Former Star Tribune Printing Plant Data Center
Developers proposed a data center at the former Star Tribune printing plant in the North Loop neighborhood of Minneapolis, drawing organized resident opposition at community meetings. It is cancelled, as reported September 11, 2026.
How much power it needs, how much water it would use and who would use it have not been disclosed.
How to read this page. Every fact links to the source it rests on; a number in brackets is its place in the source list. A figure no source gives reads Not disclosed, and nothing is estimated. Where sources give different figures, each is shown with who gave it, and another source's figure never stands in for the record's own. Entries are added and never overwritten; corrections are listed under What happened.
What is known
Each figure as its source gave it. The number in brackets is its place in the source list.
- Land
- Not disclosed
- Power it would draw
- Not disclosed
- Water
- Not disclosed
- Who leads it
- Not disclosed
- Who would use it
- Not disclosed
- Jobs once it runs
- Not disclosed
- Tax each year
- Not disclosed
Every field, with who said it and when (Researcher view)
Impact figures
| Field | Value | Who says so | Source | Last verified |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| How much power it needs | Not disclosed | |||
| How much water it would use | Not disclosed | |||
| How loud it would be | Not disclosed | |||
| Jobs once it runs | Not disclosed | |||
| Tax it would pay each year | Not disclosed |
The record's fields
| Field | Value | Who says so | Source | Last verified |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Who is building it | Not disclosed | |||
| Who is constructing it | Not disclosed | |||
| How much land | Not disclosed | |||
| Where its power comes from | Not disclosed | |||
| Grid connection | Not disclosed | |||
| How it is cooled | Not disclosed |
The developer's figure is what the company said; what a permit allows is the ceiling a permit sets; measured means observed. Water is in gallons a day or a year, whichever the source stated; a tax claim given as a range shows both ends, each linked to the source that gave it.
Still not public, and where it would show up
The record adds each the day a source gives it. Why these documents.
- Water useA state water right filing or a water supply agreement.
- Who would use itA lease announcement or a tenant named in a filing.
- Power the campus would drawA utility or public service commission docket, an interconnection filing, or an air permit for an on site plant.
- Who is behind itA land record, a zoning application or a company's own announcement.
- Jobs and taxAn incentive agreement, a county's economic development filing or a fiscal note.
What was decided
Acts of Hennepin County and Minneapolis about data centers, on the record with their source. A rule about the area is not a decision about this record.
| Date | Who | Decision | Source |
|---|---|---|---|
| Minneapolis | The city council approved a temporary moratorium on data centers in most of the city | yahoo.com | |
| Minneapolis | Minneapolis Planning Commission will meet October 13 to consider new zoning ordinances for possible future data centers | yahoo.com | |
| Minneapolis | The Minneapolis City Council passed a six month ban on data centers larger than 350,000 square feet. | mprnews.org | |
| Minneapolis | The six month freeze in Minneapolis does not apply to downtown data centers that occupy less than 350,000 square feet. | yahoo.com | |
| Minneapolis | Minneapolis City Council passed a temporary freeze on new data center development in June 2026. | yahoo.com | |
| Minneapolis | North Loop residents held community meeting over data center | cbsnews.com |
1 earlier decision on the county's rows
| Date | Who | Decision | Source |
|---|---|---|---|
| Minneapolis | Minneapolis City Council halts new data center developments until November | mndaily.com |
What happened
-
· Status: stalled or cancelled (source date; the content gives no date of its own)
Legacy Investing withdrew from a purchase agreement for a 20 megawatt data center at the former Star Tribune printing facility in the North Loop neighborhood. [10]
-
· Status: rumoredMoratorium (source date; the content gives no date of its own)
The former Star Tribune printing plant in Minneapolis' North Loop neighborhood is in talks to become the city's latest data center. The site is under the city's 350 thousand square foot moratorium limit. [6]
The full Former Star Tribune Printing Plant Data Center timeline, in order
15 corrections to this record
Every correction, with its reason
-
· the status of a projects row
The stage was set by timeline entries that were returned to draft on 2026-09-17 (they had been published onto the record while it was still a draft skeleton). With no published entry behind it the record reads rumored until one is approved. The old and new text.
-
· the kind of source of a history entry
The source was labeled with the Google News search that found it; it now carries its outlet's tier (the record's rules of 2026-09-23). The link did not change. The day's label corrections.
-
· the kind of source of a history entry
The source was labeled with the Google News search that found it; it now carries its outlet's tier (the record's rules of 2026-09-23). The link did not change. The day's label corrections.
-
· the kind of source of a history entry
The source was labeled with the Google News search that found it; it now carries its outlet's tier (the record's rules of 2026-09-23). The link did not change. The day's label corrections.
-
· the kind of source of a history entry
The source was labeled with the Google News search that found it; it now carries its outlet's tier (the record's rules of 2026-09-23). The link did not change. The day's label corrections.
-
· the kind of source of a history entry
The source was labeled with the Google News search that found it; it now carries its outlet's tier (the record's rules of 2026-09-23). The link did not change. The day's label corrections.
-
· the kind of source of a history entry
The source was labeled with the Google News search that found it; it now carries its outlet's tier (the record's rules of 2026-09-23). The link did not change. The day's label corrections.
-
· the kind of source of a history entry
The source was labeled with the Google News search that found it; it now carries its outlet's tier (the record's rules of 2026-09-23). The link did not change. The day's label corrections.
-
· the draft of a status history row
Published on a project that was still a draft skeleton and still short of the record's skeleton minimum rule; returned to draft on 2026-09-17 pending the project meeting the rule or a person's approval. The old and new text.
-
· the draft of a status history row
Published on a project that was still a draft skeleton and still short of the record's skeleton minimum rule; returned to draft on 2026-09-17 pending the project meeting the rule or a person's approval. The old and new text.
-
· the draft of a status history row
Published on a project that was still a draft skeleton and still short of the record's skeleton minimum rule; returned to draft on 2026-09-17 pending the project meeting the rule or a person's approval. The old and new text.
-
· the draft of a status history row
Published on a project that was still a draft skeleton and still short of the record's skeleton minimum rule; returned to draft on 2026-09-17 pending the project meeting the rule or a person's approval. The old and new text.
-
· the draft of a status history row
Published on a project that was still a draft skeleton and still short of the record's skeleton minimum rule; returned to draft on 2026-09-17 pending the project meeting the rule or a person's approval. The old and new text.
-
· the draft of a status history row
Published on a project that was still a draft skeleton and still short of the record's skeleton minimum rule; returned to draft on 2026-09-17 pending the project meeting the rule or a person's approval. The old and new text.
-
· the draft of a status history row
Published on a project that was still a draft skeleton and still short of the record's skeleton minimum rule; returned to draft on 2026-09-17 pending the project meeting the rule or a person's approval. The old and new text.
Every correction on the record is on the corrections page.
What was said
James Jorgenson, an engineering drafting and design education assistant professor at Dunwoody College of Technology, said data centers affect daily life more than many people realize and it isn't just for AI.
The site
Where in Hennepin County is not in the public record. The pin marks the county seat, not a building, and the outline is the county.
Tap a pin for the data center, the parcel for its record
- This record: Stalled or cancelled, ringed
- data center
- Dashed edge: the exact site is not in the public record
- Smaller pins: 12 other published records in Minnesota
Details
- this record's location, ringed
- parcel outline, from the county parcel record
- city limits, U.S. Census Bureau, on a town level record
- county boundary
The other pins are the published projects in the same state, each in its stage color. The imagery beneath is the USGS national orthoimagery, public domain, shown so the land around the site can be read.
- Where
- Minneapolis, Hennepin County, Minnesota
- How exactly it is located
- County level, the county seat
- The parcel
- No parcel outline in the public record
- Nearest homes
- Not computed for a record placed at a place center
- Nearest records
- Nearest records are not computed for a record placed at a county seat.
Questions about this project
4 questions answered from the record
Who is building Former Star Tribune Printing Plant Data Center?
-
Not disclosed. No source on file names the developer. The sources read for this record are listed under Sources.
How much power and water does Former Star Tribune Printing Plant Data Center say it needs?
-
Power: not disclosed by any source on file. Water: not disclosed by any source on file.
Where does Former Star Tribune Printing Plant Data Center stand today?
-
It is cancelled, as reported September 11, 2026. The newest entry, reported September 11, 2026: Legacy Investing withdrew from a purchase agreement for a 20 megawatt data center at the former Star Tribune printing facility in the North Loop neighborhood. [10]
What has Minneapolis or Hennepin County decided about it?
-
Minneapolis (rated restrictive): The city council approved a temporary moratorium on data centers in most of the city (reported September 15, 2026, source); and Minneapolis: Minneapolis Planning Commission will meet October 13 to consider new zoning ordinances for possible future data centers (reported September 15, 2026, source). 7 events are on the county's rows; a rule about the area is not a decision about this record.
Sources
Reporting
- Residents react to data center developer scrapping plans to buy Minneapolis site - CBS News, CBS News, September 12, 2026, query feed
- Data center plans canceled in Minneapolis - FOX 9 Minneapolis St. Paul, FOX 9 Minneapolis-St. Paul, September 11, 2026, query feed
- Data center developer walks away from plans to buy old printing facility in Minneapolis' North Loop - CBS News, CBS News, September 12, 2026, query feed
- Minneapolis North Loop residents express concerns over potential data center - CBS News, CBS News, August 19, 2026, local outlet
- North Loop residents question developers over proposed data center at former Star Tribune site - CBS News, CBS News, August 19, 2026, local outlet
- Most Minnesotans aren’t sold on data centers, but others say it’s not just AI that uses them - 5 EYEWITNESS NEWS, 5 EYEWITNESS NEWS, September 5, 2026, local outlet
- Data center developer pulls out of Strib plant purchase - finance commerce.com, finance-commerce.com, September 11, 2026, local outlet
- Minneapolis data center plan for former Star Tribune site dropped - 5 EYEWITNESS NEWS, 5 EYEWITNESS NEWS, September 12, 2026, local outlet
- Developer backs out of plan to convert former Star Tribune printing plant into data center - Bring Me The News, Bring Me The News, September 11, 2026, local outlet
- Developer withdraws proposed North Loop data center in former Star Tribune printing plant - MPR News, MPR News, September 11, 2026, local outlet
- Data center plans canceled in Minneapolis - fox9.com, fox9.com, September 11, 2026, local outlet
- ‘What’s in it for us?’ Residents slam data center plans for former Star Tribune printing plant - MPR News, MPR News, August 23, 2026, local outlet
1 more source
- North Loop residents pack community meeting over data center, and more headlines - CBS News, CBS News, August 20, 2026, local outlet
13 sources on file.
Cite this record
Data Center Record, "Former Star Tribune Printing Plant Data Center", https://datacenterrecord.org/projects/former-star-tribune-printing-plant-data-center-minneapolis-mn, last verified September 17, 2026.
Cite this page
Data Center Record, "Former Star Tribune Printing Plant Data Center", https://datacenterrecord.org/projects/former-star-tribune-printing-plant-data-center-minneapolis-mn. Data: Data Center Record, datacenterrecord.org, CC BY 4.0.
The structured rows are CC BY 4.0. Link to this page; that is what turns a reuse into a citation. Prose stays under copyright.
For researchers
- Slug
- former-star-tribune-printing-plant-data-center-minneapolis-mn
- Status value
- cancelled
- Stage
- Stalled or cancelled
- Tier
- skeleton
- Tags
- skeleton
- Place id
- us/mn/hennepin-county/minneapolis
- Coordinates
- 44.98194, -93.26917
- Location precision
- county
- Location source
- County seat (Minneapolis), Wikidata, placed at county level
- Coordinate source
- wikidata county seat
- Location source number
- Not disclosed
- Location last verified
- September 16, 2026
- EPA registry id
- Not disclosed
- Use type values
- not_disclosed
- Tenancy value
- not_disclosed
- Cooling type value
- not_disclosed
- Capacity basis
- not_disclosed
- Water basis
- not_disclosed, gallons_per_day
- Acreage basis
- Not disclosed
- Interconnection value
- not_disclosed
- Capacity, if disclosed
- Not disclosed
- Rating of the county's rows
- Restrictive
- Published
- 2026-09-05
- Last verified
- 2026-09-17