Alabama decides case by case. From the state's own rule: Alabama Public Service Commission approved two year electric rate freeze and two solar projects for Meta data center, December 3, 2025.
1 site the EPA's registry shows and no record has verified is on the map apart from the count. What not yet verified means.
How to read this page. Every count comes from the records on this page and links to where it is counted. Nothing is published until a person reads its source, and a figure no source gives reads Not disclosed; nothing is estimated. A rating changes only when a person sets it.
A blank cell means not disclosed by any source on file. Power is the developer's figure or a permit's, each linked on the record. All 11 Alabama projects.
Every Alabama record11 records, and 1 site not yet verified listed apart · sort by any column · blank cell: not disclosed
Tier 1: an official or company source. Tier 2: a news report resolving to the outlet's own page. Located: a site coordinate from a permit, a parcel or an address, or the county or town centroid. Verified: the last day a person read the source. A blank cell means not disclosed by any source on file.
Every Alabama county (67)
8 of 67 counties have a record. A county without one is listed, not linked, until its first published record.
The rules in Alabama11 rows · rating rests only on a binding act in force
What the state and its counties and cities have decided. Each row is rated by what it has decided, open, case by case, restrictive or closed, never by whether that is good or bad.
Alabama Public Service Commission approved two year electric rate freeze and two solar projects for Meta data center.insideclimatenews.org (opens in a new tab)news outlet · Dec 3, 2025 · 9 acts on this rowEvery act on the Alabama row
approval
Alabama Public Service Commission approved rules requiring the commission to vote on each new data center project exceeding the 150 megawatt threshold within 90 days, with automatic approval if no vote occurs
Alabama Public Service Commission approved new transparency requirements for large data centers expected to draw 150 megawatts or more of electricity on a single contiguous property
Alabama Power to the People Act takes effect in October, requires Alabama Public Service Commission to determine that any large data center contract with Alabama Power recovers full cost of serving that customer before approval
Westover approved a 6 month moratorium on data centers.wbrc.com (opens in a new tab)local outlet · Aug 18, 2026 · 2 acts on this rowEvery act on the Westover row
moratorium adopted
Westover approved a 6 month moratorium on data centers
Brookwood City Council heard citizens concerns about a proposed data center.reutersconnect.com (opens in a new tab)national outlet · Reported Sep 3 · 1 act on this rowEvery act on the Brookwood row
statement
Brookwood City Council heard citizens concerns about a proposed data center.
Anniston City Council adopted Resolution No. 26 R-97 on August 18, 2026, imposing a 12 month moratorium on data center permitting, development, expansion and licensing.weisradio.com (opens in a new tab)local outlet · Aug 18, 2026 · 3 acts on this rowEvery act on the Anniston row
event
Anniston Planning Commission directed to study zoning, property sizes, residential separation, utility capacity, stormwater, transportation effects, backup generators, emergency response, noise, lighting and screening within six months.
Anniston Planning Commission directed to study data center issues and present recommendations within six months including appropriate locations, minimum lot sizes, electrical demand, water consumption, cooling systems, stormwater impacts, backup generators, noise and lighting standards, and neighborhood compatibility.
Anniston City Council adopted Resolution No. 26 R-97 on August 18, 2026, imposing a 12 month moratorium on data center permitting, development, expansion and licensing.
Chelsea adopted a one year data center moratorium on July 21, 2026.yahoo.com (opens in a new tab)national outlet · Jul 21, 2026 · 2 acts on this rowEvery act on the Chelsea row
moratorium adopted
Chelsea adopted a one year moratorium on new data center applications
Harpersville city council approved six month pause on data center projects in August 2026, followed by first of six public information sessions.wvtm13.com (opens in a new tab)local outlet · Sep 1, 2026 · 2 acts on this rowEvery act on the Harpersville row
moratorium adopted
Harpersville city council approved six month pause on data center projects in August 2026, followed by first of six public information sessions
Homewood temporarily paused new data center applications.abc3340.com (opens in a new tab)local outlet · Sep 8, 2026 · 1 act on this rowEvery act on the Homewood row
moratorium
Homewood temporarily paused new data center applications
Public interest meeting on proposed data center scheduled for Sept. 10 at 6 p.m. at Munford Recreation Center Gym.annistonstar.com (opens in a new tab)news outlet · Reported Sep 8 · 1 act on this rowEvery act on the Munford row
event
Public interest meeting on proposed data center scheduled for Sept. 10 at 6 p.m. at Munford Recreation Center Gym
Talladega County Commission and elected officials seeking one year moratorium on data center development.annistonstar.com (opens in a new tab)news outlet · Reported Sep 8 · 2 acts on this rowEvery act on the Talladega County row
moratorium
Talladega County Commission and elected officials seeking one year moratorium on data center development
City of Tarrant approved a 12 month moratorium on data centers.abc3340.com (opens in a new tab)local outlet · Sep 9, 2026 · 1 act on this rowEvery act on the Tarrant row
moratorium adopted
City of Tarrant approved a 12 month moratorium on data centers
Reported: the source's date; the item names no day of its own. A month with no day: the source names the month and not the day. A rating rests only on a binding act in force; "not rated" means no person has set one. A blank cell means the record holds nothing for it.
2 bills tracked in the Alabama legislature, 1 of them signed into law, grouped by where each stands. A row opens its own page; the Alabama laws page has what each law requires.
No official summary on file for any of these 2 measures; each row links to the legislature's page for the text.
Electric Utilities; review by Public Service Commission of certain contracts with large load customers further provided
2 bills tracked in Alabama; First Special Session 2026, legislature adjourned; last checked October 26, 2026. The last check found: 2 bills matched the watch terms as of October 26, 2026. Search terms: data center, data centre, large load, hyperscale, computing facility, server farm, high load factor (indirect), energy intensive facility (indirect), large electric load (indirect), digital asset mining (indirect), cryptocurrency mining (indirect), qualified technology facility (indirect), colocation (indirect), moratorium (with another term), sales tax exemption (with another term). The search on LegiScan. (opens in a new tab)
H.R. 9340, Ratepayer Protection Act: U.S. House of Representatives, roll call 312, September 16, 2026. On Motion to Suspend the Rules and Pass, as Amended. Passed, 417 to 3. Alabama's members: 7 yea, 0 nay. How each member voted
Member
Party
Position
Aderholt
R
Yea
Figures
D
Yea
Moore (AL)
R
Yea
Palmer
R
Yea
Rogers (AL)
R
Yea
Sewell
D
Yea
Strong
R
Yea
A blank party cell means the clerk's roll gives none.
H.R. 9340, Ratepayer Protection Act: U.S. Senate, roll call 254, September 30, 2026. On Cloture on the Motion to Proceed H.R. 9340. Cloture on the Motion to Proceed Rejected, 57 to 43. Alabama's members: 2 yea, 0 nay. How each member voted
Member
Party
Position
Britt (R-AL)
R
Yea
Tuberville (R-AL)
R
Yea
A blank party cell means the clerk's roll gives none.
This is an industry that is rapidly changing from day to day, and at some point in time, you've got to address what the problem is, instead of just kind of kicking it down the road. That's been our position, that we need to have something in place, instead of just being fearful like other communities and deciding the easy way out, which is to go ahead and do a moratorium.
Doug Jones, seeking to become Alabama's first Democratic governor since 2003, called for data center regulation at a Huntsville rally on October 11, 2026.
Daniel Tait, executive director of Energy Alabama, said that a contract of this magnitude should never take effect without an explicit, public vote by elected regulators
Dr. Charles Steele Jr., former president of the Southern Christian Leadership Conference, expressed opposition to the data center tax incentive, saying the proximity to a 1965 Selma march campsite makes it problematic
Jennie Robinson, Huntsville City Council President, said the one hyperscale data center in Huntsville is plenty and future proposals should be evaluated under formal city policy
Bill Kling, District 4 City Council Member, stated he is opposed to any additional data centers coming into Huntsville and the city should not give them inducements
Mayor Dale Phillips said the city intends to move carefully and wants to vet every aspect before approving any data center proposal, and that there is nothing currently in the works.
Tuberville cosponsored the Senate version of the Ratepayer Protection Act, which would require states to consider standards making data centers drawing 100 MW or more pay the full cost of power plants, transmission lines and grid upgrades built to serve them
Sen. Tommy Tuberville co sponsored the Ratepayer Protection Act requiring states to establish standards for utility commission decisions when connecting large electricity users of 100 megawatts or more to the grid.
Terri Michal, a vocal opponent of data centers, was previously removed from a Birmingham City Council meeting over public comment rules during disputes about data center projects
Patmos founder John Johnson told neighbors at a community meeting that generators will have mufflers and the loudest equipment will stay inside, with the site quieter than the old Walmart.
Fairfield Mayor Herman Carnes Jr. visited a Patmos data center campus in Kansas City and described it as a multi story tech campus with a data center on at least one floor, stating it was quieter than many imagine.
Doug Jones accused Tuberville of ethical malpractice for accepting campaign funds from large tech companies currently building data centers in west Alabama.
Morgan County Commission Chairman Ray Long states a recently enacted data center moratorium was hollow because the county had no authority to enforce it.
State Sen. Sam Givhan cites overwhelming opposition to data centers in the Tennessee Valley region and says the area does not need them from an energy standpoint.
Nebius spokesperson Leah Davis said the company followed every normal and legal procedure of any other economic development project that happens in the city of Birmingham
Former U.S. Sen. Doug Jones said voters concerned about data center projects should vote for him because his opponent would allow them without scrutiny.
Council member Michael Shirley requested that if the developer does not honor a 45 day wait period, the council should call a special meeting to consider a moratorium.
The fund directs money toward teachers, first responders, energy and water infrastructure and community needs in areas where Meta owns and operates data centers
Gov. Kay Ivey signed President Donald Trump's Ratepayer Protection Pledge to keep electricity costs tied to data centers from being passed on to households
"Alabama is already requiring demonstrations to verify proposed demand, long term contracts, minimum building requirements, upfront reimbursement of direct costs, and even termination fees."
Which counties and cities in Alabama have rules about data centers?
10 county and city rows are on the record, 6 of them rated: Westover is rated restrictive: Westover approved a 6 month moratorium on data centers, August 18, 2026, source (opens in a new tab), Anniston is rated restrictive: Anniston City Council adopted Resolution No. 26 R-97 on August 18, 2026, imposing a 12 month moratorium on data center permitting, development, expansion and licensing, source (opens in a new tab) and Chelsea is rated restrictive: Chelsea adopted a one year data center moratorium on July 21, 2026, source (opens in a new tab). The state's own row is rated case by case, with 9 dated acts listed under the scorecard. Resources: the questions people ask about data centers
answered from the rows above
What is proposed or being built near me in Alabama, by county?
A blank cell means no record in Alabama disclosed the figure. Third party figures on the same metrics are listed apart below; a figure a project disclosed about itself is never mixed with them.
Figure
Disclosed total
Disclosed
Without a figure
Basis
Power
0
11
Water, stated per day
0
11
Water, stated per year
0
11
Permanent jobs
0
11
Tax each year
0
11
A blank total means no record disclosed the figure; the count without one says how many.
Summed only where a record disclosed the figure; a record with no figure adds nothing and is counted as not disclosed. Water is summed per day and per year separately, as the sources stated it, and never converted. A tax claim given as a range is summed at both ends.
The disclosed totals are in the table above.
No source on file states what any of the 11 tracked facilities in Alabama are for. 1 site not yet verified is named apart and is not in that number.
What each use disclosed
Use
Records
Power
Water
Jobs
Tax each year
No stated use
11
A blank cell means no record with that use disclosed the figure.
A record that lists several uses counts once under each. Each cell is the sum over the records with that use, disclosed rows only.
Method
Facilities
Share of facilities
Closed loop liquid
1
9%
No stated cooling type
10
91%
11 facilities in Alabama. 1 site not yet verified is named apart and is not counted here. A facility carries one cooling method; nothing here is estimated.
Sources read for Alabama
10 sources
10 sources are read for Alabama:
Newspapers
AL.com, TimesDaily
Public broadcaster
Alabama Public Radio
Economic development
Alabama Department of Commerce
Search feeds
6 news searches
Every feed, with its kind and tier
What the monitor reads for Alabama: feeds every four hours, pages daily.
FiguresOnly what a source states, with its basis. Nothing is estimated, and a figure no source gives reads not disclosed.
LicenseData CC BY-NC 4.0 (opens in a new tab); free for personal, academic, civic and newsroom reporting with attribution. Commercial, enterprise, financial or AI training use needs a commercial license. Prose stays under copyright.
Cite this pageData Center Record, "Data centers in Alabama", https://datacenterrecord.org/states/al, updated October 26, 2026.CSV · JSON · GeoJSON
Data Center Record, "Data center records in Alabama", https://datacenterrecord.org/states/al. Data: Data Center Record, datacenterrecord.org, CC BY-NC 4.0.
The structured rows are CC BY-NC 4.0. Link to this page; that is what turns a reuse into a citation. Prose stays under copyright.
reported 8, being built 2, running 1, not yet verified 1
Located records
2 located, 9 at a centroid, 0 without coordinates
Researcher view · Alabama · 11 data center sites, 0 buildings where disclosed, 11 rule rows, 2 bills · basis and source tier on every row · verified October 26, 2026