Data Center Record.

Data centers in Minneapolis, Minnesota

Minneapolis has 6 data centers on the record: 4 running, 1 proposed and 1 stalled or cancelled. Minneapolis limits new data centers, and a pause on new data centers is on the record. The latest decision on the record: The city council approved a temporary moratorium on data centers in most of the city, September 15, 2026. Hennepin County's own decisions are on the Hennepin County page.

Updated · Every line below links to its source · How the record works

How to read this page. Every count comes from the records on this page and links to where it is counted. Nothing is published until a person reads its source, and a figure no source gives reads Not disclosed; nothing is estimated. A rating changes only when a person sets it.

The 6 data centers in Minneapolis

Newest activity first

Each row is one site with its stage, its latest dated entry and what its sources disclose. A figure no source gives reads Not disclosed.

  1. Running Built from one source

    DataBank Minneapolis data center

    Minneapolis, Hennepin County · DataBank

    Latest, October 1, 2026: DataBank acquired the building housing MSP2 data center at 3255 Neil Armstrong Boulevard in Eagan Minnesota prnewswire.com local outlet

    Land
    Not disclosed
    Power
    Not disclosed
    Water
    Not disclosed
    Tenant
    Not disclosed
  2. Running Built from one source

    Centersquare Minneapolis data center

    Minneapolis, Hennepin County · Centersquare

    No dated entry on the record yet.

    Land
    Not disclosed
    Power
    Not disclosed
    Water
    Not disclosed
    Tenant
    Not disclosed
  3. Running Built from one source

    Cologix Minneapolis

    Minneapolis, Hennepin County · Cologix

    No dated entry on the record yet.

    Land
    Not disclosed
    Power
    Not disclosed
    Water
    Not disclosed
    Tenant
    Not disclosed
  4. Running Built from one source

    H5 Minneapolis

    Minneapolis, Hennepin County · H5 Data Centers

    No dated entry on the record yet.

    Land
    Not disclosed
    Power
    Not disclosed
    Water
    Not disclosed
    Tenant
    Not disclosed
  5. Reported Built from one source

    Legacy Investing North Loop Data Center

    Minneapolis, Hennepin County · Legacy Investing

    No dated entry on the record yet.

    Land
    Not disclosed
    Power
    Not disclosed
    Water
    Not disclosed
    Tenant
    Not disclosed
  6. Land
    Not disclosed
    Power
    Not disclosed
    Water
    Not disclosed
    Tenant
    Not disclosed

Where

6 data centers in Minneapolis: 4 running, 1 proposed, 1 stalled or cancelled. A dashed edge means the exact site is not in the public record; every pin here marks a town or the county.

The outline is Minneapolis's boundary from the U.S. Census Bureau. Tap a pin for that data center's facts and a link to its page.

What Minneapolis has decided

1 body, 5 decisions on the record

What the city has done about data centers: each body on its own row with its rating, open, case by case, restrictive or closed, never good or bad, and every vote, ordinance, moratorium or agreement behind its toggle, newest first, with its source.

Reported: the source's date; the item names no day of its own. A month with no day: the source names the month and not the day.

  1. Minneapoliscity

    The city council approved a temporary moratorium on data centers in most of the city, reported September 15, 2026.

    yahoo.com national outlet

    restrictive
    5 acts on this row
    1. moratorium adopted

      The city council approved a temporary moratorium on data centers in most of the city

      yahoo.com national outlet

    2. moratorium adopted

      The Minneapolis City Council passed a six month ban on data centers larger than 350,000 square feet.

      mprnews.org local outlet

      Also reported by 1 source
    3. hearing

      North Loop residents held community meeting over data center

      cbsnews.com national outlet

    4. moratorium

      Minneapolis City Council halts new data center developments until November

      mndaily.com local outlet

    5. moratorium

      Minneapolis City Council passed a temporary freeze on new data center development in June 2026.

      yahoo.com national outlet

    Last verified September 23, 2026.

The rules across Minnesota.

What happened

  1. · Minneapolis

    Moratorium adopted: The city council approved a temporary moratorium on data centers in most of the city yahoo.com national outlet

  2. · Minneapolis

    Moratorium adopted: The Minneapolis City Council passed a six month ban on data centers larger than 350,000 square feet. mprnews.org local outlet

  3. · Former Star Tribune Printing Plant Data Center

    Cancelled: Legacy Investing withdrew from a purchase agreement for a 20 megawatt data center at the former Star Tribune printing facility in the North Loop neighborhood. mprnews.org local outlet

  4. · Former Star Tribune Printing Plant Data Center

    Now reported: The former Star Tribune printing plant in Minneapolis' North Loop neighborhood is in talks to become the city's latest data center. kstp.com local outlet

  5. · Minneapolis

    Hearing: North Loop residents held community meeting over data center cbsnews.com national outlet

  6. · Minneapolis

    Moratorium: Minneapolis City Council halts new data center developments until November mndaily.com local outlet

Minnesota, year by year · Every milestone, by month

What was said

James Jorgenson, an engineering drafting and design education assistant professor at Dunwoody College of Technology, said data centers affect daily life more than many people realize and it isn't just for AI.
James Jorgenson, engineering drafting and design education assistant professor at Dunwoody College of Technology · September 5, 2026 · paraphrased · 5 EYEWITNESS NEWS local outlet

Every Minnesota statement, by speaker

Disclosed figures

nothing disclosed by 6 records

Power, water, jobs and tax, summed only where a data center disclosed the figure; what each facility is for; how each is cooled. Nothing here is estimated.

Power, water, jobs and tax

FigureDisclosed totalDisclosedNot disclosedBasis
PowerNot disclosed06Not disclosed by any of the 6 records
Water, stated per dayNot disclosed06Not disclosed by any of the 6 records
Water, stated per yearNot disclosed06Not disclosed by any of the 6 records
Permanent jobsNot disclosed06Not disclosed by any of the 6 records
Tax each yearNot disclosed06Not disclosed by any of the 6 records

Summed only where a record disclosed the figure; a record with no figure adds nothing and is counted as not disclosed. Water is summed per day and per year separately, as the sources stated it, and never converted. A tax claim given as a range is summed at both ends.

By what the facilities are for

UseRecordsPowerWaterJobsTax each year
Not disclosed6Not disclosedNot disclosedNot disclosedNot disclosedNot disclosed: power, water, jobs, tax each year

A record that lists several uses counts once under each. Each cell is the sum over the records with that use, disclosed rows only.

What the facilities are for

No source on file states what any of the 6 tracked facilities in Minneapolis are for.

How the facilities are cooled

No source on file states how any of the 6 tracked facilities in Minneapolis are cooled.

Cite this page

Data Center Record, "Data centers in Minneapolis, Hennepin County, Minnesota", https://datacenterrecord.org/states/mn/hennepin-county/minneapolis, updated October 1, 2026.

Cite this page

Data Center Record, "Data center records in Minneapolis, Hennepin County, Minnesota", https://datacenterrecord.org/states/mn/hennepin-county/minneapolis. Data: Data Center Record, datacenterrecord.org, CC BY 4.0.

The structured rows are CC BY 4.0. Link to this page; that is what turns a reuse into a citation. Prose stays under copyright.

Report a change

The rows here are part of the Minnesota export.

For researchers
Place id
us/mn/hennepin-county/minneapolis
Level
city
Census GEOID
Not disclosed
Rating value
orange
Scale word
Restrictive