Data Center Record.

Waiting on permits Built from one source

Oakline at Mill Creek

Verrus proposes a data center campus of three buildings and a substation on about 75 acres at the Mill Creek Corporate Center in southeast Salem, with a land use application filed on 2026-07-31 and a city moratorium initiated on 2026-08-03. It is waiting on permits, since July 31, 2026.

How much power it needs, how much water it would use and who would use it have not been disclosed.

Last verified · 38 sources, 0 primary · A skeleton record: built from one source, not yet reviewed in depth by a person. · How to read this page

How to read this page. Every fact links to the source it rests on; a number in brackets is its place in the source list. A figure no source gives reads Not disclosed, and nothing is estimated. Where sources give different figures, each is shown with who gave it, and another source's figure never stands in for the record's own. Entries are added and never overwritten; corrections are listed under What happened.

What is known

Each figure as its source gave it. The number in brackets is its place in the source list.

Land
Not disclosed
Power it would draw
Not disclosed
Water
Not disclosed
Who leads it
Verrus
as stated by the source
Who would use it
Not disclosed
Jobs once it runs
Not disclosed
Tax each year
Not disclosed
Every field, with who said it and when (Researcher view)

Impact figures

FieldValueWho says soSourceLast verified
How much power it needs Not disclosed
How much water it would use Not disclosed
How loud it would be Not disclosed
Jobs once it runs Not disclosed
Tax it would pay each year Not disclosed

The record's fields

FieldValueWho says soSourceLast verified
Who is building it Verrus as stated by the source September 22, 2026
Who is constructing it Not disclosed
How much land Not disclosed
Where its power comes from Not disclosed
Grid connection Not disclosed
How it is cooled Not disclosed

Jobs once it runs, also reported: 75 jobs, 2026 (Salem Reporter: Proposed Salem data center (Verrus project) expected to employ 75 people, according to public comment discussion) .

The developer's figure is what the company said; what a permit allows is the ceiling a permit sets; measured means observed. Water is in gallons a day or a year, whichever the source stated; a tax claim given as a range shows both ends, each linked to the source that gave it.

Still not public, and where it would show up

The record adds each the day a source gives it. Why these documents.

  • Water useA state water right filing or a water supply agreement.
  • Who would use itA lease announcement or a tenant named in a filing.
  • Power the campus would drawA utility or public service commission docket, an interconnection filing, or an air permit for an on site plant.
  • Jobs and taxAn incentive agreement, a county's economic development filing or a fiscal note.

What was decided

Acts of Marion County and Salem about data centers, on the record with their source. A rule about the area is not a decision about this record.

DateWhoDecisionSource
Salem Salem city council voted to accept 120 day moratorium on all new data center projects with option to extend by additional six months before year end salemreporter.com
Salem Salem City Council voted unanimously to pursue a moratorium in early August 2026. salemreporter.com
Salem Salem City Council will vote on a 120 day moratorium on data centers using more than 2 megawatts of power on September 21, 2026. salemreporter.com
Woodburn Woodburn City Council approved a 120 day moratorium on new data center development kval.com
Salem Next town hall meetings scheduled for October 6 and October 20 kptv.com
Salem Salem held first of three town halls to gather community input on data centers, with city council to consider formal proposal in December 2026 kptv.com
30 earlier decisions on the county's rows
DateWhoDecisionSource
Salem The task force will present recommendations to city council in December 2026 after two more town halls in October. salemreporter.com
Woodburn The moratorium halts the acceptance, review, and approval of city permits and development proposals for new data storage, processing, and information technology facilities kptv.com
Woodburn The Woodburn City Council approved a 120 day freeze on new data center projects kptv.com
Woodburn There are no currently active or pending data center applications in Woodburn koin.com
Woodburn The 120 day period will allow city officials to review zoning and development regulations, evaluate public utility and infrastructure needs, reassess data center siting criteria, review environmental impacts including water, energy, and noise, and develop regulations for future data center proposals koin.com
Woodburn The moratorium temporarily pauses approval, review, and acceptance of development proposals and permits for new data centers including data storage, processing, and information technology centers koin.com
Woodburn Woodburn City Council declared a 120 day moratorium to halt new data center development koin.com
Woodburn Woodburn City Council unanimously approved 120 day moratorium on data center development on September 15, 2026 opb.org
Salem Salem city councilors voted 8-1 on a motion to consider new regulations around the city's use of non disclosure agreements related to data center developments salemreporter.com
Salem Salem's Data Center Task Force held a town hall on September 15, 2026, at Broadway Commons to gather community input on data center policy. salemreporter.com
Salem Task force was formed in response to community outcry over a $5.1 billion data center project proposed in Salem salemreporter.com
Salem Salem Data Center Task Force holds first of three town halls to address data center policies at Broadway Commons salemreporter.com
Salem Salem city council considers expanding policy ban on non disclosure agreements for data center projects salemreporter.com
Salem Salem city council to receive updates on data center moratorium on Sept. 14 salemreporter.com
Salem Salem Data Center Task Force is crafting a policy proposal for city council approval salemreporter.com
Salem Salem city scheduled third town hall on data center policies on October 20 salemreporter.com
Salem Salem city scheduled second town hall on data center policies on October 6 salemreporter.com
Salem Salem city scheduled first town hall on data center policies on September 15 at 5-7 p.m. salemreporter.com
Salem Governor Kotek halted the planned sale of approximately 32 acres of state land at Mill Creek Corporate Center in Salem for a proposed data center project applevalleynewsnow.com
Salem A Salem City Council special meeting considered a temporary citywide data center moratorium. democratherald.com
Salem Kotek intervened to stop a data center proposed on state owned Department of Corrections land in Salem in March. democratherald.com
Salem Oregon Governor Kotek halted the sale of land for a data center in Salem at the Mill Creek Corporate Center, approximately 32 acres of state land bondbuyer.com
Salem Salem will hold three town halls on data centers beginning September 15 centraloregondaily.com
Salem Salem City Council adopted resolution to update zoning code and land use regulations to protect water, environment and electricity statesmanjournal.com
Salem Moratorium does not apply to current data center planned for Mill Creek Corporate Center statesmanjournal.com
Salem Salem City Council voted to move forward with temporary moratorium on AI data centers statesmanjournal.com
Salem Salem and Woodburn have adopted moratoriums on data centers katu.com
Marion County closed Salem City Council voted unanimously at a special meeting to initiate a moratorium on new data center applications, with a 45 day state notice and a public hearing still required before it takes effect. salemreporter.com
Salem Kotek directed the state to stop the sale of state owned land in southeast Salem for a data center project on July 30 statesmanjournal.com
Salem Salem City Council formed Data Center Task Force on July 27, 2026 statesmanjournal.com

What happened

  1. Moratorium (source date; the content gives no date of its own)

    Verrus $5.1 billion data center project at Mill Creek Corporate Center prohibited from construction phase as long as moratorium is in effect [28]

  2. (source date; the content gives no date of its own)

    Verrus application was deemed incomplete on August 28, 2026. [27]

  3. (source date; the content gives no date of its own)

    Verrus submitted a data center application for the Mill Creek Corporate Center on July 31, 2026, for a 5.1 billion dollar project. [27]

  4. (source date; the content gives no date of its own)

    Verrus is building a 5.1 billion dollar data center in Salem's Mill Creek Corporate Center [26]

  5. (source date; the content gives no date of its own)

    Verrus CEO Nelson Abramson filed land use application for data center with two 600,000 square foot buildings in late July 2026 [29]

  6. (source date; the content gives no date of its own)

    Application for roughly 100 acre AI data center in Salem Mill Creek Corporate Center deemed incomplete by city planning staff [21]

  7. (content date)

    City officials deemed the Verrus application incomplete, citing a missing noise study and archaeological review. [21]

  8. (source date; the content gives no date of its own)

    SEDCOR selected Verrus over multiple other prospective companies for a data center at Mill Creek Corporate Center despite Verrus having never built a data center before [25]

5 earlier entries
  1. (content date)

    Salem City Council voted unanimously at a special meeting to initiate a moratorium on new data center applications. [19]

  2. · waiting on permits (content date)

    Alderstone LLC filed a land use application with the City of Salem for two data center buildings on three lots at the Mill Creek Corporate Center. [18]

  3. (content date)

    Governor Tina Kotek directed the Department of Administrative Services to terminate the sale of 32 acres of state land at Mill Creek to Verrus. [16]

  4. (content date)

    Residents filled Salem City Council chambers for about five hours of public comment on the proposal. [15]

  5. · proposed (content date)

    The City of Salem disclosed a proposed Verrus data center campus at the Mill Creek Corporate Center after being released from a nondisclosure agreement. [13]

The full Oakline at Mill Creek timeline, in order

13 corrections to this record

Every correction, with its reason
  1. · the summary of a record items row

    the record's rules: the sentence copied its source, was about its headline or carried a number the card's facts do not; written again from the card's facts, on the editor's word The old and new text.

  2. · the summary of a record items row

    the record's rules: the sentence was the source's wording or carried a number not in the card's facts; written again from the article The old and new text.

  3. · the kind of source of a history entry

    The source was labeled with the Google News search that found it; it now carries its outlet's tier (the record's rules of 2026-09-23). The link did not change. The day's label corrections.

  4. · the kind of source of a history entry

    The source was labeled with the Google News search that found it; it now carries its outlet's tier (the record's rules of 2026-09-23). The link did not change. The day's label corrections.

  5. · the kind of source of a history entry

    The source was labeled with the Google News search that found it; it now carries its outlet's tier (the record's rules of 2026-09-23). The link did not change. The day's label corrections.

  6. · the kind of source of a history entry

    The source was labeled with the Google News search that found it; it now carries its outlet's tier (the record's rules of 2026-09-23). The link did not change. The day's label corrections.

  7. · the kind of source of a history entry

    The source was labeled with the Google News search that found it; it now carries its outlet's tier (the record's rules of 2026-09-23). The link did not change. The day's label corrections.

  8. · the kind of source of a history entry

    The source was labeled with the Google News search that found it; it now carries its outlet's tier (the record's rules of 2026-09-23). The link did not change. The day's label corrections.

  9. · the kind of source of a history entry

    The source was labeled with the Google News search that found it; it now carries its outlet's tier (the record's rules of 2026-09-23). The link did not change. The day's label corrections.

  10. · the kind of source of a history entry

    The source was labeled with the Google News search that found it; it now carries its outlet's tier (the record's rules of 2026-09-23). The link did not change. The day's label corrections.

  11. · the kind of source of a history entry

    The source was labeled with the Google News search that found it; it now carries its outlet's tier (the record's rules of 2026-09-23). The link did not change. The day's label corrections.

  12. · the kind of source of a history entry

    The source was labeled with the Google News search that found it; it now carries its outlet's tier (the record's rules of 2026-09-23). The link did not change. The day's label corrections.

  13. · the source url of a status history row

    The source was a google.com goto redirect, which names no publisher; it now cites the page the redirect leads to. The fact and its date did not change. The old and new text.

Every correction on the record is on the corrections page.

What was said

The city could extend the moratorium by six months if approved.
Dan Atchison, Salem city attorney · September 21, 2026 · paraphrased · Salem Reporter local outlet
Nelson Abramson spent 20 years at Google including on its data center team, then ran infrastructure at X
Nelson Abramson, Verrus (implied leadership) · August 19, 2026 · paraphrased · Salem Reporter local outlet

Every statement about data centers in Oregon, by speaker

8 more statements on this page

Salem city officials

Town hall focused on hearing input on data center water usage, noise, job creation and electricity consumption

September 16, 2026, KPTV · KPTV local outlet · the record (Paraphrased; said in the source itself)

Verrus hired a lobbyist, Drew Hagedorn, registered September 4, 2026, for data center development, energy and utilities, land use and permitting

September 9, 2026, salemreporter.com · salemreporter.com local outlet · the record (Paraphrased; said in the source itself)

Salem city planning staff

Verrus, the Google backed company, must resubmit application with noise study, separate application for each development site, and archaeological review

August 28, 2026, Salem Reporter · Salem Reporter local outlet · the record (Paraphrased; said in the source itself)

Flood Light News

Microsoft backed data center in Vineland was caught with 27 unpermitted gas fired generators, disclosed more energy use and more air pollution than promised to community

August 28, 2026, Salem Reporter · Salem Reporter local outlet · the record (Paraphrased; said in the source itself)

The Oregonian/OregonLive

Oregon data center market is one of the largest in the world due to property tax incentives and lack of a sales tax, with data centers first appearing around 2006

August 28, 2026, Salem Reporter · Salem Reporter local outlet · the record (Paraphrased; said in the source itself)

Salem community members

Verrus submitted Salem data center project on Friday to move ahead before Monday city council moratorium vote

August 28, 2026, Salem Reporter · Salem Reporter local outlet · the record (Paraphrased; said in the source itself)

Salem community members

Verrus operated under nondisclosure agreement from March 2025 through July 10, 2026 before submitting Salem project

August 28, 2026, Salem Reporter · Salem Reporter local outlet · the record (Paraphrased; said in the source itself)

SEDCOR director Erik Andersson cited Verrus's more sustainable approach as reason for selection

August 14, 2026, Salem Reporter · Salem Reporter local outlet · the record (Paraphrased; said in the source itself)

The site

The pin is the site. The shaded outline is the parcel, from the county's own parcel record.

  • This record: Proposed, ringed
  • data center
  • Smaller pins: 13 other published records in Oregon
Details
  • this record's location, ringed
  • parcel outline, from the county parcel record
  • city limits, U.S. Census Bureau, on a town level record
  • county boundary

The other pins are the published projects in the same state, each in its stage color. The imagery beneath is the USGS national orthoimagery, public domain, shown so the land around the site can be read.

Where
Salem, Marion County, Oregon
How exactly it is located
Exact, on the parcel
The parcel
No parcel outline in the public record
Nearest homes
Not computed for a record placed at a place center
Nearest records
By the straight line between two exact points.

Comparisons

1 metric with more than one figure

Every figure on the record for the same thing, the record's own or the document's first, each with who gave it, its date and its basis.

Permanent jobs

1 figure, 1 source
Show each source's words
  • 75 jobs, Salem Reporter: Proposed Salem data center (Verrus project) expected to employ 75 people, according to public comment discussion

Questions about this project

7 questions answered from the record

Answered from the rows on this page.

How big is Oakline at Mill Creek?

Not disclosed. No source on file gives its capacity, its acreage or a count of buildings. What the record holds instead is under Disclosed.

Who is building Oakline at Mill Creek?

Verrus is the developer. No construction contractor is named on the record yet.

Who will use Oakline at Mill Creek?

Not disclosed. No source on file names a tenant, says whether the site is single or multi tenant, or states what it is for. The record keeps the use as not disclosed until one does; see Who it serves.

How much power and water does Oakline at Mill Creek say it needs?

Power: not disclosed by any source on file. Water: not disclosed by any source on file.

Where does Oakline at Mill Creek stand today?

It is waiting on permits, since July 31, 2026. The newest entry, reported September 22, 2026: Verrus $5.1 billion data center project at Mill Creek Corporate Center prohibited from construction phase as long as moratorium is in effect [28].

What has Salem or Marion County decided about it?

Salem: Salem city council voted to accept 120 day moratorium on all new data center projects with option to extend by additional six months before year end (reported September 22, 2026, source); and Salem: Salem City Council voted unanimously to pursue a moratorium in early August 2026. (reported September 21, 2026, source). 36 events are on the county's rows; a rule about the area is not a decision about this record.

What is still unknown about Oakline at Mill Creek?

Not disclosed by any source on file: how much power it needs, how much water it would use, how loud it would be, jobs once it runs, tax it would pay each year, who is constructing it, how much land, where its power comes from, grid connection, how it is cooled. No missing primary document is listed for this record yet; What the record lacks is where one appears when a person names it.

Sources

Primary documents first: filings, minutes, dockets and official pages. Then reporting. The numbers are the ones the entries above cite.

Reporting

  1. Verrus plans three-building data center campus outside Portland, Oregon - Data Center Dynamics, Data Center Dynamics, July 15, 2026, query feed
  2. As Oregon cities buck data centers, a committee is set to propose statewide regulations - Oregon Public Broadcasting - OPB, OPB, August 4, 2026, query feed
  3. A small Central Oregon town shoots down data center development - Oregon Public Broadcasting - OPB, Oregon Public Broadcasting - OPB, May 28, 2026, query feed
  4. Salem residents rage against proposed data center and city NDA that kept plans secret - OregonLive.com, OregonLive.com, July 30, 2026, query feed
  5. Data company advances Salem plan, replacing state land and beating moratorium - Salem Reporter, Salem Reporter, August 1, 2026, query feed
  6. Hillsboro residents push back on ‘data center explosion’ - Oregon Public Broadcasting - OPB, Oregon Public Broadcasting - OPB, June 3, 2026, query feed
  7. Verrus attempts to push on with data center campus in Salem, Oregon - Data Center Dynamics, Data Center Dynamics, August 4, 2026, query feed
  8. Hillsboro approves data center moratorium - Oregon Public Broadcasting - OPB, Oregon Public Broadcasting - OPB, July 27, 2026, query feed
  9. Salem data center project likely to proceed - salemreporter.com, salemreporter.com, July 16, 2026, query feed
  10. While Salem project is uncertain, Verrus advances data center in Michigan - Salem Reporter, Salem Reporter, July 31, 2026, query feed
  11. 5 takeaways ahead of Salem City Council’s data center moratorium meeting - Salem Reporter, Salem Reporter, August 3, 2026, query feed
  12. Verrus data center filing sidesteps land sale block and looming moratorium, W.Media, August 3, 2026, trade press
26 more sources
  1. Salem discloses proposed Mill Creek data center project after city released from NDA, Salem Reporter, July 14, 2026, local outlet
  2. Massive $5.1B data center proposed for Salem draws praise and pushback, KATU, July 14, 2026, local outlet
  3. Salem residents fill city council chambers for data center testimony, KPTV, July 28, 2026, local outlet
  4. Gov. Tina Kotek orders Oregon to withdraw land sale for Salem area data center, KATU, July 30, 2026, local outlet
  5. Kotek blocks sale of 32 acres of Mill Creek Corporate Center land for Verrus data center, Salem Reporter, July 30, 2026, local outlet
  6. Salem City Council initiates data center moratorium as Oakline filing lands, Salem Business Journal, August 3, 2026, local outlet
  7. Salem City Council convenes special meeting on data center moratorium, Salem Reporter, August 3, 2026, local outlet
  8. Think Out Loud: proposed Salem data center, OPB, August 11, 2026, local outlet
  9. Verrus application for Mill Creek data center deemed incomplete by city officials, Salem Reporter, August 28, 2026, local outlet
  10. Contract shows state agreed to sell 32 acres to Verrus for $6.7 million, Salem Reporter, September 3, 2026, local outlet
  11. Oregon Gov. Kotek stops state from selling land for Salem data center - Oregon Public Broadcasting - OPB, OPB, July 30, 2026, local outlet
  12. Oregon Gov. Kotek orders state to cancel land sale for Salem data center - OregonLive.com, OregonLive.com, July 30, 2026, local outlet
  13. SEDCOR chose Verrus over multiple companies eyeing Salem for data center buildouts - Salem Reporter, Salem Reporter, August 14, 2026, local outlet
  14. Verrus hires lobbyist as Kotek slams breaks on data center development on public lands - salemreporter.com, salemreporter.com, September 9, 2026, local outlet
  15. Salem City Council to hold public hearing on data center moratorium tonight at 6 p.m., Salem Reporter, September 21, 2026, local outlet
  16. City attorney: Salem data center moratorium means Verrus can’t build until it expires, Salem Reporter, September 22, 2026, local outlet
  17. Salem wants your thoughts on data centers. How to participate - Statesman Journal, Statesman Journal (via Google News), September 8, 2026, local outlet
  18. Salem City Council votes in favor on moratorium on AI data centers - statesmanjournal.com, Statesman Journal (via Google News), August 4, 2026, local outlet
  19. Verrus surprised, disappointed by Kotek's move to block sale of 32-acres of land at Mill Creek Corporate Center - salemreporter.com, salemreporter.com, July 30, 2026, local outlet
  20. Gov. Kotek orders state to cancel land sale for proposed $5B Salem data center - KGW, KGW, July 30, 2026, local outlet
  21. Hostility to data centers boils over at Oregon city council meeting - Seattle Red, Seattle Red, July 30, 2026, local outlet
  22. Oregon identifies Vantage Data Centers as developer; Debate over proposed data center continues - wtol.com, wtol.com, July 29, 2026, local outlet
  23. Who is Verrus, the company behind Salem’s proposed data center? - Salem Reporter, Salem Reporter, August 19, 2026, local outlet
  24. Testimony fiercely against proposed Salem data center at council meeting - Statesman Journal, Statesman Journal, July 28, 2026, local outlet
  25. 75-acre data center proposed in Salem - KPTV, KPTV, July 15, 2026, local outlet
  26. Salem’s proposed data center faces months of review. Here’s how you can weigh in - salemreporter.com, salemreporter.com, July 23, 2026, local outlet

38 sources on file.

Cite this record

Data Center Record, "Oakline at Mill Creek", https://datacenterrecord.org/projects/oakline-mill-creek-salem-or, last verified September 22, 2026.

Last verified , first recorded . Every correction is logged on the corrections page and under What happened.

Cite this page

Data Center Record, "Oakline at Mill Creek", https://datacenterrecord.org/projects/oakline-mill-creek-salem-or. Data: Data Center Record, datacenterrecord.org, CC BY 4.0.

The structured rows are CC BY 4.0. Link to this page; that is what turns a reuse into a citation. Prose stays under copyright.

Report a change
For researchers
Slug
oakline-mill-creek-salem-or
Status value
permitting
Stage
Proposed
Tier
skeleton
Tags
skeleton
Place id
us/or/marion-county/salem
Coordinates
44.885124, -122.964954
Location precision
parcel
Location source
Marion County Assessor tax lots 082W080000400 (54.18 acres, Capstone Mill Creek Logistics LLC), 082W080000500 (13.89 acres, Scannell Properties #690 LLC) and 082W180000600 (32.13 acres, Scannell Properties #690 LLC), 100.2 acres in total, the three lots the land use application names (W.Media, 2026-08-04). Area weighted centroid of the three parcel polygons. Marion County GIS Public/Parcels, last updated 2025-02-16. https://gis.co.marion.or.us/arcgis/rest/services/Public/Parcels/MapServer/0/query?where=TAXLOT+IN+%28%27082W080000400%27%2C%27082W080000500%27%2C%27082W180000600%27%29&outFields=*&outSR=4326&f=json . Assessor records: https://mcasr.co.marion.or.us/PropertySummary.aspx?pid=608652&da=true , pid=608653, pid=608655.
Coordinate source
Not disclosed
Location source number
Not disclosed
Location last verified
September 4, 2026
EPA registry id
Not disclosed
Use type values
not_disclosed
Tenancy value
not_disclosed
Cooling type value
not_disclosed
Capacity basis
not_disclosed
Water basis
not_disclosed, gallons_per_day
Acreage basis
Not disclosed
Interconnection value
not_disclosed
Capacity, if disclosed
Not disclosed
Rating of the county's rows
Closed
Published
2026-09-04
Last verified
2026-09-22