Data Center Record.

Running Built from one source

Meta Huntsville Data Center

Meta lists a data center at Huntsville, Alabama among the sites it operates. It is running; the record holds no sourced date for when it reached that stage.

How much power it needs, how much water it would use and who would use it have not been disclosed.

Last verified · 3 sources, 2 primary · A skeleton record: built from one source, not yet reviewed in depth by a person. · How to read this page

How to read this page. Every fact links to the source it rests on; a number in brackets is its place in the source list. A figure no source gives reads Not disclosed, and nothing is estimated. Where sources give different figures, each is shown with who gave it, and another source's figure never stands in for the record's own. Entries are added and never overwritten; corrections are listed under What happened.

What is known

Each figure as its source gave it. The number in brackets is its place in the source list.

Land
Not disclosed
Power it would draw
Not disclosed
Water
Not disclosed
Who leads it
Meta
as stated by the source
Who would use it
Not disclosed
Jobs once it runs
Not disclosed
Tax each year
Not disclosed
Every field, with who said it and when (Researcher view)

Impact figures

FieldValueWho says soSourceLast verified
How much power it needs Not disclosed
How much water it would use Not disclosed
How loud it would be Not disclosed
Jobs once it runs Not disclosed
Tax it would pay each year Not disclosed

The record's fields

FieldValueWho says soSourceLast verified
Who is building it Meta as stated by the source October 4, 2026
Who is constructing it Not disclosed
How much land Not disclosed
Where its power comes from Not disclosed
Grid connection Not disclosed
How it is cooled Not disclosed

The developer's figure is what the company said; what a permit allows is the ceiling a permit sets; measured means observed. Water is in gallons a day or a year, whichever the source stated; a tax claim given as a range shows both ends, each linked to the source that gave it.

Still not public, and where it would show up

The record adds each the day a source gives it. Why these documents.

  • Water useA state water right filing or a water supply agreement.
  • Who would use itA lease announcement or a tenant named in a filing.
  • Power the campus would drawA utility or public service commission docket, an interconnection filing, or an air permit for an on site plant.
  • Jobs and taxAn incentive agreement, a county's economic development filing or a fiscal note.

What happened

  1. · Status: running (the day the page was read; it gives no date of its own)

    Meta lists Meta Huntsville Data Center at Huntsville, Alabama on its own page of data center locations, read September 14, 2026. [1]

The full Meta Huntsville Data Center timeline, in order

1 correction to this record

Every correction, with its reason
  1. · the capacity mw of a projects row

    The capacity read 3.5 MW. The source's figure was 3.5 million square feet, a floor area, not a capacity, and the approval of 2026-09-25 wrote the number as megawatts. Returned to not disclosed, as it was before. The old and new text.

Every correction on the record is on the corrections page.

What was said

Sam Givhan said lawmakers should reconsider tax incentives offered to data centers and expect additional data center legislation in 2027
Sam Givhan, State Senator · September 23, 2026 · paraphrased · Huntsville Business Journal local outlet
Residents questioned Huntsville leaders about Meta expansion raising concerns about water use, power, jobs, environmental impacts and transparency
Huntsville residents · August 19, 2026 · paraphrased · yahoo.com national outlet

Every statement about data centers in Alabama, by speaker

2 more statements on this page

Jennie Robinson, Huntsville City Council President, said the one hyperscale data center in Huntsville is plenty and future proposals should be evaluated under formal city policy

September 23, 2026, Huntsville Business Journal · Huntsville Business Journal local outlet · the record (Paraphrased; said in the source itself)

Bill Kling, District 4 City Council Member, stated he is opposed to any additional data centers coming into Huntsville and the city should not give them inducements

September 23, 2026, Huntsville Business Journal · Huntsville Business Journal local outlet · the record (Paraphrased; said in the source itself)

The site

The pin is the site, as the EPA's facility record places it. Location from an EPA water permit.

  • This record: Running, ringed
  • data center
  • Smaller pins: 9 other published records in Alabama
Details
  • this record's location, ringed
  • parcel outline, from the county parcel record
  • city limits, U.S. Census Bureau, on a town level record
  • county boundary

The other pins are the published projects in the same state, each in its stage color. The imagery beneath is the USGS national orthoimagery, public domain, shown so the land around the site can be read.

Where
5400 Prosperity DR NW, Huntsville, AL 35810, Huntsville, Madison County, Alabama [source]
How exactly it is located
Exact, the point of the EPA's facility record
The parcel
No parcel outline in the public record
Nearest homes
Not computed for a record placed at a place center
Nearest records
By the straight line between two exact points.

Questions about this project

4 questions answered from the record

Answered from the rows on this page.

Who is building Meta Huntsville Data Center?

Meta is the developer. No construction contractor is named on the record yet.

How much power and water does Meta Huntsville Data Center say it needs?

Power: not disclosed by any source on file. Water: not disclosed by any source on file.

Where does Meta Huntsville Data Center stand today?

It is running; the date it reached that stage is not sourced, only the day a page was read. The newest entry, read on September 14, 2026: Meta lists Meta Huntsville Data Center at Huntsville, Alabama on its own page of data center locations, read September 14, 2026. [1]

What has Huntsville or Madison County decided about it?

No decision by Huntsville or Madison County about data centers is on the record. The Madison County page and the Alabama scorecard list every rated row the day a person publishes one.

Sources

Primary documents first: filings, minutes, dockets and official pages. Then reporting. The numbers are the ones the entries above cite.

Primary documents

  1. Meta: Our U.S. data center fleet, Meta, September 14, 2026
  2. EPA ECHO detailed facility report: Starbelt, North Huntsville, U.S. Environmental Protection Agency

Reporting

  1. Are More Data Centers Coming To North Alabama? What Local Leaders Are Saying - Huntsville Business Journal, Huntsville Business Journal, September 23, 2026, local outlet

3 sources on file.

Cite this record

Data Center Record, "Meta Huntsville Data Center", https://datacenterrecord.org/projects/meta-huntsville-data-center-al, last verified October 4, 2026.

Last verified , first recorded . Every correction is logged on the corrections page and under What happened.

Cite this page

Data Center Record, "Meta Huntsville Data Center", https://datacenterrecord.org/projects/meta-huntsville-data-center-al. Data: Data Center Record, datacenterrecord.org, CC BY 4.0.

The structured rows are CC BY 4.0. Link to this page; that is what turns a reuse into a citation. Prose stays under copyright.

Report a change
For researchers
Slug
meta-huntsville-data-center-al
Status value
operational
Stage
Running
Tier
skeleton
Tags
skeleton
Place id
us/al/madison-county/huntsville
Coordinates
34.84103, -86.63394
Location precision
permit_point
Location source
https://echo.epa.gov/detailed-facility-report?fid=110070255546
Coordinate source
https://echo.epa.gov/detailed-facility-report?fid=110070255546
Location source number
[2]
Location last verified
October 4, 2026
EPA registry id
110070255546
Use type values
not_disclosed
Tenancy value
not_disclosed
Cooling type value
not_disclosed
Capacity basis
not_disclosed
Water basis
not_disclosed, gallons_per_day
Acreage basis
Not disclosed
Interconnection value
not_disclosed
Capacity, if disclosed
Not disclosed
Rating of the county's rows
Not disclosed
Published
2026-09-14
Last verified
2026-10-04