Data Center Record.

Data centers in Minnesota

Minnesota has 13 data center sites, 0 buildings where disclosed on the record: 6 running, 6 proposed and 1 stalled or cancelled. Most are in Hennepin County (6) and Dakota County (3), and records are in 6 of 87 counties. The largest proposal is Mountain Lake Data Center in Cottonwood County; it is reported.

Minnesota decides case by case. From the state's own rule: Minnesota repealed the sales tax exemption for electricity used by qualified data centers effective for sales and purchases after June 30, 2025, September 9, 2026.

4 sites the EPA's registry shows and no record has verified are on the map apart from the count. What not yet verified means.

How to read this page. Every count comes from the records on this page and links to where it is counted. Nothing is published until a person reads its source, and a figure no source gives reads Not disclosed; nothing is estimated. A rating changes only when a person sets it.

Projects and campuses on the record

Facility and countyStageOperatorPower (MW)Latest entry
Mountain Lake Data Center Mountain Lake, Cottonwood CountyProposed
Elk River Data Center Elk River, Sherburne CountyProposed
Legacy Investing North Loop Data Center Minneapolis, Hennepin CountyProposedLegacy Investing
Inver Grove Heights Data Center Inver Grove Heights, Dakota CountyProposedSite plan application scheduled for consideration later in September 2026 mprnews.org (opens in a new tab) local outlet reported September 15, 2026
Google Hermantown Data Center Hermantown, St. Louis CountyProposedGoogleIn March, Minnesota Power signed an agreement with Google to supply power to the proposed Hermantown data center. enr.com (opens in a new tab) news outlet reported September 3, 2026
Google Pine Island Data Center Pine Island, Goodhue CountyProposedGoogleGoogle is expected to announce the project's Panther Program and other initiatives benefiting the Pine Island School District, with a projected investment of $24 million. kttc.com (opens in a new tab) local outlet reported August 19, 2026
DataBank Eagan Data Center Eagan, Dakota CountyRunningDataBankDataBank purchased its Eagan MSP2 data center for $9.8 million from Mapletree Industrial Trust, advancing its strategy to own real estate behind its facilities. finance-commerce.com (opens in a new tab) query feed October 19, 2026
Centersquare Minneapolis data center Minneapolis, Hennepin CountyRunningCentersquare
H5 Minneapolis Minneapolis, Hennepin CountyRunningH5 Data Centers
DataBank Minneapolis data center Minneapolis, Hennepin CountyRunningDataBank

A blank cell means not disclosed by any source on file. Power is the developer's figure or a permit's, each linked on the record. All 13 Minnesota projects.

Every Minnesota record 13 records, and 4 sites not yet verified listed apart · sort by any column · blank cell: not disclosed

RecordPlaceStageOperatorMWBasisLocatedTierVerified
Iron Gate Data Centers, EaganEagan, DakotaNot yet verifiedEPA registry22026-10-20
Mountain Lake Data CenterMountain Lake, CottonwoodProposedcentroid42026-10-20
Visi Data Center / Oneneck IT Solutions, LLCEden Prairie, HennepinNot yet verifiedVisi Data Center / Oneneck IT Solutions, LLCEPA registry22026-10-20
DataBank Eagan Data CenterEagan, DakotaRunningDataBanksite12026-10-19
HB Fuller Co, Data Center, Arden HillsArden Hills, RamseyNot yet verifiedEPA registry22026-10-03
Medtronic Data CenterWoodbury, WashingtonNot yet verifiedEPA registry22026-10-03
Centersquare Minneapolis data centerMinneapolis, HennepinRunningCentersquarecentroid22026-09-17
Elk River Data CenterElk River, SherburneProposedcentroid42026-09-17
H5 MinneapolisMinneapolis, HennepinRunningH5 Data Centerscentroid22026-09-17
Legacy Investing North Loop Data CenterMinneapolis, HennepinProposedLegacy Investingcentroid32026-09-17
Inver Grove Heights Data CenterInver Grove Heights, DakotaProposedcentroid42026-09-25
DataBank Minneapolis data centerMinneapolis, HennepinRunningDataBankcentroid12026-09-14
Former Star Tribune Printing Plant Data CenterMinneapolis, HennepinStalled or cancelledcentroid12026-09-17
Google Hermantown Data CenterHermantown, St. LouisProposedGooglecentroid22026-09-17
Google Pine Island Data CenterPine Island, GoodhueProposedGooglecentroid22026-09-17
Meta Rosemount Data CenterRosemount, DakotaRunningMetaEPA registry22026-10-04
Cologix MinneapolisMinneapolis, HennepinRunningCologixcentroid12026-09-17

Tier 1: an official or company source. Tier 2: a news report resolving to the outlet's own page. Located: a site coordinate from a permit, a parcel or an address, or the county or town centroid. Verified: the last day a person read the source. A blank cell means not disclosed by any source on file.

Every Minnesota county (87)

6 of 87 counties have a record. A county without one is listed, not linked, until its first published record.

CountyCensus GEOIDProjectsRules
Hennepin County2705361
Dakota County2703731
Cottonwood County2703310
Goodhue County2704910
Sherburne County2714110
St. Louis County2713710
Benton County2700901
Clay County2702701
Otter Tail County2711101
Rice County2713101
Stearns County2714501

A county without a record is listed, not linked.

76 counties with no records yet
  • Aitkin County
  • Anoka County
  • Becker County
  • Beltrami County
  • Big Stone County
  • Blue Earth County
  • Brown County
  • Carlton County
  • Carver County
  • Cass County
  • Chippewa County
  • Chisago County
  • Clearwater County
  • Cook County
  • Crow Wing County
  • Dodge County
  • Douglas County
  • Faribault County
  • Fillmore County
  • Freeborn County
  • Grant County
  • Houston County
  • Hubbard County
  • Isanti County
  • Itasca County
  • Jackson County
  • Kanabec County
  • Kandiyohi County
  • Kittson County
  • Koochiching County
  • Lac qui Parle County
  • Lake County
  • Lake of the Woods County
  • Le Sueur County
  • Lincoln County
  • Lyon County
  • Mahnomen County
  • Marshall County
  • Martin County
  • McLeod County
  • Meeker County
  • Mille Lacs County
  • Morrison County
  • Mower County
  • Murray County
  • Nicollet County
  • Nobles County
  • Norman County
  • Olmsted County
  • Pennington County
  • Pine County
  • Pipestone County
  • Polk County
  • Pope County
  • Ramsey County
  • Red Lake County
  • Redwood County
  • Renville County
  • Rock County
  • Roseau County
  • Scott County
  • Sibley County
  • Steele County
  • Stevens County
  • Swift County
  • Todd County
  • Traverse County
  • Wabasha County
  • Wadena County
  • Waseca County
  • Washington County
  • Watonwan County
  • Wilkin County
  • Winona County
  • Wright County
  • Yellow Medicine County

The rules in Minnesota 9 rows · rating rests only on a binding act in force

What the state and its counties and cities have decided. Each row is rated by what it has decided, open, case by case, restrictive or closed, never by whether that is good or bad.

BodyLevelRatingIn force untilLatest actActsVerified
Minnesotastatecase by caseMinnesota repealed the sales tax exemption for electricity used by qualified data centers effective for sales and purchases after June 30, 2025. newsweek.com (opens in a new tab) national outlet Sep 9, 20266 acts on this row
Every act on the Minnesota row
  1. event

    Minnesota introduced HB 4888 and SB 4298 to ban data center permits until July 2027; bills failed.

    mashable.com (opens in a new tab) national outlet

  2. moratorium

    Data center moratoriums create delays increasing legal, engineering, environmental, utility and financing costs

    minnlawyer.com (opens in a new tab) news outlet

  3. event

    Minnesota repealed the sales tax exemption for electricity used by qualified data centers effective for sales and purchases after June 30, 2025.

    newsweek.com (opens in a new tab) national outlet

  4. moratorium

    Minnesota courts paused data centers

    minnpost.com (opens in a new tab) local outlet

  5. litigation

    Appeals court ruled against Faribault and required additional environmental study for a proposed data center

    mprnews.org (opens in a new tab) local outlet

  6. event

    Minnesota legislature successfully passed a standalone data center bill in 2025 that included environmental regulation, a repeal of a sales tax exemption on electricity, and a later expiration of sales exemptions on software and hardware.

    echopress.com (opens in a new tab) news outlet

Last verified September 16, 2026.

62026-09-16
Eagancitynot ratedNo dated act on this row yet.2026-09-21
Clay Countycountynot ratedNo dated act on this row yet.2026-09-22
Inver Grove Heightscityrestrictive until September 15, 20272027-09-15Inver Grove Heights passed a pause on data centers. cbsnews.com (opens in a new tab) national outlet Sep 15, 20267 acts on this row
Every act on the Inver Grove Heights row
  1. moratorium

    Proposed 55,000 square foot data center on Carmen Avenue East exempted from one year moratorium on September 15, 2026

    mprnews.org (opens in a new tab) local outlet

  2. moratorium

    City Council approves moratorium carve out for QLevr LLC data center on Carmen Avenue East on September 15, 2026

    cbsnews.com (opens in a new tab) national outlet

  3. moratorium

    Inver Grove Heights made an exception to their moratorium on data centers to avoid multi million dollar lawsuit

    audacy.com (opens in a new tab) national outlet

  4. moratorium adopted

    Inver Grove Heights passed a pause on data centers

    cbsnews.com (opens in a new tab) national outlet

  5. litigation

    QLevr filed lawsuit in Dakota County District Court in July 2026

    mprnews.org (opens in a new tab) local outlet

  6. event

    Inver Grove Heights held a data center vote

    kare11.com (opens in a new tab) local outlet

  7. moratorium adopted

    One year moratorium on data center construction approved in June 2026

    cbsnews.com (opens in a new tab) national outlet

    Also reported by 1 source

Last verified September 15, 2026.

72026-09-15
Lonsdalecityrestrictive until September 16, 20272027-09-16Lonsdale passes one year moratorium on data center construction. southernminn.com (opens in a new tab) local outlet Sep 16, 20261 act on this row
Every act on the Lonsdale row
  1. moratorium adopted

    Lonsdale passes one year moratorium on data center construction

    southernminn.com (opens in a new tab) local outlet

Last verified September 16, 2026.

12026-09-16
Minneapoliscityrestrictive until November 1, 20262026-11-01Minneapolis City Council halts new data center developments until November. mndaily.com (opens in a new tab) news outlet Jul 12, 20265 acts on this row
Every act on the Minneapolis row
  1. moratorium adopted

    The city council approved a temporary moratorium on data centers in most of the city

    yahoo.com (opens in a new tab) national outlet

  2. moratorium adopted

    The Minneapolis City Council passed a six month ban on data centers larger than 350,000 square feet.

    mprnews.org (opens in a new tab) local outlet

    Also reported by 1 source
  3. hearing

    North Loop residents held community meeting over data center

    cbsnews.com (opens in a new tab) national outlet

  4. moratorium

    Minneapolis City Council halts new data center developments until November

    mndaily.com (opens in a new tab) news outlet

  5. moratorium

    Minneapolis City Council passed a temporary freeze on new data center development in June 2026.

    yahoo.com (opens in a new tab) national outlet

Last verified September 23, 2026.

52026-09-23
Otter Tail Countycountynot ratedOtter Tail County commissioners discussed data center oversight at county board meeting on September 8. fergusfallsjournal.com (opens in a new tab) news outlet Sep 81 act on this row
Every act on the Otter Tail County row
  1. hearing

    Otter Tail County commissioners discussed data center oversight at county board meeting on September 8.

    fergusfallsjournal.com (opens in a new tab) news outlet

Last verified September 16, 2026.

12026-09-16
Ricecitynot ratedNo dated act on this row yet.2026-09-19
St. Cloud Also in Benton County, Sherburne Countycitynot ratedSt. Cloud Planning Commission voted 5 to 1 to postpone action on data center regulations until its next meeting in October. minnesotasnewcountry.com (opens in a new tab) local outlet Reported Sep 91 act on this row
Every act on the St. Cloud row
  1. event

    St. Cloud Planning Commission voted 5 to 1 to postpone action on data center regulations until its next meeting in October

    minnesotasnewcountry.com (opens in a new tab) local outlet

Last verified September 9, 2026.

12026-09-09

Reported: the source's date; the item names no day of its own. A month with no day: the source names the month and not the day. A rating rests only on a binding act in force; "not rated" means no person has set one. A blank cell means the record holds nothing for it.

Minnesota laws and the full scorecard

Bills and laws in Minnesota

1 signed into law, 27 bills tracked

27 bills tracked in the Minnesota legislature, 1 of them signed into law, grouped by where each stands. A row opens its own page; the Minnesota laws page has what each law requires.

No official summary on file for any of these 6 measures; each row links to the legislature's page for the text.

Signed into law 1

27 bills tracked, 1 signed · LegiScan, CC BY 4.0

NumberSessionStatusDateTitle
H.F. 5125 94th Legislature 2025-2026 In committee 2026-05-07 Data centers sales and use tax exemption repealed, and contingent reduction in special education aid appropriations repealed.
S.F. 5231 94th Legislature 2025-2026 In committee 2026-04-27 Data centers tax exemption repeal; contingent reduction in special education aid appropriation repeal
H.F. 4990 94th Legislature 2025-2026 In committee 2026-04-16 Criteria for preapplication evaluations of water appropriations for certain data centers modified, data centers' electricity sales exempted in calculating a utility's solar energy standard, other data center exemptions provided, and data center energy generation redundancy provided.
S.F. 5100 94th Legislature 2025-2026 In committee 2026-04-13 Data centers provisions modifications
H.F. 4888 94th Legislature 2025-2026 In committee 2026-04-09 New data center moratorium established, and Public Utility Commission required to submit a report.
S.F. 4816 94th Legislature 2025-2026 In committee 2026-03-25 Environmental impact statement for data centers requirement provision
H.F. 4512 94th Legislature 2025-2026 In committee 2026-03-23 Public hearings and disclosures prior to approval of data center development required.
S.F. 4681 94th Legislature 2025-2026 In committee 2026-03-23 Various data center exemptions and provisions modifications
S.F. 4296 94th Legislature 2025-2026 In committee 2026-03-18 Public hearings and certain disclosures prior to approval of data center development requirement
H.F. 4153 94th Legislature 2025-2026 In committee 2026-03-12 Criteria for preapplication evaluations of water appropriations for data centers modified, data centers' electricity sales exempted in calculating a utility's solar energy standard, and data centers exempted from paying sales tax on electricity purchases.
H.F. 4173 94th Legislature 2025-2026 In committee 2026-03-12 Certain defined terms maintained, and data center exemptions modified.
S.F. 4203 94th Legislature 2025-2026 In committee 2026-03-09 Exemption of data centers modification for sales and use tax
S.F. 4298 94th Legislature 2025-2026 In committee 2026-03-09 New data center moratorium established, and Public Utility Commission required to submit a report
S.F. 3968 94th Legislature 2025-2026 In committee 2026-02-26 Data centers provisions modification
H. F. No. 16 94th Legislature 2025 1st Special Session Signed 2025-06-14 Data center regulatory bill.
S.F. 19 94th Legislature 2025 1st Special Session Introduced 2025-06-09 Requirements governing data centers modifications
H.F. 3304 94th Legislature 2025-2026 In committee 2025-05-07 Sustainable aviation fuel income tax credit and exemptions for data centers and construction of sustainable aviation fuel facilities repealed, increased general fund amounts reallocated from repealed tax provisions to increase the renter's credit, and corresponding technical changes made.
H.F. 3296 94th Legislature 2025-2026 In committee 2025-05-05 Data centers excluded from gross annual retail energy sales for energy conservation and optimization purposes.
S.F. 1393 94th Legislature 2025-2026 In committee 2025-04-28 Data center energy generation redundancy establishment
S.F. 3444 94th Legislature 2025-2026 In committee 2025-04-25 Data centers exclusion from gross annual retail energy sales for energy conservation and optimization purposes
S.F. 3265 94th Legislature 2025-2026 In committee 2025-04-03 Sales and use tax exemption for data centers repeal
H.F. 2928 94th Legislature 2025-2026 In committee 2025-03-27 Preapplication filings for large water appropriation projects required, permit application information for large water appropriation projects added, level of environmental review for data centers specified, data centers exempted from making financial contributions to an energy conservation and optimization plan, and other data center provisions modified.
H.F. 28 94th Legislature 2025-2026 In committee 2025-03-03 Data center energy generation redundancy provided.
H.F. 1277 94th Legislature 2025-2026 In committee 2025-02-20 Data centers sales and use tax exemption modified.
H.F. 1109 94th Legislature 2025-2026 In committee 2025-02-19 Data centers prohibited in certain districts.
S.F. 769 94th Legislature 2025-2026 In committee 2025-01-30 Certain data centers tax exemption modification
S.F. 608 94th Legislature 2025-2026 In committee 2025-01-27 Data centers in certain districts prohibition provision

27 bills tracked in Minnesota; 94th Legislature 2025-2026, legislature adjourned; last checked October 26, 2026. The last check found no bill not already tracked; the 27 tracked bills stand. Search terms: data center, data centre, large load, hyperscale, computing facility, server farm, high load factor (indirect), energy intensive facility (indirect), large electric load (indirect), digital asset mining (indirect), cryptocurrency mining (indirect), qualified technology facility (indirect), colocation (indirect), moratorium (with another term), sales tax exemption (with another term). The search on LegiScan. (opens in a new tab)

Bill data from LegiScan (opens in a new tab), licensed CC BY 4.0 (opens in a new tab). The record chooses the bills, writes each stage in its own words and cites the legislature's own page for every bill.

How this state's members voted

H.R. 9340, Ratepayer Protection Act: U.S. House of Representatives, roll call 312, September 16, 2026. On Motion to Suspend the Rules and Pass, as Amended. Passed, 417 to 3. Minnesota's members: 8 yea, 0 nay. How each member voted

MemberPartyPosition
CraigDYea
EmmerRYea
FinstadRYea
FischbachRYea
McCollumDYea
MorrisonDYea
OmarDYea
StauberRYea

A blank party cell means the clerk's roll gives none.

H.R. 9340, Ratepayer Protection Act: U.S. Senate, roll call 254, September 30, 2026. On Cloture on the Motion to Proceed H.R. 9340. Cloture on the Motion to Proceed Rejected, 57 to 43. Minnesota's members: 1 yea, 1 nay. How each member voted

MemberPartyPosition
Klobuchar (D-MN)DYea
Smith (D-MN)DNay

A blank party cell means the clerk's roll gives none.

Positions as the clerk records them. How bills and votes are recorded.

What was said

When Hermantown residents came to the Capitol to tell their stories about the secretive, reckless data-center rollout and plead with us to pass my bill, Zeleznikar was nowhere to be seen. When Republican leadership killed the bipartisan NDA bill rather than putting it on the floor for a vote, she stood by her party leaders and didn't say a word.
Emma Greenman, State Representative, Minnesota House of Representatives · October 26, 2026 · quoted · Duluth News Tribune (opens in a new tab) news outlet
Xcel Energy stated that Google has agreed to fund 1,900 megawatts of new clean energy resources including wind, solar and battery storage at no cost to existing customers.
Megan Boldt, Xcel Energy spokesperson · October 3, 2026 · paraphrased · MPR News (opens in a new tab) local outlet

Every Minnesota statement, by speaker (58)

54 more on this page, one per speaker and claim; 58 statements in all

Attorney General Keith Ellison filed comments with the Minnesota Public Utilities Commission on Thursday (September 2026, exact date unclear) arguing that Google's agreement with Xcel Energy does not protect other ratepayers from cost shifts.

Minnesota Attorney General MPR News (opens in a new tab) local outlet project record
Context & source notes

Provenance: Paraphrased; said in the source itself.

Primary source: MPR News (opens in a new tab).

Amazon said it is no longer using nondisclosure agreements with government agencies on data center projects

Matt Garman, Amazon CEO of cloud computing Pioneer Press (opens in a new tab) local outlet
Context & source notes

Provenance: Paraphrased; content date; reported from elsewhere.

Primary source: Pioneer Press (opens in a new tab).

Attorney General Keith Ellison argues the Google Xcel agreement may violate Minnesota law requiring that all costs attributable to very large customers be assigned to those customers and not other ratepayers.

Minnesota Attorney General KIMT (opens in a new tab) local outlet project record
Context & source notes

Provenance: Paraphrased; said in the source itself.

Primary source: KIMT (opens in a new tab).

Northfield has no data center application before it and no developer has approached the city seeking to build one.

Scott Wopata, Community Development Director KYMN Radio (opens in a new tab) local outlet
Context & source notes

Provenance: Paraphrased; said in the source itself.

Primary source: KYMN Radio (opens in a new tab).

"We're concerned with making sure that residents consent to whatever projects are happening to them and are impacting their bodies"
Ava Corey-Gruenes, organizer and outreach coordinator, Health Professionals for a Healthy Climate Goodhue kaaltv.com (opens in a new tab) local outlet
Context & source notes

Provenance: Quoted; content date; reported from elsewhere.

Setting: Goodhue.

Primary source: kaaltv.com (opens in a new tab).

DFL state senators Liz Boldon and Rep. Tina Liebling hosted virtual town hall on September 25, 2026 to hear constituents on data center regulations.

Minnesota State Senator kttc.com (opens in a new tab) local outlet
Context & source notes

Provenance: Paraphrased; content date; reported from elsewhere.

Primary source: kttc.com (opens in a new tab).

Jenny Mongeau, incumbent Clay County Commissioner, has worked on various mental health initiatives in her 12 years on the board

The Forum (opens in a new tab) local outlet
Context & source notes

Provenance: Paraphrased; said in the source itself.

Primary source: The Forum (opens in a new tab).

Scott Steffes said he would need to do more research on data centers before deciding on a commitment to keep them out of Clay County

Moorhead School Board member and District 4 candidate The Forum (opens in a new tab) local outlet
Context & source notes

Provenance: Paraphrased; said in the source itself.

Primary source: The Forum (opens in a new tab).

Jenny Mongeau said she is opposed to large scale projects like data centers circumventing local entities like townships and counties

Clay County Commissioner The Forum (opens in a new tab) local outlet
Context & source notes

Provenance: Paraphrased; said in the source itself.

Primary source: The Forum (opens in a new tab).

Tom Berglind said his support for data centers would depend on the resources needed for the data center and its environmental impact

Sabin Vice Mayor and District 3 candidate The Forum (opens in a new tab) local outlet
Context & source notes

Provenance: Paraphrased; said in the source itself.

Primary source: The Forum (opens in a new tab).

Marshall Terrace Neighborhood Organization and other groups are drafting a resolution against data centers

Lexi Clendenen, MTNO Board Chair kare11.com (opens in a new tab) national outlet
Context & source notes

Provenance: Paraphrased; said in the source itself.

Primary source: kare11.com (opens in a new tab).

Development moratoriums can pause key approvals and create complicated periods of uncertainty for developers and landowners

Rebekah Cohen Israel, Nilan Johnson Lewis attorney Finance & Commerce (opens in a new tab) local outlet
Context & source notes

Provenance: Paraphrased; said in the source itself.

Primary source: Finance & Commerce (opens in a new tab).

Deputy Administrator Nick Leonard requested permission to attend a two day training on data center development best practices in December in South Carolina, with only 15 applicants from across the U.S. accepted.

Perham Focus (opens in a new tab) local outlet
Context & source notes

Provenance: Paraphrased; said in the source itself.

Primary source: Perham Focus (opens in a new tab).

Grant Hauschild as part of Senate Tax Committee greenlit bills giving tax breaks to data centers

Andrea Zupancich, Republican candidate for Minnesota state Senate MinnPost (opens in a new tab) local outlet project record
Context & source notes

Provenance: Paraphrased; said in the source itself.

Primary source: MinnPost (opens in a new tab).

Jobs for Minnesotans supports local data center development and trusts Minnesota's strict policies protecting environment, water quality, and energy generation

Jobs for Minnesotans executive MinnPost (opens in a new tab) local outlet project record
Context & source notes

Provenance: Paraphrased; said in the source itself.

Primary source: MinnPost (opens in a new tab).

Jobs for Minnesotans nonprofit board member Andrea Zupancich opposes tax breaks for data centers while running for state Senate against Grant Hauschild who supports them

Republican candidate for Minnesota state Senate MinnPost (opens in a new tab) local outlet project record
Context & source notes

Provenance: Paraphrased; said in the source itself.

Primary source: MinnPost (opens in a new tab).

Data centers should be regulated and not serve as sole use of a property

Jacob Frey, Minneapolis Mayor CBS News (opens in a new tab) national outlet
Context & source notes

Provenance: Paraphrased; said in the source itself.

Primary source: CBS News (opens in a new tab).

Johnson says data centers should meet four requirements: keeping bills down, protecting farmland and natural resources, ensuring economic gains in Southern Minnesota, and ending non disclosure agreements.

DFL Minnesota First Congressional District candidate KTTC (opens in a new tab) local outlet project record
Context & source notes

Provenance: Paraphrased; said in the source itself.

Primary source: KTTC (opens in a new tab).

Google will pay for the resources it uses so utility customers will be insulated from rate impacts

Jack Ailey, vice president of data centers for Xcel Energy YouTube (opens in a new tab) video project record
· Jack Ailey · YouTube · February 25, 2026 · Privacy enhanced player · loads on click
Context & source notes

Provenance: Paraphrased; said in the source itself.

Primary source: YouTube (opens in a new tab).

On the November 3, 2026 ballot in Minnesota: Governor (3), U.S. Senate (4), U.S. House, District 1 (2), U.S. House, District 2 (2), U.S. House, District 3 (2), U.S. House, District 4 (2), U.S. House, District 5 (3), U.S. House, District 6 (2), U.S. House, District 7 (2), U.S. House, District 8 (2); 4 of 24 candidates with a statement on data centers on the record. Every candidate.

Already running in Minnesota

6 sites are serving load, 4 of them in Hennepin County.

See the 6 running sites
  1. Centersquare Minneapolis data center Minneapolis, Hennepin County Running
  2. Cologix Minneapolis Minneapolis, Hennepin County Running · Operational since 2015 (11 years)
  3. DataBank Eagan Data Center Eagan, Dakota County Running
  4. DataBank Minneapolis data center Minneapolis, Hennepin County Running
  5. H5 Minneapolis Minneapolis, Hennepin County Running
  6. Meta Rosemount Data Center Rosemount, Dakota County Running · Operational since 2025 (1 year)

Questions about Minnesota data centers

How many data center projects are on the record in Minnesota?

13 projects are on the record in Minnesota: 4 reported, 2 proposed, 6 running, 1 cancelled and 4 not yet verified. Each is listed under Projects with its status history and sources. Resources: the questions people ask about data centers

answered from the rows above

Where in Minnesota are they?

Records are in 6 counties: Hennepin County (6), Dakota County (3), Cottonwood County (1), Goodhue County (1), Sherburne County (1) and St. Louis County (1). The county table lists every county with its count, zero included. Resources: the questions people ask about data centers

answered from the rows above

How much power is disclosed for data centers in Minnesota?

Not disclosed. None of the 13 records on file for Minnesota states a power figure. Resources: the questions people ask about data centers

answered from the rows above

How much water do data centers in Minnesota say they will use?

Not disclosed. None of the 13 records on file for Minnesota states a water figure. Resources: the questions people ask about data centers

answered from the rows above

Who is building data centers in Minnesota?

8 developers are named on the record: DataBank (2 records), Google (2 records), Centersquare, Cologix, H5 Data Centers, Legacy Investing, Meta and Visi Data Center / Oneneck IT Solutions, LLC. 3 records name no developer; each name above opens the record, where the developer's source is listed. Resources: the questions people ask about data centers

answered from the rows above

Which counties and cities in Minnesota have rules about data centers?

8 county and city rows are on the record, 3 of them rated: Inver Grove Heights is rated restrictive: Inver Grove Heights passed a pause on data centers, September 15, 2026, source (opens in a new tab), Lonsdale is rated restrictive: Lonsdale passes one year moratorium on data center construction, September 16, 2026, source (opens in a new tab) and Minneapolis is rated restrictive: Minneapolis City Council halts new data center developments until November, July 12, 2026, source (opens in a new tab). The state's own row is rated case by case, with 6 dated acts listed under the scorecard. Resources: the questions people ask about data centers

answered from the rows above

What is proposed or being built near me in Minnesota, by county?

6 records are not yet running. Cottonwood County: Mountain Lake Data Center (reported); Dakota County: Inver Grove Heights Data Center (reported); Goodhue County: Google Pine Island Data Center (proposed); Hennepin County: Legacy Investing North Loop Data Center (reported); Sherburne County: Elk River Data Center (reported); and St. Louis County: Google Hermantown Data Center (proposed). A county name opens its page with the map and every record there. Resources: the questions people ask about data centers

answered from the rows above

What has the state of Minnesota itself decided?

1 state law is on the record: H. F. No. 16 (signed, June 14, 2025, source (opens in a new tab)). The state's own scorecard row carries 6 dated acts, the newest reported September 16, 2026; the laws page has what each law requires in the words of its text. Resources: the questions people ask about data centers

answered from the rows above

Disclosed figures

nothing disclosed by 13 records

summed only where a record disclosed the figure

FigureDisclosed totalDisclosedWithout a figureBasis
Power013
Water, stated per day013
Water, stated per year013
Permanent jobs013
Tax each year013

A blank cell means no record in Minnesota disclosed the figure. Third party figures on the same metrics are listed apart below; a figure a project disclosed about itself is never mixed with them.

FigureDisclosed totalDisclosedWithout a figureBasis
Power013
Water, stated per day013
Water, stated per year013
Permanent jobs013
Tax each year013

A blank total means no record disclosed the figure; the count without one says how many.

Summed only where a record disclosed the figure; a record with no figure adds nothing and is counted as not disclosed. Water is summed per day and per year separately, as the sources stated it, and never converted. A tax claim given as a range is summed at both ends.

The disclosed totals are in the table above.

No source on file states what any of the 13 tracked facilities in Minnesota are for. 4 sites not yet verified are named apart and are not in that number.

What each use disclosed

UseRecordsPowerWaterJobsTax each year
No stated use13

A blank cell means no record with that use disclosed the figure.

A record that lists several uses counts once under each. Each cell is the sum over the records with that use, disclosed rows only.

No source on file states how any of the 13 tracked facilities in Minnesota are cooled. 4 sites not yet verified are named apart and are not in that number.

Sources read for Minnesota

13 sources

13 sources are read for Minnesota:

Newspapers
Pioneer Press, Star Tribune
Public broadcaster
Minnesota Public Radio News
Search feeds
10 news searches
Every feed, with its kind and tier

About this data

Last verified
Next check Feeds every four hours, pages daily.
Figures Only what a source states, with its basis. Nothing is estimated, and a figure no source gives reads not disclosed.
License Data CC BY-NC 4.0 (opens in a new tab); free for personal, academic, civic and newsroom reporting with attribution. Commercial, enterprise, financial or AI training use needs a commercial license. Prose stays under copyright.
Cite this page Data Center Record, "Data centers in Minnesota", https://datacenterrecord.org/states/mn, updated October 26, 2026. CSV · JSON · GeoJSON
Cite this page

Data Center Record, "Data center records in Minnesota", https://datacenterrecord.org/states/mn. Data: Data Center Record, datacenterrecord.org, CC BY-NC 4.0.

The structured rows are CC BY-NC 4.0. Link to this page; that is what turns a reuse into a citation. Prose stays under copyright.

Report a change
For researchers
State code
MN
Rating of the state's own row
Case by case
Count by status
reported 4, proposed 2, running 6, cancelled 1, not yet verified 4
Located records
2 located, 11 at a centroid, 0 without coordinates

Researcher view · Minnesota · 13 data center sites, 0 buildings where disclosed, 9 rule rows, 27 bills · basis and source tier on every row · verified October 26, 2026

Download CSV JSON GeoJSON