Data Center Record.

Reported Built from one source

Project River

Project River proposes a $7.3 billion data center investment in Bradley County, Tennessee, projected to create 2,600 jobs. It is reported, as reported September 17, 2026.

How much power it needs, how much water it would use and who would use it have not been disclosed.

Last verified · 5 sources, 0 primary · A skeleton record: built from one source, not yet reviewed in depth by a person. · How to read this page

How to read this page. Every fact links to the source it rests on; a number in brackets is its place in the source list. A figure no source gives reads Not disclosed, and nothing is estimated. Where sources give different figures, each is shown with who gave it, and another source's figure never stands in for the record's own. Entries are added and never overwritten; corrections are listed under What happened.

What is known

Each figure as its source gave it. The number in brackets is its place in the source list.

Land
Not disclosed
Power it would draw
Not disclosed
Water
Not disclosed
Who leads it
Not disclosed
Who would use it
Not disclosed
Jobs once it runs
Not disclosed
Tax each year
Not disclosed
Every field, with who said it and when (Researcher view)

Impact figures

FieldValueWho says soSourceLast verified
How much power it needs Not disclosed
How much water it would use Not disclosed
How loud it would be Not disclosed
Jobs once it runs Not disclosed
Tax it would pay each year Not disclosed

The record's fields

FieldValueWho says soSourceLast verified
Who is building it Not disclosed
Who is constructing it Not disclosed
How much land Not disclosed
Where its power comes from Not disclosed
Grid connection Not disclosed
How it is cooled Not disclosed

Jobs once it runs, also reported: 2,700 jobs, 2026 (www.clevelandbanner.com: Project River could bring up to 2,700 new jobs to Bradley community) .

The developer's figure is what the company said; what a permit allows is the ceiling a permit sets; measured means observed. Water is in gallons a day or a year, whichever the source stated; a tax claim given as a range shows both ends, each linked to the source that gave it.

Still not public, and where it would show up

The record adds each the day a source gives it. Why these documents.

  • Water useA state water right filing or a water supply agreement.
  • Who would use itA lease announcement or a tenant named in a filing.
  • Power the campus would drawA utility or public service commission docket, an interconnection filing, or an air permit for an on site plant.
  • Who is behind itA land record, a zoning application or a company's own announcement.
  • Jobs and taxAn incentive agreement, a county's economic development filing or a fiscal note.

What was decided

Acts of Bradley County and the cities in it about data centers, on the record with their source. A rule about the area is not a decision about this record.

DateWhoDecisionSource
Bradley County New setback rules passed in April 2026 effectively block viable development, according to SDCL local3news.com
Bradley County Setback regulations adopted in response to community concerns local3news.com
Cleveland City requiring nine studies to be performed before project gets final approval clevelandbanner.com
Cleveland Wright Brothers Construction accepted City of Cleveland's proposed ordinance for Project River clevelandbanner.com
Cleveland City of Cleveland announced it is drafting a planned unit development ordinance for Project River on 850 acre site on Lower River Road clevelandbanner.com

What happened

  1. (source date; the content gives no date of its own)

    An east Tennessee family asked Cleveland officials to delay action on Project River data center [1]

  2. (source date; the content gives no date of its own)

    Project River site is 850 acres with plans for biomass plants, fire station, EMS facility, and police precinct [2]

  3. · Status: rumored (source date; the content gives no date of its own)

    Project River proposal includes construction of two biomass plants to power a possible data center, robotics or semiconductor manufacturing facility [2]

The full Project River timeline, in order

2 corrections to this record

Every correction, with its reason
  1. · the kind of source of a history entry

    The source was labeled with the Google News search that found it; it now carries its outlet's tier (the record's rules of 2026-09-23). The link did not change. The day's label corrections.

  2. · the kind of source of a history entry

    The source was labeled with the Google News search that found it; it now carries its outlet's tier (the record's rules of 2026-09-23). The link did not change. The day's label corrections.

Every correction on the record is on the corrections page.

What was said

City manager Joe Fivas clarified city is still drafting PUD, expects completion by 5 p.m. Friday Sept. 18
Joe Fivas, City Manager · September 17, 2026 · paraphrased · www.clevelandbanner.com local outlet
Project River data center campus would destroy generational farmland in Bradley County
Sierra Club · September 16, 2026 · paraphrased · www.sierraclub.org local outlet

Every statement about data centers in Tennessee, by speaker

The site

Where in Bradley County is not in the public record. The pin marks the county seat, not a building, and the outline is the county.

  • This record: Proposed, ringed
  • data center
  • Dashed edge: the exact site is not in the public record
  • Smaller pins: 5 other published records in Tennessee
Details
  • this record's location, ringed
  • parcel outline, from the county parcel record
  • city limits, U.S. Census Bureau, on a town level record
  • county boundary

The other pins are the published projects in the same state, each in its stage color. The imagery beneath is the USGS national orthoimagery, public domain, shown so the land around the site can be read.

Where
Bradley County, Tennessee
How exactly it is located
County level, the county seat
The parcel
No parcel outline in the public record
Nearest homes
Not computed for a record placed at a place center
Nearest records
Nearest records are not computed for a record placed at a county seat.

Comparisons

1 metric with more than one figure

Every figure on the record for the same thing, the record's own or the document's first, each with who gave it, its date and its basis.

Permanent jobs

1 figure, 1 source
Show each source's words
  • 2,700 jobs, www.clevelandbanner.com: Project River could bring up to 2,700 new jobs to Bradley community

Questions about this project

7 questions answered from the record

Answered from the rows on this page.

How big is Project River?

Not disclosed. No source on file gives its capacity, its acreage or a count of buildings. What the record holds instead is under Disclosed.

Who is building Project River?

Not disclosed. No source on file names the developer. The sources read for this record are listed under Sources.

Who will use Project River?

Not disclosed. No source on file names a tenant, says whether the site is single or multi tenant, or states what it is for. The record keeps the use as not disclosed until one does; see Who it serves.

How much power and water does Project River say it needs?

Power: not disclosed by any source on file. Water: not disclosed by any source on file.

Where does Project River stand today?

It is reported, as reported September 17, 2026. The newest entry, reported September 18, 2026: An east Tennessee family asked Cleveland officials to delay action on Project River data center [1].

What has Bradley County decided about it?

Bradley County: New setback rules passed in April 2026 effectively block viable development, according to SDCL (reported September 21, 2026, source); and Bradley County: Setback regulations adopted in response to community concerns (reported September 21, 2026, source). 5 events are on the county's rows; a rule about the area is not a decision about this record.

What is still unknown about Project River?

Not disclosed by any source on file: how much power it needs, how much water it would use, how loud it would be, jobs once it runs, tax it would pay each year, who is building it, who is constructing it, how much land, where its power comes from, grid connection, how it is cooled. No missing primary document is listed for this record yet; What the record lacks is where one appears when a person names it.

Sources

Primary documents first: filings, minutes, dockets and official pages. Then reporting. The numbers are the ones the entries above cite.

Reporting

  1. Family slows proposed Tennessee data center project - The Black Chronicle, The Black Chronicle, September 18, 2026, local outlet
  2. City still drafting Project River zoning specifications, www.clevelandbanner.com, September 17, 2026, local outlet
  3. Data center developer hammering out binding agreement with city - The Center Square, The Center Square, September 15, 2026, local outlet
  4. ‘Project River’ to bring $7.3 billion data center, 2600 jobs to Bradley County - WDEF, WDEF, August 26, 2026, local outlet
  5. Data center fears spur crowd as Cleveland reviews 400-acre annexation request from builder - WTVC, WTVC, August 18, 2026, local outlet

5 sources on file.

Cite this record

Data Center Record, "Project River", https://datacenterrecord.org/projects/project-river-bradley-tn, last verified September 18, 2026.

Last verified , first recorded . Every correction is logged on the corrections page and under What happened.

Cite this page

Data Center Record, "Project River", https://datacenterrecord.org/projects/project-river-bradley-tn. Data: Data Center Record, datacenterrecord.org, CC BY 4.0.

The structured rows are CC BY 4.0. Link to this page; that is what turns a reuse into a citation. Prose stays under copyright.

Report a change
For researchers
Slug
project-river-bradley-tn
Status value
rumored
Stage
Proposed
Tier
skeleton
Tags
skeleton
Place id
us/tn/bradley-county
Coordinates
35.1714, -84.8711
Location precision
county
Location source
County seat (Cleveland), Wikidata, placed at county level
Coordinate source
wikidata county seat
Location source number
Not disclosed
Location last verified
September 16, 2026
EPA registry id
Not disclosed
Use type values
not_disclosed
Tenancy value
not_disclosed
Cooling type value
not_disclosed
Capacity basis
not_disclosed
Water basis
not_disclosed, gallons_per_day
Acreage basis
Not disclosed
Interconnection value
not_disclosed
Capacity, if disclosed
Not disclosed
Rating of the county's rows
Not disclosed
Published
2026-09-05
Last verified
2026-09-18