Governor
Gov. Mikie Sherrill called the fine the largest enforcement action against a data center in New Jersey's history.
Vineland city council approved a DataOne expansion for a Nebius AI data center, and the planning board separately approved an adjustment to Phase 2, though the city also issued a stop work order to parts of the facility and accused it of operating natural gas generators without a permit. It is reported, as reported September 12, 2026.
How to read this page. Every fact links to the source it rests on; a number in brackets is its place in the source list. A figure no source gives reads Not disclosed, and nothing is estimated. Where sources give different figures, each is shown with who gave it, and another source's figure never stands in for the record's own. Entries are added and never overwritten; corrections are listed under What happened.
Each figure as its source gave it. The number in brackets is its place in the source list.
| Field | Value | Who says so | Source | Last verified |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| How much power it needs | 300 MW | third party estimate | [9] app.com | September 25, 2026 |
| How much water it would use | 20,000,000 gallons a year | third party estimate | [15] njbiz.com | September 25, 2026 |
| How loud it would be | Not disclosed | |||
| Jobs once it runs | Not disclosed | |||
| Tax it would pay each year | Not disclosed |
| Field | Value | Who says so | Source | Last verified |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Who is building it | DataOne | as stated by the source | September 25, 2026 | |
| Who is constructing it | Not disclosed | |||
| How much land | 107 acres | third party estimate | [9] app.com | September 25, 2026 |
| Where its power comes from | natural gas generators | as stated by the source | [16] timesofindia.indiatimes.com | September 25, 2026 |
| Grid connection | Not disclosed | |||
| How it is cooled | Not disclosed |
How much power it needs, also reported: 1,982 kilowatts, 2026 (Inquirer.com: Each of the 62 generators has a capacity of 1,982 kilowatts, The Times of India: Each DataOne generator had a rated capacity of 1,982 kilowatts.); 123 MW, 2026 (NJBIZ: 62 Caterpillar G3516H gas generators, each producing 1982 kilowatts, total capacity about 123 megawatts, TechRadar: 62 natural gas generators with collective 123 megawatt capacity installed without permits at DataOne Vineland facility.); 350 MW, 2026 (Gothamist: DataONE data center in Vineland designed to draw up to 350 megawatts of power); 122.9 MW, 2026 (The Times of India: The 62 DataOne generators represented approximately 122.9 megawatts of nameplate generation capacity.); 37 kilowatts, 2026 (Newsweek: Generator capacity threshold for state permits is 37 kilowatts) .
The developer's figure is what the company said; what a permit allows is the ceiling a permit sets; measured means observed. Water is in gallons a day or a year, whichever the source stated; a tax claim given as a range shows both ends, each linked to the source that gave it.
The record adds each the day a source gives it. Why these documents.
Acts of Cumberland County and Vineland about data centers, on the record with their source. A rule about the area is not a decision about this record.
| Date | Who | Decision | Source |
|---|---|---|---|
| Vineland | DataOne installed 62 gas generators without required air pollution permits | nbcphiladelphia.com | |
| Vineland | A data center facility in Vineland, New Jersey was found to have more than five dozen unpermitted natural gas generators and fined more than $1 million by New Jersey Governor Mikie Sherrill. | audacy.com | |
| Vineland | Residents have complained for months about water and electricity use, air quality and other issues at the DataOne site; a lawsuit was filed in June over noise. | njspotlightnews.org | |
| Vineland | State environmental regulators fined DataOne in Vineland 1.07 million dollars for operating 62 unpermitted natural gas generators following a July 29 inspection. | njspotlightnews.org | |
| Vineland | New Jersey Department of Environmental Protection fined DataOne more than 1 million dollars for operating 62 natural gas powered generators without a permit at the Vineland data center. | whyy.org | |
| Vineland | Vineland Planning Board voted 8-1 to approve the project's second phase | nj1015.com |
| Date | Who | Decision | Source |
|---|---|---|---|
| Vineland | Cumberland County Department of Public Health cited DataOne for violating noise ordinances in March | latitudemedia.com | |
| Vineland | Local residents filed lawsuit in New Jersey state court over noise pollution from data center | latitudemedia.com | |
| Vineland | No permits issued nor any permit applications under review for power generators at DataOne | latitudemedia.com | |
| Vineland | New Jersey Department of Environmental Protection noticed generators during site inspection on July 29 | latitudemedia.com | |
| Vineland | At least 45 gas powered generators operating without permits as of late August 2026 | latitudemedia.com |
(source date; the content gives no date of its own)
New Jersey Department of Environmental Protection inspected DataOne facility in Vineland on July 29, 2026 and found 62 stationary natural gas generators operating without required preconstruction permits and operating certificates. [16]
(source date; the content gives no date of its own)
DataOne received two stop work orders from City of Vineland on August 6 and August 10 for construction permit violations [15]
(source date; the content gives no date of its own)
NJDEP inspection on July 29 found gas generators that were not present during December 2025 inspection [15]
(source date; the content gives no date of its own)
DataOne Vineland data center approved capacity 300 megawatts, currently projects 350 megawatts on website [15]
(source date; the content gives no date of its own)
DataOne expanded its Cumberland County Vineland facility last winter 2026, making it the state's largest operating data center. [5]
(source date; the content gives no date of its own)
DataOne was fined 1.07 million dollars for violations of the New Jersey Air Pollution Control Act on September 23, 2026. [5]
(source date; the content gives no date of its own)
Generators are temporary with transition to fuel cells for permanent power supply [13]
(source date; the content gives no date of its own)
DEP found 62 stationary generators with 1,982 kilowatt capacity each during July 29 inspection without required permits [13]
(source date; the content gives no date of its own)
DEP ordered DataOne to obtain permits within 45 days or cease operations [8]
(source date; the content gives no date of its own)
Construction expected complete in late December according to company website [8]
(source date; the content gives no date of its own)
DEP inspection July 29 discovered 62 1,982 kilowatt generators not present in December inspection [8]
(source date; the content gives no date of its own)
Construction expected to be done in late December 2026 [12]
(source date; the content gives no date of its own)
DEP inspectors found 62 1,982 kilowatt generators during July 29 visit that were not present in December 2025 inspection [12]
(source date; the content gives no date of its own)
New Jersey DEP found DataOne facility operated 62 large natural gas generators without required air permits [4]
(source date; the content gives no date of its own)
New Jersey DEP found 62 natural gas generators with 1,982 kilowatt capacity each operating without required permits during July 29 inspection [7]
(source date; the content gives no date of its own)
DataOne is transitioning to low emission fuel cells as the permanent power source [6]
(source date; the content gives no date of its own)
DataOne installed and operated 62 large natural gas power generators without required state permits [6]
(source date; the content gives no date of its own)
First phase of the site is expected to open later this year [11]
(source date; the content gives no date of its own)
Construction on the $17 billion South Jersey project backed by Microsoft began in early 2025 [11]
(source date; the content gives no date of its own)
Generators were not present at previous inspection in December 2025 but were installed by July 29, 2026 site inspection [11]
(source date; the content gives no date of its own)
Natural gas power generating equipment was observed during an inspection on July 29 but was not observed during the DEP's previous site inspection in December 2025. [10]
(source date; the content gives no date of its own)
Facility sits in a protected wellhead area with groundwater contamination risk [2]
(source date; the content gives no date of its own)
Cooling requires more than 400 fans [2]
(source date; the content gives no date of its own)
DataOne Vineland facility spans 2.6 million square feet [2]
(source date; the content gives no date of its own)
DataOne Campus sits roughly one mile from two schools [1]
(source date; the content gives no date of its own)
DataOne Campus sits approximately 40 miles from Philadelphia [1]
(source date; the content gives no date of its own)
DataOne Campus construction began in 2025 [1]
(source date; the content gives no date of its own)
DataOne Campus is planned as New Jersey's largest AI data center under 17 billion dollar agreement with Microsoft [1]
· reported (source date; the content gives no date of its own)
DataOne Campus in Vineland accused of running 45 gas generators without permits [1]
The full Nebius AI Data Center (Vineland) timeline, in order
· the site acres of a projects row
The site read 2.6 acres. Two approvals wrote square feet as acres over the 107 acres an Asbury Park Press article of September 22, 2026 gave (2.6 million square feet and 2,600,000 square feet are a floor area). Restored to 107 acres from that article. The old and new text.
· the kind of source of a history entry
The source was labeled with the Google News search that found it; it now carries its outlet's tier (the record's rules of 2026-09-23). The link did not change. The day's label corrections.
· the kind of source of a history entry
The source was labeled with the Google News search that found it; it now carries its outlet's tier (the record's rules of 2026-09-23). The link did not change. The day's label corrections.
· the kind of source of a history entry
The source was labeled with the Google News search that found it; it now carries its outlet's tier (the record's rules of 2026-09-23). The link did not change. The day's label corrections.
· the kind of source of a history entry
The source was labeled with the Google News search that found it; it now carries its outlet's tier (the record's rules of 2026-09-23). The link did not change. The day's label corrections.
· the kind of source of a history entry
The source was labeled with the Google News search that found it; it now carries its outlet's tier (the record's rules of 2026-09-23). The link did not change. The day's label corrections.
· the kind of source of a history entry
The source was labeled with the Google News search that found it; it now carries its outlet's tier (the record's rules of 2026-09-23). The link did not change. The day's label corrections.
· the draft of a status history row
Published on a project that was still a draft skeleton and still short of the record's skeleton minimum rule; returned to draft on 2026-09-17 pending the project meeting the rule or a person's approval. The old and new text.
· the draft of a status history row
Published on a project that was still a draft skeleton and still short of the record's skeleton minimum rule; returned to draft on 2026-09-17 pending the project meeting the rule or a person's approval. The old and new text.
· the draft of a status history row
Published on a project that was still a draft skeleton and still short of the record's skeleton minimum rule; returned to draft on 2026-09-17 pending the project meeting the rule or a person's approval. The old and new text.
· the draft of a status history row
Published on a project that was still a draft skeleton and still short of the record's skeleton minimum rule; returned to draft on 2026-09-17 pending the project meeting the rule or a person's approval. The old and new text.
· the draft of a status history row
Published on a project that was still a draft skeleton and still short of the record's skeleton minimum rule; returned to draft on 2026-09-17 pending the project meeting the rule or a person's approval. The old and new text.
· the draft of a status history row
Published on a project that was still a draft skeleton and still short of the record's skeleton minimum rule; returned to draft on 2026-09-17 pending the project meeting the rule or a person's approval. The old and new text.
Every correction on the record is on the corrections page.
Ed Potosnak, NJDEP Commissioner, called this the largest action ever taken against a data center in New Jersey
Environmental advocates including Pinelands Alliance renewed calls for a statewide moratorium on data center construction
Every statement about data centers in New Jersey, by speaker
Governor
Gov. Mikie Sherrill called the fine the largest enforcement action against a data center in New Jersey's history.
homeowner
Andrew Groetsch noticed his daughter's windows vibrating in September 2025 from data center noise
Bruce Buckheit, former EPA chief of air enforcement, said the situation appears to break federal law
Nebius executives said the fuel cell power solution would have no significant impact on the project development timeline
Nick Amicucci, Evercore ISI analyst, reiterated bullish view on Bloom Energy, with $350 price target
Where in Cumberland County is not in the public record. The pin marks the county seat, not a building, and the outline is the county.
Tap a pin for the data center, the parcel for its record
The other pins are the published projects in the same state, each in its stage color. The imagery beneath is the USGS national orthoimagery, public domain, shown so the land around the site can be read.
Inquirer.com, Sep 22, 2026; The Times of India, Sep 24, 2026
The record has 2 measures of its size: 300 MW (third party estimate, source) and 107 acres (third party estimate, source). Each figure names who gave it and links to the source.
DataOne is the developer. No construction contractor is named on the record yet.
The named tenant is Nebius Group / Microsoft. No promise to the community is on the record.
Power: 300 MW (third party estimate, source). Water: 20,000,000 gallons a year (third party estimate, source).
It is reported, as reported September 12, 2026. The newest entry, reported September 24, 2026: New Jersey Department of Environmental Protection inspected DataOne facility in Vineland on July 29, 2026 and found 62 stationary natural gas generators operating without required preconstruction permits and operating certificates. [16]
Vineland: DataOne installed 62 gas generators without required air pollution permits (reported September 23, 2026, source); and Vineland: A data center facility in Vineland, New Jersey was found to have more than five dozen unpermitted natural gas generators and fined more than $1 million by New Jersey Governor Mikie Sherrill. (reported September 23, 2026, source). 11 events are on the county's rows; a rule about the area is not a decision about this record.
Not disclosed by any source on file: how loud it would be, jobs once it runs, tax it would pay each year, who is constructing it, grid connection, how it is cooled. No missing primary document is listed for this record yet; What the record lacks is where one appears when a person names it.
23 sources on file.
Data Center Record, "Nebius AI Data Center (Vineland)", https://datacenterrecord.org/projects/nebius-ai-data-center-vineland-nj, last verified September 25, 2026.
Data Center Record, "Nebius AI Data Center (Vineland)", https://datacenterrecord.org/projects/nebius-ai-data-center-vineland-nj. Data: Data Center Record, datacenterrecord.org, CC BY 4.0.
The structured rows are CC BY 4.0. Link to this page; that is what turns a reuse into a citation. Prose stays under copyright.