Yellowstone County data center (eyeing)
A data center company eyeing Yellowstone County had top employees make matching political donations before announcing plans, while residents are demanding a vote on a moratorium as the county takes no action. It is reported; the record holds no sourced date for when it reached that stage.
How much power it needs, how much water it would use and who would use it have not been disclosed.
How to read this page. Every fact links to the source it rests on; a number in brackets is its place in the source list. A figure no source gives reads Not disclosed, and nothing is estimated. Where sources give different figures, each is shown with who gave it, and another source's figure never stands in for the record's own. Entries are added and never overwritten; corrections are listed under What happened.
What is known
Each figure as its source gave it. The number in brackets is its place in the source list.
- Land
- Not disclosed
- Power it would draw
- Not disclosed
- Water
- Not disclosed
- Reported by others: 20,000 gallons a day (montanarightnow.com). Their figure, not the record's.
- Who leads it
- Not disclosed
- Who would use it
- Not disclosed
- Jobs once it runs
- Not disclosed
- Tax each year
- Not disclosed
Every field, with who said it and when (Researcher view)
Impact figures
| Field | Value | Who says so | Source | Last verified |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| How much power it needs | Not disclosed | |||
| How much water it would use | Not disclosed | |||
| How loud it would be | Not disclosed | |||
| Jobs once it runs | Not disclosed | |||
| Tax it would pay each year | Not disclosed |
The record's fields
| Field | Value | Who says so | Source | Last verified |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Who is building it | Not disclosed | |||
| Who is constructing it | Not disclosed | |||
| How much land | Not disclosed | |||
| Where its power comes from | Not disclosed | |||
| Grid connection | Not disclosed | |||
| How it is cooled | Not disclosed |
How much water it would use, also reported: 20,000 gallons a day, 2026 (montanarightnow.com: Quantica Infrastructure estimates using 20,000 gallons of water per day once completed using closed loop cooling technology) .
The developer's figure is what the company said; what a permit allows is the ceiling a permit sets; measured means observed. Water is in gallons a day or a year, whichever the source stated; a tax claim given as a range shows both ends, each linked to the source that gave it.
Still not public, and where it would show up
The record adds each the day a source gives it. Why these documents.
- Water useA state water right filing or a water supply agreement.
- Who would use itA lease announcement or a tenant named in a filing.
- Power the campus would drawA utility or public service commission docket, an interconnection filing, or an air permit for an on site plant.
- Who is behind itA land record, a zoning application or a company's own announcement.
- Jobs and taxAn incentive agreement, a county's economic development filing or a fiscal note.
What was decided
Acts of Yellowstone County and the cities in it about data centers, on the record with their source. A rule about the area is not a decision about this record.
| Date | Who | Decision | Source |
|---|---|---|---|
| Yellowstone County | Kassi Solberg aims to have a ballot initiative approved for the Yellowstone County election on May 4, 2027 | montanafreepress.org | |
| Yellowstone County | Kassi Solberg collected more than 14,000 signatures toward a ballot initiative requiring voter approval for data centers in Yellowstone County | montanafreepress.org | |
| Yellowstone County | Yellowstone County commissioners sent a letter asking local legislators to refine the Right to Compute Act | montanafreepress.org | |
| Yellowstone County | Yellowstone County Commissioners asked their district court in July 2026 for a judgment on the constitutionality of a citizen petition requiring voter approval for data center developments. | montanafreepress.org | |
| Yellowstone County | Yellowstone County Attorney Scott Twito said the 2025 Right to Compute Act, passed with bipartisan support (61-38 House, 50-0 Senate), prevents interim zoning on data centers by requiring restrictions be narrowly tailored and preventing restrictions if less restrictive means exist. | montanafreepress.org | |
| Yellowstone County | Yellowstone County residents and opponents of the Quantica data center project in Broadview requested interim zoning to pause development pending county review of data center impacts. | montanafreepress.org |
7 earlier decisions on the county's rows
| Date | Who | Decision | Source |
|---|---|---|---|
| Yellowstone County | Commission scheduled to discuss emergency zoning request at August 27, 2026 meeting in Billings | ktvq.com | |
| Yellowstone County | Yellowstone County commissioners agreed to discuss emergency interim zoning ordinance following public meeting on Tuesday, August 18, 2026 | ktvq.com | |
| Yellowstone County | A Billings judge ruled on a similar data center ballot initiative issue that the deadline for collecting signatures had passed under Montana Code Annotated 13-28-206 | kbzk.com | |
| Yellowstone County | On August 11, 2026, Yellowstone County District Court invalidated a citizen petition requiring data center voter approval on the basis of procedural deadline failure, leaving the Right to Compute Act's regulatory implications unaddressed. | montanafreepress.org | |
| Yellowstone County | No charges were filed against the signature gatherers according to Sheriff O'Donnell | ktvq.com | |
| Yellowstone County | Volunteers collecting signatures for Yellowstone County Voices reported harassment by security guards and law enforcement at MontanaFair on Sunday | ktvq.com | |
| Yellowstone County | Yellowstone County Judge Ed Zink ruled that gatherers missed the deadline to collect signatures for the data center ballot measure | ktvq.com |
What happened
No dated entry is on the record yet.
3 corrections to this record
Every correction, with its reason
-
· the draft of a reference figures row
The record could not read this figure's source: the page answered with no article text, so none reached the classifier, which scored card 12506 from the headline alone, and the number came from the headline; published by the bulk approve of 2026-09-25. A reference figure needs a source the record read: returned to draft, off every page, until a readable source that states it is cited (docs/batch-unread-figures-0929.md). The old and new text.
-
· the kind of source of a history entry
The source was labeled with the Google News search that found it; it now carries its outlet's tier (the record's rules of 2026-09-23). The link did not change. The day's label corrections.
-
· the kind of source of a history entry
The source was labeled with the Google News search that found it; it now carries its outlet's tier (the record's rules of 2026-09-23). The link did not change. The day's label corrections.
Every correction on the record is on the corrections page.
The site
Where in Yellowstone County is not in the public record. The pin marks the county seat, not a building, and the outline is the county.
Tap a pin for the data center, the parcel for its record
- This record: Proposed, ringed
- data center
- Dashed edge: the exact site is not in the public record
- Smaller pins: 4 other published records in Montana
Details
- this record's location, ringed
- parcel outline, from the county parcel record
- city limits, U.S. Census Bureau, on a town level record
- county boundary
The other pins are the published projects in the same state, each in its stage color. The imagery beneath is the USGS national orthoimagery, public domain, shown so the land around the site can be read.
- Where
- Yellowstone County, Montana
- How exactly it is located
- County level, the county seat
- The parcel
- No parcel outline in the public record
- Nearest homes
- Not computed for a record placed at a place center
- Nearest records
- Nearest records are not computed for a record placed at a county seat.
Comparisons
1 metric with more than one figure
Water a day
1 figure, 1 sourceShow each source's words
- 20,000 gallons a day, montanarightnow.com: Quantica Infrastructure estimates using 20,000 gallons of water per day once completed using closed loop cooling technology
Questions about this project
7 questions answered from the record
How big is Yellowstone County data center (eyeing)?
-
Not disclosed. No source on file gives its capacity, its acreage or a count of buildings. What the record holds instead is under Disclosed.
Who is building Yellowstone County data center (eyeing)?
-
Not disclosed. No source on file names the developer. The sources read for this record are listed under Sources.
Who will use Yellowstone County data center (eyeing)?
-
Not disclosed. No source on file names a tenant, says whether the site is single or multi tenant, or states what it is for. The record keeps the use as not disclosed until one does; see Who it serves.
How much power and water does Yellowstone County data center (eyeing) say it needs?
-
Power: not disclosed by any source on file. Water: not disclosed by any source on file.
Where does Yellowstone County data center (eyeing) stand today?
-
It is reported; the date it reached that stage is not sourced, only the day a page was read. No dated entry is on the record yet.
What has Yellowstone County decided about it?
-
Yellowstone County: Kassi Solberg aims to have a ballot initiative approved for the Yellowstone County election on May 4, 2027 (reported September 24, 2026, source); and Yellowstone County: Kassi Solberg collected more than 14,000 signatures toward a ballot initiative requiring voter approval for data centers in Yellowstone County (reported September 24, 2026, source). 13 events are on the county's rows; a rule about the area is not a decision about this record.
What is still unknown about Yellowstone County data center (eyeing)?
-
Not disclosed by any source on file: how much power it needs, how much water it would use, how loud it would be, jobs once it runs, tax it would pay each year, who is building it, who is constructing it, how much land, where its power comes from, grid connection, how it is cooled. No missing primary document is listed for this record yet; What the record lacks is where one appears when a person names it.
Sources
Reporting
- Top employees for data center company eyeing Yellowstone County made matching political donations before announcing plans - Montana Free Press, Montana Free Press, September 3, 2026, local outlet
- Montana residents demand vote on data center moratorium as Yellowstone County takes no action - The Cool Down, The Cool Down, September 3, 2026, local outlet
- Opposition erupts as Yellowstone County files suit over data center initiative - Billings Gazette, Billings Gazette, July 9, 2026, local outlet
3 sources on file.
Cite this record
Data Center Record, "Yellowstone County data center (eyeing)", https://datacenterrecord.org/projects/yellowstone-county-data-center-eyeing-mt, last verified September 17, 2026.
Cite this page
Data Center Record, "Yellowstone County data center (eyeing)", https://datacenterrecord.org/projects/yellowstone-county-data-center-eyeing-mt. Data: Data Center Record, datacenterrecord.org, CC BY 4.0.
The structured rows are CC BY 4.0. Link to this page; that is what turns a reuse into a citation. Prose stays under copyright.
For researchers
- Slug
- yellowstone-county-data-center-eyeing-mt
- Status value
- rumored
- Stage
- Proposed
- Tier
- skeleton
- Tags
- skeleton
- Place id
- us/mt/yellowstone-county
- Coordinates
- 45.78667, -108.53722
- Location precision
- county
- Location source
- County seat (Billings), Wikidata, placed at county level
- Coordinate source
- wikidata county seat
- Location source number
- Not disclosed
- Location last verified
- September 16, 2026
- EPA registry id
- Not disclosed
- Use type values
- not_disclosed
- Tenancy value
- not_disclosed
- Cooling type value
- not_disclosed
- Capacity basis
- not_disclosed
- Water basis
- not_disclosed, gallons_per_day
- Acreage basis
- Not disclosed
- Interconnection value
- not_disclosed
- Capacity, if disclosed
- Not disclosed
- Rating of the county's rows
- Not disclosed
- Published
- 2026-09-05
- Last verified
- 2026-09-17