Data Center Record.

Running Built from one source

Meta Rosemount Data Center

Meta lists a data center at Rosemount, Minnesota among the sites it operates. It is running, since July 16, 2025.

How much power it needs, how much water it would use and who would use it have not been disclosed.

Last verified · 3 sources, 2 primary · A skeleton record: built from one source, not yet reviewed in depth by a person. · How to read this page

How to read this page. Every fact links to the source it rests on; a number in brackets is its place in the source list. A figure no source gives reads Not disclosed, and nothing is estimated. Where sources give different figures, each is shown with who gave it, and another source's figure never stands in for the record's own. Entries are added and never overwritten; corrections are listed under What happened.

What is known

Each figure as its source gave it. The number in brackets is its place in the source list.

Land
Not disclosed
Power it would draw
Not disclosed
Water
Not disclosed
Who leads it
Meta
as stated by the source
Who would use it
Not disclosed
Jobs once it runs
Not disclosed
Tax each year
Not disclosed
Every field, with who said it and when (Researcher view)

Impact figures

FieldValueWho says soSourceLast verified
How much power it needs Not disclosed
How much water it would use Not disclosed
How loud it would be Not disclosed
Jobs once it runs Not disclosed
Tax it would pay each year Not disclosed

The record's fields

FieldValueWho says soSourceLast verified
Who is building it Meta as stated by the source October 4, 2026
Who is constructing it Not disclosed
How much land Not disclosed
Where its power comes from Not disclosed
Grid connection Not disclosed
How it is cooled Not disclosed

The developer's figure is what the company said; what a permit allows is the ceiling a permit sets; measured means observed. Water is in gallons a day or a year, whichever the source stated; a tax claim given as a range shows both ends, each linked to the source that gave it.

Still not public, and where it would show up

The record adds each the day a source gives it. Why these documents.

  • Water useA state water right filing or a water supply agreement.
  • Who would use itA lease announcement or a tenant named in a filing.
  • Power the campus would drawA utility or public service commission docket, an interconnection filing, or an air permit for an on site plant.
  • Jobs and taxAn incentive agreement, a county's economic development filing or a fiscal note.

What was decided

Acts of Dakota County and Rosemount about data centers, on the record with their source. A rule about the area is not a decision about this record.

DateWhoDecisionSource
Inver Grove Heights QLevr filed lawsuit in Dakota County District Court in July 2026 mprnews.org
Inver Grove Heights One year moratorium approved in June 2026 mprnews.org
Inver Grove Heights Proposed 55,000 square foot data center on Carmen Avenue East exempted from one year moratorium on September 15, 2026 mprnews.org
Inver Grove Heights One year moratorium on data center construction approved in June 2026 cbsnews.com
Inver Grove Heights City Council approves moratorium carve out for QLevr LLC data center on Carmen Avenue East on September 15, 2026 cbsnews.com
Inver Grove Heights Inver Grove Heights made an exception to their moratorium on data centers to avoid multi million dollar lawsuit audacy.com
3 earlier decisions on the county's rows
DateWhoDecisionSource
Inver Grove Heights City council voted 3-1 to approve QLevr LLC's project carving it out of the moratorium cbsnews.com
Inver Grove Heights Inver Grove Heights passed a pause on data centers cbsnews.com
Inver Grove Heights Inver Grove Heights held a data center vote kare11.com

What happened

  1. (the day the page was read; it gives no date of its own)

    Meta lists Meta Rosemount Data Center at Rosemount, Minnesota on its own page of data center locations, read September 14, 2026. [2]

  2. · Status: running (content date)

    Meta deployed AI designed sustainable concrete at its data center construction site in Rosemount, Minnesota [3]

The full Meta Rosemount Data Center timeline, in order

What was said

Sen. Erin Maye Quade said the federal Ratepayer Protection Act is a great first start but does not account for heat islands, water, noise or light pollution
Erin Maye Quade, Minnesota state senator · September 25, 2026 · paraphrased · Duluth News Tribune local outlet

Every statement about data centers in Minnesota, by speaker

The site

The pin is the site, as the EPA's facility record places it. Location from an EPA air permit.

  • This record: Running, ringed
  • data center
  • Smaller pins: 12 other published records in Minnesota
Details
  • this record's location, ringed
  • parcel outline, from the county parcel record
  • city limits, U.S. Census Bureau, on a town level record
  • county boundary

The other pins are the published projects in the same state, each in its stage color. The imagery beneath is the USGS national orthoimagery, public domain, shown so the land around the site can be read.

Where
14701 Blaine Ave BLDG 1, Rosemount, MN 55068, Rosemount, Dakota County, Minnesota [source]
How exactly it is located
Exact, the point of the EPA's facility record
The parcel
No parcel outline in the public record
Nearest homes
Not computed for a record placed at a place center
Nearest records
By the straight line between two exact points.

Questions about this project

4 questions answered from the record

Answered from the rows on this page.

Who is building Meta Rosemount Data Center?

Meta is the developer. No construction contractor is named on the record yet.

How much power and water does Meta Rosemount Data Center say it needs?

Power: not disclosed by any source on file. Water: not disclosed by any source on file.

Where does Meta Rosemount Data Center stand today?

It is running, since July 16, 2025. The newest entry, July 16, 2025: Meta deployed AI designed sustainable concrete at its data center construction site in Rosemount, Minnesota [3].

What has Rosemount or Dakota County decided about it?

Inver Grove Heights: QLevr filed lawsuit in Dakota County District Court in July 2026 (reported September 15, 2026, source); and Inver Grove Heights: One year moratorium approved in June 2026 (reported September 15, 2026, source). 9 events are on the county's rows; a rule about the area is not a decision about this record.

Sources

Primary documents first: filings, minutes, dockets and official pages. Then reporting. The numbers are the ones the entries above cite.

Primary documents

  1. EPA ECHO detailed facility report: Jimnist LLC, U.S. Environmental Protection Agency
  2. Meta: Our U.S. data center fleet, Meta, September 14, 2026

Reporting

  1. Using AI to make lower carbon, faster curing concrete - Engineering at Meta, Engineering at Meta, July 16, 2025, local outlet

3 sources on file.

Cite this record

Data Center Record, "Meta Rosemount Data Center", https://datacenterrecord.org/projects/meta-rosemount-data-center-mn, last verified October 4, 2026.

Last verified , first recorded . Every correction is logged on the corrections page.

Cite this page

Data Center Record, "Meta Rosemount Data Center", https://datacenterrecord.org/projects/meta-rosemount-data-center-mn. Data: Data Center Record, datacenterrecord.org, CC BY 4.0.

The structured rows are CC BY 4.0. Link to this page; that is what turns a reuse into a citation. Prose stays under copyright.

Report a change
For researchers
Slug
meta-rosemount-data-center-mn
Status value
operational
Stage
Running
Tier
skeleton
Tags
skeleton
Place id
us/mn/dakota-county/rosemount
Coordinates
44.73429, -93.054972
Location precision
permit_point
Location source
https://echo.epa.gov/detailed-facility-report?fid=110071654357
Coordinate source
https://echo.epa.gov/detailed-facility-report?fid=110071654357
Location source number
[1]
Location last verified
October 4, 2026
EPA registry id
110071654357
Use type values
not_disclosed
Tenancy value
not_disclosed
Cooling type value
not_disclosed
Capacity basis
not_disclosed
Water basis
not_disclosed, gallons_per_day
Acreage basis
Not disclosed
Interconnection value
not_disclosed
Capacity, if disclosed
Not disclosed
Rating of the county's rows
Not disclosed
Published
2026-09-14
Last verified
2026-10-04