries its outlet's tier (the record's rules of 2026-09-23). The link did not change. The day's label corrections.

  2. · the kind of source of a history entry

    The source was labeled with the Google News search that found it; it now carries its outlet's tier (the record's rules of 2026-09-23). The link did not change. The day's label corrections.

  3. · the kind of source of a history entry

    The source was labeled with the Google News search that found it; it now carries its outlet's tier (the record's rules of 2026-09-23). The link did not change. The day's label corrections.

  4. · the kind of source of a history entry

    The source was labeled with the Google News search that found it; it now carries its outlet's tier: the tier the record already gives datacenterdynamics.com. The link did not change. The day's label corrections.

  5. · the kind of source of a history entry

    The source was labeled with the Google News search that found it; it now carries its outlet's tier: the tier the record already gives datacenterdynamics.com. The link did not change. The day's label corrections.

  6. · the kind of source of a history entry

    The source was labeled with the Google News search that found it; it now carries its outlet's tier: the tier the record already gives facebook.com. The link did not change. The day's label corrections.

  7. · the kind of source of a history entry

    The source was labeled with the Google News search that found it; it now carries its outlet's tier: the tier the record already gives datacenterdynamics.com. The link did not change. The day's label corrections.

  8. · the kind of source of a history entry

    The source was labeled with the Google News search that found it; it now carries its outlet's tier: wric.com is a news outlet (tiered by kind, the record's rules of 2026-09-23). The link did not change. The day's label corrections.

  9. · the source url of a status history row

    The source was a news.google.com wrapper url, which names no publisher and does not last. Resolved to the publisher's own page by the monitor's resolver on 2026-09-20 (docs/batch-va-record-fixes-0920.md, item 3). The outlet and the date on the row are unchanged. The old and new text.

Every correction on the record is on the corrections page.

What was said

Sue Dibble, Hanover supervisor, said site should be reserved for residential development
Sue Dibble, Hanover County supervisor · February 3, 2026 · paraphrased · Data Center Dynamics trade press

Every statement about data centers in Virginia, by speaker

The site

Where in Hanover County is not in the public record. The pin marks the county seat, not a building, and the outline is the county.

  • This record: Proposed, ringed
  • data center
  • Dashed edge: the exact site is not in the public record
  • Smaller pins: 35 other published records in Virginia
Details
  • this record's location, ringed
  • parcel outline, from the county parcel record
  • city limits, U.S. Census Bureau, on a town level record
  • county boundary

The other pins are the published projects in the same state, each in its stage color. The imagery beneath is the USGS national orthoimagery, public domain, shown so the land around the site can be read.

Where
Hanover County, Virginia
How exactly it is located
County level, the county seat
The parcel
No parcel outline in the public record
Nearest homes
Not computed for a record placed at a place center
Nearest records
Nearest records are not computed for a record placed at a county seat.

Comparisons

1 metric with more than one figure

Every figure on the record for the same thing, the record's own or the document's first, each with who gave it, its date and its basis.

Capacity at full buildout

1 figure, 1 source
Show each source's words
  • 900 MW, Data Center Dynamics: Data center campus capacity claimed at 900MW

Questions about this project

7 questions answered from the record

Answered from the rows on this page.

How big is Iron Horse data center campus?

Not disclosed. No source on file gives its capacity, its acreage or a count of buildings. What the record holds instead is under Disclosed.

Who is building Iron Horse data center campus?

Not disclosed. No source on file names the developer. The sources read for this record are listed under Sources.

Who will use Iron Horse data center campus?

Not disclosed. No source on file names a tenant, says whether the site is single or multi tenant, or states what it is for. The record keeps the use as not disclosed until one does; see Who it serves.

How much power and water does Iron Horse data center campus say it needs?

Power: not disclosed by any source on file. Water: not disclosed by any source on file.

Where does Iron Horse data center campus stand today?

It is waiting on permits, since August 21, 2026. The newest entry, August 21, 2026: Hanover leaders recommended approval of the Iron Horse data center campus. [3]

What has Hanover County decided about it?

Hanover County: Hanover County leaders recommend approval of Iron Horse data center campus (reported August 21, 2026, source); and Hanover County: Planning officials recommended application be refused (reported February 3, 2026, source). 2 events are on the county's rows; a rule about the area is not a decision about this record.

What is still unknown about Iron Horse data center campus?

Not disclosed by any source on file: how much power it needs, how much water it would use, how loud it would be, jobs once it runs, tax it would pay each year, who is building it, who is constructing it, how much land, where its power comes from, grid connection, how it is cooled. No missing primary document is listed for this record yet; What the record lacks is where one appears when a person names it.

Sources

Primary documents first: filings, minutes, dockets and official pages. Then reporting. The numbers are the ones the entries above cite.

Reporting

  1. 900MW data center campus plan withdrawn in Hanover County, Virginia, Data Center Dynamics, February 3, 2026, trade press
  2. Tract's 430 acre data center rejected by local officials in Hanover County, Virginia, Data Center Dynamics, June 2, 2026, trade press
  3. Hanover leaders recommend approval of Iron Horse data center campus - WRIC ABC 8News, WRIC ABC 8News, August 21, 2026, local outlet
  4. Iron Horse data center proposal deferred in Hanover County Story: https://www.12onyourside.com/2026/06/19/iron horse data center proposal deferred hanover county/, www.facebook.com, June 19, 2026, local outlet

4 sources on file.

Cite this record

Data Center Record, "Iron Horse data center campus", https://datacenterrecord.org/projects/iron-horse-data-center-campus-hanover-va, last verified September 20, 2026.

Last verified , first recorded . Every correction is logged on the corrections page and under What happened.

Cite this page

Data Center Record, "Iron Horse data center campus", https://datacenterrecord.org/projects/iron-horse-data-center-campus-hanover-va. Data: Data Center Record, datacenterrecord.org, CC BY 4.0.

The structured rows are CC BY 4.0. Link to this page; that is what turns a reuse into a citation. Prose stays under copyright.

Report a change
For researchers
Slug
iron-horse-data-center-campus-hanover-va
Status value
permitting
Stage
Proposed
Tier
skeleton
Tags
skeleton
Place id
us/va/hanover-county
Coordinates
37.7719, -77.375
Location precision
county
Location source
County seat (Hanover Courthouse), Wikidata, placed at county level
Coordinate source
wikidata county seat
Location source number
Not disclosed
Location last verified
September 16, 2026
EPA registry id
Not disclosed
Use type values
not_disclosed
Tenancy value
not_disclosed
Cooling type value
not_disclosed
Capacity basis
not_disclosed
Water basis
not_disclosed, gallons_per_day
Acreage basis
Not disclosed
Interconnection value
not_disclosed
Capacity, if disclosed
Not disclosed
Rating of the county's rows
Not disclosed
Published
2026-09-04
Last verified
2026-09-20