Data Center Record.

Proposed Waiting on permits Built from one source

OpenAI Effingham County Data Center

Effingham County, GADeveloper: OpenAICensus GEOID 13103

Stage
Proposed
Waiting on permits as of September 2, 2026 · source (opens in a new tab)
Undisclosed in public filings
Power, Land, Buildings, Water

OpenAI is planning a large data center in Effingham County, Georgia, for which Georgia Power received approval for a 3.2 GW power deal, and which faces a citizen led zoning lawsuit and questions about water and electric bill impacts. It is waiting on permits, since July 25, 2026.

How much power it needs, how much water it would use and who would use it have not been disclosed.

Last verified · 72 sources, 0 primary · Built from one source, not yet reviewed in depth by a person. · How to read this page

  • This record: Proposed, ringed
  • data center
  • Dashed edge: the exact site is not in the public record
  • Smaller pins: 46 other published records in Georgia
Details
  • this record's location, ringed
  • parcel outline, from the county parcel record
  • city limits, U.S. Census Bureau, on a town level record
  • county boundary

The other pins are the published projects in the same state, each in its stage color. The imagery beneath is the USGS national orthoimagery, public domain, shown so the land around the site can be read.

How to read this page. Every fact links to the source it rests on; a number in brackets is its place in the source list. A figure no source gives reads Not disclosed, and nothing is estimated. Where sources give different figures, each is shown with who gave it, and another source's figure never stands in for the record's own. Entries are added and never overwritten; corrections are listed under What happened.

What is known

Each figure as its source gave it. The number in brackets is its place in the source list.

Who leads it
OpenAI as stated by the source
Undisclosed in public filings
Land, Buildings, Power it would draw, Water, Who would use it, Jobs once it runs, Tax each year Reported by others: 3,200 MW (PR Newswire (opens in a new tab), Savannah Morning News (opens in a new tab)); 1,000 MW (FOX 5 Atlanta (opens in a new tab), WJCL (opens in a new tab)), and 1 more under Comparisons. Their figure, not the record's. Reported by others: 57,000,000 gallons a day (YouTube (opens in a new tab)); 30,000 gallons per day (Savannah Morning News (opens in a new tab)). Their figure, not the record's.
Every field, with who said it and when (Researcher view)

Impact figures

FieldValueWho says soSourceLast verified
How much power it needs
How much water it would use
How loud it would be
Jobs once it runs
Tax it would pay each year

The record's fields

FieldValueWho says soSourceLast verified
Who is building it OpenAI as stated by the source September 8, 2026
Who is constructing it
How much land
Buildings
Where its power comes from
Grid connection
How it is cooled

How much power it needs, also reported: 3,200 MW, 2026 (PR Newswire (opens in a new tab): OpenAI facility expected to need approximately 3,200 megawatts of power, Savannah Morning News (opens in a new tab): Facility projected to require up to 3.2 gigawatts of power when fully built out, wsbtv.com (opens in a new tab): OpenAI Project Camellia power usage of approximately 3,200 megawatts is around the same as output from three nuclear reactors at Plant Vogtle in Burke County, WJCL (opens in a new tab): OpenAI's Effingham County data center requires 3,200 megawatts of power, WJCL (opens in a new tab): Contract includes about 3,200 megawatts of new electricity demand, YouTube (opens in a new tab): Operations could require about 3,200 megawatts of power, thecurrentga.org (opens in a new tab): Georgia Power will provide 3.2 gigawatts of energy to be delivered in phases from 2028 to 2032, YouTube (opens in a new tab): Data center power capacity is 3.2 gigawatts, YouTube (opens in a new tab): Campus will use 3,200 megawatts of electricity supplied by Georgia Power, WJCL (opens in a new tab): OpenAI's data center requires 3,200 megawatts of electricity, FOX 5 Atlanta (opens in a new tab): Georgia Power contract includes 3,200 megawatts of new power demand, Effingham Herald (opens in a new tab): Project Camellia is a proposed 1,400 acre data center campus that could require up to 3.2 gigawatts of electricity); 1,000 MW, 2026 (FOX 5 Atlanta (opens in a new tab): OpenAI committed up to 1,000 megawatts of flexible demand response, WJCL (opens in a new tab): OpenAI committed to up to 1,000 megawatts of flexible demand response, PR Newswire (opens in a new tab): OpenAI agreed to provide up to 1,000 MW of flexible demand response, Savannah Morning News (opens in a new tab): Project designed to reduce grid consumption by up to 1 gigawatt during peak demand); 1.6 GW, 2026 (Effingham Herald (opens in a new tab): Georgia Power plans to expand Plant McIntosh with two new combined cycle units capable of producing 1.6 gigawatts) .

How much water it would use, also reported: 57,000,000 gallons a day, 2026 (YouTube (opens in a new tab): Utilities will have to use at least 57 million gallons of water per day to power and cool the 3.2 GW data center); 30,000 gallons per day, 2026 (Savannah Morning News (opens in a new tab): Fully operational campus expected to use about 30,000 gallons of water per day) .

Jobs once it runs, also reported: 400 jobs, 2026 (YouTube (opens in a new tab): Project expected to bring 400 long term jobs and new tax revenue, thecurrentga.org (opens in a new tab): OpenAI project website promises data center will bring 400 permanent on site jobs and approximately $80 million to community projects, Savannah Morning News (opens in a new tab): Initially have at least 400 permanent jobs on site growing to 1,000); 1,000 jobs, 2026 (YouTube (opens in a new tab): Project will create 400 six figure jobs starting in 2028, growing to over 1,000 jobs by 2032, Savannah Morning News (opens in a new tab): OpenAI pledged creation of 1,000 full time jobs); 80 jobs, 2026 (WTOC (opens in a new tab): Project promises to create at least 400 new long term jobs, averaging 80 jobs per phase) .

Tax it would pay each year, also reported: 71,300,000 USD, 2026 (Effingham Herald (opens in a new tab): School district local property tax revenue under the lower rate would be about $71.3 million, with an additional county appropriation of about $8.8 million representing the equivalent of 2 mills); 1,000 USD, 2026 (WTOC (opens in a new tab): Tax revenue designed to help county eliminate homestead property taxes, saving average homeowner approximately $1,000 annually) .

A blank value cell means not disclosed by any source on file; a blank basis cell means the source gave the figure without saying on what basis.

The developer's figure is what the company said; what a permit allows is the ceiling a permit sets; measured means observed. Water is in gallons a day or a year, whichever the source stated; a tax claim given as a range shows both ends, each linked to the source that gave it.

Still not public, and where it would show up

The record adds each the day a source gives it. Why these documents.

  • Water use A state water right filing or a water supply agreement.
  • Who would use it A lease announcement or a tenant named in a filing.
  • Power the campus would draw A utility or public service commission docket, an interconnection filing, or an air permit for an on site plant.
  • Jobs and tax An incentive agreement, a county's economic development filing or a fiscal note.

What was decided

Acts of Effingham County and the cities in it about data centers, on the record with their source. A rule about the area is not a decision about this record.

DateWhoDecisionSource
Effingham County open Effingham County residents have banded together to protest a new data center. gpb.org (opens in a new tab)
Effingham County open OpenAI announced plans for a new data center in Effingham County gpb.org (opens in a new tab)
Effingham County open Effingham County Commission delayed the site review for the OpenAI data center gpb.org (opens in a new tab)
Effingham County open The county's zoning ordinance requires two public hearings before action can be taken on a zoning change, one before the Planning Board and another before the County Commission effinghamherald.net (opens in a new tab)
Effingham County open Plaintiffs allege the county failed to follow state law and its own zoning rules by not holding required public hearings before approving the ordinance effinghamherald.net (opens in a new tab)
Effingham County open Ordinance 2026-352 changed county zoning rules to allow data centers on property already zoned for industrial use effinghamherald.net (opens in a new tab)
1 earlier decision on the county's rows
DateWhoDecisionSource
Effingham County open Three Effingham County residents filed a lawsuit September 2 challenging Ordinance 2026-352, which county commissioners gave final approval August 4 effinghamherald.net (opens in a new tab)

What happened

  1. (content date)

    The free meal program is scheduled to begin on Tuesday, September 8, 2026

    [43] wtoc.com, also [44], also [49]

  2. (content date)

    Campus is 1,400 acres

    · OpenAI · September 2, 2026 · Privacy enhanced player · loads on click

    [68] youtube.com, also [46], also [45], also [61]

  3. (content date)

    The Development Authority and OpenAI began their conversations in October

    · OpenAI · September 2, 2026 · Privacy enhanced player · loads on click

    [68] youtube.com, also [46], also [45], also [61]

  4. (content date)

    OpenAI announced a $20 billion data center in Effingham County

    [42] ajc.com, also [60], also [50], also [51], also [59]

50 earlier entries
  1. (source date; the content gives no date of its own)

    An annual publicly available audit conducted by an independent firm will monitor OpenAI's adherence to community and operational commitments for Project Camellia as development progresses

    [65] wsbtv.com

  2. (source date; the content gives no date of its own)

    OpenAI Project Camellia data center facility will use a closed loop water system that recirculates water to minimize ongoing water consumption

    [65] wsbtv.com

  3. (source date; the content gives no date of its own)

    OpenAI pledged 80 million dollars in local community benefits over the lifespan of the project to support schools, public safety, health care and infrastructure

    [65] wsbtv.com

  4. (source date; the content gives no date of its own)

    OpenAI Project Camellia data center agreement includes providing up to 1,000 megawatts of flexible demand response

    [65] wsbtv.com

  5. (source date; the content gives no date of its own)

    OpenAI Project Camellia data center will be built in phases from 2028 to 2032 and is expected to need approximately 3,200 megawatts of power once completed

    [65] wsbtv.com

  6. (source date; the content gives no date of its own)

    Georgia Public Service Commission approved power contract between Georgia Power and OpenAI for Project Camellia data center in Effingham County

    [65] wsbtv.com

  7. (source date; the content gives no date of its own)

    Georgia Power agreed to provide public information on data center portfolio performance twice yearly and issue summary within 10 days of contract filing.

    [19] wjcl.com

  8. (source date; the content gives no date of its own)

    Contract was filed on July 27, 2026.

    [19] wjcl.com

  9. (source date; the content gives no date of its own)

    Georgia PSC staff declined to object to Georgia Power electricity contract for OpenAI data center in Effingham County.

    [19] wjcl.com

  10. (content date)

    OpenAI announced the project in July with a proposed $20 billion data center campus

    [41] effinghamherald.net, also [47], also [48]

  11. (content date)

    Project Camellia covers approximately 1,400 acres and could require up to 3.2 gigawatts of power

    [41] effinghamherald.net, also [47], also [48]

  12. (content date)

    Georgia Power entered into a 25 year agreement with OpenAI to provide 3.2 gigawatts of electricity

    [40] effinghamherald.net

  13. (content date)

    Site will operate a closed loop cooling system to continuously recycle the same water instead of relying on evaporative methods

    [39] wtoc.com

  14. (content date)

    Agreement mandates that developers draw only from treated surface rivers rather than underground groundwater

    [39] wtoc.com

  15. (content date)

    Project Camellia has cleared initial hurdles through the county's development authority

    [38] wtoc.com

  16. (content date)

    OpenAI data center planned for Effingham County

    [37] gpb.org

  17. (content date)

    Project planned for phased development between 2028 and 2032

    [35] savannahnow.com

  18. (content date)

    1,440 acre data center campus with four buildings and combined footprint of 720,000 square feet

    [35] savannahnow.com

  19. (content date)

    Effingham County Industrial Development Authority approved incentive package for OpenAI data center on July 21, 2026

    [35] savannahnow.com

  20. (content date)

    OpenAI planned $20 billion data center campus with 4.4 million square feet in Effingham County

    [34] ajc.com

  21. (content date)

    Project has multi year five phase timeline with first phase targeted to begin construction by late 2028 and entire project completed by end of 2034

    [33] wtoc.com

  22. (content date)

    County records show the Special Payment in Lieu of Taxes agreement gives OpenAI a 37.5 percent annual property tax reduction, assessing the property at 25 percent of fair market value instead of the standard 40 percent, locked at the 2026 millage rate for 15 years

    [33] wtoc.com

  23. (content date)

    Savannah Gateway property has been zoned industrial since 2006

    [32] effinghamherald.net

  24. (content date)

    Agreement gave Broe and OmniTRAX authority as sole and exclusive agent, attorney in fact and master developer of nearly 2,600 acres of ECIDA owned land

    [32] effinghamherald.net

  25. (content date)

    In February 2016, ECIDA board voted 7-1 to partner with OmniTRAX in collaboration with Broe Real Estate Group as master developer

    [32] effinghamherald.net

  26. Acquisition (content date)

    ECIDA purchased the property near Rincon in 2006 from International Paper for about $31 million

    [32] effinghamherald.net

  27. (content date)

    Project announced July 22 followed by public information open house July 23

    [32] effinghamherald.net

  28. (content date)

    Project Camellia is a planned 1,400 acre data center campus at the Savannah Gateway Industrial Hub

    [32] effinghamherald.net

  29. (content date)

    County must wait until DRI process complete before initiating engineering reviews, fire and stormwater plans, or noise level evaluations

    [31] thecurrentga.org

  30. (content date)

    Georgia Coastal Regional Commission must evaluate project in no more than 30 days

    [31] thecurrentga.org

  31. · waiting on permits (content date)

    DRI form submitted July 23, 2026 by Effingham County Senior Planner Kimberly Barlett with blank spaces for water usage, energy supply, and environmental impacts

    [31] thecurrentga.org

  32. (content date)

    Project Camellia must undergo Georgia Developments of Regional Impact process before construction can begin

    [31] thecurrentga.org

  33. (content date)

    Effingham County Industrial Development Authority was initially approached about the data center around fall 2025

    [30] thecurrentga.org, also [36], also [53], also [69], also [58], also [55], also [72], also [71], also [64]

  34. (content date)

    OpenAI promises $80 million in community benefits including sports fields and free training for school students

    [30] thecurrentga.org, also [36], also [53], also [69], also [58], also [55], also [72], also [71], also [64]

  35. (content date)

    OpenAI will receive short term tax abatements during construction and become the county's largest taxpayer after opening in 2028

    [30] thecurrentga.org, also [36], also [53], also [69], also [58], also [55], also [72], also [71], also [64]

  36. (content date)

    OpenAI data center project covers 2,600 acres at Savannah Gateway Industrial Hub

    [30] thecurrentga.org, also [36], also [53], also [69], also [58], also [55], also [72], also [71], also [64]

  37. (content date)

    OpenAI data center project in Effingham County announced without any public comment or vote

    [30] thecurrentga.org, also [36], also [53], also [69], also [58], also [55], also [72], also [71], also [64]

  38. (content date)

    Nearly 1,000 people attended an open house on July 23, 2026 about the $20 billion OpenAI data center project in Effingham County

    [30] thecurrentga.org, also [36], also [53], also [69], also [58], also [55], also [72], also [71], also [64]

  39. (content date)

    Site is next to a high school and less than a mile from a park

    · OpenAI · July 23, 2026 · Privacy enhanced player · loads on click

    [67] youtube.com, also [16]

  40. (content date)

    Under a 25 year agreement, OpenAI agreed to cut up to 1,000 megawatts during peak demand to help grid reliability

    · OpenAI · July 23, 2026 · Privacy enhanced player · loads on click

    [67] youtube.com, also [16]

  41. (content date)

    Project Camellia covers about 1,400 acres inside Savannah Gateway Industrial Hub with four buildings and $20 billion price tag

    · OpenAI · July 23, 2026 · Privacy enhanced player · loads on click

    [67] youtube.com, also [16]

  42. (content date)

    25 year agreement with Georgia Power

    [15] prnewswire.com

  43. (content date)

    OpenAI announced plans for a new project in Effingham County, Georgia, about 45 minutes outside of Savannah

    [15] prnewswire.com

  44. (content date)

    The site is located just outside of Rincon in Effingham County

    [29] thecurrentga.org

  45. (content date)

    Data center is scheduled to open in phases starting in 2028

    [29] thecurrentga.org

  46. (content date)

    OpenAI data center will comprise four buildings at Savannah Gateway Industrial Hub

    [29] thecurrentga.org

  47. (content date)

    Site is located at Savannah Gateway Industrial Hub, approximately 12 miles northwest of the Port of Savannah

    · OpenAI · July 22, 2026 · Privacy enhanced player · loads on click

    [66] youtube.com, also [54], also [52], also [56], also [62], also [57], also [70], also [63], also [11], also [17]

  48. (content date)

    Construction is expected to begin in 2028 and finish by 2032, with operations planned from 2028; project discussions began in November 2023, dates also on WTOC and the county video

    · OpenAI · July 22, 2026 · Privacy enhanced player · loads on click

    [66] youtube.com, also [54], also [52], also [56], also [62], also [57], also [70], also [63], also [11], also [17]

  49. (content date)

    Campus will cover more than 1,400 acres on McCall Road in Effingham County

    · OpenAI · July 22, 2026 · Privacy enhanced player · loads on click

    [66] youtube.com, also [54], also [52], also [56], also [62], also [57], also [70], also [63], also [11], also [17]

  50. · proposed (content date)

    OpenAI proposes a $20 billion data center campus in Effingham County

    · OpenAI · July 22, 2026 · Privacy enhanced player · loads on click

    [66] youtube.com, also [54], also [52], also [56], also [62], also [57], also [70], also [63], also [11], also [17]

The full OpenAI Effingham County Data Center timeline, in order

166 corrections to this record

Every correction, with its reason
  1. · the event type of a status history row

    The entry reports a purchase of land, a building or a company, a change of hands and not a stage; its kind was other and is acquisition (the record's rules, on the editor's word). The old and new text.

  2. · the citation of a statements row

    Cites the later report of the same claim by the same speaker (said again on August 28, 2026; the record's rules, October 10, 2026). The old and new text.

  3. · the citation of a statements row

    Cites the later report of the same claim by the same speaker (said again on August 24, 2026; the record's rules, October 10, 2026). The old and new text.

  4. · the citation of a statements row

    Cites the later report of the same claim by the same speaker (said again on August 3, 2026; the record's rules, October 10, 2026). The old and new text.

  5. · the summary of a status history row

    The entry named the review card it came from in brackets; the card number is the review console's, not the record's, and is removed (the trust fixes of October 8, 2026). The old and new text.

  6. · the summary of a record items row

    the record's rules: the sentence copied its source, was about its headline or carried a number the card's facts do not; written again from the card's facts, on the editor's word The old and new text.

See all 166 corrections on the Corrections page.

Every correction on the record is on the corrections page.

What was said

Peter Hubbard said Georgia has provided substantial incentives to data centers while allowing them access to electricity under favorable large load arrangements
Peter Hubbard, Democratic incumbent PSC District 3 · October 14, 2026 · paraphrased · Statesboro Herald (opens in a new tab) local outlet
Georgia Power stated that OpenAI will pay for all infrastructure needed to serve its facility and that costs will not be passed to other customers
Joshua Peacock, Georgia Power spokesperson · September 16, 2026 · paraphrased · WJCL (opens in a new tab) local outlet

Every statement about data centers in Georgia, by speaker

48 more on this page, one per speaker and claim; 51 statements in all

Shelia Edwards called for greater transparency around large load contracts and criticized the state for a lack of regulations for data center water usage, noise pollution and ratepayer protections

Democratic PSC District 5 candidate Statesboro Herald (opens in a new tab) local outlet project record
Context & source notes

Provenance: Paraphrased; said in the source itself.

Primary source: Statesboro Herald (opens in a new tab).

County residents expressed concerns about power outages during hurricanes potentially worsening when data center power is prioritized over residential customers

Carrie Weber, Effingham County resident Effingham Herald (opens in a new tab) local outlet project record
Context & source notes

Provenance: Paraphrased; content date; reported from elsewhere.

Primary source: Effingham Herald (opens in a new tab).

Also reported by: Savannah Morning News (opens in a new tab) query feed , WTOC (opens in a new tab) query feed , WJCL (opens in a new tab) query feed .

County Manager Tim Callanan stated the project will proceed if it meets all federal, state and local ordinances and law

Effingham County Manager Effingham Herald (opens in a new tab) local outlet project record
Context & source notes

Provenance: Paraphrased; content date; reported from elsewhere.

Primary source: Effingham Herald (opens in a new tab).

Also reported by: Savannah Morning News (opens in a new tab) query feed , WTOC (opens in a new tab) query feed , WJCL (opens in a new tab) query feed .

Commissioner Roger Burdette admitted the lack of transparency in the project announcement was a mistake and said he was wrong not to inform the community sooner

Effingham County Commissioner District 2 Effingham Herald (opens in a new tab) local outlet project record
Context & source notes

Provenance: Paraphrased; content date; reported from elsewhere.

Primary source: Effingham Herald (opens in a new tab).

Also reported by: Savannah Morning News (opens in a new tab) query feed , WTOC (opens in a new tab) query feed , WJCL (opens in a new tab) query feed .

Warnock said the deal was worked out in the dark, under the cover of night

U.S. Senator AJC.com (opens in a new tab) local outlet project record
Context & source notes

Provenance: Paraphrased; content date; reported from elsewhere.

Primary source: AJC.com (opens in a new tab).

Also reported by: Bryan County News (opens in a new tab) query feed , WTOC (opens in a new tab) query feed , Effingham Herald (opens in a new tab) query feed , WJCL (opens in a new tab) query feed .

Raphael Warnock called for a moratorium on similar data center projects in Georgia unless big tech companies and developers can promise specific economic and environmental protections

U.S. Senator AJC.com (opens in a new tab) local outlet project record
Context & source notes

Provenance: Paraphrased; content date; reported from elsewhere.

Primary source: AJC.com (opens in a new tab).

Also reported by: Bryan County News (opens in a new tab) query feed , WTOC (opens in a new tab) query feed , Effingham Herald (opens in a new tab) query feed , WJCL (opens in a new tab) query feed .

Savannah Riverkeeper raised concerns about periodic closed loop drainage with chemical additives, water for power generation, and stormwater drainage and runoff

Steven Uhles, Communications Director for the Savannah Riverkeeper WTOC (opens in a new tab) local outlet project record
Context & source notes

Provenance: Paraphrased; content date; reported from elsewhere.

Primary source: WTOC (opens in a new tab).

OpenAI stated dirty fluids will be properly and lawfully disposed of off site at drainage time and will never be discharged into local environment

OpenAI spokesperson WTOC (opens in a new tab) local outlet project record
Context & source notes

Provenance: Paraphrased; content date; reported from elsewhere.

Primary source: WTOC (opens in a new tab).

OpenAI stated closed loop cooling after initial fill would have ongoing water needs comparable to a typical office building for restrooms, kitchens, cleaning, sanitation, and maintenance

OpenAI spokesperson WTOC (opens in a new tab) local outlet project record
Context & source notes

Provenance: Paraphrased; content date; reported from elsewhere.

Primary source: WTOC (opens in a new tab).

Effingham County Commissioner Phil Kieffer said 'No groundwater will ever go to this project. It will be supplied by surface water... It will be coming from the Savannah River.'

WJCL (opens in a new tab) local outlet project record
Context & source notes

Provenance: Paraphrased; content date; reported from elsewhere.

Primary source: WJCL (opens in a new tab).

Aaron McLear, OpenAI's vice president of communications, said 'We're using minimal water, circulating the water throughout the building so that's not as much of a concern'

OpenAI Vice President of Communications WJCL (opens in a new tab) local outlet project record
Context & source notes

Provenance: Paraphrased; content date; reported from elsewhere.

Primary source: WJCL (opens in a new tab).

Project could reduce county homestead property taxes by 40 percent

Steven Glover, WTOC reporter YouTube (opens in a new tab) video project record
· Steven Glover · YouTube · July 23, 2026 · Privacy enhanced player · loads on click
Context & source notes

Provenance: Paraphrased; content date; reported from elsewhere.

Primary source: YouTube (opens in a new tab).

Also reported by: WJCL (opens in a new tab) query feed .

Georgia Power says OpenAI will pay full infrastructure and electric service costs to serve the facility

Steven Glover, WTOC reporter YouTube (opens in a new tab) video project record
· Steven Glover · YouTube · July 23, 2026 · Privacy enhanced player · loads on click
Context & source notes

Provenance: Paraphrased; content date; reported from elsewhere.

Primary source: YouTube (opens in a new tab).

Also reported by: WJCL (opens in a new tab) query feed .

OpenAI has not finalized how much water the campus will use or where it will come from

unnamed OpenAI representative YouTube (opens in a new tab) video project record
· unnamed OpenAI representative · YouTube · July 22, 2026 · Privacy enhanced player · loads on click
Context & source notes

OpenAI's property tax abatement was announced as 50 percent for 15 years; county records obtained by WTOC show a 37.5 percent reduction

Effingham County Industrial Development Authority thecurrentga.org (opens in a new tab) local outlet project record
Context & source notes

Provenance: Paraphrased; content date; reported from elsewhere.

Primary source: thecurrentga.org (opens in a new tab).

Also reported by: Savannah Morning News (opens in a new tab) local outlet , Effingham Herald (opens in a new tab) local outlet .

Said again: August 3, 2026 ( Savannah Morning News (opens in a new tab) local outlet ), August 24, 2026 ( Effingham Herald (opens in a new tab) local outlet ).

OpenAI will pay the full infrastructure and electric service costs to serve its facility

Context & source notes

Provenance: Paraphrased; content date; reported from elsewhere.

Primary source: PR Newswire (opens in a new tab).

Archived copy: Wayback Machine (opens in a new tab).

Also reported by: WJCL (opens in a new tab) local outlet .

Said again: August 28, 2026 ( WJCL (opens in a new tab) local outlet ).

The site

Where in Effingham County is not in the public record. The pin marks the county seat, not a building, and the outline is the county.

The site map is at the top of the page.

Where
Effingham County, Georgia
How exactly it is located
County level, the county seat
The parcel
No parcel outline in the public record
Nearest homes
Not computed for a record placed at a place center
Nearest records
Nearest records are not computed for a record placed at a county seat.

Comparisons

5 metrics with more than one figure

Every figure on the record for the same thing, the record's own or the document's first, each with who gave it, its date and its basis.

Capacity at full buildout

3 figures, 13 sources
1.6 GW Reported

Effingham Herald

Show each source's words
  • 3,200 MW, PR Newswire: OpenAI facility expected to need approximately 3,200 megawatts of power
  • 3,200 MW, Savannah Morning News: Facility projected to require up to 3.2 gigawatts of power when fully built out
  • 3,200 MW, WJCL: OpenAI's Effingham County data center requires 3,200 megawatts of power
  • 3,200 MW, WJCL: Contract includes about 3,200 megawatts of new electricity demand
  • 3,200 MW, YouTube: Operations could require about 3,200 megawatts of power
  • 3,200 MW, thecurrentga.org: Georgia Power will provide 3.2 gigawatts of energy to be delivered in phases from 2028 to 2032
  • 3,200 MW, YouTube: Data center power capacity is 3.2 gigawatts
  • 3,200 MW, YouTube: Campus will use 3,200 megawatts of electricity supplied by Georgia Power
  • 3,200 MW, WJCL: OpenAI's data center requires 3,200 megawatts of electricity
  • 3,200 MW, FOX 5 Atlanta: Georgia Power contract includes 3,200 megawatts of new power demand
  • 3,200 MW, Effingham Herald: Project Camellia is a proposed 1,400 acre data center campus that could require up to 3.2 gigawatts of electricity
  • 3,200 MW, wsbtv.com: OpenAI Project Camellia power usage of approximately 3,200 megawatts is around the same as output from three nuclear reactors at Plant Vogtle in Burke County
  • 1.6 GW, Effingham Herald: Georgia Power plans to expand Plant McIntosh with two new combined cycle units capable of producing 1.6 gigawatts
  • 1,000 MW, FOX 5 Atlanta: OpenAI committed up to 1,000 megawatts of flexible demand response
  • 1,000 MW, WJCL: OpenAI committed to up to 1,000 megawatts of flexible demand response
  • 1,000 MW, PR Newswire: OpenAI agreed to provide up to 1,000 MW of flexible demand response
  • 1,000 MW, Savannah Morning News: Project designed to reduce grid consumption by up to 1 gigawatt during peak demand

Project footprint

4 figures, 2 sources
2,600 acres Reported

thecurrentga.org

1,600 acres Reported

Effingham Herald

1,400 acres Reported

Effingham Herald

1,000 acres Reported

Effingham Herald

Show each source's words
  • 2,600 acres, thecurrentga.org: Savannah Gateway Industrial Hub is 2,600 acres
  • 1,600 acres, Effingham Herald: The proposed Project Camellia site encompasses about 1,600 acres of wet pine flatwoods ecosystem
  • 1,400 acres, Effingham Herald: Project Camellia is planned as a 1,400 acre data center campus
  • 1,000 acres, Effingham Herald: Roughly 1,000 acres of wetlands could be converted to impervious surfaces as part of Project Camellia development

Permanent jobs

3 figures, 5 sources
1,000 jobs Reported

YouTube; Savannah Morning News

80 jobs Reported

WTOC

Show each source's words
  • 1,000 jobs, YouTube: Project will create 400 six figure jobs starting in 2028, growing to over 1,000 jobs by 2032
  • 1,000 jobs, Savannah Morning News: OpenAI pledged creation of 1,000 full time jobs
  • 400 jobs, YouTube: Project expected to bring 400 long term jobs and new tax revenue
  • 400 jobs, thecurrentga.org: OpenAI project website promises data center will bring 400 permanent on site jobs and approximately $80 million to community projects
  • 400 jobs, Savannah Morning News: Initially have at least 400 permanent jobs on site growing to 1,000
  • 80 jobs, WTOC: Project promises to create at least 400 new long term jobs, averaging 80 jobs per phase

Water a day

2 figures, 2 sources
57,000,000 gallons a day Reported

YouTube

30,000 gallons per day Reported

Savannah Morning News

Show each source's words
  • 57,000,000 gallons a day, YouTube: Utilities will have to use at least 57 million gallons of water per day to power and cool the 3.2 GW data center
  • 30,000 gallons per day, Savannah Morning News: Fully operational campus expected to use about 30,000 gallons of water per day

Tax each year

2 figures, 2 sources
1,000 USD Reported

WTOC

Show each source's words
  • 71,300,000 USD, Effingham Herald: School district local property tax revenue under the lower rate would be about $71.3 million, with an additional county appropriation of about $8.8 million representing the equivalent of 2 mills
  • 1,000 USD, WTOC: Tax revenue designed to help county eliminate homestead property taxes, saving average homeowner approximately $1,000 annually

Questions about this project

7 questions answered from the record

Answered from the rows on this page.

How big is OpenAI Effingham County Data Center?

Not disclosed. No source on file gives its capacity, its acreage or a count of buildings. What the record holds instead is under Disclosed.

Who is building OpenAI Effingham County Data Center?

OpenAI is the developer. No construction contractor is named on the record yet.

Who will use OpenAI Effingham County Data Center?

Not disclosed. No source on file names a tenant, says whether the site is single or multi tenant, or states what it is for. The record keeps the use as not disclosed until one does; see Who it serves.

How much power and water does OpenAI Effingham County Data Center say it needs?

Power: not disclosed by any source on file. Water: not disclosed by any source on file.

Where does OpenAI Effingham County Data Center stand today?

It is waiting on permits, since July 25, 2026. The newest entry, September 2, 2026: The free meal program is scheduled to begin on Tuesday, September 8, 2026 [43].

What has Effingham County decided about it?

Effingham County (rated open): Effingham County residents have banded together to protest a new data center (reported September 17, 2026, gpb.org (opens in a new tab)); and Effingham County: OpenAI announced plans for a new data center in Effingham County (reported September 16, 2026, gpb.org (opens in a new tab)). 7 events are on the county's rows; a rule about the area is not a decision about this record.

What is still unknown about OpenAI Effingham County Data Center?

Not disclosed by any source on file: how much power it needs, how much water it would use, how loud it would be, jobs once it runs, tax it would pay each year, who is constructing it, how much land, buildings, where its power comes from, grid connection, how it is cooled. No missing primary document is listed for this record yet; What the record lacks is where one appears when a person names it.

Sources

Primary documents first: filings, minutes, dockets and official pages. Then reporting. The numbers are the ones the entries above cite.

Reporting

  1. How much water will Effingham’s OpenAI data center need? A lot – but not on site. - thecurrentga.org (opens in a new tab), thecurrentga.org, September 1, 2026, query feed
  2. OpenAI forced to delay plans for $20B data center in Georgia - E&E News by POLITICO (opens in a new tab), E&E News by POLITICO, August 14, 2026, query feed
  3. Georgia Power extends deadline for PSC to consider its contract with data center operator OpenAI - WABE (opens in a new tab), WABE, August 14, 2026, query feed
  4. Pro-data center group launches in Georgia to try to win over critics - Georgia Recorder (opens in a new tab), Georgia Recorder, July 27, 2026, query feed
  5. OpenAI Plans $20 Billion Georgia Data Center with 3.2 GW of Power - ConstructConnect News (opens in a new tab), ConstructConnect News, July 23, 2026, query feed
  6. OpenAI announces $20 billion Georgia data center project - Axios (opens in a new tab), Axios, July 22, 2026, query feed
  7. OpenAI plans $30B Georgia data center mega-project - Yahoo Finance (opens in a new tab), Yahoo Finance, July 22, 2026, query feed
  8. $20B OpenAI data center wins Georgia approval with ratepayer protections - State Affairs Pro (opens in a new tab), State Affairs Pro, August 27, 2026, query feed
  9. OpenAI Moves Energy Planning Inside Data Center Organization (opens in a new tab), Data Center Knowledge, August 26, 2026, trade press
  10. OpenAI gets green light for 3.2GW power deal to supply planned data center in Effingham County, Georgia - Data Center Dynamics (opens in a new tab), Data Center Dynamics, August 27, 2026, trade press
  11. OpenAI plans 3.2GW data center campus in Effingham County, Georgia (opens in a new tab), Data Center Dynamics, July 22, 2026, trade press
  12. Congressman Buddy Carter on OpenAI's massive data center in Georgia, GOP midterms - Fox Business (opens in a new tab), Fox Business, September 4, 2026, national outlet
60 more sources
  1. Why southeast Georgia is becoming a data center hotspot - WTOC (opens in a new tab), WTOC, September 4, 2026, local outlet
  2. Week In Review: Georgia Power cuts data center deal and courts review ‘shaken baby’ case - WABE (opens in a new tab), WABE, August 28, 2026, local outlet
  3. Georgia Power to serve OpenAI project in Effingham County (opens in a new tab), PR Newswire, July 22, 2026, press release
  4. OpenAI plans $20 billion data center in Effingham County (opens in a new tab), WJCL, July 22, 2026, local outlet
  5. OpenAI chooses Georgia for its largest-ever data center. $20B project touts efficiency - Columbus Ledger-Enquirer (opens in a new tab), ledger-enquirer.com, July 23, 2026, local outlet
  6. OpenAI Plans $30 Billion AI Data Center in Georgia (opens in a new tab), www.heygotrade.com, July 23, 2026, news outlet
  7. OpenAI data center in Effingham County clears major hurdle - WJCL (opens in a new tab), WJCL, August 26, 2026, local outlet
  8. Georgia Today: Another Flock arrest; Affordable groceries; Complaint of illegal data center zoning - gpb.org (opens in a new tab), gpb.org, September 3, 2026, local outlet
  9. Citizen-led lawsuit challenges zoning for OpenAI Georgia data center - thecurrentga.org (opens in a new tab), thecurrentga.org, September 3, 2026, local outlet
  10. Effingham County Residents Sue Over Zoning Ordinance That Paved Way for Data Center - The Georgia Virtue (opens in a new tab), The Georgia Virtue, September 3, 2026, local outlet
  11. OpenAI’s data center will need unprecedented power. What it means for Effingham County electric bills - WJCL (opens in a new tab), WJCL, September 3, 2026, local outlet
  12. ‘We’re in the fourth revolution’: GSU professor explains SE Georgia’s new role in the global AI race - WTOC (opens in a new tab), WTOC, September 3, 2026, local outlet
  13. ‘Strictest contract in data center history’ reached between Georgia Power and OpenAI - WTOC (opens in a new tab), WTOC, August 30, 2026, local outlet
  14. Georgia Power deal to power OpenAI data center is approved, with some fine print - AJC.com (opens in a new tab), AJC.com, August 27, 2026, local outlet
  15. Georgia Power agrees to new protections against data center costs - WABE (opens in a new tab), WABE, August 27, 2026, local outlet
  16. Georgia Power gets clearance to serve OpenAI's massive AI data center in Effingham County​ - CBS News (opens in a new tab), CBS News, August 27, 2026, national outlet
  17. $20 billion OpenAI data center to open in Effingham County (opens in a new tab), thecurrentga.org, July 22, 2026, local outlet
  18. OpenAI data center project sparks outrage among Effingham County residents (opens in a new tab), thecurrentga.org, July 23, 2026, local outlet
  19. As Effingham County data center plan advances, next step is state evaluation process (opens in a new tab), thecurrentga.org, July 25, 2026, local outlet
  20. How OpenAI's Effingham Data Center Moved Forward Without Public Input (opens in a new tab), Effingham Herald, July 28, 2026, local outlet
  21. Records show Effingham County leaders finalized massive tax break for $20B OpenAI data center day before public announcement (opens in a new tab), WTOC, July 29, 2026, local outlet
  22. OpenAI in Georgia: How $20B data center plan secretly took root in Effingham (opens in a new tab), AJC.com, August 2, 2026, local outlet
  23. OpenAI, Effingham IDA talk revenue, jobs for data center | Exclusive (opens in a new tab), Savannah Morning News, August 3, 2026, local outlet
  24. Hundreds Pack OpenAI Data Center Meeting in Effingham (opens in a new tab), Effingham Herald, July 23, 2026, local outlet
  25. Effingham County residents are coming to grips with their neighbor-to-be: OpenAI (opens in a new tab), Georgia Public Broadcasting, August 6, 2026, local outlet
  26. Next steps for Effingham County’s OpenAI data center (opens in a new tab), WTOC, August 7, 2026, local outlet
  27. ‘Water done right’ for Effingham County OpenAI data center (opens in a new tab), WTOC, August 11, 2026, local outlet
  28. Project Camellia Raises Environmental Concerns in Effingham County (opens in a new tab), Effingham Herald, August 12, 2026, local outlet
  29. Effingham County Property Taxes Could See One of Largest Cuts (opens in a new tab), Effingham Herald, August 24, 2026, local outlet
  30. Warnock blasts OpenAI, Effingham for doing data center deal ‘in the dark’ (opens in a new tab), AJC.com, August 29, 2026, local outlet
  31. OpenAI to cover Effingham County student school meal costs with $4.8M grant (opens in a new tab), WTOC, September 2, 2026, local outlet
  32. OpenAI to cover Effingham County students’ school meal costs for 2026-27 Year (opens in a new tab), WJCL, September 2, 2026, local outlet
  33. Effingham County Commissioners confront the public for the first time. One apologizes (opens in a new tab), Georgia Public Broadcasting, September 2, 2026, local outlet
  34. OpenAI data center sparks intense debate at Effingham County meeting (opens in a new tab), thecurrentga.org, August 29, 2026, local outlet
  35. Effingham promises homeowner tax breaks from part of OpenAI windfall, but there’s millions left (opens in a new tab), thecurrentga.org, August 28, 2026, local outlet
  36. Effingham County officials say OpenAI will bring property tax relief. Residents are unsatisfied (opens in a new tab), Georgia Public Broadcasting, August 27, 2026, local outlet
  37. OpenAI to cover school meal costs for all Effingham County students (opens in a new tab), Yahoo, September 2, 2026, national outlet
  38. Warnock calls for data center moratorium during Effingham County visit (opens in a new tab), WTOC, August 28, 2026, local outlet
  39. Warnock Criticizes Lack of Transparency on Effingham Data Center (opens in a new tab), Effingham Herald, August 28, 2026, local outlet
  40. OpenAI announces plans for a new data center campus in Effingham County (opens in a new tab), WTOC, July 22, 2026, local outlet
  41. OpenAI holds public open house in Effingham County after announcing $20B data center campus (opens in a new tab), WTOC, July 23, 2026, local outlet
  42. OpenAI Plans $20B Data Center in Effingham County (opens in a new tab), Effingham Herald, July 22, 2026, local outlet
  43. Community pushes back on Effingham County OpenAI data center (opens in a new tab), WTOC, July 23, 2026, local outlet
  44. OpenAI chooses Effingham County for massive project (opens in a new tab), Savannah Morning News, July 22, 2026, local outlet
  45. OpenAI plans to build an AI data center in Effingham County (opens in a new tab), spectrumlocalnews.com, July 26, 2026, local outlet
  46. OpenAI Effingham Data Center Open House: What to Expect (opens in a new tab), Effingham Herald, July 22, 2026, local outlet
  47. Warnock calls for a moratorium on Effingham County data centers (opens in a new tab), WJCL, August 28, 2026, national outlet
  48. Senator criticizes lack of transparency on Effingham data center (opens in a new tab), Bryan County News, September 3, 2026, news outlet
  49. 2 Effingham voters quiz their commissioner: Why a data center? Why so secret? (opens in a new tab), thecurrentga.org, July 24, 2026, local outlet
  50. OpenAI plans to build a $20B data center campus in Effingham County. It could be Georgia's largest yet (opens in a new tab), Georgia Public Broadcasting, July 22, 2026, local outlet
  51. OpenAI announces plans to open a data center in Effingham County - WSAV-TV (opens in a new tab), wsav.com, July 22, 2026, local outlet
  52. $20B OpenAI data center project sparks outrage among Coastal Georgia residents (opens in a new tab), WABE, July 24, 2026, local outlet
  53. New data center may use more electricity than anything else in Georgia - wsbtv.com (opens in a new tab), wsbtv.com, August 27, 2026, local outlet
  54. OpenAI plans $20 billion data center campus in Effingham County's Savannah Gateway Industrial Hub (opens in a new tab), YouTube, July 22, 2026, video
  55. Effingham County residents push back on $20 billion OpenAI data center (opens in a new tab), YouTube, July 23, 2026, video
  56. Commissioner apologies to residents over OpenAI data center campus (opens in a new tab), YouTube, September 2, 2026, video
  57. Packed meeting, protests erupt as OpenAI data center proposal divides Effingham County (opens in a new tab), YouTube, video
  58. OpenAI announces plans for a new data center in Effingham County (opens in a new tab), YouTube, video
  59. Residents Say OpenAI’s $20B Data Center Blindsided Effingham County, Georgia (opens in a new tab), YouTube, video
  60. Effingham County residents protest at OpenAI's data center open house (opens in a new tab), YouTube, video

72 sources on file.

About this data

Last verified
Next check Feeds every four hours, pages daily.
Figures Each figure as its source gave it, with its basis; another source's figure never stands in for the record's own, and nothing is estimated.
License Data CC BY-NC 4.0 (opens in a new tab); free for personal, academic, civic and newsroom reporting with attribution. Commercial, enterprise, financial or AI training use needs a commercial license. Prose stays under copyright.
Cite this page Data Center Record, "OpenAI Effingham County Data Center", https://datacenterrecord.org/projects/openai-effingham-county-data-center-ga, last verified September 8, 2026. CSV · JSON
Cite this page

Data Center Record, "OpenAI Effingham County Data Center", https://datacenterrecord.org/projects/openai-effingham-county-data-center-ga. Data: Data Center Record, datacenterrecord.org, CC BY-NC 4.0.

The structured rows are CC BY-NC 4.0. Link to this page; that is what turns a reuse into a citation. Prose stays under copyright.

Report a change
For researchers
Stage
Proposed
Tier
built from one source
Tags
Built from one source
Coordinates
32.3683, -81.3103
How the location is known
Location is the county seat; exact site not disclosed.
Location source
County seat (Springfield), Wikidata, placed at county level
Coordinate source
wikidata county seat
Location last verified
September 23, 2026
Capacity, if disclosed
3.2 GW, not disclosed
Rating of the county's rows
Open
Published
September 4, 2026
Last verified
September 8, 2026
Undisclosed in public filings
Location source number, EPA registry id, Uses, Tenancy, Cooling, How capacity was disclosed, How water was disclosed, How acreage was disclosed, Interconnection

Researcher view · OpenAI Effingham County Data Center · 72 sources, 54 entries, 7 decisions nearby · basis and source tier on every row · verified September 8, 2026

Download CSV JSON