Data Center Record.

Reported Built from one source

Brookwood Proposed Data Center

Brookwood residents voiced concerns over a potential data center project in their area, and a town hall on the topic was held. It is reported, as reported August 25, 2026.

How much power it needs and how much water it would use have not been disclosed.

Last verified · 11 sources, 0 primary · A skeleton record: built from one source, not yet reviewed in depth by a person. · How to read this page

How to read this page. Every fact links to the source it rests on; a number in brackets is its place in the source list. A figure no source gives reads Not disclosed, and nothing is estimated. Where sources give different figures, each is shown with who gave it, and another source's figure never stands in for the record's own. Entries are added and never overwritten; corrections are listed under What happened.

What is known

Each figure as its source gave it. The number in brackets is its place in the source list.

Land
Not disclosed
Power it would draw
Not disclosed
Water
Not disclosed
Who leads it
Not disclosed
Who would use it
Kayvens LLC (affiliated with Meta)
as the source names them [10]
Jobs once it runs
Not disclosed
Tax each year
Not disclosed
Every field, with who said it and when (Researcher view)

Impact figures

FieldValueWho says soSourceLast verified
How much power it needs Not disclosed
How much water it would use Not disclosed
How loud it would be Not disclosed
Jobs once it runs Not disclosed
Tax it would pay each year Not disclosed

The record's fields

FieldValueWho says soSourceLast verified
Who is building it Not disclosed
Who is constructing it Not disclosed
How much land Not disclosed
Where its power comes from Not disclosed
Grid connection Not disclosed
How it is cooled Not disclosed

The developer's figure is what the company said; what a permit allows is the ceiling a permit sets; measured means observed. Water is in gallons a day or a year, whichever the source stated; a tax claim given as a range shows both ends, each linked to the source that gave it.

Still not public, and where it would show up

The record adds each the day a source gives it. Why these documents.

  • Water useA state water right filing or a water supply agreement.
  • Power the campus would drawA utility or public service commission docket, an interconnection filing, or an air permit for an on site plant.
  • Who is behind itA land record, a zoning application or a company's own announcement.
  • Jobs and taxAn incentive agreement, a county's economic development filing or a fiscal note.

What happened

  1. (source date; the content gives no date of its own)

    Brookwood has a possible data center project near Brookwood Middle School [9]

  2. (source date; the content gives no date of its own)

    Applied Digital owns 1,300 acres in Brookwood [6]

  3. · Status: rumored (source date; the content gives no date of its own)

    Brookwood data center proposal is 2 million square foot facility on Brookwood Parkway near Brookwood Middle School [5]

The full Brookwood Proposed Data Center timeline, in order

3 corrections to this record

Every correction, with its reason
  1. · the summary of a record items row

    the record's rules: the sentence was the source's wording or carried a number not in the card's facts; written again from the article The old and new text.

  2. · the kind of source of a history entry

    The source was labeled with the Google News search that found it; it now carries its outlet's tier (the record's rules of 2026-09-23). The link did not change. The day's label corrections.

  3. · the kind of source of a history entry

    The source was labeled with the Google News search that found it; it now carries its outlet's tier (the record's rules of 2026-09-23). The link did not change. The day's label corrections.

Every correction on the record is on the corrections page.

What was said

Doug Jones accused Tuberville of ethical malpractice for accepting campaign funds from large tech companies currently building data centers in west Alabama.
Doug Jones, Democratic gubernatorial candidate · September 10, 2026 · paraphrased · WVUA 23 local outlet
No signed project agreement yet according to Brookwood officials
Joe Barger, Mayor, Brookwood · September 8, 2026 · paraphrased · WBRC local outlet

Every statement about data centers in Alabama, by speaker

13 more statements on this page

Applied Digital Corporation donated $25,000 to Tommy Tuberville's gubernatorial campaign in August 2026.

September 10, 2026, WVUA 23 · WVUA 23 local outlet · the record (Paraphrased; said in the source itself)

Democratic gubernatorial candidate

Doug Jones proposed a one year moratorium on data centers and higher property tax brackets for data centers.

September 10, 2026, WVUA 23 · WVUA 23 local outlet · the record (Paraphrased; said in the source itself)

Applied Digital Corporation also donated $100,000 to Republican Forward, a conservative Alabama super PAC.

September 10, 2026, WVUA 23 · WVUA 23 local outlet · the record (Paraphrased; said in the source itself)

Brookwood Mayor Joe Barger said city leaders become involved once a developer seeks approvals

September 8, 2026, WBMA · WBMA local outlet · the record (Paraphrased; said in the source itself)

Global Head of Data Centers, Panattoni Development Company

Adam Kramer, Global Head of Data Centers at Panattoni Development Company, stated developers identify power access before purchasing land

September 8, 2026, WBMA · WBMA local outlet · the record (Paraphrased; said in the source itself)

Mayor, Brookwood

Mayor Joe Barger confirmed proposed development is an AI data center

September 8, 2026, WBRC · WBRC local outlet · the record (Paraphrased; said in the source itself)

Chelsea City Council President Scott Weygand said Chelsea needs to develop zoning standards for data centers

September 8, 2026, WBMA · WBMA local outlet · the record (Paraphrased; said in the source itself)

Tommy Tuberville, U.S. Senator and Republican gubernatorial nominee, supports data center development

August 28, 2026, Tuscaloosa Thread · Tuscaloosa Thread local outlet · the record (Paraphrased; said in the source itself)

Tuberville campaign finance disclosure

Applied Digital Corporation contributed $25,000 to Tuberville campaign

August 28, 2026, Tuscaloosa Thread · Tuscaloosa Thread local outlet · the record (Paraphrased; said in the source itself)

Doug Jones, Tuberville's Democratic opponent, called for a one year moratorium on new data centers

August 28, 2026, Tuscaloosa Thread · Tuscaloosa Thread local outlet · the record (Paraphrased; said in the source itself)

progressive grass-roots organization

Indivisible West Alabama hosting public forum on data centers and surveillance August 27 at Grace Presbyterian Church

August 25, 2026, The Tuscaloosa News · The Tuscaloosa News local outlet · the record (Paraphrased; said in the source itself)

Indivisible West Alabama and community groups

Concerns about proposed data centers include pollution of air, noise and water, excess power consumption leading to rising energy costs

August 25, 2026, The Tuscaloosa News · The Tuscaloosa News local outlet · the record (Paraphrased; said in the source itself)

Indivisible West Alabama

Forum will address Flock Safety cameras and concerns about mass surveillance

August 25, 2026, The Tuscaloosa News · The Tuscaloosa News local outlet · the record (Paraphrased; said in the source itself)

The site

Where in Tuscaloosa County is not in the public record. The pin marks the county seat, not a building, and the outline is the county.

  • This record: Proposed, ringed
  • data center
  • Dashed edge: the exact site is not in the public record
  • Smaller pins: 9 other published records in Alabama
Details
  • this record's location, ringed
  • parcel outline, from the county parcel record
  • city limits, U.S. Census Bureau, on a town level record
  • county boundary

The other pins are the published projects in the same state, each in its stage color. The imagery beneath is the USGS national orthoimagery, public domain, shown so the land around the site can be read.

Where
Brookwood, Tuscaloosa County, Alabama
How exactly it is located
County level, the county seat
The parcel
No parcel outline in the public record
Nearest homes
Not computed for a record placed at a place center
Nearest records
Nearest records are not computed for a record placed at a county seat.

Questions about this project

5 questions answered from the record

Answered from the rows on this page.

Who is building Brookwood Proposed Data Center?

Not disclosed. No source on file names the developer. The sources read for this record are listed under Sources.

Who will use Brookwood Proposed Data Center?

The named tenant is Kayvens LLC (affiliated with Meta). No promise to the community is on the record.

How much power and water does Brookwood Proposed Data Center say it needs?

Power: not disclosed by any source on file. Water: not disclosed by any source on file.

Where does Brookwood Proposed Data Center stand today?

It is reported, as reported August 25, 2026. The newest entry, reported September 8, 2026: Brookwood has a possible data center project near Brookwood Middle School [9].

What has Brookwood or Tuscaloosa County decided about it?

No decision by Brookwood or Tuscaloosa County about data centers is on the record. The Tuscaloosa County page and the Alabama scorecard list every rated row the day a person publishes one.

Sources

Primary documents first: filings, minutes, dockets and official pages. Then reporting. The numbers are the ones the entries above cite.

Reporting

  1. TCEDA: $3.2B Brookwood Data Center To Generate $131.5M For Area Schools - Patch, Patch, September 24, 2026, query feed
  2. Applied Digital confirms $3.2 billion data center campus in Brookwood - WBRC, WBRC, September 24, 2026, query feed
  3. Tuscaloosa County lands $3.2 billion data center , first in Alabama to pay 'community benefits,' $270 million over 20 years - Yellowhammer News, Yellowhammer News, September 24, 2026, query feed
  4. Applied Digital holds town hall on AI data center campus in Brookwood - WBRC 6 News, WBRC 6 News, October 2, 2026, query feed
  5. Tuscaloosa group plans public forum on data centers, surveillance tech - The Tuscaloosa News, The Tuscaloosa News, August 25, 2026, local outlet
  6. Tuberville Gets $25,000 from Data Center Developer With Land in Brookwood - Tuscaloosa Thread, Tuscaloosa Thread, August 28, 2026, local outlet
  7. Brookwood residents continue to voice concerns over potential data center - cbs42.com, cbs42.com, August 18, 2026, local outlet
  8. Trump Pushes Data Centers Amid National Debate, Brookwood Town Hall Tonight - tuscaloosathread.com, tuscaloosathread.com, September 1, 2026, local outlet
  9. From land purchase to power: How data center projects move forward in central Alabama - WBMA, WBMA, September 8, 2026, local outlet
  10. Tuscaloosa County approves controversial $3 billion AI hub - tuscaloosanews.com, tuscaloosanews.com, September 25, 2026, local outlet
  11. Brookwood Council Vote Clears Last Zoning Hurdle for One of Major 3 Data Center Projects - Tuscaloosa Thread, Tuscaloosa Thread, September 16, 2026, local outlet

11 sources on file.

Cite this record

Data Center Record, "Brookwood Proposed Data Center", https://datacenterrecord.org/projects/brookwood-proposed-data-center-al, last verified October 6, 2026.

Last verified , first recorded . Every correction is logged on the corrections page and under What happened.

Cite this page

Data Center Record, "Brookwood Proposed Data Center", https://datacenterrecord.org/projects/brookwood-proposed-data-center-al. Data: Data Center Record, datacenterrecord.org, CC BY 4.0.

The structured rows are CC BY 4.0. Link to this page; that is what turns a reuse into a citation. Prose stays under copyright.

Report a change
For researchers
Slug
brookwood-proposed-data-center-al
Status value
rumored
Stage
Proposed
Tier
skeleton
Tags
skeleton
Place id
us/al/tuscaloosa-county/brookwood
Coordinates
33.20667, -87.53472
Location precision
county
Location source
County seat (Tuscaloosa), Wikidata, placed at county level
Coordinate source
wikidata county seat
Location source number
Not disclosed
Location last verified
September 16, 2026
EPA registry id
Not disclosed
Use type values
not_disclosed
Tenancy value
not_disclosed
Cooling type value
not_disclosed
Capacity basis
not_disclosed
Water basis
not_disclosed, gallons_per_day
Acreage basis
Not disclosed
Interconnection value
not_disclosed
Capacity, if disclosed
Not disclosed
Rating of the county's rows
Not disclosed
Published
2026-09-05
Last verified
2026-10-06