Data Center Record.

Data centers in Tennessee

Tennessee has 8 data center sites, 0 buildings where disclosed on the record: 4 running, 1 being built and 3 proposed. Most are in Shelby County (3) and Davidson County (2), and records are in 5 of 95 counties. The largest proposal is 5C Data Centers Memphis (MEM01) in Shelby County, 84 MW (the developer's figure); it is being built.

Tennessee decides case by case. From the state's own rule: TVA Board of Directors approves rate increase for data centers, August 20, 2026.

How to read this page. Every count comes from the records on this page and links to where it is counted. Nothing is published until a person reads its source, and a figure no source gives reads Not disclosed; nothing is estimated. A rating changes only when a person sets it.

Projects and campuses on the record

Facility and countyStageOperatorPower (MW)Latest entry
5C Data Centers Memphis (MEM01) Memphis, Shelby CountyBeing built5C Data Centers84
Project River Bradley CountyProposedAn east Tennessee family asked Cleveland officials to delay action on Project River data center blackchronicle.com (opens in a new tab) local outlet reported September 18, 2026
SpaceXAI Memphis data centers Memphis, Shelby CountyProposed In courtSpaceXAISpaceXAI agreed to timeline for removal of turbines with Mississippi Department of Environmental Quality, all turbines to be removed by July 2027. independent.co.uk (opens in a new tab) international outlet reported September 18, 2026
DC BLOX Nashville Zoo data center Nashville, Davidson CountyProposedDC BLOX
DataBank Memphis data center Memphis, Shelby CountyRunningDataBank
Google Montgomery County data center Montgomery CountyRunningGoogle
Meta Gallatin Data Center Gallatin, Sumner CountyRunningMeta300Meta Gallatin data center began serving global internet traffic in November 2024 yahoo.com (opens in a new tab) national outlet reported September 16, 2026
TierPoint Nashville Data Center Nashville, Davidson CountyRunningTierPointHyscaleIX Nashville Carrier Hotel is an operating data center cleanview.co (opens in a new tab) news outlet reported May 15, 2026

A blank cell means not disclosed by any source on file. Power is the developer's figure or a permit's, each linked on the record. All 8 Tennessee projects.

Every Tennessee record 8 records · sort by any column · blank cell: not disclosed

RecordPlaceStageOperatorMWBasisLocatedTierVerified
5C Data Centers Memphis (MEM01)Memphis, ShelbyBeing built5C Data Centers84the developer's figuresite32026-10-20
Project RiverBradleyProposedcentroid42026-09-18
SpaceXAI Memphis data centersMemphis, ShelbyProposedSpaceXAIcentroid32026-09-25
DataBank Memphis data centerMemphis, ShelbyRunningDataBankcentroid22026-09-17
DC BLOX Nashville Zoo data centerNashville, DavidsonProposedDC BLOXcentroid42026-09-17
Google Montgomery County data centerMontgomeryRunningGooglecentroid22026-09-17
Meta Gallatin Data CenterGallatin, SumnerRunningMeta300third party estimatecentroid22026-09-25
TierPoint Nashville Data CenterNashville, DavidsonRunningTierPointcentroid22026-10-07

Tier 1: an official or company source. Tier 2: a news report resolving to the outlet's own page. Located: a site coordinate from a permit, a parcel or an address, or the county or town centroid. Verified: the last day a person read the source. A blank cell means not disclosed by any source on file.

Every Tennessee county (95)

5 of 95 counties have a record. A county without one is listed, not linked, until its first published record.

CountyCensus GEOIDProjectsRulesHow it treats data centers
Shelby County4715732
Davidson County4703721
Bradley County4701112
Montgomery County4712511
Sumner County4716511
Cheatham County4702101
Wilson County4718901case by case

A blank rating cell means no person has set one for the county. A county without a record is listed, not linked.

88 counties with no records yet
  • Anderson County
  • Bedford County
  • Benton County
  • Bledsoe County
  • Blount County
  • Campbell County
  • Cannon County
  • Carroll County
  • Carter County
  • Chester County
  • Claiborne County
  • Clay County
  • Cocke County
  • Coffee County
  • Crockett County
  • Cumberland County
  • Decatur County
  • DeKalb County
  • Dickson County
  • Dyer County
  • Fayette County
  • Fentress County
  • Franklin County
  • Gibson County
  • Giles County
  • Grainger County
  • Greene County
  • Grundy County
  • Hamblen County
  • Hamilton County
  • Hancock County
  • Hardeman County
  • Hardin County
  • Hawkins County
  • Haywood County
  • Henderson County
  • Henry County
  • Hickman County
  • Houston County
  • Humphreys County
  • Jackson County
  • Jefferson County
  • Johnson County
  • Knox County
  • Lake County
  • Lauderdale County
  • Lawrence County
  • Lewis County
  • Lincoln County
  • Loudon County
  • Macon County
  • Madison County
  • Marion County
  • Marshall County
  • Maury County
  • McMinn County
  • McNairy County
  • Meigs County
  • Monroe County
  • Moore County
  • Morgan County
  • Obion County
  • Overton County
  • Perry County
  • Pickett County
  • Polk County
  • Putnam County
  • Rhea County
  • Roane County
  • Robertson County
  • Rutherford County
  • Scott County
  • Sequatchie County
  • Sevier County
  • Smith County
  • Stewart County
  • Sullivan County
  • Tipton County
  • Trousdale County
  • Unicoi County
  • Union County
  • Van Buren County
  • Warren County
  • Washington County
  • Wayne County
  • Weakley County
  • White County
  • Williamson County

The rules in Tennessee 10 rows · rating rests only on a binding act in force

What the state and its counties and cities have decided. Each row is rated by what it has decided, open, case by case, restrictive or closed, never by whether that is good or bad.

BodyLevelRatingIn force untilLatest actActsVerified
Tennesseestatecase by caseTVA Board of Directors approves rate increase for data centers. yahoo.com (opens in a new tab) national outlet Aug 20, 20265 acts on this row
Every act on the Tennessee row
  1. event

    House Bill 1847 passed by Tennessee General Assembly and signed by Governor Bill Lee requiring data centers using more than 50 megawatts of power to pay their own electricity costs

    thecentersquare.com (opens in a new tab) national outlet

  2. statement

    TVA signed Trump administration Ratepayer Protection Pledge requiring data centers to cover infrastructure costs

    yellowhammernews.com (opens in a new tab) local outlet

  3. rate rule

    TVA Board approved rate structure separating data centers from traditional manufacturing

    yellowhammernews.com (opens in a new tab) local outlet

  4. rate rule

    TVA Board of Directors approves rate increase for data centers

    yahoo.com (opens in a new tab) national outlet

  5. approval

    Nashville Metro Council voted 27 to 5 on August 4 to authorize acquisition of a 23.49 acre DC BLOX Nashville Campus site.

    baxtel.com (opens in a new tab) news outlet

Last verified September 11, 2026.

52026-09-11
Bradley Countycountynot ratedSetback regulations adopted in response to community concerns. local3news.com (opens in a new tab) local outlet Reported Sep 213 acts on this row
Every act on the Bradley County row
  1. event

    Setback regulations adopted in response to community concerns

    local3news.com (opens in a new tab) local outlet

  2. event

    Bradley County commissioners voted 14-0 on April 20 to restrict data centers to I-2 Special Impact Industrial District with 3,000 foot setback from homes, schools, churches

    newschannel9.com (opens in a new tab) local outlet

  3. statement

    New setback rules passed in April 2026 effectively block viable development, according to SDCL

    local3news.com (opens in a new tab) local outlet

Last verified September 21, 2026.

32026-09-21
Clevelandcitycase by caseCity requiring nine studies to be performed before project gets final approval. clevelandbanner.com (opens in a new tab) local outlet Sep 17, 20262 acts on this row
Every act on the Cleveland row
  1. ordinance

    Wright Brothers Construction accepted City of Cleveland's proposed ordinance for Project River

    clevelandbanner.com (opens in a new tab) local outlet

  2. ordinance

    City of Cleveland announced it is drafting a planned unit development ordinance for Project River on 850 acre site on Lower River Road

    clevelandbanner.com (opens in a new tab) local outlet

Last verified September 17, 2026.

22026-09-17
Gallatincitynot ratedGallatin City Council advanced six month moratorium on new data center applications on first reading September 15. yahoo.com (opens in a new tab) national outlet Sep 151 act on this row
Every act on the Gallatin row
  1. moratorium

    Gallatin City Council advanced six month moratorium on new data center applications on first reading September 15

    yahoo.com (opens in a new tab) national outlet

Last verified September 16, 2026.

12026-09-16
Memphiscityrestrictive until March 4, 20272027-03-04Memphis adopted a 135 day moratorium halting new data center construction while completing a 90 day review and drafting permanent regulations. cbsnews.com (opens in a new tab) primary source Oct 20, 20269 acts on this row
Every act on the Memphis row
  1. event

    Memphis Mayor Paul Young issued an executive order to establish a 90 day study period on impacts of data center development

    cbsnews.com (opens in a new tab) national outlet

  2. litigation

    U.S. District Court issued a temporary restraining order enjoining the Memphis City Council from enforcing bans against community activists attending public council meetings ahead of the data center vote.

    dailymemphian.com (opens in a new tab) primary source

  3. hearing

    Memphis City Council postponed final action on competing data center regulatory measures, including Ordinance 5986 (large scale data center standards prohibiting evaporative cooling and protecting the Memphis Sand Aquifer) and Ordinance 5985 (digital infrastructure development districts).

    cbsnews.com (opens in a new tab) primary source

  4. moratorium rejected

    Memphis City Council voted down a proposed 12 month temporary moratorium on data center permits (Agenda Item 19) sponsored by Councilmembers JB Smiley Jr., Jerri Green, Swearengen Washington, and Michalyn Easter Thomas.

    cbsnews.com (opens in a new tab) primary source

    Also reported by 1 source
  5. moratorium adopted

    Memphis City Council passed a substitute ordinance halting data center permits and construction for 135 days while the city develops comprehensive zoning and environmental regulations.

    cbsnews.com (opens in a new tab) primary source

  6. ordinance

    Mayor Paul Young signed an executive order launching a 90 day data center policy review with appointed experts on land use, air quality, Memphis Sand Aquifer protection, utility costs, and noise without a permitting pause.

    dailymemphian.com (opens in a new tab) primary source

  7. hearing

    Memphis City Council voted 7-5 to postpone a vote on a proposed data center moratorium

    businessinsider.com (opens in a new tab) national outlet

  8. moratorium

    Memphis imposed data center moratorium while SpaceXAI continues expansion in Mississippi less than a mile away

    dailymemphian.com (opens in a new tab) news outlet

  9. moratorium

    Memphis City Council proposed a temporary moratorium on new data center development

    radionwtn.com (opens in a new tab) news outlet

Last verified October 21, 2026.

92026-10-21
Millingtoncityrestrictive until April 12, 20272027-04-12Millington approved a 6 month moratorium on data center development expiring April 12, 2027. dailymemphian.com (opens in a new tab) primary source Oct 12, 20261 act on this row
Every act on the Millington row
  1. moratorium adopted

    Millington Board of Mayor and Aldermen unanimously approved Resolution 44-2026 enacting a six month moratorium on data center and industrial computing facilities through April 12, 2027.

    dailymemphian.com (opens in a new tab) primary source

Last verified October 20, 2026.

12026-10-20
Montgomery Countycountynot ratedMontgomery County Commission discussed zoning regulations requiring data center properties to be a minimum of 10 acres and no larger than 100 acres. clarksvillenow.com (opens in a new tab) local outlet Oct 62 acts on this row
Every act on the Montgomery County row
  1. hearing

    Montgomery County Commission discussed zoning regulations requiring data center properties to be a minimum of 10 acres and no larger than 100 acres.

    clarksvillenow.com (opens in a new tab) local outlet

  2. ordinance

    Montgomery County Regional Planning Commission approved zoning update requiring public hearing for future data centers with one commissioner voting against

    clarksvillenow.com (opens in a new tab) local outlet

Last verified October 6, 2026.

22026-10-06
NashvillecityrestrictiveNashville Davidson Metro placed temporary moratorium on data center development after D.C. Blox announced facility near Nashville Zoo. thecentersquare.com (opens in a new tab) national outlet Sep 8, 20264 acts on this row
Every act on the Nashville row
  1. litigation

    U.S. District Judge Eli Richardson dismissed DC BLOX's nine claims against Metro Nashville's data center permitting moratorium, noting a perceived raw deal does not make a federal case, while granting 21 days until October 27, 2026 to replead three claims.

    the901report.com (opens in a new tab) trade press

  2. litigation

    D.C. Blox filed lawsuit against Nashville Davidson Metro claiming officials refusing to process permits in targeted attack violating federal constitutional protections

    thecentersquare.com (opens in a new tab) national outlet

  3. moratorium

    Nashville Davidson Metro placed temporary moratorium on data center development after D.C. Blox announced facility near Nashville Zoo

    thecentersquare.com (opens in a new tab) national outlet

  4. hearing

    Nashville data center restrictions advanced after a record setting council meeting

    wsmv.com (opens in a new tab) local outlet

Last verified October 6, 2026.

42026-10-06
Pleasant Viewcitynot ratedBoard of Mayor and Aldermen voted not to approve Ordinance 26-08 restricting data centers to C4 commercial zones on first reading. mainstreetmediatn.com (opens in a new tab) local outlet Sep 141 act on this row
Every act on the Pleasant View row
  1. ordinance

    Board of Mayor and Aldermen voted not to approve Ordinance 26-08 restricting data centers to C4 commercial zones on first reading

    mainstreetmediatn.com (opens in a new tab) local outlet

Last verified September 14, 2026.

12026-09-14
Wilson Countycountycase by caseWilson County data center committee passed resolution on September 15, 2026 working out final details of zoning ordinance. mainstreetmediatn.com (opens in a new tab) local outlet Sep 15, 20262 acts on this row
Every act on the Wilson County row
  1. ordinance

    Berm height requirement of 40 percent of building height with state approved vegetation

    mainstreetmediatn.com (opens in a new tab) local outlet

  2. ordinance

    Wilson County data center committee passed resolution on September 15, 2026 working out final details of zoning ordinance

    mainstreetmediatn.com (opens in a new tab) local outlet

Last verified September 21, 2026.

22026-09-21

Reported: the source's date; the item names no day of its own. A month with no day: the source names the month and not the day. A rating rests only on a binding act in force; "not rated" means no person has set one. A blank cell means the record holds nothing for it.

Tennessee laws and the full scorecard

Bills and laws in Tennessee

5 signed into law, 20 bills tracked

20 bills tracked in the Tennessee legislature, 5 of them signed into law, grouped by where each stands. A row opens its own page; the Tennessee laws page has what each law requires.

No official summary on file for 2 of these 13 measures; each row links to the legislature's page for the text.

Signed into law 5

In committee 12, 5 shown here

7 more in committee on the Tennessee laws page.

Failed or died 3

20 bills tracked, 5 signed · LegiScan, CC BY 4.0

NumberSessionStatusDateTitle
HB1847 114th General Assembly Signed 2026-05-18 AN ACT to amend Tennessee Code Annotated, Title 5; Title 6; Title 7; Title 13 and Title 65, relative to data centers.
SB2128 114th General Assembly Signed 2026-05-18 AN ACT to amend Tennessee Code Annotated, Title 5; Title 6; Title 7; Title 13 and Title 65, relative to data centers.
H.B. 2456 114th General Assembly Died at adjournment 2026-03-18 AN ACT to amend Tennessee Code Annotated, Title 5; Title 6; Title 7; Title 10; Title 62; Title 65; Title 68 and Title 69, relative to data centers.
H.B. 1461 114th General Assembly Died at adjournment 2026-03-04 AN ACT to amend Tennessee Code Annotated, Title 4; Title 8 and Title 68, relative to high performance computing facilities.
H.B. 2047 114th General Assembly In committee 2026-03-03 AN ACT to amend Tennessee Code Annotated, Title 67, Chapter 6, relative to qualified data centers.
S.B. 1682 114th General Assembly Died at adjournment 2026-03-03 AN ACT to amend Tennessee Code Annotated, Title 5; Title 6; Title 7; Title 10; Title 62; Title 65; Title 68 and Title 69, relative to data centers.
H.B. 2392 114th General Assembly In committee 2026-02-05 AN ACT to amend Tennessee Code Annotated, Title 5; Title 6; Title 7; Title 10; Title 62; Title 65; Title 68 and Title 69, relative to the Tennessee Data Center Impact Review Act.
H.B. 2054 114th General Assembly In committee 2026-02-04 AN ACT to amend Tennessee Code Annotated, Title 7 and Title 65, relative to energy.
H.B. 2061 114th General Assembly In committee 2026-02-04 AN ACT to amend Tennessee Code Annotated, Title 5; Title 6; Title 7; Title 10; Title 62; Title 65; Title 68 and Title 69, relative to data centers.
S.B. 2584 114th General Assembly Introduced 2026-02-02 AN ACT to amend Tennessee Code Annotated, Title 67, Chapter 6, relative to qualified data centers.
S.B. 2653 114th General Assembly Introduced 2026-02-02 AN ACT to amend Tennessee Code Annotated, Title 5; Title 6; Title 7; Title 10; Title 62; Title 65; Title 68 and Title 69, relative to the Tennessee Data Center Impact Review Act.
S.B. 1999 114th General Assembly Introduced 2026-01-22 AN ACT to amend Tennessee Code Annotated, Title 7 and Title 65, relative to energy.
S.B. 2112 114th General Assembly Introduced 2026-01-22 AN ACT to amend Tennessee Code Annotated, Title 5; Title 6; Title 7; Title 10; Title 62; Title 65; Title 68 and Title 69, relative to data centers.
S.B. 1832 114th General Assembly Introduced 2026-01-21 AN ACT to amend Tennessee Code Annotated, Title 4; Title 8 and Title 68, relative to high performance computing facilities.
S.B. 1600 114th General Assembly Introduced 2026-01-12 AN ACT to amend Tennessee Code Annotated, Title 5; Title 6; Title 7; Title 10; Title 62; Title 65; Title 68 and Title 69, relative to data centers.
H.B. 330 114th General Assembly In committee 2025-02-03 AN ACT to amend Tennessee Code Annotated, Title 4, Chapter 3, Part 7; Section 9-16-101 and Title 67, Chapter 6, relative to allocations to counties and municipalities.
S.B. 427 114th General Assembly Introduced 2025-01-28 AN ACT to amend Tennessee Code Annotated, Title 4, Chapter 3, Part 7; Section 9-16-101 and Title 67, Chapter 6, relative to allocations to counties and municipalities.
H.B. 2182 113th General Assembly Signed 2024-05-13 AN ACT to amend Tennessee Code Annotated, Section 67-6-102, relative to qualified data centers.
H.B. 2531 110th General Assembly Signed 2018-05-18 As enacted, specifies that any entity that qualifies for exemption as a spallation neutron source facility will not be eligible for a sales and use tax exemption with regard to any industrial machinery that is used in operation of a qualified data center or used primarily for research and development; provides exception for a leadership computing facility that is funded by the United States government or instrumentality thereof, not funded with any state funds, and located at a national laboratory. - Amends TCA Title 7; Title 9; Title 13 and Title 67, Chapter 6.
HB1535 109th General Assembly Signed 2016-05-02 As enacted, reduces the capital investment requirement for eligibility for qualified data center sales and use tax exemptions from $250 million to $100 million; exempts cooling equipment and backup power equipment sold or used by qualified data centers from the sales and use tax; requires qualified data center that applies for job tax credits to certify that it has not, within the previous 12 months, been found to be in violation of certain laws. - Amends TCA Title 67, Chapter 6.

20 bills tracked in Tennessee; 114th General Assembly, legislature adjourned; last checked October 26, 2026. The last check found no bill not already tracked; the 20 tracked bills stand. Search terms: data center, data centre, large load, hyperscale, computing facility, server farm, high load factor (indirect), energy intensive facility (indirect), large electric load (indirect), digital asset mining (indirect), cryptocurrency mining (indirect), qualified technology facility (indirect), colocation (indirect), moratorium (with another term), sales tax exemption (with another term). The search on LegiScan. (opens in a new tab)

Bill data from LegiScan (opens in a new tab), licensed CC BY 4.0 (opens in a new tab). The record chooses the bills, writes each stage in its own words and cites the legislature's own page for every bill.

How this state's members voted

H.R. 9340, Ratepayer Protection Act: U.S. House of Representatives, roll call 312, September 16, 2026. On Motion to Suspend the Rules and Pass, as Amended. Passed, 417 to 3. Tennessee's members: 9 yea, 0 nay. How each member voted

MemberPartyPosition
BurchettRYea
CohenDYea
DesJarlaisRYea
FleischmannRYea
HarshbargerRYea
KustoffRYea
OglesRYea
RoseRYea
Van EppsRYea

A blank party cell means the clerk's roll gives none.

H.R. 9340, Ratepayer Protection Act: U.S. Senate, roll call 254, September 30, 2026. On Cloture on the Motion to Proceed H.R. 9340. Cloture on the Motion to Proceed Rejected, 57 to 43. Tennessee's members: 2 yea, 0 nay. How each member voted

MemberPartyPosition
Blackburn (R-TN)RYea
Hagerty (R-TN)RYea

A blank party cell means the clerk's roll gives none.

Positions as the clerk records them. How bills and votes are recorded.

What happened

The full Tennessee timeline, year by year

What was said

State Rep. Justin Pearson called for a 12 month temporary moratorium on data centers in Tennessee to study environmental impacts
Justin Pearson, Tennessee State Representative · October 13, 2026 · paraphrased · The Center Square (opens in a new tab) national outlet · also reported by 1 more source
Memphis community reports cancer rate 4.1 times the national average near xAI data center
Keshaun Pearson, co-founder of Memphis Community Against Pollution · September 11, 2026 · paraphrased · WSMV (opens in a new tab) local outlet

Every Tennessee statement, by speaker (42)

38 more on this page, one per speaker and claim; 42 statements in all

State Sen. Brent Taylor sponsored legislation requiring data center owners to pay full costs of electricity upgrades instead of passing costs to residents

Tennessee State Senator The Center Square (opens in a new tab) national outlet · [Archived Copy] (opens in a new tab)
Context & source notes

Provenance: Paraphrased; said in the source itself.

Primary source: The Center Square (opens in a new tab).

Archived copy: Wayback Machine (opens in a new tab).

Also reported by: themercury.com (opens in a new tab) news outlet .

Marsha Blackburn said local communities should decide if and where data centers are placed and that the Ratepayer Protection Pledge was important for protecting consumers.

Republican gubernatorial candidate WTVC (opens in a new tab) local outlet
Context & source notes

Provenance: Paraphrased; said in the source itself.

Primary source: WTVC (opens in a new tab).

Lauren Pinkston said she was the first major candidate calling for a statewide moratorium on new data center construction until the Legislature enacts siting standards.

gubernatorial candidate WTVC (opens in a new tab) local outlet
Context & source notes

Provenance: Paraphrased; said in the source itself.

Primary source: WTVC (opens in a new tab).

Dave Seeman said he released a five policy package on AI and data centers in Tennessee and called for a 24 month moratorium to establish an Environmental Justice Division and regulations.

gubernatorial candidate WTVC (opens in a new tab) local outlet
Context & source notes

Provenance: Paraphrased; said in the source itself.

Primary source: WTVC (opens in a new tab).

Dr. Robert C. Vick said data centers should be a local decision within each county and that AI guardrails should protect children, privacy, and employees.

independent gubernatorial candidate WTVC (opens in a new tab) local outlet
Context & source notes

Provenance: Paraphrased; said in the source itself.

Primary source: WTVC (opens in a new tab).

Communities are mounting bipartisan grassroots backlash against data center developments

Erin Brockovich, Consumer Advocate and Environmental Activist; Justin J. Pearson, Tennessee State Representative The New York Times (opens in a new tab) national outlet
Context & source notes

Provenance: Paraphrased; said in the source itself.

Primary source: The New York Times (opens in a new tab).

Qualified data centers in Tennessee receive sales tax exemptions on certain computer equipment, repair services, and backup power infrastructure after investing at least $100 million and creating 15 full time jobs

Tennessee law (Tenn. Code Ann. § 67-6-206) Local 3 News (opens in a new tab) local outlet
Context & source notes

Provenance: Paraphrased; said in the source itself.

Primary source: Local 3 News (opens in a new tab).

Qualified data centers in Tennessee can purchase electricity at a reduced 1.5% tax rate after investing at least $100 million and creating 15 full time jobs

Tennessee law (Tenn. Code Ann. § 67-6-206) Local 3 News (opens in a new tab) local outlet
Context & source notes

Provenance: Paraphrased; said in the source itself.

Primary source: Local 3 News (opens in a new tab).

Tennessee State Rep. Aftyn Behn stated that Tennessee taxpayers currently do not know how much revenue the state is losing from the data center industry.

Tennessee State Representative wtvcfox (opens in a new tab) local outlet
Context & source notes

Provenance: Paraphrased; said in the source itself.

Primary source: wtvcfox (opens in a new tab).

Craig Fuller, CEO and owner of Times Free Press, argued that the Tennessee Valley region's access to electricity through TVA gives it an advantage as technology companies invest in data centers.

Broadband Breakfast (opens in a new tab) news outlet
Context & source notes

Provenance: Paraphrased; said in the source itself.

Primary source: Broadband Breakfast (opens in a new tab).

Minimum distance requirements: 100 feet for buildings under 20,000 square feet, 500 feet for 20,000-99,000 square feet, 1,320 feet for over 99,000 square feet from residential and mixed use districts

Lebanon City Council mainstreetmediatn.com (opens in a new tab) local outlet
Context & source notes

Provenance: Paraphrased; said in the source itself.

Primary source: mainstreetmediatn.com (opens in a new tab).

EPA Administrator Lee Zeldin is urging state and local governments to address environmental and infrastructure concerns surrounding data centers without broadly halting development as communities consider moratoriums

EHSLeaders (opens in a new tab) news outlet
Context & source notes

Provenance: Paraphrased; content date; reported from elsewhere.

Primary source: EHSLeaders (opens in a new tab).

Trump administration pursued policies intended to encourage data center development while addressing concerns about energy demand and infrastructure costs

Lee Zeldin, EPA Administrator EHSLeaders (opens in a new tab) news outlet
Context & source notes

Provenance: Paraphrased; content date; reported from elsewhere.

Primary source: EHSLeaders (opens in a new tab).

Regional Planning Commission Director Jeff Tyndall said the Google Data Center in Montgomery County opened in 2019 and current utilities can supply it.

Clarksville Now (opens in a new tab) local outlet
Context & source notes

Provenance: Paraphrased; content date; reported from elsewhere.

Primary source: Clarksville Now (opens in a new tab).

On the November 3, 2026 ballot in Tennessee: Governor (15), U.S. Senate (10), U.S. House, District 1 (7), U.S. House, District 2 (4), U.S. House, District 3 (7), U.S. House, District 4 (4), U.S. House, District 5 (4), U.S. House, District 6 (4), U.S. House, District 7 (4), U.S. House, District 8 (8), U.S. House, District 9 (4); 7 of 71 candidates with a statement on data centers on the record. Every candidate.

Already running in Tennessee

4 sites are serving load, 1 of them in Shelby County.

See the 4 running sites
  1. DataBank Memphis data center Memphis, Shelby County Running
  2. Google Montgomery County data center Montgomery County Running · Operational since 2019 (7 years)
  3. Meta Gallatin Data Center Gallatin, Sumner County Running 300 MW · Operational since 2023 (3 years)
  4. TierPoint Nashville Data Center Nashville, Davidson County Running

Questions about Tennessee data centers

How many data center projects are on the record in Tennessee?

8 projects are on the record in Tennessee: 3 reported, 1 being built and 4 running. Each is listed under Projects with its status history and sources. Resources: the questions people ask about data centers

answered from the rows above

Where in Tennessee are they?

Records are in 5 counties: Shelby County (3), Davidson County (2), Bradley County (1), Montgomery County (1) and Sumner County (1). The county table lists every county with its count, zero included. Resources: the questions people ask about data centers

answered from the rows above

How much power is disclosed for data centers in Tennessee?

384 MW is disclosed across 2 of 8 records: Meta Gallatin Data Center (300 MW, third party estimate, source (opens in a new tab)) and 5C Data Centers Memphis (MEM01) (84 MW, the developer's figure, source (opens in a new tab)). The other 6 records have not disclosed capacity. Resources: the questions people ask about data centers

answered from the rows above

How much water do data centers in Tennessee say they will use?

Not disclosed. None of the 8 records on file for Tennessee states a water figure. Resources: the questions people ask about data centers

answered from the rows above

Who is building data centers in Tennessee?

7 developers are named on the record: 5C Data Centers, DataBank, DC BLOX, Google, Meta, SpaceXAI and TierPoint. 1 record names no developer; each name above opens the record, where the developer's source is listed. Resources: the questions people ask about data centers

answered from the rows above

Which counties and cities in Tennessee have rules about data centers?

9 county and city rows are on the record, 5 of them rated: Cleveland is rated case by case: City requiring nine studies to be performed before project gets final approval, September 17, 2026, source (opens in a new tab), Memphis is rated restrictive: Memphis adopted a 135 day moratorium halting new data center construction while completing a 90 day review and drafting permanent regulations, October 20, 2026, source (opens in a new tab) and Millington is rated restrictive: Millington approved a 6 month moratorium on data center development expiring April 12, 2027, October 12, 2026, source (opens in a new tab). The state's own row is rated case by case, with 5 dated acts listed under the scorecard. Resources: the questions people ask about data centers

answered from the rows above

What is proposed or being built near me in Tennessee, by county?

4 records are not yet running. Shelby County: 5C Data Centers Memphis (MEM01) (being built) and SpaceXAI Memphis data centers (reported); Bradley County: Project River (reported); and Davidson County: DC BLOX Nashville Zoo data center (reported). A county name opens its page with the map and every record there. Resources: the questions people ask about data centers

answered from the rows above

What has the state of Tennessee itself decided?

5 state laws are on the record: HB1847 (signed, May 18, 2026, source (opens in a new tab)), SB2128 (signed, May 18, 2026, source (opens in a new tab)) and H.B. 2182 (signed, May 13, 2024, source (opens in a new tab)) and 2 more under Laws. The state's own scorecard row carries 5 dated acts, the newest reported September 8, 2026; the laws page has what each law requires in the words of its text. Resources: the questions people ask about data centers

answered from the rows above

Disclosed figures

384 MW power

summed only where a record disclosed the figure

FigureDisclosed totalDisclosedWithout a figureBasis
Power384 MW261 the developer's figure, 1 third party estimate
Water, stated per day08
Water, stated per year08
Permanent jobs08
Tax each year08

A blank cell means no record in Tennessee disclosed the figure. Third party figures on the same metrics are listed apart below; a figure a project disclosed about itself is never mixed with them.

FigureDisclosed totalDisclosedWithout a figureBasis
Power384 MW261 the developer's figure, 1 third party estimate
Water, stated per day08
Water, stated per year08
Permanent jobs08
Tax each year08

A blank total means no record disclosed the figure; the count without one says how many.

Summed only where a record disclosed the figure; a record with no figure adds nothing and is counted as not disclosed. Water is summed per day and per year separately, as the sources stated it, and never converted. A tax claim given as a range is summed at both ends.

The disclosed totals are in the table above.

UseFacilitiesShare of facilitiesAttributed MWShare of attributed MW
AI, type not stated113%84 MW22%
No stated use788%300 MW78%
No capacity figure675%

A blank cell means no source attributes power to that use.

8 facilities in Tennessee. Capacity is attributed to a use only where a source states the share, or where a facility lists a single use. Nothing is divided by estimate.

What each use disclosed

UseRecordsPowerWaterJobsTax each year
AI, type not stated184 MW
No stated use7300 MW

A blank cell means no record with that use disclosed the figure.

A record that lists several uses counts once under each. Each cell is the sum over the records with that use, disclosed rows only.

MethodFacilitiesShare of facilities
Closed loop liquid113%
No stated cooling type788%

8 facilities in Tennessee. A facility carries one cooling method; nothing here is estimated.

Sources read for Tennessee

17 sources

17 sources are read for Tennessee:

Public broadcaster
Nashville Public Radio WPLN
Utility commission dockets
Tennessee Public Utility Commission
Economic development
Tennessee Department of Economic and Community Development
Search feeds
14 news searches
Every feed, with its kind and tier

About this data

Last verified
Next check Feeds every four hours, pages daily.
Figures Only what a source states, with its basis. Nothing is estimated, and a figure no source gives reads not disclosed.
License Data CC BY-NC 4.0 (opens in a new tab); free for personal, academic, civic and newsroom reporting with attribution. Commercial, enterprise, financial or AI training use needs a commercial license. Prose stays under copyright.
Cite this page Data Center Record, "Data centers in Tennessee", https://datacenterrecord.org/states/tn, updated October 21, 2026. CSV · JSON · GeoJSON
Cite this page

Data Center Record, "Data center records in Tennessee", https://datacenterrecord.org/states/tn. Data: Data Center Record, datacenterrecord.org, CC BY-NC 4.0.

The structured rows are CC BY-NC 4.0. Link to this page; that is what turns a reuse into a citation. Prose stays under copyright.

Report a change
For researchers
State code
TN
Rating of the state's own row
Case by case
Count by status
reported 3, being built 1, running 4
Located records
1 located, 7 at a centroid, 0 without coordinates

Researcher view · Tennessee · 8 data center sites, 0 buildings where disclosed, 10 rule rows, 20 bills · basis and source tier on every row · verified October 21, 2026

Download CSV JSON GeoJSON