Oppidan Apple Valley Data Center Campus
Apple Valley, Dakota County, MNDeveloper: Oppidan Investment CompanyCensus GEOID 27037
- Stage
- Proposed
- Undisclosed in public filings
- Power, Land, Water
Oppidan Investment Company filed environmental review documents for a 3 building data center campus at the former gravel quarry site in Apple Valley, Dakota County, Minnesota. It is proposed, since April 11, 2025.
How much power it needs, how much water it would use and who would use it have not been disclosed.
Tap a pin for the data center, the parcel for its record
- This record: Proposed, ringed
- data center
- Smaller pins: 26 other published records in Minnesota
Details
- this record's location, ringed
- parcel outline, from the county parcel record
- city limits, U.S. Census Bureau, on a town level record
- county boundary
The other pins are the published projects in the same state, each in its stage color. The imagery beneath is the USGS national orthoimagery, public domain, shown so the land around the site can be read.
How to read this page. Every fact links to the source it rests on; a number in brackets is its place in the source list. A figure no source gives reads Not disclosed, and nothing is estimated. Where sources give different figures, each is shown with who gave it, and another source's figure never stands in for the record's own. Entries are added and never overwritten; corrections are listed under What happened.
What is known
Each figure as its source gave it. The number in brackets is its place in the source list.
- Buildings
- 3 buildings agency filing, verified October 27, 2026
- Who leads it
- Oppidan Investment Company as stated by the source
- Undisclosed in public filings
- Land, Power it would draw, Water, Who would use it, Jobs once it runs, Tax each year
Every field, with who said it and when (Researcher view)
Impact figures
| Field | Value | Who says so | Source | Last verified |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| How much power it needs | ||||
| How much water it would use | ||||
| How loud it would be | ||||
| Jobs once it runs | ||||
| Tax it would pay each year |
The record's fields
| Field | Value | Who says so | Source | Last verified |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Who is building it | Oppidan Investment Company | as stated by the source | October 27, 2026 | |
| Who is constructing it | ||||
| How much land | ||||
| Buildings | 3 buildings | agency filing, verified October 27, 2026 | applevalleymn.gov (opens in a new tab) | October 27, 2026 |
| Where its power comes from | ||||
| Grid connection | ||||
| How it is cooled |
A blank value cell means not disclosed by any source on file; a blank basis cell means the source gave the figure without saying on what basis.
The developer's figure is what the company said; what a permit allows is the ceiling a permit sets; measured means observed. Water is in gallons a day or a year, whichever the source stated; a tax claim given as a range shows both ends, each linked to the source that gave it.
Still not public, and where it would show up
The record adds each the day a source gives it. Why these documents.
- Water use A state water right filing or a water supply agreement.
- Who would use it A lease announcement or a tenant named in a filing.
- Power the campus would draw A utility or public service commission docket, an interconnection filing, or an air permit for an on site plant.
- Jobs and tax An incentive agreement, a county's economic development filing or a fiscal note.
What was decided
Acts of Dakota County and Apple Valley about data centers, on the record with their source. A rule about the area is not a decision about this record.
| Date | Who | Decision | Source |
|---|---|---|---|
| Inver Grove Heights | QLevr filed lawsuit in Dakota County District Court in July 2026 | mprnews.org (opens in a new tab) | |
| Inver Grove Heights | One year moratorium approved in June 2026 | mprnews.org (opens in a new tab) | |
| Inver Grove Heights | Proposed 55,000 square foot data center on Carmen Avenue East exempted from one year moratorium on September 15, 2026 | mprnews.org (opens in a new tab) | |
| Inver Grove Heights | One year moratorium on data center construction approved in June 2026 | cbsnews.com (opens in a new tab) | |
| Inver Grove Heights | City Council approves moratorium carve out for QLevr LLC data center on Carmen Avenue East on September 15, 2026 | cbsnews.com (opens in a new tab) | |
| Inver Grove Heights | Inver Grove Heights made an exception to their moratorium on data centers to avoid multi million dollar lawsuit | audacy.com (opens in a new tab) |
3 earlier decisions on the county's rows
| Date | Who | Decision | Source |
|---|---|---|---|
| Inver Grove Heights | City council voted 3-1 to approve QLevr LLC's project carving it out of the moratorium | cbsnews.com (opens in a new tab) | |
| Inver Grove Heights | Inver Grove Heights passed a pause on data centers | cbsnews.com (opens in a new tab) | |
| Inver Grove Heights | Inver Grove Heights held a data center vote | kare11.com (opens in a new tab) |
September 29, 2026 Farmington, MN Farmington residents share concerns about proposed data center
The Farmington City Council held a special meeting on September 29, 2026 to review municipal data center zoning ordinances, noise limits, and water usage conditions following community pushback and litigation over the Tract hyperscale campus.
- Farmington City Council Applicant and Economic Development Presentation Developer Representative transcribed from the official recording
"proposed 2 and a.5 million square foot data center is playing out. That's about the size of Terminal One at MSP airport. The scale of the project is so big that the term data center doesn't even apply. It is being called a hyperscale data center. As Jonah Kaplan reports, the case could set a precedent for nearly a dozen other projects across Minnesota."
- Farmington City Council Official Deliberation Elected Official transcribed from the official recording
"remote computer servers in buildings called data centers. Tracked a Denver based development company wants to build a massive technology park to house servers in this space. An abandoned golf course in Farmington and the open fields next to it. Land that was once planned for a new school. >> You're literally in your backyard. >> Yep. There's three flags out there at 250 ft from our house. That's or from the property line. That's where the"
- Resident public comment Resident Public Comment transcribed from the official recording
">> Yep. I don't even have to get to the data center being here. For SHler's neighbors, the issues go deeper. The city of Farmington approved the project after annexing the land from Castle Rock Township and reszoning it. But Castle Rock residents, including Shhatler, sued because they claim the annexing agreement prohibits the city from changing the zoning without their consent >> if it's not adjacent. >> Kathy Johnson and Mo Fashami also live"
Using this data in a report? Support the record.
What happened
-
· Status: proposed (content date)
Oppidan plans a data center campus in Apple Valley with estimated water usage of about 8 million gallons per year.
The full Oppidan Apple Valley Data Center Campus timeline, in order
The site
The pin is the site's address.
- Where
- 152nd Street West and Johnny Cake Ridge Road, Apple Valley, MN 55124, Apple Valley, Dakota County, Minnesota [source] (opens in a new tab)
- How exactly it is located
- Exact, at the address
- The parcel
- No parcel outline in the public record
- Nearest homes
- Not computed for a record placed at a place center
- Nearest records
- Tract Farmington Technology Park, 5.0 mi
- Meta Rosemount Data Center Campus, 6.9 mi
- DataBank Eagan Data Center (MSP2), 7.9 mi
- Iron Gate Data Centers Eagan, 8.0 mi
- DataBank Twin Cities Edina Data Center (MSP1), 11 mi
Keep going
Questions about this project
5 questions answered from the record
How big is Oppidan Apple Valley Data Center Campus?
-
The record has one measure of its size: 3 buildings (agency filing, verified October 27, 2026, applevalleymn.gov (opens in a new tab)). Its power capacity is not disclosed.
Who is building Oppidan Apple Valley Data Center Campus?
-
Oppidan Investment Company is the developer. No construction contractor is named on the record yet.
How much power and water does Oppidan Apple Valley Data Center Campus say it needs?
-
Power: not disclosed by any source on file. Water: not disclosed by any source on file.
Where does Oppidan Apple Valley Data Center Campus stand today?
-
It is proposed, since April 11, 2025. The newest entry, April 11, 2025: Oppidan plans a data center campus in Apple Valley with estimated water usage of about 8 million gallons per year. [1]
What has Apple Valley or Dakota County decided about it?
-
Inver Grove Heights (rated restrictive): QLevr filed lawsuit in Dakota County District Court in July 2026 (reported September 15, 2026, mprnews.org (opens in a new tab)); and Inver Grove Heights: One year moratorium approved in June 2026 (reported September 15, 2026, mprnews.org (opens in a new tab)). 9 events are on the county's rows; a rule about the area is not a decision about this record.
Sources
Reporting
- Minnesota Data Center Debate Turns to Water Consumption - GovTech (opens in a new tab), GovTech, April 11, 2025, query feed
1 source on file.
About this data
Last verified , first recorded . Every correction is logged on the corrections page. Report a correction · Send a tip about Oppidan Apple Valley Data Center Campus
Cite this page
Data Center Record, "Oppidan Apple Valley Data Center Campus", https://datacenterrecord.org/projects/oppidan-apple-valley-campus-mn. Data: Data Center Record, datacenterrecord.org, CC BY-NC 4.0.
The structured rows are CC BY-NC 4.0. Link to this page; that is what turns a reuse into a citation. Commercial use needs a license. Prose stays under copyright.
For researchers
- Stage
- Proposed
- Tier
- built from one source
- Tags
- Built from one source
- Coordinates
- 44.7285, -93.1945
- How the location is known
- Location from the site's street address.
- Location source
- https://www.applevalleymn.gov/
- Coordinate source
- City of Apple Valley EAW environmental review parcel
- Rating of the county's rows
- Restrictive
- Published
- October 21, 2026
- Last verified
- October 27, 2026
- Undisclosed in public filings
- Location source number, Location last verified, EPA registry id, Uses, Tenancy, Cooling, How capacity was disclosed, How water was disclosed, How acreage was disclosed, Interconnection, Capacity, if disclosed