Data Center Record.

Reported Built from one source

NScale Mason County Data Center

NScale's data center in Mason County, West Virginia received state certification after months of negotiations, and was among two Mason County projects hailed by Governor Morrisey. It is reported, as reported September 7, 2026.

How much power it needs and how much water it would use have not been disclosed.

Last verified · 12 sources, 0 primary · A skeleton record: built from one source, not yet reviewed in depth by a person. · How to read this page

How to read this page. Every fact links to the source it rests on; a number in brackets is its place in the source list. A figure no source gives reads Not disclosed, and nothing is estimated. Where sources give different figures, each is shown with who gave it, and another source's figure never stands in for the record's own. Entries are added and never overwritten; corrections are listed under What happened.

What is known

Each figure as its source gave it. The number in brackets is its place in the source list.

Land
Not disclosed
Power it would draw
Not disclosed
Water
Not disclosed
Who leads it
NScale
as stated by the source
Who would use it
$45 billion
as the source names them [5]
Jobs once it runs
Not disclosed
Tax each year
Not disclosed
Where its power comes from
sustainable energy sources, robust physical security, advanced cooling
as stated by the source [5]
Every field, with who said it and when (Researcher view)

Impact figures

FieldValueWho says soSourceLast verified
How much power it needs Not disclosed
How much water it would use Not disclosed
How loud it would be Not disclosed
Jobs once it runs Not disclosed
Tax it would pay each year Not disclosed

The record's fields

FieldValueWho says soSourceLast verified
Who is building it NScale as stated by the source September 25, 2026
Who is constructing it Not disclosed
How much land Not disclosed
Where its power comes from sustainable energy sources, robust physical security, advanced cooling as stated by the source [5] aitechtrend.com September 25, 2026
Grid connection Not disclosed
How it is cooled Not disclosed

The developer's figure is what the company said; what a permit allows is the ceiling a permit sets; measured means observed. Water is in gallons a day or a year, whichever the source stated; a tax claim given as a range shows both ends, each linked to the source that gave it.

Still not public, and where it would show up

The record adds each the day a source gives it. Why these documents.

  • Water useA state water right filing or a water supply agreement.
  • Power the campus would drawA utility or public service commission docket, an interconnection filing, or an air permit for an on site plant.
  • Jobs and taxAn incentive agreement, a county's economic development filing or a fiscal note.

What happened

  1. (source date; the content gives no date of its own)

    Starwood Digital Ventures announced a new 12 billion dollar project in Mason County [4]

  2. (source date; the content gives no date of its own)

    Nscale Monarch data center is under construction in Point Pleasant [4]

  3. (source date; the content gives no date of its own)

    Nscale and Anthropic struck a six year 460 megawatt deal for computing power in Mason County setup expected to come online in late 2026 [3]

  4. · Status: rumored (source date; the content gives no date of its own)

    Nscale secured $790 million for its Norway data center project [1]

  5. · Status: approved (source date; the content gives no date of its own)

    NScale data center in Mason County received certification after months of negotiations [6]

The full NScale Mason County Data Center timeline, in order

12 corrections to this record

Every correction, with its reason
  1. · the summary of a record items row

    the record's rules: the sentence copied its source, was about its headline or carried a number the card's facts do not; written again from the card's facts, on the editor's word The old and new text.

  2. · the status of a projects row

    The stage was set by timeline entries that were returned to draft on 2026-09-17 (they had been published onto the record while it was still a draft skeleton). With no published entry behind it the record reads rumored until one is approved. The old and new text.

  3. · the kind of source of a history entry

    The source was labeled with the Google News search that found it; it now carries its outlet's tier (the record's rules of 2026-09-23). The link did not change. The day's label corrections.

  4. · the kind of source of a history entry

    The source was labeled with the Google News search that found it; it now carries its outlet's tier (the record's rules of 2026-09-23). The link did not change. The day's label corrections.

  5. · the kind of source of a history entry

    The source was labeled with the Google News search that found it; it now carries its outlet's tier (the record's rules of 2026-09-23). The link did not change. The day's label corrections.

  6. · the kind of source of a history entry

    The source was labeled with the Google News search that found it; it now carries its outlet's tier (the record's rules of 2026-09-23). The link did not change. The day's label corrections.

  7. · the kind of source of a history entry

    The source was labeled with the Google News search that found it; it now carries its outlet's tier (the record's rules of 2026-09-23). The link did not change. The day's label corrections.

  8. · the kind of source of a history entry

    The source was labeled with the Google News search that found it; it now carries its outlet's tier (the record's rules of 2026-09-23). The link did not change. The day's label corrections.

  9. · the draft of a status history row

    Published on a project that was still a draft skeleton and still short of the record's skeleton minimum rule; returned to draft on 2026-09-17 pending the project meeting the rule or a person's approval. The old and new text.

  10. · the draft of a status history row

    Published on a project that was still a draft skeleton and still short of the record's skeleton minimum rule; returned to draft on 2026-09-17 pending the project meeting the rule or a person's approval. The old and new text.

  11. · the draft of a status history row

    Published on a project that was still a draft skeleton and still short of the record's skeleton minimum rule; returned to draft on 2026-09-17 pending the project meeting the rule or a person's approval. The old and new text.

  12. · the draft of a status history row

    Published on a project that was still a draft skeleton and still short of the record's skeleton minimum rule; returned to draft on 2026-09-17 pending the project meeting the rule or a person's approval. The old and new text.

Every correction on the record is on the corrections page.

What was said

Gov. Patrick Morrisey unveiled a 20 year plan for data center development in West Virginia with collaboration and local community involvement as pillars
Patrick Morrisey, Governor · September 13, 2026 · paraphrased · Mountain State Spotlight local outlet
Rick Handley, Mason County Commission President, says county officials have no control over when and where data centers come
Rick Handley, Mason County Commission President · September 13, 2026 · paraphrased · Mountain State Spotlight local outlet

Every statement about data centers in West Virginia, by speaker

3 more statements on this page

West Virginia Department of Commerce (via Governor's plan)

Department of Commerce will engage directly with local leadership to align private sector investments with municipal needs

September 13, 2026, Mountain State Spotlight · Mountain State Spotlight local outlet · the record (Paraphrased; said in the source itself)

Anthropic discovered five cases in recent months in which scientists in unspecified foreign nations used Anthropic models to study dangerous pathogens

September 12, 2026, Charleston Gazette-Mail · Charleston Gazette-Mail local outlet · the record (Paraphrased; said in the source itself)

West Virginia Governor

Governor Morrisey announced plans to triple West Virginia's electric production by mid century to support AI data centers

August 27, 2026, WCHS · WCHS local outlet · the record (Paraphrased; said in the source itself)

The site

Where in Mason County is not in the public record. The pin marks the county seat, not a building, and the outline is the county.

  • This record: Proposed, ringed
  • data center
  • Dashed edge: the exact site is not in the public record
  • Smaller pins: 5 other published records in West Virginia
Details
  • this record's location, ringed
  • parcel outline, from the county parcel record
  • city limits, U.S. Census Bureau, on a town level record
  • county boundary

The other pins are the published projects in the same state, each in its stage color. The imagery beneath is the USGS national orthoimagery, public domain, shown so the land around the site can be read.

Where
Mason County, West Virginia
How exactly it is located
County level, the county seat
The parcel
No parcel outline in the public record
Nearest homes
Not computed for a record placed at a place center
Nearest records
Nearest records are not computed for a record placed at a county seat.

Questions about this project

5 questions answered from the record

Answered from the rows on this page.

Who is building NScale Mason County Data Center?

NScale is the developer. No construction contractor is named on the record yet.

Who will use NScale Mason County Data Center?

The named tenant is $45 billion. No promise to the community is on the record.

How much power and water does NScale Mason County Data Center say it needs?

Power: not disclosed by any source on file. Water: not disclosed by any source on file.

Where does NScale Mason County Data Center stand today?

It is reported, as reported September 7, 2026. The newest entry, reported September 13, 2026: Starwood Digital Ventures announced a new 12 billion dollar project in Mason County [4].

What has Mason County decided about it?

No decision by Mason County about data centers is on the record. The Mason County page and the West Virginia scorecard list every rated row the day a person publishes one.

Sources

Primary documents first: filings, minutes, dockets and official pages. Then reporting. The numbers are the ones the entries above cite.

Reporting

  1. Nscale seeks $3.5bn in pre IPO funding - report, Data Center Dynamics, September 7, 2026, trade press
  2. Anthropic signs $45bn compute capacity agreement with Nscale - report - Data Center Dynamics, Data Center Dynamics, August 27, 2026, trade press
  3. WV data center secrecy and pollution issues loom large amid growing AI risks - Charleston Gazette Mail, Charleston Gazette-Mail, September 12, 2026, local outlet
  4. Morrisey’s data center plan promises communities a voice in the process. Locals say they’re still shut out. - Mountain State Spotlight, Mountain State Spotlight, September 13, 2026, local outlet
  5. Anthropic's $45B Cloud Computing Deal with Nscale, aitechtrend.com, September 3, 2026, local outlet
  6. NScale data center in Mason County gets certification after months of negotitiations, www.dcnewsnow.com, September 3, 2026, local outlet
  7. Homeowner’s yard floods again near Nscale data center site - WSAZ, WSAZ, September 10, 2026, local outlet
  8. NScale data center in Mason County gets certification after months of negotitiations - WOWK 13 News, WOWK 13 News, September 3, 2026, local outlet
  9. Morrisey hails state certifications for two Mason County data center projects - herald-dispatch.com, herald-dispatch.com, September 4, 2026, local outlet
  10. Morrisey hails state certifications for two Mason County data center projects - Charleston Gazette-Mail, Charleston Gazette-Mail, September 3, 2026, local outlet
  11. Morrisey hails state certifications for two Mason County data center projects - coalvalleynews.com, coalvalleynews.com, September 3, 2026, local outlet
  12. Morrisey: New West Virginia development commitments near state’s entire annual GDP - - The Parkersburg News and Sentinel, The Parkersburg News and Sentinel, September 3, 2026, local outlet

12 sources on file.

Cite this record

Data Center Record, "NScale Mason County Data Center", https://datacenterrecord.org/projects/nscale-mason-county-data-center-wv, last verified September 25, 2026.

Last verified , first recorded . Every correction is logged on the corrections page and under What happened.

Cite this page

Data Center Record, "NScale Mason County Data Center", https://datacenterrecord.org/projects/nscale-mason-county-data-center-wv. Data: Data Center Record, datacenterrecord.org, CC BY 4.0.

The structured rows are CC BY 4.0. Link to this page; that is what turns a reuse into a citation. Prose stays under copyright.

Report a change
For researchers
Slug
nscale-mason-county-data-center-wv
Status value
rumored
Stage
Proposed
Tier
skeleton
Tags
skeleton
Place id
us/wv/mason-county
Coordinates
38.85753, -82.12857
Location precision
county
Location source
County seat (Point Pleasant), Wikidata, placed at county level
Coordinate source
wikidata county seat
Location source number
Not disclosed
Location last verified
September 16, 2026
EPA registry id
Not disclosed
Use type values
not_disclosed
Tenancy value
not_disclosed
Cooling type value
not_disclosed
Capacity basis
not_disclosed
Water basis
not_disclosed, gallons_per_day
Acreage basis
Not disclosed
Interconnection value
not_disclosed
Capacity, if disclosed
Not disclosed
Rating of the county's rows
Not disclosed
Published
2026-09-05
Last verified
2026-09-25