Data Center Record.

Reported Built from one source

Quantica Broadview Data Center

Quantica has proposed a large AI data center near Broadview spanning approximately 5,000 acres, with debates over water usage, natural gas power sourcing, and self funded energy capacity. It is reported, as reported August 18, 2026.

How much power it needs, how much water it would use and who would use it have not been disclosed.

Last verified · 13 sources, 0 primary · A skeleton record: built from one source, not yet reviewed in depth by a person. · How to read this page

How to read this page. Every fact links to the source it rests on; a number in brackets is its place in the source list. A figure no source gives reads Not disclosed, and nothing is estimated. Where sources give different figures, each is shown with who gave it, and another source's figure never stands in for the record's own. Entries are added and never overwritten; corrections are listed under What happened.

What is known

Each figure as its source gave it. The number in brackets is its place in the source list.

Land
5,100 acres
third party estimate [4]
Power it would draw
Not disclosed
Water
Not disclosed
Reported by others: 20,000 gallons a day (montanarightnow.com). Their figure, not the record's.
Who leads it
Quantica
as stated by the source
Who would use it
Not disclosed
Jobs once it runs
Not disclosed
Tax each year
Not disclosed
Where its power comes from
NorthWestern Energy (letter of intent)
as stated by the source [2]
Every field, with who said it and when (Researcher view)

Impact figures

FieldValueWho says soSourceLast verified
How much power it needs Not disclosed
How much water it would use Not disclosed
How loud it would be Not disclosed
Jobs once it runs Not disclosed
Tax it would pay each year Not disclosed

The record's fields

FieldValueWho says soSourceLast verified
Who is building it Quantica as stated by the source October 6, 2026
Who is constructing it Not disclosed
How much land 5,100 acres third party estimate [4] ktvq.com October 6, 2026
Where its power comes from NorthWestern Energy (letter of intent) as stated by the source [2] facebook.com October 6, 2026
Grid connection Not disclosed
How it is cooled Not disclosed

How much water it would use, also reported: 20,000 gallons a day, 2026 (montanarightnow.com: Quantica Infrastructure estimated water use of 20,000 gallons per day for proposed Broadview data center) .

The developer's figure is what the company said; what a permit allows is the ceiling a permit sets; measured means observed. Water is in gallons a day or a year, whichever the source stated; a tax claim given as a range shows both ends, each linked to the source that gave it.

Still not public, and where it would show up

The record adds each the day a source gives it. Why these documents.

  • Water useA state water right filing or a water supply agreement.
  • Who would use itA lease announcement or a tenant named in a filing.
  • Power the campus would drawA utility or public service commission docket, an interconnection filing, or an air permit for an on site plant.
  • Jobs and taxAn incentive agreement, a county's economic development filing or a fiscal note.

What happened

  1. · Status: rumored (source date; the content gives no date of its own)

    Proposed data center project spans 5,000 acres south of Broadview [1]

The full Quantica Broadview Data Center timeline, in order

17 corrections to this record

Every correction, with its reason
  1. · the summary of a record items row

    the record's rules: the sentence copied its source, was about its headline or carried a number the card's facts do not; written again from the card's facts, on the editor's word The old and new text.

  2. · the summary of a record items row

    the record's rules: the sentence copied its source, was about its headline or carried a number the card's facts do not; written again from the card's facts, on the editor's word The old and new text.

  3. · the summary of a record items row

    the record's rules: the sentence copied its source, was about its headline or carried a number the card's facts do not; written again from the card's facts, on the editor's word The old and new text.

  4. · the kind of source of a history entry

    The source was labeled with the Google News search that found it; it now carries its outlet's tier (the record's rules of 2026-09-23). The link did not change. The day's label corrections.

  5. · the kind of source of a history entry

    The source was labeled with the Google News search that found it; it now carries its outlet's tier (the record's rules of 2026-09-23). The link did not change. The day's label corrections.

  6. · the kind of source of a history entry

    The source was labeled with the Google News search that found it; it now carries its outlet's tier (the record's rules of 2026-09-23). The link did not change. The day's label corrections.

  7. · the kind of source of a history entry

    The source was labeled with the Google News search that found it; it now carries its outlet's tier (the record's rules of 2026-09-23). The link did not change. The day's label corrections.

  8. · the kind of source of a history entry

    The source was labeled with the Google News search that found it; it now carries its outlet's tier (the record's rules of 2026-09-23). The link did not change. The day's label corrections.

  9. · the kind of source of a history entry

    The source was labeled with the Google News search that found it; it now carries its outlet's tier (the record's rules of 2026-09-23). The link did not change. The day's label corrections.

  10. · the kind of source of a history entry

    The source was labeled with the Google News search that found it; it now carries its outlet's tier (the record's rules of 2026-09-23). The link did not change. The day's label corrections.

  11. · the kind of source of a history entry

    The source was labeled with the Google News search that found it; it now carries its outlet's tier (the record's rules of 2026-09-23). The link did not change. The day's label corrections.

  12. · the kind of source of a history entry

    The source was labeled with the Google News search that found it; it now carries its outlet's tier (the record's rules of 2026-09-23). The link did not change. The day's label corrections.

  13. · the kind of source of a history entry

    Tier after resolution (2026-09-21). The source on file is ktvq.com, the publisher's own page. The item reached the record through Google News: "data center" Montana, which the record carries at tier 1, and the approve copied the feed's tier onto this row. The tier now comes from the outlet, which the record already carries at tier 4 on 1 row of sources. DECISIONS section 7. The speaker, the claim, the date and the url are unchanged. The day's label corrections.

  14. · the kind of source of a history entry

    Tier after resolution (2026-09-21). The source on file is montanafreepress.org, the publisher's own page. The item reached the record through Google News: "data center" Montana, which the record carries at tier 1, and the approve copied the feed's tier onto this row. The tier now comes from the outlet, which the record already carries at tier 4 on 1 row of sources. DECISIONS section 7. The speaker, the claim, the date and the url are unchanged. The day's label corrections.

  15. · the draft of a status history row

    Published on a project that was still a draft skeleton and still short of the record's skeleton minimum rule; returned to draft on 2026-09-17 pending the project meeting the rule or a person's approval. The old and new text.

  16. · the draft of a status history row

    Published on a project that was still a draft skeleton and still short of the record's skeleton minimum rule; returned to draft on 2026-09-17 pending the project meeting the rule or a person's approval. The old and new text.

  17. · the draft of a status history row

    Published on a project that was still a draft skeleton and still short of the record's skeleton minimum rule; returned to draft on 2026-09-17 pending the project meeting the rule or a person's approval. The old and new text.

Every correction on the record is on the corrections page.

What was said

Yellowstone County Commission Chair Mark Morse said county commissioners do not know what regulatory authority they have regarding data center development under the Right to Compute Act.
Mark Morse, Yellowstone County Commission Chair · September 21, 2026 · paraphrased · Montana Free Press local outlet
Kassi Solberg reported being accosted by sheriff deputies who restrained her with handcuffs
Kassi Solberg, Yellowstone County Voices organizer · August 11, 2026 · paraphrased · KTVQ local outlet

Every statement about data centers in Montana, by speaker

11 more statements on this page

Democratic candidate for MT-02

Democratic candidate Brian Miller serving as legal counsel for citizens challenging Quantica Infrastructure development in Yellowstone County

September 4, 2026, montanarightnow.com · montanarightnow.com local outlet · the record (Paraphrased; said in the source itself)

Independent candidate for MT-02

Dr. Mike Eisenhauer proposes 5 Pillar policy requiring closed loop cooling, protecting ratepayers and workers, and letting each community have final say

September 4, 2026, montanarightnow.com · montanarightnow.com local outlet · the record (Paraphrased; said in the source itself)

U.S. Representative, Montana

Rep. Troy Downing says data centers can bring investment but decisions should be made by communities, federal government should take light touch approach, and Montana's senior water rights must be protected

September 4, 2026, montanarightnow.com · montanarightnow.com local outlet · the record (Paraphrased; said in the source itself)

Libertarian candidate for MT-02

Patrick McCracken says most people would not want to live next door to a data center and communities need to make decisions on resource use and impacts

September 4, 2026, montanarightnow.com · montanarightnow.com local outlet · the record (Paraphrased; said in the source itself)

Montana political candidate

Brian Miller, Democratic candidate for Montana's Eastern Congressional District, represented opponents of the Broadview project

September 2, 2026, montanarightnow.com · montanarightnow.com local outlet · the record (Paraphrased; said in the source itself)

Yellowstone County Commission Chair Mark Morse said idea of placing moratorium on ballot would need to be discussed at board's discussion meetings before it could move to regular business agenda for a vote

August 19, 2026, The Cool Down · The Cool Down local outlet · the record (Paraphrased; content date; reported from elsewhere)

Yellowstone County commissioner

Commissioner Mark Morse stated county does not have authority to impose emergency interim zoning

August 18, 2026, KTVQ · KTVQ local outlet · the record (Paraphrased; said in the source itself)

Judge, Yellowstone County

Judge Ed Zink wrote it was regrettable that county officials gave Solberg wrong deadline but error not enough to overturn county decision

August 11, 2026, KTVQ · KTVQ local outlet · the record (Paraphrased; content date; reported from elsewhere)

Yellowstone County Voices volunteer

Katie Harrison, a volunteer with Yellowstone County Voices, reported that a security guard repeatedly told her to move and change position while collecting signatures

August 11, 2026, KTVQ · KTVQ local outlet · the record (Paraphrased; said in the source itself)

Yellowstone County Sheriff

Sheriff Kent O'Donnell stated that signature gatherers were removed for their actions and that one person put physical hands on a deputy

August 11, 2026, KTVQ · KTVQ local outlet · the record (Paraphrased; said in the source itself)

Kassi Solberg of Yellowstone County Voices stated the commissioners are trying to push the Quantica AI data center through without the consensus of the people

August 4, 2026, KTVQ · KTVQ local outlet · the record (Paraphrased; said in the source itself)

The site

Where in Stillwater County is not in the public record. The pin marks the county seat, not a building, and the outline is the county.

  • This record: Proposed, ringed
  • data center
  • Dashed edge: the exact site is not in the public record
  • Smaller pins: 4 other published records in Montana
Details
  • this record's location, ringed
  • parcel outline, from the county parcel record
  • city limits, U.S. Census Bureau, on a town level record
  • county boundary

The other pins are the published projects in the same state, each in its stage color. The imagery beneath is the USGS national orthoimagery, public domain, shown so the land around the site can be read.

Where
Broadview, Stillwater County, Montana
How exactly it is located
County level, the county seat
The parcel
No parcel outline in the public record
Nearest homes
Not computed for a record placed at a place center
Nearest records
Nearest records are not computed for a record placed at a county seat.

Comparisons

1 metric with more than one figure

Every figure on the record for the same thing, the record's own or the document's first, each with who gave it, its date and its basis.

Water a day

1 figure, 1 source
20,000 gallons a dayEstimate

montanarightnow.com, Sep 2, 2026

Show each source's words
  • 20,000 gallons a day, montanarightnow.com: Quantica Infrastructure estimated water use of 20,000 gallons per day for proposed Broadview data center

Questions about this project

7 questions answered from the record

Answered from the rows on this page.

How big is Quantica Broadview Data Center?

The record has one measure of its size: 5,100 acres (third party estimate, source). Its power capacity is not disclosed.

Who is building Quantica Broadview Data Center?

Quantica is the developer. No construction contractor is named on the record yet.

Who will use Quantica Broadview Data Center?

Not disclosed. No source on file names a tenant, says whether the site is single or multi tenant, or states what it is for. The record keeps the use as not disclosed until one does; see Who it serves.

How much power and water does Quantica Broadview Data Center say it needs?

Power: not disclosed by any source on file. Water: not disclosed by any source on file.

Where does Quantica Broadview Data Center stand today?

It is reported, as reported August 18, 2026. The newest entry, reported August 18, 2026: Proposed data center project spans 5,000 acres south of Broadview [1].

What has Broadview or Stillwater County decided about it?

No decision by Broadview or Stillwater County about data centers is on the record. The Stillwater County page and the Montana scorecard list every rated row the day a person publishes one.

What is still unknown about Quantica Broadview Data Center?

Not disclosed by any source on file: how much power it needs, how much water it would use, how loud it would be, jobs once it runs, tax it would pay each year, who is constructing it, grid connection, how it is cooled. No missing primary document is listed for this record yet; What the record lacks is where one appears when a person names it.

Sources

Primary documents first: filings, minutes, dockets and official pages. Then reporting. The numbers are the ones the entries above cite.

Reporting

  1. Commissioners agree to discuss emergency zoning request over proposed Broadview data center - KTVQ, KTVQ, August 18, 2026, local outlet
  2. NorthWestern Energy Group, Inc., operating as NorthWestern Energy, has signed a letter of intent to provide energy services for a new data center project proposed by Quantica Infrastructure in Montana. The agreement outlines plans to potentially deliver ener, www.facebook.com, July 30, 2025, local outlet
  3. Frustrated, rowdy data center opponents make more noise in Yellowstone County - Montana Free Press, Montana Free Press, August 19, 2026, local outlet
  4. Dirt starts moving at proposed Quantica data center site near Broadview - KTVQ, KTVQ, September 12, 2026, local outlet
  5. Broadview data center debate raises water and transparency concerns - NonStop Local Billings, NonStop Local Billings, September 2, 2026, local outlet
  6. Quantica outlines proposed water usage for Broadview data center - KTVQ, KTVQ, September 1, 2026, local outlet
  7. Proposed AI data center near Broadview could use natural gas as a power source - KTVQ, KTVQ, May 21, 2026, local outlet
  8. Quantica seeking to boost energy capacity at proposed Broadview data center - KTVQ, KTVQ, May 20, 2026, local outlet
  9. Emails: Massive gas power plants planned north of Billings for Broadview data center - Billings Gazette, Billings Gazette, May 20, 2026, local outlet
  10. Quantica commits further to self-funded power for data center near Broadview - Billings Gazette, Billings Gazette, May 14, 2026, local outlet
  11. Proposed 5,000-Acre AI data center near Broadview raises questions from residents | Billings News - NonStop Local Billings, NonStop Local Billings, March 12, 2026, local outlet
  12. As AI investors eye Montana for new data centers, communities brace for water impacts - Montana Free Press, Montana Free Press, February 12, 2026, local outlet
1 more source
  1. Quantica outlines proposed water usage for Broadview data center - KTVQ, KTVQ, September 1, 2026, local outlet

13 sources on file.

Cite this record

Data Center Record, "Quantica Broadview Data Center", https://datacenterrecord.org/projects/quantica-broadview-data-center-mt, last verified October 6, 2026.

Last verified , first recorded . Every correction is logged on the corrections page and under What happened.

Cite this page

Data Center Record, "Quantica Broadview Data Center", https://datacenterrecord.org/projects/quantica-broadview-data-center-mt. Data: Data Center Record, datacenterrecord.org, CC BY 4.0.

The structured rows are CC BY 4.0. Link to this page; that is what turns a reuse into a citation. Prose stays under copyright.

Report a change
For researchers
Slug
quantica-broadview-data-center-mt
Status value
rumored
Stage
Proposed
Tier
skeleton
Tags
skeleton
Place id
us/mt/stillwater-county/broadview
Coordinates
45.6383, -109.252
Location precision
county
Location source
County seat (Columbus), Wikidata, placed at county level
Coordinate source
wikidata county seat
Location source number
Not disclosed
Location last verified
September 16, 2026
EPA registry id
Not disclosed
Use type values
not_disclosed
Tenancy value
not_disclosed
Cooling type value
not_disclosed
Capacity basis
not_disclosed
Water basis
not_disclosed, gallons_per_day
Acreage basis
third_party_estimate
Interconnection value
not_disclosed
Capacity, if disclosed
Not disclosed
Rating of the county's rows
Not disclosed
Published
2026-09-05
Last verified
2026-10-06