Data Center Record.

Data centers in Kansas

Kansas has 5 data center sites, 0 buildings where disclosed on the record: 1 running and 4 proposed. Most are in Johnson County (2) and Barber County (1), and records are in 4 of 105 counties. The largest proposal is Data Center Edgerton in Johnson County; it is reported.

Kansas allows new data centers. From the state's own rule: Kansas enacted Senate Bill 98 in 2025 providing data centers with 20 year exemption from state and local sales taxes, September 9, 2026.

3 sites the EPA's registry shows and no record has verified are on the map apart from the count. What not yet verified means.

How to read this page. Every count comes from the records on this page and links to where it is counted. Nothing is published until a person reads its source, and a figure no source gives reads Not disclosed; nothing is estimated. A rating changes only when a person sets it.

Projects and campuses on the record

Facility and countyStageOperatorPower (MW)Latest entry
Data Center Edgerton Edgerton, Johnson CountyProposed
Data Center El Dorado El Dorado, Butler CountyProposed
Data Center Leavenworth Leavenworth, Leavenworth CountyProposed
Google Barber County Data Center Barber CountyProposedGoogle
TierPoint Kansas City - Lenexa Data Center Lenexa, Johnson CountyRunningTierPoint

A blank cell means not disclosed by any source on file. Power is the developer's figure or a permit's, each linked on the record. All 5 Kansas projects.

Every Kansas record 5 records, and 3 sites not yet verified listed apart · sort by any column · blank cell: not disclosed

RecordPlaceStageOperatorMWBasisLocatedTierVerified
Kansas City Data Center COlathe, JohnsonNot yet verifiedEPA registry22026-10-20
Netrality Data Centers, KC2 (air)Shawnee, JohnsonNot yet verifiedEPA registry22026-10-20
TierPoint Kansas City - Lenexa Data CenterLenexa, JohnsonRunningTierPointcentroid22026-10-20
Databank LTD Mci 3 (air)Lenexa, JohnsonNot yet verifiedDataBankEPA registry22026-10-03
Data Center EdgertonEdgerton, JohnsonProposedcentroid42026-09-17
Data Center El DoradoEl Dorado, ButlerProposedcentroid42026-09-17
Data Center LeavenworthLeavenworth, LeavenworthProposedcentroid42026-09-17
Google Barber County Data CenterBarberProposedGooglecentroid42026-09-17

Tier 1: an official or company source. Tier 2: a news report resolving to the outlet's own page. Located: a site coordinate from a permit, a parcel or an address, or the county or town centroid. Verified: the last day a person read the source. A blank cell means not disclosed by any source on file.

Every Kansas county (105)

4 of 105 counties have a record. A county without one is listed, not linked, until its first published record.

CountyCensus GEOIDProjectsRulesHow it treats data centers
Johnson County2009120
Barber County2000711case by case
Butler County2001512
Leavenworth County2010310
Franklin County2005901
Lyon County2011102
Pottawatomie County2014901
Sedgwick County2017301

A blank rating cell means no person has set one for the county. A county without a record is listed, not linked.

97 counties with no records yet
  • Allen County
  • Anderson County
  • Atchison County
  • Barton County
  • Bourbon County
  • Brown County
  • Chase County
  • Chautauqua County
  • Cherokee County
  • Cheyenne County
  • Clark County
  • Clay County
  • Cloud County
  • Coffey County
  • Comanche County
  • Cowley County
  • Crawford County
  • Decatur County
  • Dickinson County
  • Doniphan County
  • Douglas County
  • Edwards County
  • Elk County
  • Ellis County
  • Ellsworth County
  • Finney County
  • Ford County
  • Geary County
  • Gove County
  • Graham County
  • Grant County
  • Gray County
  • Greeley County
  • Greenwood County
  • Hamilton County
  • Harper County
  • Harvey County
  • Haskell County
  • Hodgeman County
  • Jackson County
  • Jefferson County
  • Jewell County
  • Kearny County
  • Kingman County
  • Kiowa County
  • Labette County
  • Lane County
  • Lincoln County
  • Linn County
  • Logan County
  • Marion County
  • Marshall County
  • McPherson County
  • Meade County
  • Miami County
  • Mitchell County
  • Montgomery County
  • Morris County
  • Morton County
  • Nemaha County
  • Neosho County
  • Ness County
  • Norton County
  • Osage County
  • Osborne County
  • Ottawa County
  • Pawnee County
  • Phillips County
  • Pratt County
  • Rawlins County
  • Reno County
  • Republic County
  • Rice County
  • Riley County
  • Rooks County
  • Rush County
  • Russell County
  • Saline County
  • Scott County
  • Seward County
  • Shawnee County
  • Sheridan County
  • Sherman County
  • Smith County
  • Stafford County
  • Stanton County
  • Stevens County
  • Sumner County
  • Thomas County
  • Trego County
  • Wabaunsee County
  • Wallace County
  • Washington County
  • Wichita County
  • Wilson County
  • Woodson County
  • Wyandotte County

The rules in Kansas 12 rows · rating rests only on a binding act in force

What the state and its counties and cities have decided. Each row is rated by what it has decided, open, case by case, restrictive or closed, never by whether that is good or bad.

BodyLevelRatingIn force untilLatest actActsVerified
KansasstateopenKansas enacted Senate Bill 98 in 2025 providing data centers with 20 year exemption from state and local sales taxes. hutchpost.com (opens in a new tab) local outlet Sep 9, 20268 acts on this row
Every act on the Kansas row
  1. moratorium

    Kansas WEALTH Coalition released joint statement calling for data center moratorium until significant guardrails established

    sentineltimes.com (opens in a new tab) news outlet

  2. litigation

    Judge Stephanie Goodenow ruled on Sept. 3 that Edgerton's lawsuit against Kimberly Twente and Carrie Schmidt violated their rights under the Kansas Public Speech Protection Act.

    johnsoncountypost.com (opens in a new tab) local outlet

  3. litigation

    Cities in Edgerton, El Dorado, Emporia, and elsewhere in Kansas filed lawsuits against residents to block or invalidate citizen petitions seeking to prohibit high impact data centers.

    yahoo.com (opens in a new tab) national outlet

  4. litigation

    City sought judicial review to determine if proposed ordinance is proper subject for citizen initiative process under Kansas law

    wibw.com (opens in a new tab) local outlet

  5. litigation

    Lyon County judge directed Emporia on August 20 to submit its proposed ordinance to voters in November.

    yahoo.com (opens in a new tab) national outlet

  6. litigation

    El Dorado filed lawsuit on July 14, Edgerton on August 4, and Emporia on August 9 seeking to overturn citizen petitions defining high impact data centers as those with peak power above 10 megawatts or water use above 100,000 gallons per day.

    yahoo.com (opens in a new tab) national outlet

  7. event

    Both Holscher and Masterson voted for 20 year state and local tax exemptions for data center developers earlier this year

    prospect.org (opens in a new tab) national outlet

  8. event

    Kansas enacted Senate Bill 98 in 2025 providing data centers with 20 year exemption from state and local sales taxes

    hutchpost.com (opens in a new tab) local outlet

Last verified September 23, 2026.

82026-09-23
Independencecitynot ratedIndependence voters ousted 3 of 5 council members who backed data center funding. kansascity.com (opens in a new tab) local outlet Reported Sep 21 act on this row
Every act on the Independence row
  1. event

    Independence voters ousted 3 of 5 council members who backed data center funding

    kansascity.com (opens in a new tab) local outlet

Last verified September 2, 2026.

12026-09-02
El Doradocitynot ratedButler County District Judge declared El Dorado initiative petition as legislative; city commissioners voted to place proposed ordinance on November ballot on Tuesday after August 21, 2026. kshb.com (opens in a new tab) local outlet Reported Aug 264 acts on this row
Every act on the El Dorado row
  1. litigation

    Butler County District Judge declared El Dorado initiative petition as legislative; city commissioners voted to place proposed ordinance on November ballot on Tuesday after August 21, 2026

    kshb.com (opens in a new tab) local outlet

  2. moratorium

    El Dorado Protect the Heartland group proposed ordinance banning high impact data centers and certain battery storage systems

    kshb.com (opens in a new tab) local outlet

  3. litigation

    A judge ruled that the City of El Dorado must either adopt Protect the Heartland's petition or put a data center question on the ballot

    kwch.com (opens in a new tab) local outlet

  4. litigation

    Judge ruled in favor of El Dorado citizens' petition to ban data centers

    kake.com (opens in a new tab) local outlet

Last verified August 26, 2026.

42026-08-26
Edgertoncitynot ratedJudge Stephanie Goodenow granted a Motion to Strike and ruled the ordinance was legislative, allowing the data center ballot petition to proceed. heartlandernews.com (opens in a new tab) news outlet Reported Sep 164 acts on this row
Every act on the Edgerton row
  1. litigation

    Judge Stephanie Goodenow granted a Motion to Strike and ruled the ordinance was legislative, allowing the data center ballot petition to proceed

    heartlandernews.com (opens in a new tab) news outlet

  2. litigation

    Johnson County judge dismissed city of Edgerton's lawsuit against residents Kimberly Twente and Carrie Schmidt on Sept. 3, ruling it violated their rights under Kansas Public Speech Protection Act

    johnsoncountypost.com (opens in a new tab) local outlet

    Also reported by 1 source
  3. litigation

    City of Edgerton filed lawsuit against residents on Aug. 4 alleging petition is legally deficient.

    johnsoncountypost.com (opens in a new tab) local outlet

  4. litigation

    Edgerton City Council declined to adopt the citizen petition on July 23 and instead approved filing the lawsuit.

    johnsoncountypost.com (opens in a new tab) local outlet

Last verified September 23, 2026.

42026-09-23
Barber Countycountycase by caseBarber County commissioners approved a 1.7 million square foot Google data center. kake.com (opens in a new tab) local outlet Aug 31, 20263 acts on this row
Every act on the Barber County row
  1. approval

    Barber County approved Google two million square foot data center with $320 million revenues over 20 years

    prospect.org (opens in a new tab) national outlet

  2. event

    The vote passed 2-0 with one commissioner abstaining

    kake.com (opens in a new tab) local outlet

  3. approval

    Barber County commissioners approved a 1.7 million square foot Google data center

    kake.com (opens in a new tab) local outlet

Last verified September 23, 2026.

32026-09-23
Butler Countycountynot ratedButler County residents gathered over 200 signatures on a petition to require a vote before approving future data centers. foxkansas.com (opens in a new tab) local outlet Reported Sep 112 acts on this row
Every act on the Butler County row
  1. referendum

    Butler County residents gathered over 200 signatures on a petition to require a vote before approving future data centers

    foxkansas.com (opens in a new tab) local outlet

  2. event

    Butler County tabled proposed data center regulations until September

    kake.com (opens in a new tab) local outlet

Last verified September 23, 2026.

22026-09-23
Emporiacitynot ratedEmporia summer public hearing on 1,000 acre hyperscale data center zoning proposal; commissioners approved zoning plan despite resident opposition. prospect.org (opens in a new tab) national outlet Reported Sep 212 acts on this row
Every act on the Emporia row
  1. approval

    Emporia summer public hearing on 1,000 acre hyperscale data center zoning proposal; commissioners approved zoning plan despite resident opposition

    prospect.org (opens in a new tab) national outlet

  2. litigation

    Emporia residents submitted initiative petition for high impact data center ordinance; Lyon County District Court ordered placement on November ballot on August 20, 2026

    kshb.com (opens in a new tab) local outlet

Last verified September 21, 2026.

22026-09-21
Lyon Countycountynot ratedCourt hearing held on temporary orders regarding citizen initiative petition about high impact data centers. wibw.com (opens in a new tab) local outlet Reported Aug 202 acts on this row
Every act on the Lyon County row
  1. litigation

    Court hearing held on temporary orders regarding citizen initiative petition about high impact data centers

    wibw.com (opens in a new tab) local outlet

  2. litigation

    Lyon County District Court ordered data center petition question placed on November 2026 ballot

    wibw.com (opens in a new tab) local outlet

Last verified August 20, 2026.

22026-08-20
Ottawacitynot ratedOttawa City Commission votes 5-0 to terminate data center sales contract with Lightfield Energy. kshb.com (opens in a new tab) local outlet Sep 253 acts on this row
Every act on the Ottawa row
  1. event

    Ottawa City Commission votes 5-0 to terminate data center sales contract with Lightfield Energy

    kshb.com (opens in a new tab) local outlet

  2. referendum

    Franklin County judge ruled data center ordinance question will go on November ballot

    kshb.com (opens in a new tab) local outlet

  3. referendum

    Ottawa city commissioners took no action on Ottawa United initiative petition for data center ordinance based on city attorney opinion that petition is administrative in nature

    kshb.com (opens in a new tab) local outlet

Last verified September 25, 2026.

32026-09-25
Pottawatomie Countycountynot ratedPottawatomie County planning commission held public comment meeting on data center overlay district. wibw.com (opens in a new tab) local outlet Reported Aug 201 act on this row
Every act on the Pottawatomie County row
  1. hearing

    Pottawatomie County planning commission held public comment meeting on data center overlay district

    wibw.com (opens in a new tab) local outlet

Last verified August 20, 2026.

12026-08-20
Rose Hillcitycase by caseRose Hill adopted data center regulations in 2017. kake.com (opens in a new tab) local outlet Sep 22, 20262 acts on this row
Every act on the Rose Hill row
  1. referendum

    City council discussed data center petition on Monday and will decide by October 5 whether to allow citizens to vote on a ban or fight petitioners legally.

    kake.com (opens in a new tab) local outlet

  2. event

    Rose Hill adopted data center regulations in 2017.

    kake.com (opens in a new tab) local outlet

Last verified September 22, 2026.

22026-09-22
Sedgwick Countycountynot ratedSedgwick County extended moratorium on data centers while working on rules. kansas.com (opens in a new tab) local outlet Reported Sep 21 act on this row
Every act on the Sedgwick County row
  1. moratorium extended

    Sedgwick County extended moratorium on data centers while working on rules

    kansas.com (opens in a new tab) local outlet

Last verified September 2, 2026.

12026-09-02

Reported: the source's date; the item names no day of its own. A rating rests only on a binding act in force; "not rated" means no person has set one. A blank cell means the record holds nothing for it.

Kansas laws and the full scorecard

Bills and laws in Kansas

none signed into law yet, 5 bills tracked

5 bills tracked in the Kansas legislature, none signed into law yet, grouped by where each stands. A row opens its own page; the Kansas laws page has what each law requires.

No official summary on file for any of these 5 measures; each row links to the legislature's page for the text.

5 bills tracked, 0 signed · LegiScan, CC BY 4.0

NumberSessionStatusDateTitle
S.B. 92 2025-2026 Regular Session Sent to the governor 2026-04-09 Extending the expiration date for provisions that authorize an electric utility to not offer parallel generation service to certain large load customers and exempt certain large load customers from the determination of the utility's peak demand.
S.B. 531 2025-2026 Regular Session In committee 2026-03-10 Prohibiting the development or operation of any new large load data center in a county that has had a drought emergency declared for such county pursuant to the Kansas emergency management act within the preceding three years.
S.B. 526 2025-2026 Regular Session In committee 2026-03-04 Requiring data centers to be located on land that was zoned for industrial or manufacturing uses or was not zoned on July 1, 2025, to qualify for the sales tax exemption for qualified data centers.
S.B. 400 2025-2026 Regular Session In committee 2026-01-28 Requiring data centers to use closed-loop cooling systems to mitigate water consumption.
S.B. 98 2025-2026 Regular Session Sent to the governor 2025-04-11 Providing a sales tax exemption for the construction or remodeling of a qualified data center in Kansas and the purchase of data center equipment, eligible data center costs and certain labor costs to qualified firms that commit to a minimum investment of at least $250,000,000 and meet new Kansas jobs and other requirements.

5 bills tracked in Kansas; 2025-2026 Regular Session, legislature adjourned; last checked October 26, 2026. The last check found no bill not already tracked; the 5 tracked bills stand. Search terms: data center, data centre, large load, hyperscale, computing facility, server farm, high load factor (indirect), energy intensive facility (indirect), large electric load (indirect), digital asset mining (indirect), cryptocurrency mining (indirect), qualified technology facility (indirect), colocation (indirect), moratorium (with another term), sales tax exemption (with another term). The search on LegiScan. (opens in a new tab)

Bill data from LegiScan (opens in a new tab), licensed CC BY 4.0 (opens in a new tab). The record chooses the bills, writes each stage in its own words and cites the legislature's own page for every bill.

How this state's members voted

H.R. 9340, Ratepayer Protection Act: U.S. House of Representatives, roll call 312, September 16, 2026. On Motion to Suspend the Rules and Pass, as Amended. Passed, 417 to 3. Kansas's members: 4 yea, 0 nay. How each member voted

MemberPartyPosition
Davids (KS)DYea
EstesRYea
MannRYea
SchmidtRYea

A blank party cell means the clerk's roll gives none.

H.R. 9340, Ratepayer Protection Act: U.S. Senate, roll call 254, September 30, 2026. On Cloture on the Motion to Proceed H.R. 9340. Cloture on the Motion to Proceed Rejected, 57 to 43. Kansas's members: 2 yea, 0 nay. How each member voted

MemberPartyPosition
Marshall (R-KS)RYea
Moran (R-KS)RYea

A blank party cell means the clerk's roll gives none.

Positions as the clerk records them. How bills and votes are recorded.

What was said

does not approve a digital campus or authorize construction
Casey Woods, Executive Director, Emporia Main Street · October 4, 2026 · quoted · Emporia Gazette (opens in a new tab) local outlet
Shawnee County Commissioner Kevin Cook addressed data center debate at county level
Kevin Cook, Shawnee County Commissioner · September 10, 2026 · paraphrased · WIBW (opens in a new tab) local outlet

Every Kansas statement, by speaker (31)

28 more on this page, one per speaker and claim; 31 statements in all

Reinhold said Congress should listen to experts and called for environmental protections, while saying local communities should closely review proposed data centers.

Democratic candidate for U.S. House (District 1), Kansas hayspost.com (opens in a new tab) news outlet
Context & source notes

Provenance: Paraphrased; said in the source itself.

Primary source: hayspost.com (opens in a new tab).

"approve the zoning request and get to the next step"
Mike Law, interim president and CEO, Emporia Area Chamber of Commerce Emporia City Commission meeting Emporia Gazette (opens in a new tab) local outlet
Context & source notes

Provenance: Quoted; content date; reported from elsewhere.

Setting: Emporia City Commission meeting.

Primary source: Emporia Gazette (opens in a new tab).

Mark Deter, city administrator, says Rose Hill does not have sufficient water resources to sustain a data center, noting El Dorado has a lake providing 10 million gallons of water a day.

Rose Hill City Administrator KAKE (opens in a new tab) local outlet
Context & source notes

Provenance: Paraphrased; said in the source itself.

Primary source: KAKE (opens in a new tab).

Parker Thompson is posting one video every day until Coffeyville passes a legal moratorium on data center development.

YouTuber Yahoo (opens in a new tab) national outlet
Context & source notes

Provenance: Paraphrased; said in the source itself.

Primary source: Yahoo (opens in a new tab).

Parker Thompson, YouTuber, is campaigning for a 12 month moratorium on data center development in Coffeyville, Kansas, citing concerns about uncontrolled AI models and risks to the power grid.

Yahoo (opens in a new tab) national outlet
Context & source notes

Provenance: Paraphrased; said in the source itself.

Primary source: Yahoo (opens in a new tab).

Dan Golding, Iron Mountain vice president of data center operations, said underground data centers have limited access points and armed guards, unlike aboveground facilities.

TechTarget (opens in a new tab) trade press
Context & source notes

Provenance: Paraphrased; said in the source itself.

Primary source: TechTarget (opens in a new tab).

Masterson wants to cede to local control when it comes to data center development, saying some places they do not make sense and some places they do

Republican candidate for Kansas governor and Senate President KCUR (opens in a new tab) local outlet
Context & source notes

Provenance: Paraphrased; said in the source itself.

Primary source: KCUR (opens in a new tab).

Holscher voted for data center tax breaks but has since changed her position

Democratic candidate for Kansas governor KCUR (opens in a new tab) local outlet
Context & source notes

Provenance: Paraphrased; said in the source itself.

Primary source: KCUR (opens in a new tab).

Butler County officials say no data centers are currently in the works

William Johnson, Butler County Administrator KAKE (opens in a new tab) local outlet
Context & source notes

Provenance: Paraphrased; said in the source itself.

Primary source: KAKE (opens in a new tab).

Coalition demands state and local policies prioritizing health, safety, welfare of Kansas communities with guardrails on water, energy, air, land, transportation, health

sentineltimes.com (opens in a new tab) news outlet
Context & source notes

Provenance: Paraphrased; said in the source itself.

Primary source: sentineltimes.com (opens in a new tab).

Stacy Goss proposed a temporary moratorium on data center proposals that did not receive support

Hutchinson City Council member Hutch Post (opens in a new tab) local outlet
Context & source notes

Provenance: Paraphrased; said in the source itself.

Primary source: Hutch Post (opens in a new tab).

Mike Murphy voted against Senate Bill 98 because he opposed special tax incentives to data center industry

state senator Hutch Post (opens in a new tab) local outlet

Not on the record: the record holds S.B. 98 and no roll call on it. Read from the statement's words: Mike Murphy voted against Senate Bill 98. The record holds the bill and no roll call on it.

Bill data from LegiScan (opens in a new tab), licensed CC BY 4.0 (opens in a new tab). The record chooses the bills, writes each stage in its own words and cites the legislature's own page for every bill.

Context & source notes

Provenance: Paraphrased; said in the source itself.

Primary source: Hutch Post (opens in a new tab).

Mike Turner, Loudoun County official, outlined 15 best practices for data center approvals covering sound, power, water, emissions, setback and appearance

HPPR (opens in a new tab) local outlet
Context & source notes

Provenance: Paraphrased; said in the source itself.

Primary source: HPPR (opens in a new tab).

Kathryn Kline Tyndall, Bipartisan Policy Center, stated state task forces might help communities negotiate data center deals

HPPR (opens in a new tab) local outlet
Context & source notes

Provenance: Paraphrased; said in the source itself.

Primary source: HPPR (opens in a new tab).

Edward Wilson, a resident of El Dorado, started the Protect the Heartland group dedicated to preventing high impact data centers from being built in the town

El Dorado resident KWCH (opens in a new tab) local outlet project record
Context & source notes

Provenance: Paraphrased; said in the source itself.

Primary source: KWCH (opens in a new tab).

On the November 3, 2026 ballot in Kansas: Governor (2), U.S. Senate (3), U.S. House, District 1 (3), U.S. House, District 2 (3), U.S. House, District 3 (3), U.S. House, District 4 (3); 3 of 17 candidates with a statement on data centers on the record. Every candidate.

Already running in Kansas

1 site is serving load, 1 of them in Johnson County.

See the 1 running site
  1. TierPoint Kansas City - Lenexa Data Center Lenexa, Johnson County Running

Questions about Kansas data centers

How many data center projects are on the record in Kansas?

5 projects are on the record in Kansas: 4 reported, 1 running and 3 not yet verified. Each is listed under Projects with its status history and sources. Resources: the questions people ask about data centers

answered from the rows above

Where in Kansas are they?

Records are in 4 counties: Johnson County (2), Barber County (1), Butler County (1) and Leavenworth County (1). The county table lists every county with its count, zero included. Resources: the questions people ask about data centers

answered from the rows above

How much power is disclosed for data centers in Kansas?

Not disclosed. None of the 5 records on file for Kansas states a power figure. Resources: the questions people ask about data centers

answered from the rows above

How much water do data centers in Kansas say they will use?

Not disclosed. None of the 5 records on file for Kansas states a water figure. Resources: the questions people ask about data centers

answered from the rows above

Who is building data centers in Kansas?

3 developers are named on the record: DataBank, Google and TierPoint. 2 records name no developer; each name above opens the record, where the developer's source is listed. Resources: the questions people ask about data centers

answered from the rows above

Which counties and cities in Kansas have rules about data centers?

11 county and city rows are on the record, 2 of them rated: Barber County is rated case by case: Barber County commissioners approved a 1.7 million square foot Google data center, August 31, 2026, source (opens in a new tab), Rose Hill is rated case by case: Rose Hill adopted data center regulations in 2017, September 22, 2026, source (opens in a new tab) and Independence has no rating yet: Independence voters ousted 3 of 5 council members who backed data center funding (reported September 2, 2026, source (opens in a new tab)). The state's own row is rated open, with 8 dated acts listed under the scorecard. Resources: the questions people ask about data centers

answered from the rows above

What is proposed or being built near me in Kansas, by county?

4 records are not yet running. Barber County: Google Barber County Data Center (reported); Butler County: Data Center El Dorado (reported); Johnson County: Data Center Edgerton (reported); and Leavenworth County: Data Center Leavenworth (reported). A county name opens its page with the map and every record there. Resources: the questions people ask about data centers

answered from the rows above

What has the state of Kansas itself decided?

No bill on data centers has been signed into law in Kansas yet. 5 bills are tracked under Laws: 2 moving and 3 in committee. The state's own scorecard row carries 8 dated acts, the newest reported September 10, 2026. Resources: the questions people ask about data centers

answered from the rows above

Disclosed figures

nothing disclosed by 5 records

summed only where a record disclosed the figure

FigureDisclosed totalDisclosedWithout a figureBasis
Power05
Water, stated per day05
Water, stated per year05
Permanent jobs05
Tax each year05

A blank cell means no record in Kansas disclosed the figure. Third party figures on the same metrics are listed apart below; a figure a project disclosed about itself is never mixed with them.

FigureDisclosed totalDisclosedWithout a figureBasis
Power05
Water, stated per day05
Water, stated per year05
Permanent jobs05
Tax each year05

A blank total means no record disclosed the figure; the count without one says how many.

Summed only where a record disclosed the figure; a record with no figure adds nothing and is counted as not disclosed. Water is summed per day and per year separately, as the sources stated it, and never converted. A tax claim given as a range is summed at both ends.

The disclosed totals are in the table above.

No source on file states what any of the 5 tracked facilities in Kansas are for. 3 sites not yet verified are named apart and are not in that number.

What each use disclosed

UseRecordsPowerWaterJobsTax each year
No stated use5

A blank cell means no record with that use disclosed the figure.

A record that lists several uses counts once under each. Each cell is the sum over the records with that use, disclosed rows only.

No source on file states how any of the 5 tracked facilities in Kansas are cooled. 3 sites not yet verified are named apart and are not in that number.

Sources read for Kansas

7 sources

7 sources are read for Kansas:

Public broadcaster
Kansas Public Radio
Utility commission dockets
Kansas Corporation Commission
Economic development
Kansas Department of Commerce
Search feeds
4 news searches
Every feed, with its kind and tier

About this data

Last verified
Next check Feeds every four hours, pages daily.
Figures Only what a source states, with its basis. Nothing is estimated, and a figure no source gives reads not disclosed.
License Data CC BY-NC 4.0 (opens in a new tab); free for personal, academic, civic and newsroom reporting with attribution. Commercial, enterprise, financial or AI training use needs a commercial license. Prose stays under copyright.
Cite this page Data Center Record, "Data centers in Kansas", https://datacenterrecord.org/states/ks, updated October 20, 2026. CSV · JSON · GeoJSON
Cite this page

Data Center Record, "Data center records in Kansas", https://datacenterrecord.org/states/ks. Data: Data Center Record, datacenterrecord.org, CC BY-NC 4.0.

The structured rows are CC BY-NC 4.0. Link to this page; that is what turns a reuse into a citation. Prose stays under copyright.

Report a change
For researchers
State code
KS
Rating of the state's own row
Open
Count by status
reported 4, running 1, not yet verified 3
Located records
0 located, 5 at a centroid, 0 without coordinates

Researcher view · Kansas · 5 data center sites, 0 buildings where disclosed, 12 rule rows, 5 bills · basis and source tier on every row · verified October 20, 2026

Download CSV JSON GeoJSON