Data Center Record.

Data centers in Shelby County, Alabama

Shelby County has 1 data center on the record; it is proposed. No county rule about data centers is on the record for Shelby County itself; 2 bodies inside it have a scorecard row, and a pause on new data centers is on the record. The latest decision on the record: Harpersville adopted six month moratorium on data center development in August (Harpersville), September 8, 2026.

Updated · Every line below links to its source · How the record works

How to read this page. Every count comes from the records on this page and links to where it is counted. Nothing is published until a person reads its source, and a figure no source gives reads Not disclosed; nothing is estimated. A rating changes only when a person sets it.

The data center in Shelby County

Each row is one site with its stage, its latest dated entry and what its sources disclose. A figure no source gives reads Not disclosed.

  1. Land
    448 acresthird party estimate
    Power
    Not disclosed
    Water
    Not disclosed
    Tenant
    Not disclosed

Where

1 data center in Shelby County: proposed. A dashed edge means the exact site is not in the public record; every pin here marks a town or the county.

The outline is Shelby County's boundary from the U.S. Census Bureau. Tap a pin for that data center's facts and a link to its page.

The cities in Shelby County on the record (3)

3 of 3 cities have a record. A city without one is listed, not linked, until its first published record.

CityProjectsRules
Westover10
Chelsea01
Harpersville01

What Shelby County has decided

2 bodies, 4 decisions on the record

What the county and the cities in it have done about data centers: each body on its own row with its rating, open, case by case, restrictive or closed, never good or bad, and every vote, ordinance, moratorium or agreement behind its toggle, newest first, with its source.

Reported: the source's date; the item names no day of its own. A month with no day: the source names the month and not the day.

  1. Chelsea adopted a one year moratorium on new data center applications, reported September 8, 2026.

    abc3340.com local outlet

    no published rating
    2 acts on this row
    1. moratorium adopted

      Chelsea adopted a one year moratorium on new data center applications

      abc3340.com local outlet

    2. moratorium adopted

      Chelsea adopted a one year data center moratorium on July 21, 2026.

      yahoo.com national outlet

    Last verified September 8, 2026.

  2. Harpersville city council approved six month pause on data center projects in August 2026, followed by first of six public information sessions, August 2026.

    wvtm13.com local outlet

    no published rating
    2 acts on this row
    1. moratorium adopted

      Harpersville city council approved six month pause on data center projects in August 2026, followed by first of six public information sessions

      wvtm13.com local outlet

    2. moratorium adopted

      Harpersville adopted six month moratorium on data center development in August

      abc3340.com local outlet

    Last verified September 8, 2026.

The rules across Alabama.

What was said

Council member Michael Shirley requested that if the developer does not honor a 45 day wait period, the council should call a special meeting to consider a moratorium.
Michael Shirley, Council member, Westover · August 17, 2026 · paraphrased · www.yahoo.com national outlet

Every Alabama statement, by speaker

Disclosed figures

nothing disclosed by 1 record

Power, water, jobs and tax, summed only where a data center disclosed the figure; what each facility is for; how each is cooled. Nothing here is estimated.

Power, water, jobs and tax

FigureDisclosed totalDisclosedNot disclosedBasis
PowerNot disclosed01Not disclosed by any of the 1 record
Water, stated per dayNot disclosed01Not disclosed by any of the 1 record
Water, stated per yearNot disclosed01Not disclosed by any of the 1 record
Permanent jobsNot disclosed01Not disclosed by any of the 1 record
Tax each yearNot disclosed01Not disclosed by any of the 1 record

Summed only where a record disclosed the figure; a record with no figure adds nothing and is counted as not disclosed. Water is summed per day and per year separately, as the sources stated it, and never converted. A tax claim given as a range is summed at both ends.

By what the facilities are for

UseRecordsPowerWaterJobsTax each year
Not disclosed1Not disclosedNot disclosedNot disclosedNot disclosedNot disclosed: power, water, jobs, tax each year

A record that lists several uses counts once under each. Each cell is the sum over the records with that use, disclosed rows only.

What the facilities are for

No source on file states what any of the 1 tracked facility in Shelby County is for.

How the facilities are cooled

No source on file states how any of the 1 tracked facility in Shelby County is cooled.

Cite this page

Data Center Record, "Data centers in Shelby County, Alabama", https://datacenterrecord.org/states/al/shelby-county, updated September 25, 2026.

Cite this page

Data Center Record, "Data center records in Shelby County, Alabama", https://datacenterrecord.org/states/al/shelby-county. Data: Data Center Record, datacenterrecord.org, CC BY 4.0.

The structured rows are CC BY 4.0. Link to this page; that is what turns a reuse into a citation. Prose stays under copyright.

Report a change

The rows here are part of the Alabama export.

For researchers
Place id
us/al/shelby-county
Level
county
Census GEOID
Not disclosed
Rating value
Not disclosed
Scale word
Not disclosed