Data Center Record.

Reported Built from one source

Inver Grove Heights Data Center

A data center project in Inver Grove Heights is subject to a lawsuit that could cost taxpayers millions, and a moratorium on data centers was delayed at a contentious city meeting. It is reported, as reported September 15, 2026.

How much power it needs, how much water it would use and who would use it have not been disclosed.

Last verified · 5 sources, 0 primary · A skeleton record: built from one source, not yet reviewed in depth by a person. · How to read this page

How to read this page. Every fact links to the source it rests on; a number in brackets is its place in the source list. A figure no source gives reads Not disclosed, and nothing is estimated. Where sources give different figures, each is shown with who gave it, and another source's figure never stands in for the record's own. Entries are added and never overwritten; corrections are listed under What happened.

What is known

Each figure as its source gave it. The number in brackets is its place in the source list.

Land
Not disclosed
Power it would draw
Not disclosed
Water
Not disclosed
Who leads it
Not disclosed
Who would use it
Not disclosed
Jobs once it runs
Not disclosed
Tax each year
Not disclosed
Every field, with who said it and when (Researcher view)

Impact figures

FieldValueWho says soSourceLast verified
How much power it needs Not disclosed
How much water it would use Not disclosed
How loud it would be Not disclosed
Jobs once it runs Not disclosed
Tax it would pay each year Not disclosed

The record's fields

FieldValueWho says soSourceLast verified
Who is building it Not disclosed
Who is constructing it Not disclosed
How much land Not disclosed
Where its power comes from Not disclosed
Grid connection Not disclosed
How it is cooled Not disclosed

The developer's figure is what the company said; what a permit allows is the ceiling a permit sets; measured means observed. Water is in gallons a day or a year, whichever the source stated; a tax claim given as a range shows both ends, each linked to the source that gave it.

Still not public, and where it would show up

The record adds each the day a source gives it. Why these documents.

  • Water useA state water right filing or a water supply agreement.
  • Who would use itA lease announcement or a tenant named in a filing.
  • Power the campus would drawA utility or public service commission docket, an interconnection filing, or an air permit for an on site plant.
  • Who is behind itA land record, a zoning application or a company's own announcement.
  • Jobs and taxAn incentive agreement, a county's economic development filing or a fiscal note.

What was decided

Acts of Dakota County and Inver Grove Heights about data centers, on the record with their source. A rule about the area is not a decision about this record.

DateWhoDecisionSource
Inver Grove Heights QLevr filed lawsuit in Dakota County District Court in July 2026 mprnews.org
Inver Grove Heights One year moratorium approved in June 2026 mprnews.org
Inver Grove Heights Proposed 55,000 square foot data center on Carmen Avenue East exempted from one year moratorium on September 15, 2026 mprnews.org
Inver Grove Heights One year moratorium on data center construction approved in June 2026 cbsnews.com
Inver Grove Heights City Council approves moratorium carve out for QLevr LLC data center on Carmen Avenue East on September 15, 2026 cbsnews.com
Inver Grove Heights Inver Grove Heights made an exception to their moratorium on data centers to avoid multi million dollar lawsuit audacy.com
3 earlier decisions on the county's rows
DateWhoDecisionSource
Inver Grove Heights City council voted 3-1 to approve QLevr LLC's project carving it out of the moratorium cbsnews.com
Inver Grove Heights Inver Grove Heights passed a pause on data centers cbsnews.com
Inver Grove Heights Inver Grove Heights held a data center vote kare11.com

What happened

  1. (source date; the content gives no date of its own)

    Site plan application scheduled for consideration later in September 2026 [3]

  2. · Status: rumored (source date; the content gives no date of its own)

    Council to vote on major site plan on September 28, 2026 [2]

The full Inver Grove Heights Data Center timeline, in order

3 corrections to this record

Every correction, with its reason
  1. · the site acres of a projects row

    The site read 55,000 acres. The source's figure was 55,000 square feet, a floor area, and the approval wrote it as acres. Returned to not disclosed, as it was before. The old and new text.

  2. · the kind of source of a history entry

    The source was labeled with the Google News search that found it; it now carries its outlet's tier (the record's rules of 2026-09-23). The link did not change. The day's label corrections.

  3. · the kind of source of a history entry

    The source was labeled with the Google News search that found it; it now carries its outlet's tier (the record's rules of 2026-09-23). The link did not change. The day's label corrections.

Every correction on the record is on the corrections page.

What was said

Tony Scales, Council Member, votes for exemption after supporting initial moratorium
Tony Scales, Council Member · September 15, 2026 · paraphrased · MPR News local outlet
City attorney Jason Kuboushek estimates legal risk to city at minimum $20 million, potentially $150 million
Jason Kuboushek, City Attorney · September 15, 2026 · paraphrased · The Mighty 790 KFGO national outlet

Every statement about data centers in Minnesota, by speaker

2 more statements on this page

Jason Kuboushek

City attorney cited legal risk of 20 million dollars in damages if the city lost a lawsuit over the moratorium

September 15, 2026, cbsnews.com · cbsnews.com national outlet · the record (Paraphrased; said in the source itself)

legal team

QLevr LLC threatens lawsuit claiming up to $150 million in damages

September 15, 2026, The Mighty 790 KFGO · The Mighty 790 KFGO national outlet · the record (Paraphrased; said in the source itself)

The site

Where in Dakota County is not in the public record. The pin marks the county seat, not a building, and the outline is the county.

  • This record: Proposed, ringed
  • data center
  • Dashed edge: the exact site is not in the public record
  • Smaller pins: 12 other published records in Minnesota
Details
  • this record's location, ringed
  • parcel outline, from the county parcel record
  • city limits, U.S. Census Bureau, on a town level record
  • county boundary

The other pins are the published projects in the same state, each in its stage color. The imagery beneath is the USGS national orthoimagery, public domain, shown so the land around the site can be read.

Where
Inver Grove Heights, Dakota County, Minnesota
How exactly it is located
County level, the county seat
The parcel
No parcel outline in the public record
Nearest homes
Not computed for a record placed at a place center
Nearest records
Nearest records are not computed for a record placed at a county seat.

Questions about this project

4 questions answered from the record

Answered from the rows on this page.

Who is building Inver Grove Heights Data Center?

Not disclosed. No source on file names the developer. The sources read for this record are listed under Sources.

How much power and water does Inver Grove Heights Data Center say it needs?

Power: not disclosed by any source on file. Water: not disclosed by any source on file.

Where does Inver Grove Heights Data Center stand today?

It is reported, as reported September 15, 2026. The newest entry, reported September 15, 2026: Site plan application scheduled for consideration later in September 2026 [3].

What has Inver Grove Heights or Dakota County decided about it?

Inver Grove Heights: QLevr filed lawsuit in Dakota County District Court in July 2026 (reported September 15, 2026, source); and Inver Grove Heights: One year moratorium approved in June 2026 (reported September 15, 2026, source). 9 events are on the county's rows; a rule about the area is not a decision about this record.

Sources

Primary documents first: filings, minutes, dockets and official pages. Then reporting. The numbers are the ones the entries above cite.

Reporting

  1. Inver Grove Heights meeting erupts into shouts after data center moratorium delayed - MPR News, MPR News, June 23, 2026, local outlet
  2. Inver Grove Heights City Council approves moratorium carve out for proposed data center - The Mighty 790 KFGO, The Mighty 790 KFGO, September 15, 2026, local outlet
  3. Inver Grove Heights exempts data center project from city moratorium - MPR News, MPR News, September 15, 2026, local outlet
  4. Inver Grove Heights City Council Approves Moratorium Carve-Out For Proposed Data Center - Patch, Patch, September 15, 2026, local outlet
  5. Data center lawsuit could cost Inver Grove Heights taxpayers millions; path to avoid it moves forward - kstp.com, kstp.com, August 10, 2026, local outlet

5 sources on file.

Cite this record

Data Center Record, "Inver Grove Heights Data Center", https://datacenterrecord.org/projects/inver-grove-heights-data-center-mn, last verified September 25, 2026.

Last verified , first recorded . Every correction is logged on the corrections page and under What happened.

Cite this page

Data Center Record, "Inver Grove Heights Data Center", https://datacenterrecord.org/projects/inver-grove-heights-data-center-mn. Data: Data Center Record, datacenterrecord.org, CC BY 4.0.

The structured rows are CC BY 4.0. Link to this page; that is what turns a reuse into a citation. Prose stays under copyright.

Report a change
For researchers
Slug
inver-grove-heights-data-center-mn
Status value
rumored
Stage
Proposed
Tier
skeleton
Tags
skeleton
Place id
us/mn/dakota-county/inver-grove-heights
Coordinates
44.73525, -92.85265
Location precision
county
Location source
County seat (Hastings), Wikidata, placed at county level
Coordinate source
wikidata county seat
Location source number
Not disclosed
Location last verified
September 16, 2026
EPA registry id
Not disclosed
Use type values
not_disclosed
Tenancy value
not_disclosed
Cooling type value
not_disclosed
Capacity basis
not_disclosed
Water basis
not_disclosed, gallons_per_day
Acreage basis
Not disclosed
Interconnection value
not_disclosed
Capacity, if disclosed
Not disclosed
Rating of the county's rows
Not disclosed
Published
2026-09-05
Last verified
2026-09-25