Data Center Record.

Data centers in Dakota County, Minnesota

Dakota County has 2 data centers on the record: 1 running and 1 proposed. No county rule about data centers is on the record for Dakota County itself; 1 body inside it has a scorecard row, and a pause on new data centers is on the record. The latest decision on the record: QLevr filed lawsuit in Dakota County District Court in July 2026 (Inver Grove Heights), September 15, 2026.

Updated · Every line below links to its source · How the record works

How to read this page. Every count comes from the records on this page and links to where it is counted. Nothing is published until a person reads its source, and a figure no source gives reads Not disclosed; nothing is estimated. A rating changes only when a person sets it.

The 2 data centers in Dakota County

Newest activity first

Each row is one site with its stage, its latest dated entry and what its sources disclose. A figure no source gives reads Not disclosed.

  1. Reported Built from one source

    Inver Grove Heights Data Center

    Inver Grove Heights, Dakota County

    Latest, reported September 15, 2026: Site plan application scheduled for consideration later in September 2026 mprnews.org local outlet

    Land
    Not disclosed
    Power
    Not disclosed
    Water
    Not disclosed
    Tenant
    Not disclosed
  2. Running Built from one source

    Meta Rosemount Data Center

    Rosemount, Dakota County · Meta

    Latest, July 16, 2025: Meta deployed AI designed sustainable concrete at its data center construction site in Rosemount, Minnesota engineering.fb.com local outlet

    Land
    Not disclosed
    Power
    Not disclosed
    Water
    Not disclosed
    Tenant
    Not disclosed

Where

2 data centers in Dakota County: 1 running, 1 proposed. A dashed edge means the exact site is not in the public record (1 of 2).

The outline is Dakota County's boundary from the U.S. Census Bureau. Tap a pin for that data center's facts and a link to its page.

The cities in Dakota County on the record (2)

2 of 2 cities have a record. A city without one is listed, not linked, until its first published record.

CityProjectsRules
Inver Grove Heights11
Rosemount10

What Dakota County has decided

1 body, 7 decisions on the record

What the county and the cities in it have done about data centers: each body on its own row with its rating, open, case by case, restrictive or closed, never good or bad, and every vote, ordinance, moratorium or agreement behind its toggle, newest first, with its source.

Reported: the source's date; the item names no day of its own. A month with no day: the source names the month and not the day.

  1. Proposed 55,000 square foot data center on Carmen Avenue East exempted from one year moratorium on September 15, 2026, September 15, 2026.

    mprnews.org local outlet

    no published rating
    7 acts on this row
    1. moratorium

      Proposed 55,000 square foot data center on Carmen Avenue East exempted from one year moratorium on September 15, 2026

      mprnews.org local outlet

    2. moratorium

      City Council approves moratorium carve out for QLevr LLC data center on Carmen Avenue East on September 15, 2026

      cbsnews.com national outlet

    3. moratorium

      Inver Grove Heights made an exception to their moratorium on data centers to avoid multi million dollar lawsuit

      audacy.com local outlet

    4. moratorium adopted

      Inver Grove Heights passed a pause on data centers

      cbsnews.com national outlet

    5. litigation

      QLevr filed lawsuit in Dakota County District Court in July 2026

      mprnews.org local outlet

    6. event

      Inver Grove Heights held a data center vote

      kare11.com local outlet

    7. moratorium adopted

      One year moratorium on data center construction approved in June 2026

      cbsnews.com national outlet

      Also reported by 1 source

    Last verified September 15, 2026.

The rules across Minnesota.

What happened

  1. · Inver Grove Heights

    Moratorium: Proposed 55,000 square foot data center on Carmen Avenue East exempted from one year moratorium on September 15, 2026 mprnews.org local outlet

  2. · Inver Grove Heights

    Moratorium: City Council approves moratorium carve out for QLevr LLC data center on Carmen Avenue East on September 15, 2026 cbsnews.com national outlet

  3. · Inver Grove Heights

    Moratorium: Inver Grove Heights made an exception to their moratorium on data centers to avoid multi million dollar lawsuit audacy.com local outlet

  4. · Inver Grove Heights

    Moratorium adopted: Inver Grove Heights passed a pause on data centers cbsnews.com national outlet

  5. · Inver Grove Heights Data Center

    Now reported: Council to vote on major site plan on September 28, 2026 cbsnews.com national outlet

  6. · Inver Grove Heights

    Litigation: QLevr filed lawsuit in Dakota County District Court in July 2026 mprnews.org local outlet

Minnesota, year by year · Every milestone, by month

What was said

Sen. Erin Maye Quade said the federal Ratepayer Protection Act is a great first start but does not account for heat islands, water, noise or light pollution
Erin Maye Quade, Minnesota state senator · September 25, 2026 · paraphrased · Duluth News Tribune local outlet
City attorney Jason Kuboushek estimates legal risk to city at minimum $20 million, potentially $150 million
Jason Kuboushek, City Attorney · September 15, 2026 · paraphrased · The Mighty 790 KFGO national outlet
Tony Scales, Council Member, votes for exemption after supporting initial moratorium
Tony Scales, Council Member · September 15, 2026 · paraphrased · MPR News local outlet

Every Minnesota statement, by speaker

2 more statements on this page

Jason Kuboushek

City attorney cited legal risk of 20 million dollars in damages if the city lost a lawsuit over the moratorium

September 15, 2026, cbsnews.com · cbsnews.com national outlet · the record (Paraphrased; said in the source itself)

legal team

QLevr LLC threatens lawsuit claiming up to $150 million in damages

September 15, 2026, The Mighty 790 KFGO · The Mighty 790 KFGO national outlet · the record (Paraphrased; said in the source itself)

Disclosed figures

nothing disclosed by 2 records

Power, water, jobs and tax, summed only where a data center disclosed the figure; what each facility is for; how each is cooled. Nothing here is estimated.

Power, water, jobs and tax

FigureDisclosed totalDisclosedNot disclosedBasis
PowerNot disclosed02Not disclosed by any of the 2 records
Water, stated per dayNot disclosed02Not disclosed by any of the 2 records
Water, stated per yearNot disclosed02Not disclosed by any of the 2 records
Permanent jobsNot disclosed02Not disclosed by any of the 2 records
Tax each yearNot disclosed02Not disclosed by any of the 2 records

Summed only where a record disclosed the figure; a record with no figure adds nothing and is counted as not disclosed. Water is summed per day and per year separately, as the sources stated it, and never converted. A tax claim given as a range is summed at both ends.

By what the facilities are for

UseRecordsPowerWaterJobsTax each year
Not disclosed2Not disclosedNot disclosedNot disclosedNot disclosedNot disclosed: power, water, jobs, tax each year

A record that lists several uses counts once under each. Each cell is the sum over the records with that use, disclosed rows only.

What the facilities are for

No source on file states what any of the 2 tracked facilities in Dakota County are for.

How the facilities are cooled

No source on file states how any of the 2 tracked facilities in Dakota County are cooled.

Cite this page

Data Center Record, "Data centers in Dakota County, Minnesota", https://datacenterrecord.org/states/mn/dakota-county, updated October 4, 2026.

Cite this page

Data Center Record, "Data center records in Dakota County, Minnesota", https://datacenterrecord.org/states/mn/dakota-county. Data: Data Center Record, datacenterrecord.org, CC BY 4.0.

The structured rows are CC BY 4.0. Link to this page; that is what turns a reuse into a citation. Prose stays under copyright.

Report a change

The rows here are part of the Minnesota export.

For researchers
Place id
us/mn/dakota-county
Level
county
Census GEOID
Not disclosed
Rating value
Not disclosed
Scale word
Not disclosed