Data Center Record.

Waiting on permits Built from one source

PORTS-Pike Technology Campus

SB Energy's PORTS Pike Technology Campus in Pike County is being built as an AI compute campus with NVIDIA guaranteeing exclusive hosting of NVIDIA AI compute, and OpenAI has joined the project, which is reported to require more power than all homes in Ohio. It is waiting on permits, as reported September 2, 2026.

How much power it needs, how much water it would use and who would use it have not been disclosed.

Last verified · 13 sources, 0 primary · A skeleton record: built from one source, not yet reviewed in depth by a person. · How to read this page

How to read this page. Every fact links to the source it rests on; a number in brackets is its place in the source list. A figure no source gives reads Not disclosed, and nothing is estimated. Where sources give different figures, each is shown with who gave it, and another source's figure never stands in for the record's own. Entries are added and never overwritten; corrections are listed under What happened.

What is known

Each figure as its source gave it. The number in brackets is its place in the source list.

Land
Not disclosed
Power it would draw
Not disclosed
Reported by others: 10 GW (Washington Examiner, enr.com); 9.2 GW (enr.com), and 3 more under Comparisons. Their figure, not the record's.
Water
Not disclosed
Who leads it
SB Energy
as stated by the source
Who would use it
Not disclosed
Jobs once it runs
Not disclosed
Tax each year
Not disclosed
Every field, with who said it and when (Researcher view)

Impact figures

FieldValueWho says soSourceLast verified
How much power it needs Not disclosed
How much water it would use Not disclosed
How loud it would be Not disclosed
Jobs once it runs Not disclosed
Tax it would pay each year Not disclosed

The record's fields

FieldValueWho says soSourceLast verified
Who is building it SB Energy as stated by the source September 17, 2026
Who is constructing it Not disclosed
How much land Not disclosed
Where its power comes from Not disclosed
Grid connection Not disclosed
How it is cooled Not disclosed

How much power it needs, also reported: 10 GW, 2026 (Washington Examiner: Plans to eventually expand power capacity to 10 gigawatts, enr.com: PORTS Pike Technology Campus planned 10 gigawatt data center campus); 9.2 GW, 2026 (enr.com: PORTS Pike power generation capacity about 9.2 gigawatts from natural gas); 8 GW, 2026 (Washington Examiner: Data center is planned to provide at least 8 gigawatts or 8 billion watts of electrical power); 4.25 GW, 2026 (enr.com: Initial deployment expected to provide 4.25 gigawatts of AI factory capacity); 1.56 GW, 2026 (Washington Examiner: Largest operating U.S. data center by power capacity is SpaceXAI Colossus 2 in Tennessee at 1.563 gigawatts) .

Tax it would pay each year, also reported: 2,500,000,000 dollars, 2024 (TiffinOhio.net: Between 2017 and 2024, Ohio provided about $2.5 billion in tax incentives to attract data center development.); 6,300,000 dollars, 2024 (TiffinOhio.net: American Electric Power Service Corporation received $6.3 million in data center tax breaks from the state as of September 2024.) .

The developer's figure is what the company said; what a permit allows is the ceiling a permit sets; measured means observed. Water is in gallons a day or a year, whichever the source stated; a tax claim given as a range shows both ends, each linked to the source that gave it.

Still not public, and where it would show up

The record adds each the day a source gives it. Why these documents.

  • Water useA state water right filing or a water supply agreement.
  • Who would use itA lease announcement or a tenant named in a filing.
  • Power the campus would drawA utility or public service commission docket, an interconnection filing, or an air permit for an on site plant.
  • Jobs and taxAn incentive agreement, a county's economic development filing or a fiscal note.

What was decided

Acts of Pike County and the cities in it about data centers, on the record with their source. A rule about the area is not a decision about this record.

DateWhoDecisionSource
Pike County Ohio Power Siting Board public hearing scheduled for Baku Gavin Transmission Line project on October 27, 2026 at 6 p.m. at Jackson High School Auditorium. yahoo.com

What happened

  1. (source date; the content gives no date of its own)

    PORTS-Pike Technology Campus is a 10 GW data center with co located gas generator [2]

  2. (source date; the content gives no date of its own)

    Construction on each building expected to take between 14 to 16 months [12]

  3. (source date; the content gives no date of its own)

    Prime hopes to begin work on the project sometime in early 2027 [12]

  4. · Status: permitting (source date; the content gives no date of its own)

    Prime Data Centers developer detailed Starpointe data center proposal on September 2, 2026 [12]

  5. (source date; the content gives no date of its own)

    PORTS Pike data center campus located on site of former Portsmouth Gaseous Diffusion Plant uranium enrichment facility near Columbus, Ohio [4]

  6. (source date; the content gives no date of its own)

    SB Energy will develop, own and operate data center campus including power generation [4]

  7. · Status: approved (source date; the content gives no date of its own)

    Bechtel and Kiewit Corp tapped to provide engineering, procurement, construction and other services for PORTS Pike [4]

  8. (source date; the content gives no date of its own)

    Project is being built at the Portsmouth Gaseous Diffusion Plant, a former uranium enrichment facility [13]

2 earlier entries
  1. (source date; the content gives no date of its own)

    By 2028 facility is set to generate 800 megawatts before construction is complete [13]

  2. · being built (source date; the content gives no date of its own)

    OpenAI entered into a 20 year lease agreement with SB Energy and SoftBank Group on Monday [13]

The full PORTS-Pike Technology Campus timeline, in order

22 corrections to this record

Every correction, with its reason
  1. · the speaker role of a statements row

    Speaker read again from the statement's source line, "Energy Secretary Chris Wright": the title in front of the name (Energy Secretary) is the role, not part of the name. The old and new text.

  2. · the speaker of a statements row

    Speaker read again from the statement's source line, "Energy Secretary Chris Wright": the title in front of the name (Energy Secretary) is the role, not part of the name. The old and new text.

  3. · the kind of source of a history entry

    The source was labeled with the Google News search that found it; it now carries its outlet's tier (the record's rules of 2026-09-23). The link did not change. The day's label corrections.

  4. · the kind of source of a history entry

    The source was labeled with the Google News search that found it; it now carries its outlet's tier (the record's rules of 2026-09-23). The link did not change. The day's label corrections.

  5. · the kind of source of a history entry

    The source was labeled with the Google News search that found it; it now carries its outlet's tier (the record's rules of 2026-09-23). The link did not change. The day's label corrections.

  6. · the kind of source of a history entry

    The source was labeled with the Google News search that found it; it now carries its outlet's tier (the record's rules of 2026-09-23). The link did not change. The day's label corrections.

  7. · the kind of source of a history entry

    The source was labeled with the Google News search that found it; it now carries its outlet's tier (the record's rules of 2026-09-23). The link did not change. The day's label corrections.

  8. · the kind of source of a history entry

    The source was labeled with the Google News search that found it; it now carries its outlet's tier (the record's rules of 2026-09-23). The link did not change. The day's label corrections.

  9. · the kind of source of a history entry

    The source was labeled with the Google News search that found it; it now carries its outlet's tier (the record's rules of 2026-09-23). The link did not change. The day's label corrections.

  10. · the kind of source of a history entry

    The source was labeled with the Google News search that found it; it now carries its outlet's tier (the record's rules of 2026-09-23). The link did not change. The day's label corrections.

  11. · the kind of source of a history entry

    The source was labeled with the Google News search that found it; it now carries its outlet's tier (the record's rules of 2026-09-23). The link did not change. The day's label corrections.

  12. · the kind of source of a history entry

    The source was labeled with the Google News search that found it; it now carries its outlet's tier (the record's rules of 2026-09-23). The link did not change. The day's label corrections.

  13. · the kind of source of a history entry

    The source was labeled with the Google News search that found it; it now carries its outlet's tier (the record's rules of 2026-09-23). The link did not change. The day's label corrections.

  14. · the kind of source of a history entry

    The source was labeled with the Google News search that found it; it now carries its outlet's tier: the tier the record already gives enr.com. The link did not change. The day's label corrections.

  15. · the kind of source of a history entry

    The source was labeled with the Google News search that found it; it now carries its outlet's tier: the tier the record already gives enr.com. The link did not change. The day's label corrections.

  16. · the kind of source of a history entry

    The source was labeled with the Google News search that found it; it now carries its outlet's tier: the tier the record already gives enr.com. The link did not change. The day's label corrections.

  17. · the kind of source of a history entry

    The source was labeled with the Google News search that found it; it now carries its outlet's tier: washingtonexaminer.com is a news outlet (tiered by kind, the record's rules of 2026-09-23). The link did not change. The day's label corrections.

  18. · the kind of source of a history entry

    The source was labeled with the Google News search that found it; it now carries its outlet's tier: washingtonexaminer.com is a news outlet (tiered by kind, the record's rules of 2026-09-23). The link did not change. The day's label corrections.

  19. · the kind of source of a history entry

    The source was labeled with the Google News search that found it; it now carries its outlet's tier: washingtonexaminer.com is a news outlet (tiered by kind, the record's rules of 2026-09-23). The link did not change. The day's label corrections.

  20. · the kind of source of a history entry

    The source was labeled with the Google News search that found it; it now carries its outlet's tier: observer-reporter.com is a news outlet (tiered by kind, the record's rules of 2026-09-23). The link did not change. The day's label corrections.

  21. · the kind of source of a history entry

    The source was labeled with the Google News search that found it; it now carries its outlet's tier: observer-reporter.com is a news outlet (tiered by kind, the record's rules of 2026-09-23). The link did not change. The day's label corrections.

  22. · the kind of source of a history entry

    The source was labeled with the Google News search that found it; it now carries its outlet's tier: observer-reporter.com is a news outlet (tiered by kind, the record's rules of 2026-09-23). The link did not change. The day's label corrections.

Every correction on the record is on the corrections page.

What was said

Derek Merrin reported capital gains of at least $1,200 from Nvidia stock and options in a financial disclosure covering 2025 through mid-2026.
Derek Merrin, Republican congressional candidate · September 28, 2026 · paraphrased · TiffinOhio.net local outlet
Kate Nolan Bryden, Prime Senior Vice President of Development and project lead, testified that the facility will use advanced closed loop cooling systems
Kate Nolan Bryden, Prime Data Centers Senior Vice President of Development · September 2, 2026 · paraphrased · Observer-Reporter local outlet

Every statement about data centers in Ohio, by speaker

4 more statements on this page

Nvidia CEO and President

Nvidia CEO Jensen Huang said now is the time to scale the AI infrastructure that will power the next industrial revolution

August 17, 2026, Washington Examiner · Washington Examiner national outlet · the record (Paraphrased; said in the source itself)

Energy Secretary Chris Wright said the data center will be bigger than any facility ever built in world history

August 17, 2026, Washington Examiner · Washington Examiner national outlet · the record (Paraphrased; said in the source itself)

OpenAI said this gives a site that once supported American industry and national security a new role building infrastructure for the Intelligence Era

August 17, 2026, Washington Examiner · Washington Examiner national outlet · the record (Paraphrased; said in the source itself)

Merrin voted in 2017 for Ohio's 2018-19 budget which included tax breaks for data centers.

January 1, 2017, TiffinOhio.net · TiffinOhio.net local outlet · the record (Paraphrased; content date; reported from elsewhere)

The site

Where in Pike County is not in the public record. The pin marks the county seat, not a building, and the outline is the county.

  • This record: Proposed, ringed
  • data center
  • Dashed edge: the exact site is not in the public record
  • Smaller pins: 29 other published records in Ohio
Details
  • this record's location, ringed
  • parcel outline, from the county parcel record
  • city limits, U.S. Census Bureau, on a town level record
  • county boundary

The other pins are the published projects in the same state, each in its stage color. The imagery beneath is the USGS national orthoimagery, public domain, shown so the land around the site can be read.

Where
Pike County, Ohio
How exactly it is located
County level, the county seat
The parcel
No parcel outline in the public record
Nearest homes
Not computed for a record placed at a place center
Nearest records
Nearest records are not computed for a record placed at a county seat.

Comparisons

2 metrics with more than one figure

Every figure on the record for the same thing, the record's own or the document's first, each with who gave it, its date and its basis.

Capacity at full buildout

5 figures, 2 sources
9.2 GWReported

enr.com, Aug 19, 2026

4.25 GWReported

enr.com, Aug 19, 2026

Show each source's words
  • 10 GW, Washington Examiner: Plans to eventually expand power capacity to 10 gigawatts
  • 10 GW, enr.com: PORTS Pike Technology Campus planned 10 gigawatt data center campus
  • 9.2 GW, enr.com: PORTS Pike power generation capacity about 9.2 gigawatts from natural gas
  • 8 GW, Washington Examiner: Data center is planned to provide at least 8 gigawatts or 8 billion watts of electrical power
  • 4.25 GW, enr.com: Initial deployment expected to provide 4.25 gigawatts of AI factory capacity
  • 1.56 GW, Washington Examiner: Largest operating U.S. data center by power capacity is SpaceXAI Colossus 2 in Tennessee at 1.563 gigawatts

Tax each year

2 figures, 1 source
2,500,000,000 dollarsReported

TiffinOhio.net, Dec 31, 2024

6,300,000 dollarsReported

TiffinOhio.net, Sep 30, 2024

Show each source's words
  • 2,500,000,000 dollars, TiffinOhio.net: Between 2017 and 2024, Ohio provided about $2.5 billion in tax incentives to attract data center development.
  • 6,300,000 dollars, TiffinOhio.net: American Electric Power Service Corporation received $6.3 million in data center tax breaks from the state as of September 2024.

Questions about this project

7 questions answered from the record

Answered from the rows on this page.

How big is PORTS-Pike Technology Campus?

Not disclosed. No source on file gives its capacity, its acreage or a count of buildings. What the record holds instead is under Disclosed.

Who is building PORTS-Pike Technology Campus?

SB Energy is the developer. No construction contractor is named on the record yet.

Who will use PORTS-Pike Technology Campus?

Not disclosed. No source on file names a tenant, says whether the site is single or multi tenant, or states what it is for. The record keeps the use as not disclosed until one does; see Who it serves.

How much power and water does PORTS-Pike Technology Campus say it needs?

Power: not disclosed by any source on file. Water: not disclosed by any source on file.

Where does PORTS-Pike Technology Campus stand today?

It is waiting on permits, as reported September 2, 2026. The newest entry, reported September 7, 2026: PORTS-Pike Technology Campus is a 10 GW data center with co located gas generator [2].

What has Pike County decided about it?

Pike County: Ohio Power Siting Board public hearing scheduled for Baku Gavin Transmission Line project on October 27, 2026 at 6 p.m. at Jackson High School Auditorium. (reported September 14, 2026, source). 1 event is on the county's rows; a rule about the area is not a decision about this record.

What is still unknown about PORTS-Pike Technology Campus?

Not disclosed by any source on file: how much power it needs, how much water it would use, how loud it would be, jobs once it runs, tax it would pay each year, who is constructing it, how much land, where its power comes from, grid connection, how it is cooled. No missing primary document is listed for this record yet; What the record lacks is where one appears when a person names it.

Sources

Primary documents first: filings, minutes, dockets and official pages. Then reporting. The numbers are the ones the entries above cite.

Reporting

  1. Nvidia Backs OpenAI’s Ohio Data Center Buildout With $105B Guarantee, Data Center Knowledge, August 19, 2026, trade press
  2. Ohio, PJM to Use State Agreement Approach for 10 GW Data Center, Gas Plant - RTO Insider, RTO Insider, September 7, 2026, trade press
  3. OpenAI joins PORTS-Pike project - OpenAI, OpenAI, August 17, 2026, local outlet
  4. NVIDIA Partners With SB Energy on 10 GW AI Data Center Complex in Ohio - enr.com, enr.com, August 19, 2026, local outlet
  5. Data center that could require more power than all of the homes in Ohio being built in Pike County - wlwt.com, wlwt.com, August 26, 2026, local outlet
  6. OpenAI to build world's biggest AI data center in Ohio. What we know - Cincinnati Enquirer, Cincinnati Enquirer, August 24, 2026, local outlet
  7. OpenAI joins world’s largest data center project, brings 35,000 construction jobs to Ohio - NBC4 WCMH-TV, NBC4 WCMH-TV, August 19, 2026, local outlet
  8. AI’s natural gas addiction could be deadly for Ohio’s communities - Ohio Capital Journal, Ohio Capital Journal, September 1, 2026, local outlet
  9. NVIDIA Guarantees SB Energy’s PORTS-Pike Technology Campus in Ohio to Exclusively Host NVIDIA AI Compute - NVIDIA Newsroom, NVIDIA Newsroom, August 17, 2026, local outlet
  10. OpenAI Locks In Lease for Huge Data Center in Ohio With Backing From Nvidia - WSJ, WSJ, August 17, 2026, local outlet
  11. OpenAI announces massive data center in Ohio with Nvidia guarantee - Axios, Axios, August 17, 2026, local outlet
  12. Developer details expansive Starpointe data center proposal - Observer Reporter, Observer-Reporter, September 2, 2026, local outlet
1 more source
  1. OpenAI and Nvidia join forces for new enormous Ohio data center - Washington Examiner, Washington Examiner, August 17, 2026, local outlet

13 sources on file.

Cite this record

Data Center Record, "PORTS-Pike Technology Campus", https://datacenterrecord.org/projects/ports-pike-technology-campus-oh, last verified September 17, 2026.

Last verified , first recorded . Every correction is logged on the corrections page and under What happened.

Cite this page

Data Center Record, "PORTS-Pike Technology Campus", https://datacenterrecord.org/projects/ports-pike-technology-campus-oh. Data: Data Center Record, datacenterrecord.org, CC BY 4.0.

The structured rows are CC BY 4.0. Link to this page; that is what turns a reuse into a citation. Prose stays under copyright.

Report a change
For researchers
Slug
ports-pike-technology-campus-oh
Status value
permitting
Stage
Proposed
Tier
skeleton
Tags
skeleton
Place id
us/oh/pike-county
Coordinates
39.1261, -82.9831
Location precision
county
Location source
County seat (Waverly), Wikidata, placed at county level
Coordinate source
wikidata county seat
Location source number
Not disclosed
Location last verified
September 16, 2026
EPA registry id
Not disclosed
Use type values
not_disclosed
Tenancy value
not_disclosed
Cooling type value
not_disclosed
Capacity basis
not_disclosed
Water basis
not_disclosed, gallons_per_day
Acreage basis
Not disclosed
Interconnection value
not_disclosed
Capacity, if disclosed
Not disclosed
Rating of the county's rows
Not disclosed
Published
2026-09-04
Last verified
2026-09-17