Data Center Record.

Reported Built from one source

Kearney Data Center

Kearney approved the first step to bring a data center to town and its Planning Commission discussed code amendments related to data centers. It is reported, as reported August 18, 2026.

How much power it needs, how much water it would use and who would use it have not been disclosed.

Last verified · 9 sources, 0 primary · A skeleton record: built from one source, not yet reviewed in depth by a person. · How to read this page

How to read this page. Every fact links to the source it rests on; a number in brackets is its place in the source list. A figure no source gives reads Not disclosed, and nothing is estimated. Where sources give different figures, each is shown with who gave it, and another source's figure never stands in for the record's own. Entries are added and never overwritten; corrections are listed under What happened.

What is known

Each figure as its source gave it. The number in brackets is its place in the source list.

Land
Not disclosed
Power it would draw
Not disclosed
Reported by others: 368 MW (knopnews2.com, Central Nebraska Today); 100 MW (KHGI). Their figure, not the record's.
Water
Not disclosed
Reported by others: 1,200 gallons per day (Central Nebraska Today); 2,000,000 to 5,000,000 gallons a year (KHGI), and 3 more under Comparisons. Their figure, not the record's.
Who leads it
Not disclosed
Who would use it
Not disclosed
Jobs once it runs
Not disclosed
Tax each year
Not disclosed
Every field, with who said it and when (Researcher view)

Impact figures

FieldValueWho says soSourceLast verified
How much power it needs Not disclosed
How much water it would use Not disclosed
How loud it would be Not disclosed
Jobs once it runs Not disclosed
Tax it would pay each year Not disclosed

The record's fields

FieldValueWho says soSourceLast verified
Who is building it Not disclosed
Who is constructing it Not disclosed
How much land Not disclosed
Where its power comes from Not disclosed
Grid connection Not disclosed
How it is cooled Not disclosed

How much power it needs, also reported: 368 MW, 2026 (knopnews2.com: Tech One Crossing data center campus will consume 368 megawatts of power when fully built out, Central Nebraska Today: Proposed data center electrical demand will be 368 megawatts, KHGI: Expanded facility would run on 368 megawatts of electricity); 100 MW, 2026 (KHGI: Current facility runs on 100 megawatts of power) .

How much water it would use, also reported: 1,200 gallons per day, 2026 (Central Nebraska Today: Data center uses closed loop chilled water systems with one time fill requiring 1,200 gallons per day plus 2 million gallons annually for landscaping); 2,000,000 to 5,000,000 gallons a year, 2026 (KHGI: Data center would use 2 million to 5 million gallons of water per year through closed loop cooling); 2,240,073 gallons per year, 2026 (Central Nebraska Today: Phase 3 projected water usage of 2,240,073 gallons per year); 911,200 gallons per year, 2026 (Central Nebraska Today: Phase 2 projected water usage of 911,200 gallons per year); 455,600 gallons per year, 2026 (Central Nebraska Today: Phase 1 projected water usage of 455,600 gallons per year) .

Jobs once it runs, also reported: 59 jobs, 2026 (KHGI: Project expected to create 59 jobs) .

Tax it would pay each year, also reported: 20,000,000 USD, 2026 (KHGI: Project expected to bring $20 million per year in property taxes) .

The developer's figure is what the company said; what a permit allows is the ceiling a permit sets; measured means observed. Water is in gallons a day or a year, whichever the source stated; a tax claim given as a range shows both ends, each linked to the source that gave it.

Still not public, and where it would show up

The record adds each the day a source gives it. Why these documents.

  • Water useA state water right filing or a water supply agreement.
  • Who would use itA lease announcement or a tenant named in a filing.
  • Power the campus would drawA utility or public service commission docket, an interconnection filing, or an air permit for an on site plant.
  • Who is behind itA land record, a zoning application or a company's own announcement.
  • Jobs and taxAn incentive agreement, a county's economic development filing or a fiscal note.

What happened

  1. (source date; the content gives no date of its own)

    Project will replace existing cryptocurrency mining operation at Tech One Crossing [1]

  2. (source date; the content gives no date of its own)

    Construction could start November or December 2026 with phase one operational in spring 2028 [3]

  3. (source date; the content gives no date of its own)

    Proposed facility will have 368 megawatts electrical demand with 100 megawatts existing capacity being repurposed [6]

  4. (source date; the content gives no date of its own)

    Existing cryptocurrency mining facility will be decommissioned following completion of phase one [2]

  5. (source date; the content gives no date of its own)

    Sound Study indicates facility will meet maximum sound level of 55 dBA at property lines [2]

  6. · Status: rumored (source date; the content gives no date of its own)

    Existing 100 megawatts of capacity from cryptocurrency operation will be repurposed for first phase [2]

The full Kearney Data Center timeline, in order

12 corrections to this record

Every correction, with its reason
  1. · the kind of source of a history entry

    The source was labeled with the Google News search that found it; it now carries its outlet's tier (the record's rules of 2026-09-23). The link did not change. The day's label corrections.

  2. · the kind of source of a history entry

    The source was labeled with the Google News search that found it; it now carries its outlet's tier (the record's rules of 2026-09-23). The link did not change. The day's label corrections.

  3. · the kind of source of a history entry

    The source was labeled with the Google News search that found it; it now carries its outlet's tier (the record's rules of 2026-09-23). The link did not change. The day's label corrections.

  4. · the kind of source of a history entry

    The source was labeled with the Google News search that found it; it now carries its outlet's tier (the record's rules of 2026-09-23). The link did not change. The day's label corrections.

  5. · the draft of a status history row

    Published on a project that was still a draft skeleton and still short of the record's skeleton minimum rule; returned to draft on 2026-09-17 pending the project meeting the rule or a person's approval. The old and new text.

  6. · the draft of a status history row

    Published on a project that was still a draft skeleton and still short of the record's skeleton minimum rule; returned to draft on 2026-09-17 pending the project meeting the rule or a person's approval. The old and new text.

  7. · the draft of a status history row

    Published on a project that was still a draft skeleton and still short of the record's skeleton minimum rule; returned to draft on 2026-09-17 pending the project meeting the rule or a person's approval. The old and new text.

  8. · the draft of a status history row

    Published on a project that was still a draft skeleton and still short of the record's skeleton minimum rule; returned to draft on 2026-09-17 pending the project meeting the rule or a person's approval. The old and new text.

  9. · the draft of a status history row

    Published on a project that was still a draft skeleton and still short of the record's skeleton minimum rule; returned to draft on 2026-09-17 pending the project meeting the rule or a person's approval. The old and new text.

  10. · the draft of a status history row

    Published on a project that was still a draft skeleton and still short of the record's skeleton minimum rule; returned to draft on 2026-09-17 pending the project meeting the rule or a person's approval. The old and new text.

  11. · the draft of a status history row

    Published on a project that was still a draft skeleton and still short of the record's skeleton minimum rule; returned to draft on 2026-09-17 pending the project meeting the rule or a person's approval. The old and new text.

  12. · the draft of a status history row

    Published on a project that was still a draft skeleton and still short of the record's skeleton minimum rule; returned to draft on 2026-09-17 pending the project meeting the rule or a person's approval. The old and new text.

Every correction on the record is on the corrections page.

What was said

Mayor Jonathan Nikkila said the city is trying to get ahead of data center development with great laws and high standards
Jonathan Nikkila, Mayor of Kearney · September 9, 2026 · paraphrased · KLKN-TV local outlet

Every statement about data centers in Nebraska, by speaker

The site

Where in Buffalo County is not in the public record. The pin marks the county seat, not a building, and the outline is the county.

  • This record: Proposed, ringed
  • data center
  • Dashed edge: the exact site is not in the public record
  • Smaller pins: 11 other published records in Nebraska
Details
  • this record's location, ringed
  • parcel outline, from the county parcel record
  • city limits, U.S. Census Bureau, on a town level record
  • county boundary

The other pins are the published projects in the same state, each in its stage color. The imagery beneath is the USGS national orthoimagery, public domain, shown so the land around the site can be read.

Where
Kearney, Buffalo County, Nebraska
How exactly it is located
County level, the county seat
The parcel
No parcel outline in the public record
Nearest homes
Not computed for a record placed at a place center
Nearest records
Nearest records are not computed for a record placed at a county seat.

Comparisons

5 metrics with more than one figure

Every figure on the record for the same thing, the record's own or the document's first, each with who gave it, its date and its basis.

Capacity at full buildout

2 figures, 3 sources
100 MWReported

KHGI, Sep 9, 2026

Show each source's words
  • 368 MW, Central Nebraska Today: Proposed data center electrical demand will be 368 megawatts
  • 368 MW, knopnews2.com: Tech One Crossing data center campus will consume 368 megawatts of power when fully built out
  • 368 MW, KHGI: Expanded facility would run on 368 megawatts of electricity
  • 100 MW, KHGI: Current facility runs on 100 megawatts of power

Permanent jobs

1 figure, 1 source
59 jobsReported

KHGI, Sep 9, 2026

Show each source's words
  • 59 jobs, KHGI: Project expected to create 59 jobs

Water a day

1 figure, 1 source
1,200 gallons per dayReported

Central Nebraska Today, Sep 8, 2026

Show each source's words
  • 1,200 gallons per day, Central Nebraska Today: Data center uses closed loop chilled water systems with one time fill requiring 1,200 gallons per day plus 2 million gallons annually for landscaping

Water a year

4 figures, 2 sources
2,240,073 gallons per yearReported

Central Nebraska Today, Aug 18, 2026

2,000,000 to 5,000,000 gallons a yearReported

KHGI, Sep 9, 2026

911,200 gallons per yearReported

Central Nebraska Today, Aug 18, 2026

455,600 gallons per yearReported

Central Nebraska Today, Aug 18, 2026

Show each source's words
  • 2,240,073 gallons per year, Central Nebraska Today: Phase 3 projected water usage of 2,240,073 gallons per year
  • 2,000,000 to 5,000,000 gallons a year, KHGI: Data center would use 2 million to 5 million gallons of water per year through closed loop cooling
  • 911,200 gallons per year, Central Nebraska Today: Phase 2 projected water usage of 911,200 gallons per year
  • 455,600 gallons per year, Central Nebraska Today: Phase 1 projected water usage of 455,600 gallons per year

Tax each year

1 figure, 1 source
20,000,000 USDReported

KHGI, Sep 9, 2026

Show each source's words
  • 20,000,000 USD, KHGI: Project expected to bring $20 million per year in property taxes

Questions about this project

7 questions answered from the record

Answered from the rows on this page.

How big is Kearney Data Center?

Not disclosed. No source on file gives its capacity, its acreage or a count of buildings. What the record holds instead is under Disclosed.

Who is building Kearney Data Center?

Not disclosed. No source on file names the developer. The sources read for this record are listed under Sources.

Who will use Kearney Data Center?

Not disclosed. No source on file names a tenant, says whether the site is single or multi tenant, or states what it is for. The record keeps the use as not disclosed until one does; see Who it serves.

How much power and water does Kearney Data Center say it needs?

Power: not disclosed by any source on file. Water: not disclosed by any source on file.

Where does Kearney Data Center stand today?

It is reported, as reported August 18, 2026. The newest entry, reported September 9, 2026: Project will replace existing cryptocurrency mining operation at Tech One Crossing [1].

What has Kearney or Buffalo County decided about it?

No decision by Kearney or Buffalo County about data centers is on the record. The Buffalo County page and the Nebraska scorecard list every rated row the day a person publishes one.

What is still unknown about Kearney Data Center?

Not disclosed by any source on file: how much power it needs, how much water it would use, how loud it would be, jobs once it runs, tax it would pay each year, who is building it, who is constructing it, how much land, where its power comes from, grid connection, how it is cooled. No missing primary document is listed for this record yet; What the record lacks is where one appears when a person names it.

Sources

Primary documents first: filings, minutes, dockets and official pages. Then reporting. The numbers are the ones the entries above cite.

Reporting

  1. Kearney City Council unanimously approves Project Horizon data center - Metro News Channel Nebraska, Metro News Channel Nebraska, September 9, 2026, local outlet
  2. Data center conditional use permit to be discussed at Kearney Planning Commission meeting - Central Nebraska Today, Central Nebraska Today, August 18, 2026, local outlet
  3. Kearney City Council approves Project Horizon data center - KHGI, KHGI, September 9, 2026, local outlet
  4. Kearney OKs first step to bring data center to town - KHGI, KHGI, August 21, 2026, local outlet
  5. Kearney Planning Commission to discuss data center code amendments at upcoming meeting - Central Nebraska Today, Central Nebraska Today, August 17, 2026, local outlet
  6. Data center conditional use permit to be discussed by Kearney city council tonight - Central Nebraska Today, Central Nebraska Today, September 8, 2026, local outlet
  7. Council OKs data center in Kearney, Omaha World-Herald, September 11, 2026, local outlet
  8. 368 megawatt AI data center approved in Kearney - Omaha World Herald, Omaha World-Herald, September 9, 2026, local outlet
  9. Kearney OKs first step to bring data center to town - KHGI, KHGI, August 21, 2026, local outlet

9 sources on file.

Cite this record

Data Center Record, "Kearney Data Center", https://datacenterrecord.org/projects/kearney-data-center-ne, last verified September 17, 2026.

Last verified , first recorded . Every correction is logged on the corrections page and under What happened.

Cite this page

Data Center Record, "Kearney Data Center", https://datacenterrecord.org/projects/kearney-data-center-ne. Data: Data Center Record, datacenterrecord.org, CC BY 4.0.

The structured rows are CC BY 4.0. Link to this page; that is what turns a reuse into a citation. Prose stays under copyright.

Report a change
For researchers
Slug
kearney-data-center-ne
Status value
rumored
Stage
Proposed
Tier
skeleton
Tags
skeleton
Place id
us/ne/buffalo-county/kearney
Coordinates
40.7, -99.08333
Location precision
county
Location source
County seat (Kearney), Wikidata, placed at county level
Coordinate source
wikidata county seat
Location source number
Not disclosed
Location last verified
September 16, 2026
EPA registry id
Not disclosed
Use type values
not_disclosed
Tenancy value
not_disclosed
Cooling type value
not_disclosed
Capacity basis
not_disclosed
Water basis
not_disclosed, gallons_per_day
Acreage basis
Not disclosed
Interconnection value
not_disclosed
Capacity, if disclosed
Not disclosed
Rating of the county's rows
Not disclosed
Published
2026-09-05
Last verified
2026-09-17