Data Center Record.

Being built Built from one source

Applied Digital Polaris Forge 2 (Harwood)

Harwood, Cass County, NDDeveloper: Applied DigitalCensus GEOID 38017

Stage
Being built
Undisclosed in public filings
Power, Land, Buildings, Water

Applied Digital began construction of a 280MW data center in Harwood in September 2025, representing a 3 billion dollar investment; North Dakota Public Service Commission approved a temporary variance for the 110 million dollar power project serving the campus. It is being built, since May 7, 2026.

How much power it needs, how much water it would use and who would use it have not been disclosed.

Last verified · 11 sources, 0 primary · Built from one source, not yet reviewed in depth by a person. · How to read this page

  • This record: Being built, ringed
  • data center
  • Dashed edge: the exact site is not in the public record
  • Smaller pins: 4 other published records in North Dakota
Details
  • this record's location, ringed
  • parcel outline, from the county parcel record
  • city limits, U.S. Census Bureau, on a town level record
  • county boundary

The other pins are the published projects in the same state, each in its stage color. The imagery beneath is the USGS national orthoimagery, public domain, shown so the land around the site can be read.

How to read this page. Every fact links to the source it rests on; a number in brackets is its place in the source list. A figure no source gives reads Not disclosed, and nothing is estimated. Where sources give different figures, each is shown with who gave it, and another source's figure never stands in for the record's own. Entries are added and never overwritten; corrections are listed under What happened.

What is known

Each figure as its source gave it. The number in brackets is its place in the source list.

Who leads it
Applied Digital as stated by the source
Undisclosed in public filings
Land, Buildings, Power it would draw, Water, Who would use it, Jobs once it runs, Tax each year Reported by others: 540 MW (InForum (opens in a new tab)); 280 MW (Grand Forks Herald (opens in a new tab)). Their figure, not the record's.
Every field, with who said it and when (Researcher view)

Impact figures

FieldValueWho says soSourceLast verified
How much power it needs
How much water it would use
How loud it would be
Jobs once it runs
Tax it would pay each year

The record's fields

FieldValueWho says soSourceLast verified
Who is building it Applied Digital as stated by the source October 16, 2026
Who is constructing it
How much land
Buildings
Where its power comes from
Grid connection
How it is cooled

How much power it needs, also reported: 540 MW, 2026 (InForum (opens in a new tab): At full build out, Geronimo says the data center could use up to 540 megawatts of electricity); 280 MW, 2026 (Grand Forks Herald (opens in a new tab): Polaris Forge 2 is a 280 megawatt data center) .

A blank value cell means not disclosed by any source on file; a blank basis cell means the source gave the figure without saying on what basis.

The developer's figure is what the company said; what a permit allows is the ceiling a permit sets; measured means observed. Water is in gallons a day or a year, whichever the source stated; a tax claim given as a range shows both ends, each linked to the source that gave it.

Still not public, and where it would show up

The record adds each the day a source gives it. Why these documents.

  • Water use A state water right filing or a water supply agreement.
  • Who would use it A lease announcement or a tenant named in a filing.
  • Power the campus would draw A utility or public service commission docket, an interconnection filing, or an air permit for an on site plant.
  • Jobs and tax An incentive agreement, a county's economic development filing or a fiscal note.

What happened

  1. (source date; the content gives no date of its own)

    Remaining portion will open in early 2027

    [11] grandforksherald.com

  2. (source date; the content gives no date of its own)

    Part of Harwood data center expected to become operational by end of 2026

    [11] grandforksherald.com

  3. (source date; the content gives no date of its own)

    Polaris Forge 2 data center approved by Harwood City Council on September 10 2025

    [11] grandforksherald.com

  4. (source date; the content gives no date of its own)

    Harwood city council approved the Applied Digital data center and signed a three billion dollar deal within 21 days of initial announcement

    [9] kfgo.com

3 earlier entries
  1. (source date; the content gives no date of its own)

    Applied Digital data center expected to be operational in early 2027

    [10] inforum.com

  2. (source date; the content gives no date of its own)

    Applied Digital is building 3 billion dollar data center on 160 acres near Harwood

    [10] inforum.com

  3. · being built (content date)

    Applied Digital began construction of a 280MW data center in Harwood in September 2025, representing a 3 billion dollar investment; North Dakota Public Service Commission approved a temporary variance for the 110 million dollar power project serving the campus.

    [1] minotdailynews.com

The full Applied Digital Polaris Forge 2 (Harwood) timeline, in order

3 corrections to this record

Every correction, with its reason
  1. · the project slug of a status history row

    The entry describes Applied Digital's Polaris Forge 2 at Harwood, Cass County, which its source names; it had been filed on the Oliver County record, which mixed the three campuses. Moved on the editor's word of October 16, 2026. The old and new text.

  2. · the project slug of a status history row

    The entry describes Applied Digital's Polaris Forge 2 at Harwood, Cass County, which its source names; it had been filed on the Oliver County record, which mixed the three campuses. Moved on the editor's word of October 16, 2026. The old and new text.

  3. · the project slug of a status history row

    The entry describes Applied Digital's Polaris Forge 2 at Harwood, Cass County, which its source names; it had been filed on the Oliver County record, which mixed the three campuses. Moved on the editor's word of October 16, 2026. The old and new text.

Every correction on the record is on the corrections page.

The site

Where in Harwood is not in the public record. The pin marks the center of Harwood, not a building, and the outline is Cass County.

The site map is at the top of the page.

Where
Harwood, Cass County, North Dakota
How exactly it is located
Town level, the center of the city
The parcel
No parcel outline in the public record
Nearest homes
Not computed for a record placed at a place center
Nearest records
Nearest records are not computed for a record placed at the center of its town.

Comparisons

2 metrics with more than one figure

Every figure on the record for the same thing, the record's own or the document's first, each with who gave it, its date and its basis.

Capacity at full buildout

2 figures, 2 sources
Show each source's words
  • 540 MW, InForum: At full build out, Geronimo says the data center could use up to 540 megawatts of electricity
  • 280 MW, Grand Forks Herald: Polaris Forge 2 is a 280 megawatt data center

Project footprint

1 figure, 1 source
Show each source's words
  • 400 acres, Grand Forks Herald: Applied Digital owns 400 acres and moved dirt on 300 acres

Questions about this project

7 questions answered from the record

Answered from the rows on this page.

How big is Applied Digital Polaris Forge 2 (Harwood)?

Not disclosed. No source on file gives its capacity, its acreage or a count of buildings. What the record holds instead is under Disclosed.

Who is building Applied Digital Polaris Forge 2 (Harwood)?

Applied Digital is the developer. No construction contractor is named on the record yet.

Who will use Applied Digital Polaris Forge 2 (Harwood)?

Not disclosed. No source on file names a tenant, says whether the site is single or multi tenant, or states what it is for. The record keeps the use as not disclosed until one does; see Who it serves.

How much power and water does Applied Digital Polaris Forge 2 (Harwood) say it needs?

Power: not disclosed by any source on file. Water: not disclosed by any source on file.

Where does Applied Digital Polaris Forge 2 (Harwood) stand today?

It is being built, since May 7, 2026. The newest entry, reported September 13, 2026: Remaining portion will open in early 2027 [11].

What has Harwood or Cass County decided about it?

No decision by Harwood or Cass County about data centers is on the record. The Cass County page and the North Dakota scorecard list every rated row the day a person publishes one.

What is still unknown about Applied Digital Polaris Forge 2 (Harwood)?

Not disclosed by any source on file: how much power it needs, how much water it would use, how loud it would be, jobs once it runs, tax it would pay each year, who is constructing it, how much land, buildings, where its power comes from, grid connection, how it is cooled. No missing primary document is listed for this record yet; What the record lacks is where one appears when a person names it.

Sources

Primary documents first: filings, minutes, dockets and official pages. Then reporting. The numbers are the ones the entries above cite.

Reporting

  1. U.S. data center boom comes to ND - - Minot Daily News (opens in a new tab), Minot Daily News, May 7, 2026, query feed
  2. North Dakota utility regulators advance power project for data center - North Dakota Monitor (opens in a new tab), North Dakota Monitor, April 15, 2026, query feed
  3. Applied Digital to Break Ground on $3 Billion Polaris Forge 2 Campus in September 2025, Expanding North Dakota’s Role as a National AI Infrastructure Leader - Applied Digital Corporation (APLD) (opens in a new tab), Applied Digital Corporation (APLD), August 18, 2025, query feed
  4. Applied Digital Pouring $3 Billion Into North Dakota Data Center Campus - CRN (opens in a new tab), CRN, August 19, 2025, query feed
  5. ND announces $3 billion data center, energy providers prepare - KELOLAND.com (opens in a new tab), KELOLAND.com, August 19, 2025, query feed
  6. Company announces plan for $3 billion data center north of Fargo - North Dakota Monitor (opens in a new tab), North Dakota Monitor, August 18, 2025, query feed
  7. Harwood signs off on data center but Fargo still eyes the property - North Dakota Monitor (opens in a new tab), North Dakota Monitor, September 10, 2025, query feed
  8. Data center proposed for Harwood prompts anger, questions from community members - North Dakota Monitor (opens in a new tab), North Dakota Monitor, August 25, 2025, query feed
  9. Proposed Harwood charter amendment looking to make industrial negotiations more transparent - The Mighty 790 KFGO (opens in a new tab), The Mighty 790 KFGO, September 10, 2026, local outlet
  10. Data centers discussed at Harwood public forum - InForum (opens in a new tab), InForum, August 28, 2026, local outlet
  11. Inside the AI 'small city' data center rising from the plains - Grand Forks Herald (opens in a new tab), Grand Forks Herald, September 13, 2026, local outlet

11 sources on file.

About this data

Last verified
Next check Feeds every four hours, pages daily.
Figures Each figure as its source gave it, with its basis; another source's figure never stands in for the record's own, and nothing is estimated.
License Data CC BY-NC 4.0 (opens in a new tab); free for personal, academic, civic and newsroom reporting with attribution. Commercial, enterprise, financial or AI training use needs a commercial license. Prose stays under copyright.
Cite this page Data Center Record, "Applied Digital Polaris Forge 2 (Harwood)", https://datacenterrecord.org/projects/applied-digital-harwood-data-center-nd, last verified October 16, 2026. CSV · JSON
Cite this page

Data Center Record, "Applied Digital Polaris Forge 2 (Harwood)", https://datacenterrecord.org/projects/applied-digital-harwood-data-center-nd. Data: Data Center Record, datacenterrecord.org, CC BY-NC 4.0.

The structured rows are CC BY-NC 4.0. Link to this page; that is what turns a reuse into a citation. Prose stays under copyright.

Report a change
For researchers
Stage
Being built
Tier
built from one source
Tags
Built from one source
Coordinates
46.97196, -96.87628
How the location is known
Location is the city center; exact site not disclosed.
Location source
U.S. Census Bureau 2020 Gazetteer, internal point of Harwood city (GEOID 3835940), public domain, until a source places the site
Capacity, if disclosed
280 MW, not disclosed
Published
September 28, 2026
Last verified
October 16, 2026
Undisclosed in public filings
Coordinate source, Location source number, Location last verified, EPA registry id, Uses, Tenancy, Cooling, How capacity was disclosed, How water was disclosed, How acreage was disclosed, Interconnection, Rating of the county's rows

Researcher view · Applied Digital Polaris Forge 2 (Harwood) · 11 sources, 7 entries, 0 decisions nearby · basis and source tier on every row · verified October 16, 2026

Download CSV JSON