Point Pleasant Data Center
A data center project in Point Pleasant comprises 3 buildings with nearly 1,000 natural gas and diesel engines. It is reported; the record holds no sourced date for when it reached that stage.
How much power it needs, how much water it would use and who would use it have not been disclosed.
How to read this page. Every fact links to the source it rests on; a number in brackets is its place in the source list. A figure no source gives reads Not disclosed, and nothing is estimated. Where sources give different figures, each is shown with who gave it, and another source's figure never stands in for the record's own. Entries are added and never overwritten; corrections are listed under What happened.
What is known
Each figure as its source gave it. The number in brackets is its place in the source list.
- Land
- Not disclosed
- Power it would draw
- Not disclosed
- Reported by others: 2.16 GW (herald-dispatch.com); 2.5 MW (herald-dispatch.com). Their figure, not the record's.
- Water
- Not disclosed
- Who leads it
- Not disclosed
- Who would use it
- Not disclosed
- Jobs once it runs
- Not disclosed
- Tax each year
- Not disclosed
Every field, with who said it and when (Researcher view)
Impact figures
| Field | Value | Who says so | Source | Last verified |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| How much power it needs | Not disclosed | |||
| How much water it would use | Not disclosed | |||
| How loud it would be | Not disclosed | |||
| Jobs once it runs | Not disclosed | |||
| Tax it would pay each year | Not disclosed |
The record's fields
| Field | Value | Who says so | Source | Last verified |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Who is building it | Not disclosed | |||
| Who is constructing it | Not disclosed | |||
| How much land | Not disclosed | |||
| Where its power comes from | Not disclosed | |||
| Grid connection | Not disclosed | |||
| How it is cooled | Not disclosed |
How much power it needs, also reported: 2.16 GW, 2026 (herald-dispatch.com: Facility will have 2.16 gigawatts capacity); 2.5 MW, 2026 (herald-dispatch.com: Each generator will produce 2.5 megawatts of electricity) .
The developer's figure is what the company said; what a permit allows is the ceiling a permit sets; measured means observed. Water is in gallons a day or a year, whichever the source stated; a tax claim given as a range shows both ends, each linked to the source that gave it.
Still not public, and where it would show up
The record adds each the day a source gives it. Why these documents.
- Water useA state water right filing or a water supply agreement.
- Who would use itA lease announcement or a tenant named in a filing.
- Power the campus would drawA utility or public service commission docket, an interconnection filing, or an air permit for an on site plant.
- Who is behind itA land record, a zoning application or a company's own announcement.
- Jobs and taxAn incentive agreement, a county's economic development filing or a fiscal note.
What happened
No dated entry is on the record yet.
What was said
Morgan King of West Virginia Citizen Action Group expressed grave concerns about air pollutants from the natural gas plant and generators
Every statement about data centers in West Virginia, by speaker
The site
Where in Mason County is not in the public record. The pin marks the county seat, not a building, and the outline is the county.
Tap a pin for the data center, the parcel for its record
- This record: Proposed, ringed
- data center
- Dashed edge: the exact site is not in the public record
- Smaller pins: 5 other published records in West Virginia
Details
- this record's location, ringed
- parcel outline, from the county parcel record
- city limits, U.S. Census Bureau, on a town level record
- county boundary
The other pins are the published projects in the same state, each in its stage color. The imagery beneath is the USGS national orthoimagery, public domain, shown so the land around the site can be read.
- Where
- Point Pleasant, Mason County, West Virginia
- How exactly it is located
- County level, the county seat
- The parcel
- No parcel outline in the public record
- Nearest homes
- Not computed for a record placed at a place center
- Nearest records
- Nearest records are not computed for a record placed at a county seat.
Comparisons
1 metric with more than one figure
Capacity at full buildout
2 figures, 1 sourceShow each source's words
- 2.16 GW, herald-dispatch.com: Facility will have 2.16 gigawatts capacity
- 2.5 MW, herald-dispatch.com: Each generator will produce 2.5 megawatts of electricity
Questions about this project
7 questions answered from the record
How big is Point Pleasant Data Center?
-
Not disclosed. No source on file gives its capacity, its acreage or a count of buildings. What the record holds instead is under Disclosed.
Who is building Point Pleasant Data Center?
-
Not disclosed. No source on file names the developer. The sources read for this record are listed under Sources.
Who will use Point Pleasant Data Center?
-
Not disclosed. No source on file names a tenant, says whether the site is single or multi tenant, or states what it is for. The record keeps the use as not disclosed until one does; see Who it serves.
How much power and water does Point Pleasant Data Center say it needs?
-
Power: not disclosed by any source on file. Water: not disclosed by any source on file.
Where does Point Pleasant Data Center stand today?
-
It is reported; the date it reached that stage is not sourced, only the day a page was read. No dated entry is on the record yet.
What has Point Pleasant or Mason County decided about it?
-
No decision by Point Pleasant or Mason County about data centers is on the record. The Mason County page and the West Virginia scorecard list every rated row the day a person publishes one.
What is still unknown about Point Pleasant Data Center?
-
Not disclosed by any source on file: how much power it needs, how much water it would use, how loud it would be, jobs once it runs, tax it would pay each year, who is building it, who is constructing it, how much land, where its power comes from, grid connection, how it is cooled. No missing primary document is listed for this record yet; What the record lacks is where one appears when a person names it.
Sources
Reporting
- Point Pleasant data center: 3 buildings, nearly 1,000 natural gas, diesel engines, Charleston Gazette-Mail, May 2, 2026, local outlet
- Some Mason County residents experience flooding near site of Nscale development, Charleston Gazette-Mail, May 26, 2026, local outlet
2 sources on file.
Cite this record
Data Center Record, "Point Pleasant Data Center", https://datacenterrecord.org/projects/point-pleasant-data-center-wv, last verified September 17, 2026.
Cite this page
Data Center Record, "Point Pleasant Data Center", https://datacenterrecord.org/projects/point-pleasant-data-center-wv. Data: Data Center Record, datacenterrecord.org, CC BY 4.0.
The structured rows are CC BY 4.0. Link to this page; that is what turns a reuse into a citation. Prose stays under copyright.
For researchers
- Slug
- point-pleasant-data-center-wv
- Status value
- rumored
- Stage
- Proposed
- Tier
- skeleton
- Tags
- skeleton
- Place id
- us/wv/mason-county/point-pleasant
- Coordinates
- 38.85753, -82.12857
- Location precision
- county
- Location source
- County seat (Point Pleasant), Wikidata, placed at county level
- Coordinate source
- wikidata county seat
- Location source number
- Not disclosed
- Location last verified
- September 16, 2026
- EPA registry id
- Not disclosed
- Use type values
- not_disclosed
- Tenancy value
- not_disclosed
- Cooling type value
- not_disclosed
- Capacity basis
- not_disclosed
- Water basis
- not_disclosed, gallons_per_day
- Acreage basis
- Not disclosed
- Interconnection value
- not_disclosed
- Capacity, if disclosed
- Not disclosed
- Rating of the county's rows
- Not disclosed
- Published
- 2026-09-05
- Last verified
- 2026-09-17