Data Center Record.

Reported Built from one source

Meta plus Moss Bluff

A headline raises the question of whether a data center is coming to Moss Bluff, Louisiana, with limited confirmed details. It is reported, as reported August 12, 2026.

How much power it needs, how much water it would use and who would use it have not been disclosed.

Last verified · 4 sources, 0 primary · A skeleton record: built from one source, not yet reviewed in depth by a person. · How to read this page

How to read this page. Every fact links to the source it rests on; a number in brackets is its place in the source list. A figure no source gives reads Not disclosed, and nothing is estimated. Where sources give different figures, each is shown with who gave it, and another source's figure never stands in for the record's own. Entries are added and never overwritten; corrections are listed under What happened.

What is known

Each figure as its source gave it. The number in brackets is its place in the source list.

Land
Not disclosed
Power it would draw
Not disclosed
Water
Not disclosed
Who leads it
Not disclosed
Who would use it
Not disclosed
Jobs once it runs
Not disclosed
Tax each year
Not disclosed
Every field, with who said it and when (Researcher view)

Impact figures

FieldValueWho says soSourceLast verified
How much power it needs Not disclosed
How much water it would use Not disclosed
How loud it would be Not disclosed
Jobs once it runs Not disclosed
Tax it would pay each year Not disclosed

The record's fields

FieldValueWho says soSourceLast verified
Who is building it Not disclosed
Who is constructing it Not disclosed
How much land Not disclosed
Where its power comes from Not disclosed
Grid connection Not disclosed
How it is cooled Not disclosed

Jobs once it runs, also reported: 50 jobs, 2026 (The Advocate: To qualify for state tax incentives project must create at least 50 new permanent jobs) .

Tax it would pay each year, also reported: 200,000,000 USD, 2026 (The Advocate: To qualify for state tax incentives project must commit to minimum $200 million capital investment) .

The developer's figure is what the company said; what a permit allows is the ceiling a permit sets; measured means observed. Water is in gallons a day or a year, whichever the source stated; a tax claim given as a range shows both ends, each linked to the source that gave it.

Still not public, and where it would show up

The record adds each the day a source gives it. Why these documents.

  • Water useA state water right filing or a water supply agreement.
  • Who would use itA lease announcement or a tenant named in a filing.
  • Power the campus would drawA utility or public service commission docket, an interconnection filing, or an air permit for an on site plant.
  • Who is behind itA land record, a zoning application or a company's own announcement.
  • Jobs and taxAn incentive agreement, a county's economic development filing or a fiscal note.

What was decided

Acts of Calcasieu Parish and Moss Bluff about data centers, on the record with their source. A rule about the area is not a decision about this record.

DateWhoDecisionSource
Calcasieu Parish Project requires Calcasieu Parish Planning and Zoning Board approval theadvocate.com
Calcasieu Parish Calcasieu Parish Police Jury confirmed no permits have been obtained or proposals submitted for a data center in Moss Bluff as of Tuesday theadvocate.com

What happened

  1. (source date; the content gives no date of its own)

    Plans are still in early stages and nothing firm has been decided yet [1]

  2. (source date; the content gives no date of its own)

    Company has option to purchase 1,100 acres [1]

  3. (source date; the content gives no date of its own)

    Azimuth Renewables considering building a data center on 1,100 acres near Coffey Road in Moss Bluff [1]

  4. (source date; the content gives no date of its own)

    Data center would occupy fraction of 1,168 acres in wooded rural portion of Moss Bluff [2]

  5. (source date; the content gives no date of its own)

    Azimuth Renewables has three years to purchase property with optional one year extension [2]

  6. (source date; the content gives no date of its own)

    Azimuth Renewables signed option to purchase about 1,200 acres in Moss Bluff in April 2026 [2]

  7. · Status: rumored (source date; the content gives no date of its own)

    Discussions appear to be in early stages between landowner Kenny Nichols and a potential developer [4]

The full Meta plus Moss Bluff timeline, in order

1 correction to this record

Every correction, with its reason
  1. · the kind of source of a history entry

    The source was labeled with the Google News search that found it; it now carries its outlet's tier (the record's rules of 2026-09-23). The link did not change. The day's label corrections.

Every correction on the record is on the corrections page.

What was said

Brett Geymann stated that news of the considered data center has fueled opposition to competing solar farm proposal
Brett Geymann, Louisiana State Rep. · September 11, 2026 · paraphrased · American Press local outlet
Project must fully fund its own power generation and grid infrastructure costs
Louisiana state · September 10, 2026 · paraphrased · The Advocate local outlet

Every statement about data centers in Louisiana, by speaker

4 more statements on this page

Brett Geymann, State Representative

Residents of Moss Bluff oppose data center because houses border the proposed property and residents do not want to live that close to such facilities

September 11, 2026, louisianaradionetwork.com · louisianaradionetwork.com local outlet · the record (Paraphrased; said in the source itself)

Brett Geymann, State Representative

Moss Bluff was planned strictly as a residential community with no heavy commercial, light industrial or heavy industrial zoning

September 11, 2026, louisianaradionetwork.com · louisianaradionetwork.com local outlet · the record (Paraphrased; said in the source itself)

State Rep., R-Lake Charles

State Rep. Brett Geymann said no project is currently moving forward through Louisiana Economic Development or the Southwest Louisiana Economic Alliance

August 12, 2026, theadvocate.com · theadvocate.com local outlet · the record (Paraphrased; said in the source itself)

State Rep., R-Lake Charles

Geymann said he does not believe there should be a data center in Moss Bluff because it is a bedroom community and nonindustrial

August 12, 2026, theadvocate.com · theadvocate.com local outlet · the record (Paraphrased; said in the source itself)

The site

Where in Calcasieu Parish is not in the public record. The pin marks the county seat, not a building, and the outline is the county.

  • This record: Proposed, ringed
  • data center
  • Dashed edge: the exact site is not in the public record
  • Smaller pins: 8 other published records in Louisiana
Details
  • this record's location, ringed
  • parcel outline, from the county parcel record
  • city limits, U.S. Census Bureau, on a town level record
  • county boundary

The other pins are the published projects in the same state, each in its stage color. The imagery beneath is the USGS national orthoimagery, public domain, shown so the land around the site can be read.

Where
Moss Bluff, Calcasieu Parish, Louisiana
How exactly it is located
County level, the county seat
The parcel
No parcel outline in the public record
Nearest homes
Not computed for a record placed at a place center
Nearest records
Nearest records are not computed for a record placed at a county seat.

Comparisons

2 metrics with more than one figure

Every figure on the record for the same thing, the record's own or the document's first, each with who gave it, its date and its basis.

Permanent jobs

1 figure, 1 source
Show each source's words
  • 50 jobs, The Advocate: To qualify for state tax incentives project must create at least 50 new permanent jobs

Tax each year

1 figure, 1 source
200,000,000 USDReported

The Advocate, Sep 10, 2026

Show each source's words
  • 200,000,000 USD, The Advocate: To qualify for state tax incentives project must commit to minimum $200 million capital investment

Questions about this project

7 questions answered from the record

Answered from the rows on this page.

How big is Meta plus Moss Bluff?

Not disclosed. No source on file gives its capacity, its acreage or a count of buildings. What the record holds instead is under Disclosed.

Who is building Meta plus Moss Bluff?

Not disclosed. No source on file names the developer. The sources read for this record are listed under Sources.

Who will use Meta plus Moss Bluff?

Not disclosed. No source on file names a tenant, says whether the site is single or multi tenant, or states what it is for. The record keeps the use as not disclosed until one does; see Who it serves.

How much power and water does Meta plus Moss Bluff say it needs?

Power: not disclosed by any source on file. Water: not disclosed by any source on file.

Where does Meta plus Moss Bluff stand today?

It is reported, as reported August 12, 2026. The newest entry, reported September 11, 2026: Plans are still in early stages and nothing firm has been decided yet [1].

What has Moss Bluff or Calcasieu Parish decided about it?

Calcasieu Parish: Project requires Calcasieu Parish Planning and Zoning Board approval (reported September 10, 2026, source); and Calcasieu Parish: Calcasieu Parish Police Jury confirmed no permits have been obtained or proposals submitted for a data center in Moss Bluff as of Tuesday (reported August 12, 2026, source). 2 events are on the county's rows; a rule about the area is not a decision about this record.

What is still unknown about Meta plus Moss Bluff?

Not disclosed by any source on file: how much power it needs, how much water it would use, how loud it would be, jobs once it runs, tax it would pay each year, who is building it, who is constructing it, how much land, where its power comes from, grid connection, how it is cooled. No missing primary document is listed for this record yet; What the record lacks is where one appears when a person names it.

Sources

Primary documents first: filings, minutes, dockets and official pages. Then reporting. The numbers are the ones the entries above cite.

Reporting

  1. Data center could be coming to Moss Bluff - American Press, American Press, September 11, 2026, local outlet
  2. Data center planned for north of Lake Charles, developer confirms. Here’s what we know. - The Advocate, The Advocate, September 10, 2026, local outlet
  3. Proposed data center north of Moss Bluff still in exploration stage, company says - KPLC 7 News, KPLC 7 News, September 10, 2026, local outlet
  4. Is a data center coming to Moss Bluff? Here’s what we know. - theadvocate.com, theadvocate.com, August 12, 2026, local outlet

4 sources on file.

Cite this record

Data Center Record, "Meta plus Moss Bluff", https://datacenterrecord.org/projects/meta-plus-moss-bluff-la, last verified September 17, 2026.

Last verified , first recorded . Every correction is logged on the corrections page and under What happened.

Cite this page

Data Center Record, "Meta plus Moss Bluff", https://datacenterrecord.org/projects/meta-plus-moss-bluff-la. Data: Data Center Record, datacenterrecord.org, CC BY 4.0.

The structured rows are CC BY 4.0. Link to this page; that is what turns a reuse into a citation. Prose stays under copyright.

Report a change
For researchers
Slug
meta-plus-moss-bluff-la
Status value
rumored
Stage
Proposed
Tier
skeleton
Tags
skeleton
Place id
us/la/calcasieu-parish/moss-bluff
Coordinates
30.21472, -93.20861
Location precision
county
Location source
County seat (Lake Charles), Wikidata, placed at county level
Coordinate source
wikidata county seat
Location source number
Not disclosed
Location last verified
September 16, 2026
EPA registry id
Not disclosed
Use type values
not_disclosed
Tenancy value
not_disclosed
Cooling type value
not_disclosed
Capacity basis
not_disclosed
Water basis
not_disclosed, gallons_per_day
Acreage basis
Not disclosed
Interconnection value
not_disclosed
Capacity, if disclosed
Not disclosed
Rating of the county's rows
Not disclosed
Published
2026-09-05
Last verified
2026-09-17