DataBank Eagan Data Center
DataBank planned to retrofit the former 88,000 square foot Taystee Foods building at 3255 Neil Armstrong Boulevard in Eagan into a data center at a cost of approximately $48 to $49 million. It is running, since October 1, 2026.
How much power it needs, how much water it would use and who would use it have not been disclosed.
How to read this page. Every fact links to the source it rests on; a number in brackets is its place in the source list. A figure no source gives reads Not disclosed, and nothing is estimated. Where sources give different figures, each is shown with who gave it, and another source's figure never stands in for the record's own. Entries are added and never overwritten; corrections are listed under What happened.
What is known
Each figure as its source gave it. The number in brackets is its place in the source list.
- Land
- Not disclosed
- Power it would draw
- Not disclosed
- Water
- Not disclosed
- Who leads it
- DataBank
- as stated by the source [1]
- Who would use it
- Not disclosed
- Jobs once it runs
- Not disclosed
- Tax each year
- Not disclosed
Every field, with who said it and when (Researcher view)
Impact figures
| Field | Value | Who says so | Source | Last verified |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| How much power it needs | Not disclosed | |||
| How much water it would use | Not disclosed | |||
| How loud it would be | Not disclosed | |||
| Jobs once it runs | Not disclosed | |||
| Tax it would pay each year | Not disclosed |
The record's fields
| Field | Value | Who says so | Source | Last verified |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Who is building it | DataBank | as stated by the source | [1] prnewswire.com | October 9, 2026 |
| Who is constructing it | Not disclosed | |||
| How much land | Not disclosed | |||
| Where its power comes from | Not disclosed | |||
| Grid connection | Not disclosed | |||
| How it is cooled | Not disclosed |
The developer's figure is what the company said; what a permit allows is the ceiling a permit sets; measured means observed. Water is in gallons a day or a year, whichever the source stated; a tax claim given as a range shows both ends, each linked to the source that gave it.
Still not public, and where it would show up
The record adds each the day a source gives it. Why these documents.
- Water useA state water right filing or a water supply agreement.
- Who would use itA lease announcement or a tenant named in a filing.
- Power the campus would drawA utility or public service commission docket, an interconnection filing, or an air permit for an on site plant.
- Jobs and taxAn incentive agreement, a county's economic development filing or a fiscal note.
What was decided
Acts of Dakota County and Eagan about data centers, on the record with their source. A rule about the area is not a decision about this record.
| Date | Who | Decision | Source |
|---|---|---|---|
| Inver Grove Heights | QLevr filed lawsuit in Dakota County District Court in July 2026 | mprnews.org | |
| Inver Grove Heights | One year moratorium approved in June 2026 | mprnews.org | |
| Inver Grove Heights | Proposed 55,000 square foot data center on Carmen Avenue East exempted from one year moratorium on September 15, 2026 | mprnews.org | |
| Inver Grove Heights | One year moratorium on data center construction approved in June 2026 | cbsnews.com | |
| Inver Grove Heights | City Council approves moratorium carve out for QLevr LLC data center on Carmen Avenue East on September 15, 2026 | cbsnews.com | |
| Inver Grove Heights | Inver Grove Heights made an exception to their moratorium on data centers to avoid multi million dollar lawsuit | audacy.com |
3 earlier decisions on the county's rows
| Date | Who | Decision | Source |
|---|---|---|---|
| Inver Grove Heights | City council voted 3-1 to approve QLevr LLC's project carving it out of the moratorium | cbsnews.com | |
| Inver Grove Heights | Inver Grove Heights passed a pause on data centers | cbsnews.com | |
| Inver Grove Heights | Inver Grove Heights held a data center vote | kare11.com |
What happened
-
· Status: running (content date)
DataBank acquired the building housing its MSP2 data center at 3255 Neil Armstrong Boulevard in Eagan, Minnesota, a facility it had leased. [1]
The site
The pin is the site's address.
Tap a pin for the data center, the parcel for its record
- This record: Running, ringed
- data center
- Smaller pins: 13 other published records in Minnesota
Details
- this record's location, ringed
- parcel outline, from the county parcel record
- city limits, U.S. Census Bureau, on a town level record
- county boundary
The other pins are the published projects in the same state, each in its stage color. The imagery beneath is the USGS national orthoimagery, public domain, shown so the land around the site can be read.
- Where
- 3255 Neil Armstrong Boulevard, Eagan, Minnesota, Eagan, Dakota County, Minnesota [source]
- How exactly it is located
- Exact, at the address
- The parcel
- No parcel outline in the public record
- Nearest homes
- Not computed for a record placed at a place center
- Nearest records
- Meta Rosemount Data Center, 8.4 mi
- Medtronic Data Center, 12 mi
- HB Fuller Co, Data Center, Arden Hills, 15 mi
Questions about this project
4 questions answered from the record
Who is building DataBank Eagan Data Center?
-
DataBank is the developer, source. No construction contractor is named on the record yet.
How much power and water does DataBank Eagan Data Center say it needs?
-
Power: not disclosed by any source on file. Water: not disclosed by any source on file.
Where does DataBank Eagan Data Center stand today?
-
It is running, since October 1, 2026. The newest entry, October 1, 2026: DataBank acquired the building housing its MSP2 data center at 3255 Neil Armstrong Boulevard in Eagan, Minnesota, a facility it had leased. [1]
What has Eagan or Dakota County decided about it?
-
Inver Grove Heights: QLevr filed lawsuit in Dakota County District Court in July 2026 (reported September 15, 2026, source); and Inver Grove Heights: One year moratorium approved in June 2026 (reported September 15, 2026, source). 9 events are on the county's rows; a rule about the area is not a decision about this record.
Sources
Primary documents
- DataBank Acquires Building Housing MSP2 Data Center in Minneapolis, PR Newswire, October 1, 2026
Reporting
- DataBank plans Eagan site, with $50 million upgrade - Pioneer Press, Pioneer Press, June 25, 2014, query feed
2 sources on file.
Cite this record
Data Center Record, "DataBank Eagan Data Center", https://datacenterrecord.org/projects/databank-eagan-data-center-mn, last verified October 9, 2026.
Cite this page
Data Center Record, "DataBank Eagan Data Center", https://datacenterrecord.org/projects/databank-eagan-data-center-mn. Data: Data Center Record, datacenterrecord.org, CC BY 4.0.
The structured rows are CC BY 4.0. Link to this page; that is what turns a reuse into a citation. Prose stays under copyright.
For researchers
- Slug
- databank-eagan-data-center-mn
- Status value
- operational
- Stage
- Running
- Tier
- built from one source
- Tags
- Built from one source
- Place id
- us/mn/dakota-county/eagan
- Coordinates
- 44.837518, -93.145338
- Location precision
- address
- Location source
- https://www.prnewswire.com/news-releases/databank-acquires-building-housing-msp2-data-center-in-minneapolis-302895408.html
- Coordinate source
- https://www.prnewswire.com/news-releases/databank-acquires-building-housing-msp2-data-center-in-minneapolis-302895408.html
- Location source number
- [1]
- Location last verified
- October 9, 2026
- EPA registry id
- Not disclosed
- Use type values
- not_disclosed
- Tenancy value
- not_disclosed
- Cooling type value
- not_disclosed
- Capacity basis
- not_disclosed
- Water basis
- not_disclosed, gallons_per_day
- Acreage basis
- Not disclosed
- Interconnection value
- not_disclosed
- Capacity, if disclosed
- Not disclosed
- Rating of the county's rows
- Not disclosed
- Published
- 2026-09-28
- Last verified
- 2026-10-09