Data Center Record.

Data centers in Colorado

Colorado has 13 data center sites, 0 buildings where disclosed on the record: 8 running and 5 proposed. Most are in Arapahoe County (4) and Denver County (3), and records are in 6 of 64 counties. The largest proposal is Project Taurus in El Paso County, 50 MW (third party estimate); it is approved, as reported June 15, 2026.

No statewide rule on the record. 1 county and 3 cities have a pause or a ban on new data centers.

11 sites the EPA's registry shows and no record has verified are on the map apart from the count. What not yet verified means.

How to read this page. Every count comes from the records on this page and links to where it is counted. Nothing is published until a person reads its source, and a figure no source gives reads Not disclosed; nothing is estimated. A rating changes only when a person sets it.

Projects and campuses on the record

Facility and countyStageOperatorPower (MW)Latest entry
Project Taurus Colorado Springs, El Paso CountyProposed In courtRaeden50Project Taurus received conditional approval in August 2026 from planning commission yahoo.com (opens in a new tab) national outlet reported September 21, 2026
Aurora largest data center facility Aurora, Arapahoe CountyProposed
Parker Data Center Parker, Douglas CountyProposed
Global AI data center (Weld County) Weld CountyProposedGlobal AIPermit conditions require submission of a decommissioning plan and bond within six months, ambient noise monitoring, and use of closed loop cooling system news.constructconnect.com (opens in a new tab) news outlet reported September 16, 2026
SENS Longmont Facility Longmont, Boulder CountyProposedSENSSENS held ribbon cutting in Longmont on August 20, 2026 bizwest.com (opens in a new tab) news outlet reported September 4, 2026
Equinix DE1 Centennial, Arapahoe CountyRunningEquinix
Equinix DE2 Englewood, Arapahoe CountyRunningEquinix
Novva Colorado Springs data center Colorado Springs, El Paso CountyRunningNovva Data Centers
Centersquare Denver data center Denver, Denver CountyRunningCentersquare
H5 Denver Denver, Denver CountyRunningH5 Data Centers
QTS Colorado Springs Colorado Springs, El Paso CountyRunningQTS Data Centers
QTS Denver Aurora, Arapahoe CountyRunningQTS Data Centers
DataBank Denver data center Denver, Denver CountyRunningDataBankDataBank acquired an industrial building in Denver for data center conversion datacenterdynamics.com (opens in a new tab) trade press reported July 26, 2021

A blank cell means not disclosed by any source on file. Power is the developer's figure or a permit's, each linked on the record. All 13 Colorado projects.

Every Colorado record 13 records, and 11 sites not yet verified listed apart · sort by any column · blank cell: not disclosed

RecordPlaceStageOperatorMWBasisLocatedTierVerified
365 SG Operating, CO1 Data CenterAurora, AdamsNot yet verifiedEPA registry22026-10-20
Compark Data CenterDouglasNot yet verifiedEPA registry22026-10-20
Cyxtera DN2Littleton, DouglasNot yet verifiedEPA registry22026-10-20
H 5 Data CentersGreenwood Village, ArapahoeNot yet verifiedEPA registry22026-10-20
Irea Highfield Data Center SSS4275Parker, DouglasNot yet verifiedEPA registry22026-10-20
Iron Mountain Data Centers, FortrustDenver, DenverNot yet verifiedIron MountainEPA registry22026-10-20
Jordan Feeder, Flexential Project (de)ArapahoeNot yet verifiedFlexentialEPA registry22026-10-20
One Neck Denver Data CenterDouglasNot yet verifiedEPA registry22026-10-20
Vantage PH2 And Westhaven PH2Berthoud, LarimerNot yet verifiedEPA registry22026-10-20
Verizon Wireless, Data CenterColorado Springs, El PasoNot yet verifiedEPA registry22026-10-20
Viawest INC, Englewood Data CenterParker, DouglasNot yet verifiedViawest INCEPA registry22026-10-20
Equinix DE1Centennial, ArapahoeRunningEquinixEPA registry22026-10-16
Equinix DE2Englewood, ArapahoeRunningEquinixEPA registry22026-10-04
Novva Colorado Springs data centerColorado Springs, El PasoRunningNovva Data CentersEPA registry22026-10-04
Project TaurusColorado Springs, El PasoProposedRaeden50third party estimatecentroid12026-10-06
Aurora largest data center facilityAurora, ArapahoeProposedcentroid42026-09-17
Centersquare Denver data centerDenver, DenverRunningCentersquarecentroid22026-09-17
H5 DenverDenver, DenverRunningH5 Data Centerscentroid22026-09-17
Parker Data CenterParker, DouglasProposedcentroid42026-09-17
QTS Colorado SpringsColorado Springs, El PasoRunningQTS Data Centerscentroid22026-09-17
QTS DenverAurora, ArapahoeRunningQTS Data Centerscentroid22026-09-17
Global AI data center (Weld County)WeldProposedGlobal AIcentroid12026-09-17
SENS Longmont FacilityLongmont, BoulderProposedSENScentroid42026-09-17
DataBank Denver data centerDenver, DenverRunningDataBankcentroid22026-09-17

Tier 1: an official or company source. Tier 2: a news report resolving to the outlet's own page. Located: a site coordinate from a permit, a parcel or an address, or the county or town centroid. Verified: the last day a person read the source. A blank cell means not disclosed by any source on file.

Every Colorado county (64)

6 of 64 counties have a record. A county without one is listed, not linked, until its first published record.

CountyCensus GEOIDProjectsRulesHow it treats data centers
Arapahoe County0800540
Denver County0803131
El Paso County0804131
Boulder County0801310
Douglas County0803511case by case
Weld County0812312restrictive
Adams County0800102
Larimer County0806901
Mesa County0807702

A blank rating cell means no person has set one for the county. A county without a record is listed, not linked.

55 counties with no records yet
  • Alamosa County
  • Archuleta County
  • Baca County
  • Bent County
  • Broomfield County
  • Chaffee County
  • Cheyenne County
  • Clear Creek County
  • Conejos County
  • Costilla County
  • Crowley County
  • Custer County
  • Delta County
  • Dolores County
  • Eagle County
  • Elbert County
  • Fremont County
  • Garfield County
  • Gilpin County
  • Grand County
  • Gunnison County
  • Hinsdale County
  • Huerfano County
  • Jackson County
  • Jefferson County
  • Kiowa County
  • Kit Carson County
  • La Plata County
  • Lake County
  • Las Animas County
  • Lincoln County
  • Logan County
  • Mineral County
  • Moffat County
  • Montezuma County
  • Montrose County
  • Morgan County
  • Otero County
  • Ouray County
  • Park County
  • Phillips County
  • Pitkin County
  • Prowers County
  • Pueblo County
  • Rio Blanco County
  • Rio Grande County
  • Routt County
  • Saguache County
  • San Juan County
  • San Miguel County
  • Sedgwick County
  • Summit County
  • Teller County
  • Washington County
  • Yuma County

The rules in Colorado 12 rows · rating rests only on a binding act in force

What the state and its counties and cities have decided. Each row is rated by what it has decided, open, case by case, restrictive or closed, never by whether that is good or bad.

BodyLevelRatingIn force untilLatest actActsVerified
Coloradostatenot ratedTwo Colorado counties approved construction of large data centers. denvergazette.com (opens in a new tab) local outlet Reported Sep 1211 acts on this row
Every act on the Colorado row
  1. approval

    Two Colorado counties approved construction of large data centers

    denvergazette.com (opens in a new tab) local outlet

  2. approval

    Alamosa County Commissioners approved a container based data center proposed by Strata Inc. on Wednesday

    alamosacitizen.com (opens in a new tab) news outlet

  3. hearing

    Public Utilities Commission held hearing on data center development with testimony on cost causation and transparency

    denverpost.com (opens in a new tab) local outlet

  4. hearing

    First data center hearing held in Colorado

    pirg.org (opens in a new tab) news outlet

  5. moratorium

    Local governments in Colorado enacted moratoriums on data center development

    coloradonewsline.com (opens in a new tab) local outlet

  6. event

    Hayden Town Council voted 4-1 on August 6, 2026 to amend the town's municipal code to add language regulating data centers, making Hayden the first Routt County municipality to add data center language into its development code

    steamboatpilot.com (opens in a new tab) local outlet

  7. litigation

    Data center appeals were denied

    koaa.com (opens in a new tab) local outlet

  8. litigation

    City Council receives appeal on proposed data center Project Taurus

    kktv.com (opens in a new tab) local outlet

  9. moratorium adopted

    Lochbuie approved a five year data center moratorium in July 2026, the longest active pause in Colorado

    rmpbs.org (opens in a new tab) news outlet

  10. moratorium adopted

    Colorado declared a drought emergency and placed a moratorium on new data center development

    youtube.com (opens in a new tab) video

  11. approval

    Colorado Economic Development Commission approved up to $5,581,873 in performance based Job Growth Incentive Tax Credit over eight year period on January 16, 2025

    oedit.colorado.gov (opens in a new tab) primary source

Last verified September 23, 2026.

112026-09-23
Auroracitycase by caseAurora City Council approved resolution directing city management to update data center development standards. coloradopolitics.com (opens in a new tab) local outlet Aug 22, 20266 acts on this row
Every act on the Aurora row
  1. event

    Aurora council voted unanimously to ban evaporative cooling systems for new data center developments.

    denver7.com (opens in a new tab) local outlet

  2. ordinance

    Council unanimously passed an ordinance tightening turf rules, prohibiting cool weather grass installation without city manager approval

    denverpost.com (opens in a new tab) local outlet

  3. event

    Aurora City Council unanimously gave initial approval to a measure that would ban the use of evaporative cooling systems, targeting water intensive data centers

    denverpost.com (opens in a new tab) local outlet

  4. event

    Aurora lawmakers advanced rules on data center water use and locations near neighborhoods

    sentinelcolorado.com (opens in a new tab) local outlet

  5. event

    Aurora City Council approved resolution directing city management to update data center development standards

    coloradopolitics.com (opens in a new tab) local outlet

  6. moratorium rejected

    Aurora City Council voted down a similar six month moratorium in early August and instead opted to create regulations to address community concerns.

    denver7.com (opens in a new tab) local outlet

Last verified September 21, 2026.

62026-09-21
Brighton Also in Weld Countycitynot ratedThe Brighton City Council voted unanimously to adopt a one year moratorium on data center development. cpr.org (opens in a new tab) local outlet Oct 61 act on this row
Every act on the Brighton row
  1. moratorium adopted

    The Brighton City Council voted unanimously to adopt a one year moratorium on data center development

    cpr.org (opens in a new tab) local outlet

Last verified October 6, 2026.

12026-10-06
Colorado Springscitycase by caseData center on Garden of the Gods Road administratively approved by Colorado Springs. gazette.com (opens in a new tab) local outlet Jun 12, 202617 acts on this row
Every act on the Colorado Springs row
  1. statement

    Colorado Springs City Council adopted a proclamation aimed at reclaiming civility in politics following the Project Taurus hearing disruption.

    cpr.org (opens in a new tab) local outlet

  2. event

    Colorado Springs city council voted 7-2 to delay Project Taurus decision until April 13, 2027

    yahoo.com (opens in a new tab) national outlet

    Also reported by 1 source
  3. event

    Colorado Springs City Council postponed a data center vote for six months in a 7-2 vote

    koaa.com (opens in a new tab) local outlet

  4. hearing

    Colorado Springs City Council held public hearing on data center on Thursday

    gazette.com (opens in a new tab) local outlet

  5. event

    Colorado Springs City Council voted 7-2 to postpone the final decision on Project Taurus until April 13, 2027

    gazette.com (opens in a new tab) local outlet

    Also reported by 5 sources
  6. event

    Four people arrested at Project Taurus City Council meeting on September 17, 2026: Caleb Miller charged with second degree assault on peace officer after biting; Christianna Miller charged with obstructing a peace officer; Jacob Wilkinson charged with misdemeanor theft of body worn camera; Wendy Jerado charged with obstruction and megaphone disruption

    krdo.com (opens in a new tab) local outlet

    Also reported by 1 source
  7. event

    Colorado Springs released data center development standards in recent months

    krdo.com (opens in a new tab) local outlet

  8. ordinance

    Colorado Springs adopted Community First Data Center Standards

    coloradosprings.gov (opens in a new tab) primary source

  9. hearing

    Colorado Springs City Council set a date for Project Taurus data center final hearing

    cpr.org (opens in a new tab) local outlet

    Also reported by 1 source
  10. denial

    Colorado Springs Planning Commissioners rejected activists' attempt to stop a data center

    pikespeakbulletin.org (opens in a new tab) news outlet

  11. litigation

    Colorado Springs Planning Commission denied appeals in Project Taurus data center

    krdo.com (opens in a new tab) local outlet

  12. litigation

    Colorado Springs Planning Commission rejected resident appeals against proposed artificial intelligence data center off Garden of the Gods Road in a 6-2 vote on Thursday

    coloradopolitics.com (opens in a new tab) local outlet

    Also reported by 1 source
  13. litigation

    Planning Commission denied first round of appeals in July 2026

    kktv.com (opens in a new tab) local outlet

  14. litigation

    Data center approval in Colorado Springs was appealed by residents

    cpr.org (opens in a new tab) local outlet

  15. approval

    Data center on Garden of the Gods Road administratively approved by Colorado Springs

    gazette.com (opens in a new tab) local outlet

  16. event

    Original motion to hold decision in March failed

    kktv.com (opens in a new tab) local outlet

  17. event

    Colorado Springs Utilities created a large load rate process in 2025

    cpr.org (opens in a new tab) local outlet

Last verified September 23, 2026.

172026-09-23
Commerce Citycitynot ratedCommerce City passes six month pause on accepting new data center applications. cbsnews.com (opens in a new tab) national outlet Reported Sep 241 act on this row
Every act on the Commerce City row
  1. moratorium

    Commerce City passes six month pause on accepting new data center applications

    cbsnews.com (opens in a new tab) national outlet

Last verified September 24, 2026.

12026-09-24
Denvercityrestrictive until September 7, 20272027-09-07Denver approved one year moratorium on new data centers in May, scheduled to lift spring 2027. denverpost.com (opens in a new tab) local outlet Sep 7, 20263 acts on this row
Every act on the Denver row
  1. statement

    Denver mayor and three city council members announced the selection of 26 people to a working group on data center regulation on October 8, 2026

    denvergazette.com (opens in a new tab) local outlet

  2. moratorium adopted

    Denver passed a yearlong moratorium on new data centers in May 2026.

    coloradosun.com (opens in a new tab) local outlet

  3. moratorium adopted

    Denver approved one year moratorium on new data centers in May, scheduled to lift spring 2027

    denverpost.com (opens in a new tab) local outlet

Last verified October 8, 2026.

32026-10-08
Douglas Countycountycase by caseTax rebate agreement provides 100% rebate for Douglas County's share of business personal property taxes over 35 years. denvergazette.com (opens in a new tab) local outlet Aug 11, 20262 acts on this row
Every act on the Douglas County row
  1. event

    Douglas County took a new data center approach

    govtech.com (opens in a new tab) national outlet

  2. event

    Douglas County commissioners directed staff to explore cost of feasibility study on small modular nuclear reactors and microreactors to meet AI and data center power needs

    cbsnews.com (opens in a new tab) national outlet

Last verified September 23, 2026.

22026-09-23
Grand Junctioncitynot ratedNo dated act on this row yet.2026-09-16
Lochbuiecitynot ratedTown of Lochbuie passed five year data center moratorium. datacenterdynamics.com (opens in a new tab) trade press Reported Aug 61 act on this row
Every act on the Lochbuie row
  1. moratorium adopted

    Town of Lochbuie passed five year data center moratorium

    datacenterdynamics.com (opens in a new tab) trade press

Last verified August 6, 2026.

12026-08-06
Lovelandcitynot ratedAdditional study sessions proposed for October 27 and December 8, 2026. coloradobiz.com (opens in a new tab) local outlet Reported Aug 281 act on this row
Every act on the Loveland row
  1. hearing

    Additional study sessions proposed for October 27 and December 8, 2026

    coloradobiz.com (opens in a new tab) local outlet

Last verified August 28, 2026.

12026-08-28
Mesa Countycountynot ratedMesa County implemented a similar moratorium Sept. 29 with a resolution. gjsentinel.com (opens in a new tab) local outlet Sep 292 acts on this row
Every act on the Mesa County row
  1. moratorium adopted

    Mesa County implemented a similar moratorium Sept. 29 with a resolution.

    gjsentinel.com (opens in a new tab) local outlet

  2. moratorium adopted

    Mesa County Commissioners approved a one year moratorium on data center applications effective immediately

    gjsentinel.com (opens in a new tab) local outlet

Last verified September 29, 2026.

22026-09-29
Weld CountycountyrestrictiveWeld County adopted a regulatory framework in April requiring evidence of water availability and electricity provider commitment, imposing noise limits and prohibiting data centers on agricultural land. theminermag.com (opens in a new tab) news outlet Sep 10, 20268 acts on this row
Every act on the Weld County row
  1. litigation

    Colorado landowners sued Weld County and a data center developer, alleging that the county unlawfully approved the first phase of what they say will be the state's largest data center despite concerns about its water and electricity needs, noise pollution and violations of public meeting requirements. (alleged in the filing, not a finding)

    law360.com (opens in a new tab) trade press

  2. approval

    Weld County commissioners approved Global AI's USR26-0019 permit for a proposed 41 acre data center near Windsor on a 5-0 vote

    news.constructconnect.com (opens in a new tab) news outlet

  3. approval

    Weld County Board of County Commissioners approved a permit 5-0 for Global AI to operate a data center on a former Kodak/Carestream industrial campus

    i2i.org (opens in a new tab) news outlet

  4. ordinance

    Ordinance required proof of electricity and water service, implemented tighter noise regulations, and prohibited data center construction in agricultural zones

    coloradoan.com (opens in a new tab) local outlet

  5. approval

    Weld County Board of Commissioners voted 5-0 to approve a 41 acre data center near Windsor

    denver7.com (opens in a new tab) local outlet

  6. approval

    Weld County approved Global AI's 41 acre data center project in a 5-0 vote

    theminermag.com (opens in a new tab) news outlet

    Also reported by 3 sources
  7. event

    Weld County adopted a regulatory framework in April requiring evidence of water availability and electricity provider commitment, imposing noise limits and prohibiting data centers on agricultural land

    theminermag.com (opens in a new tab) news outlet

  8. ordinance

    Weld County passed code ordinance in March establishing use for special review process for data center projects in I-1 industrial zones

    coloradoan.com (opens in a new tab) local outlet

Last verified October 8, 2026.

82026-10-08

Reported: the source's date; the item names no day of its own. A month with no day: the source names the month and not the day. A rating rests only on a binding act in force; "not rated" means no person has set one. A blank cell means the record holds nothing for it.

Colorado laws and the full scorecard

Bills and laws in Colorado

2 signed into law, 5 bills tracked

5 bills tracked in the Colorado legislature, 2 of them signed into law, grouped by where each stands. A row opens its own page; the Colorado laws page has what each law requires.

Signed into law 2

In committee 1

Failed or died 2

5 bills tracked, 2 signed · LegiScan, CC BY 4.0

NumberSessionStatusDateTitle
S.B. 102 2026 Regular Session Died at adjournment 2026-05-11 Large-Load Data Centers
H.B. 1030 2026 Regular Session Died at adjournment 2026-05-07 Data Center & Utility Modernization
S.B. 280 2025 Regular Session In committee 2025-04-16 Data Center Development & Grid Modernization Act
S.B. 72 2021 Regular Session Signed 2021-06-24 Public Utilities Commission Modernize Electric Transmission Infrastructure
S.B. 299 2017 Regular Session Signed 2017-06-05 Apportionment Of Income Of Enterprise Data Centers

5 bills tracked in Colorado; 2026 Regular Session, legislature adjourned; last checked October 26, 2026. The last check found: 2 bills matched the watch terms as of October 26, 2026. Search terms: data center, data centre, large load, hyperscale, computing facility, server farm, high load factor (indirect), energy intensive facility (indirect), large electric load (indirect), digital asset mining (indirect), cryptocurrency mining (indirect), qualified technology facility (indirect), colocation (indirect), moratorium (with another term), sales tax exemption (with another term). The search on LegiScan. (opens in a new tab)

Bill data from LegiScan (opens in a new tab), licensed CC BY 4.0 (opens in a new tab). The record chooses the bills, writes each stage in its own words and cites the legislature's own page for every bill.

How this state's members voted

H.R. 9340, Ratepayer Protection Act: U.S. House of Representatives, roll call 312, September 16, 2026. On Motion to Suspend the Rules and Pass, as Amended. Passed, 417 to 3. Colorado's members: 8 yea, 0 nay. How each member voted

MemberPartyPosition
BoebertRYea
CrankRYea
CrowDYea
DeGetteDYea
Evans (CO)RYea
Hurd (CO)RYea
NeguseDYea
PettersenDYea

A blank party cell means the clerk's roll gives none.

H.R. 9340, Ratepayer Protection Act: U.S. Senate, roll call 254, September 30, 2026. On Cloture on the Motion to Proceed H.R. 9340. Cloture on the Motion to Proceed Rejected, 57 to 43. Colorado's members: 0 yea, 2 nay. How each member voted

MemberPartyPosition
Bennet (D-CO)DNay
Hickenlooper (D-CO)DNay

A blank party cell means the clerk's roll gives none.

Positions as the clerk records them. How bills and votes are recorded.

What was said

Coffman called for a revision of Aurora's procedures away from administrative approvals for data centers
Mike Coffman, Aurora Mayor · October 3, 2026 · paraphrased · Westword (opens in a new tab) local outlet
Jason Green, CEO of Raeden, said council did a poor job keeping the crowd civil and questioned why the mayor was not in attendance.
Jason Green, CEO of Raeden · September 23, 2026 · paraphrased · Colorado Public Radio (opens in a new tab) local outlet

Every Colorado statement, by speaker (69)

65 more on this page, one per speaker and claim; 69 statements in all

Coffman said he would support pausing new data center applications until council approves new guidelines, and the pause should be indefinite

Aurora Mayor Westword (opens in a new tab) local outlet
Context & source notes

Provenance: Paraphrased; content date; reported from elsewhere.

Primary source: Westword (opens in a new tab).

Council cited need to negotiate large load power contract with Colorado Springs Utilities for Project Taurus

Colorado Springs city council Yahoo (opens in a new tab) national outlet project record
Context & source notes

Provenance: Paraphrased; said in the source itself.

Primary source: Yahoo (opens in a new tab).

Residents raised concerns about noise, power consumption, and neighborhood impact on Project Taurus

Colorado Springs residents Yahoo (opens in a new tab) national outlet project record
Context & source notes

Provenance: Paraphrased; said in the source itself.

Primary source: Yahoo (opens in a new tab).

Holy Cross Energy serves approximately 46,500 member owners across Garfield, Pitkin and Eagle counties with about 90% carbon free energy.

Bryan Hannegan, president and CEO of Holy Cross Energy Aspen Daily News (opens in a new tab) local outlet
Context & source notes

Provenance: Paraphrased; said in the source itself.

Primary source: Aspen Daily News (opens in a new tab).

Jacob Wilkinson, 23, arrested on misdemeanor theft charge, served and released on scene

Colorado Springs Police Department KKTV (opens in a new tab) local outlet project record
Context & source notes

Provenance: Paraphrased; said in the source itself.

Primary source: KKTV (opens in a new tab).

Raeden founder Jason Green claimed there is a 40 megawatt data center 100 feet from homes in Colorado Springs; Colorado Springs Utilities said the largest data center customer is around six megawatts.

Raeden founder and co-owner; Travas Deal, Colorado Springs Utilities CEO Colorado Public Radio (opens in a new tab) local outlet project record
Context & source notes

Provenance: Paraphrased; said in the source itself.

Primary source: Colorado Public Radio (opens in a new tab).

Commissioner Tom Jankovsky said the board should look at having a conversation about how to deal with data centers in the county's land use code.

Garfield County Commissioner Aspen Daily News (opens in a new tab) local outlet
Context & source notes

Provenance: Paraphrased; said in the source itself.

Primary source: Aspen Daily News (opens in a new tab).

Bryan Hannegan, CEO of Holy Cross Energy, told Garfield County commissioners that he believes the county could see data center developers asking to build by 2031.

president and CEO of Holy Cross Energy Aspen Daily News (opens in a new tab) local outlet
Context & source notes

Provenance: Paraphrased; said in the source itself.

Primary source: Aspen Daily News (opens in a new tab).

Hannegan predicted more likely scenario: Garfield County could be eyed for smaller data centers consuming 10 to 20 megawatts.

president and CEO of Holy Cross Energy Aspen Daily News (opens in a new tab) local outlet
Context & source notes

Provenance: Paraphrased; said in the source itself.

Primary source: Aspen Daily News (opens in a new tab).

Wendy Jerado was woman with megaphone who began disrupting the city council meeting

Colorado Springs Police Department KRDO (opens in a new tab) local outlet project record
Context & source notes

Provenance: Paraphrased; said in the source itself.

Primary source: KRDO (opens in a new tab).

Caleb Miller, 26, arrested on second degree felony assault on a peace officer for biting officer

Colorado Springs Police Department KKTV (opens in a new tab) local outlet project record
Context & source notes

Provenance: Paraphrased; said in the source itself.

Primary source: KKTV (opens in a new tab).

Colorado Springs Utilities executive states utility's responsibility is to plan for growth from data centers while serving customers reliably.

Michael Francolino The Gazette (opens in a new tab) local outlet
Context & source notes

Provenance: Paraphrased; said in the source itself.

Primary source: The Gazette (opens in a new tab).

Study found nearly 70 percent of Colorado voters had unfavorable opinions of AI in general

Magellan Strategies, research firm Westword (opens in a new tab) local outlet
Context & source notes

Provenance: Paraphrased; said in the source itself.

Primary source: Westword (opens in a new tab).

Colorado voters 86 percent opposed a data center near their neighborhood

Magellan Strategies, research firm Westword (opens in a new tab) local outlet
Context & source notes

Provenance: Paraphrased; said in the source itself.

Primary source: Westword (opens in a new tab).

Sen. Cathy Kipp said more people learning about data centers leads to more opposition

Colorado State Senator Westword (opens in a new tab) local outlet
Context & source notes

Provenance: Paraphrased; said in the source itself.

Primary source: Westword (opens in a new tab).

Larimer County survey showed 94 percent of residents do not want a data center in county

Cathy Kipp, Colorado State Senator Westword (opens in a new tab) local outlet
Context & source notes

Provenance: Paraphrased; said in the source itself.

Primary source: Westword (opens in a new tab).

Eric Eriksen, head of the San Luis Valley Rural Electric Cooperative, said the Strata container based data center would help stabilize rates for its customers since the rural electric cooperative has excess capacity as farmers reduce their operations

head of San Luis Valley Rural Electric Cooperative Alamosa Citizen (opens in a new tab) news outlet
Context & source notes

Provenance: Paraphrased; said in the source itself.

Primary source: Alamosa Citizen (opens in a new tab).

Canon proposes five conditions: complete cost causation, public contracts, closed loop cooling with hard caps, newcomers must bring generation, and strategic siting near airports

air logistics expert and co-author The Denver Post (opens in a new tab) local outlet project record
Context & source notes

Provenance: Paraphrased; said in the source itself.

Primary source: The Denver Post (opens in a new tab).

Ken Simonson, Associated General Contractors chief economist, said data center construction is keeping labor conditions tight

Associated General Contractors of America chief economist ColoradoBiz (opens in a new tab) local outlet
Context & source notes

Provenance: Paraphrased; said in the source itself.

Primary source: ColoradoBiz (opens in a new tab).

Mayor Jan Kulmann stated she is subject to ethics and conflict of interest requirements and will recuse herself if needed

Thornton Mayor Denver7 (opens in a new tab) local outlet
Context & source notes

Provenance: Paraphrased; said in the source itself.

Primary source: Denver7 (opens in a new tab).

Thornton Mayor Jan Kulmann is COO of United Power, raising conflict of interest concerns regarding data center decisions

Resident (name not provided) Denver7 (opens in a new tab) local outlet
Context & source notes

Provenance: Paraphrased; said in the source itself.

Primary source: Denver7 (opens in a new tab).

About 100 residents gathered in Thornton to discuss data center concerns

Adams County residents Denver7 (opens in a new tab) local outlet
Context & source notes

Provenance: Paraphrased; said in the source itself.

Primary source: Denver7 (opens in a new tab).

Magellan Strategies survey conducted August 26 to September 2 with 1,389 Colorado registered voters

research firm Westword (opens in a new tab) local outlet
Context & source notes

Provenance: Paraphrased; content date; reported from elsewhere.

Primary source: Westword (opens in a new tab).

The town received inquiries in 2026 from Pure Green Colorado and Toto Labs Inc, site selectors who expressed interest in developing data centers in the area

Mathew Mendisco, Hayden Town Manager Steamboat Pilot (opens in a new tab) local outlet
Context & source notes

Provenance: Paraphrased; said in the source itself.

Primary source: Steamboat Pilot (opens in a new tab).

CEO Igor Stamenkovic said the larger facility will increase the company's ability to manufacture and test complete power systems domestically while creating additional jobs

citybiz (opens in a new tab) local outlet project record
Context & source notes

Provenance: Paraphrased; said in the source itself.

Primary source: citybiz (opens in a new tab).

Mayor Yemi Mobolade announced six standards for data centers in Colorado Springs: protecting ratepayers, protecting water, protecting neighborhoods, protecting community standards, welcoming community contribution, and protecting the public's voice.

Colorado Springs Mayor gazette.com (opens in a new tab) local outlet project record
Context & source notes

Provenance: Paraphrased; said in the source itself.

Primary source: gazette.com (opens in a new tab).

Green stated the company views Project Taurus as something positive for the Colorado Springs community

Chief Operating Officer, Raedan KRDO (opens in a new tab) local outlet project record
Context & source notes

Provenance: Paraphrased; said in the source itself.

Primary source: KRDO (opens in a new tab).

Jason Green, Chief Operating Officer for Raedan, stated that the company will continue pursuing the project despite community opposition and threats

Chief Operating Officer, Raedan KRDO (opens in a new tab) local outlet project record
Context & source notes

Provenance: Paraphrased; said in the source itself.

Primary source: KRDO (opens in a new tab).

PowerCab 2 is a factory packaged nonstop DC power system for applications including data centers

unnamed narrator YouTube (opens in a new tab) video project record
· unnamed narrator · YouTube · November 7, 2025 · Privacy enhanced player · loads on click
Context & source notes

Provenance: Paraphrased; said in the source itself.

Primary source: YouTube (opens in a new tab).

SENS manufactures MicroGenius 2 battery chargers with automated testing and quality control

unnamed speaker YouTube (opens in a new tab) video project record
· unnamed speaker · YouTube · December 12, 2016 · Privacy enhanced player · loads on click
Context & source notes

Provenance: Paraphrased; said in the source itself.

Primary source: YouTube (opens in a new tab).

On the November 3, 2026 ballot in Colorado: Governor (7), U.S. Senate (6), U.S. House, District 1 (5), U.S. House, District 2 (3), U.S. House, District 3 (4), U.S. House, District 4 (3), U.S. House, District 5 (4), U.S. House, District 6 (5), U.S. House, District 7 (6), U.S. House, District 8 (3); 1 of 46 candidates with a statement on data centers on the record. Every candidate.

What your members of Congress said

On federal matters, filed on the federal page; not counted among Colorado's statements.

  • Gabe Evans, U.S. Representative (R-Colo.): Rep. Gabe Evans (R Colo.) introduced legislation requiring state public utility commissions to consider federal guardrails for data center and AI center construction and operation. (September 17, 2026)
  • Gabe Evans, Representative, Colorado Republican: Gabe Evans, Colorado Republican, sponsors the Ratepayer Protection Act (September 16, 2026)

Already running in Colorado

8 sites are serving load, 3 of them in Denver County.

See the 8 running sites
  1. Centersquare Denver data center Denver, Denver County Running
  2. DataBank Denver data center Denver, Denver County Running · Operational since 2021 (5 years)
  3. Equinix DE1 Centennial, Arapahoe County Running · Operational since 2015 (11 years)
  4. Equinix DE2 Englewood, Arapahoe County Running · Operational since 2016 (10 years)
  5. H5 Denver Denver, Denver County Running
  6. Novva Colorado Springs data center Colorado Springs, El Paso County Running
  7. QTS Colorado Springs Colorado Springs, El Paso County Running · Operational since 2021 (5 years)
  8. QTS Denver Aurora, Arapahoe County Running · Operational since 2020 (6 years)

Questions about Colorado data centers

How many data center projects are on the record in Colorado?

13 projects are on the record in Colorado: 3 reported, 2 approved, 8 running and 11 not yet verified. Each is listed under Projects with its status history and sources. Resources: the questions people ask about data centers

answered from the rows above

Where in Colorado are they?

Records are in 6 counties: Arapahoe County (4), Denver County (3), El Paso County (3), Boulder County (1), Douglas County (1) and Weld County (1). The county table lists every county with its count, zero included. Resources: the questions people ask about data centers

answered from the rows above

How much power is disclosed for data centers in Colorado?

50 MW is disclosed across 1 of 13 records: Project Taurus (50 MW, third party estimate, source (opens in a new tab)). The other 12 records have not disclosed capacity. Resources: the questions people ask about data centers

answered from the rows above

How much water do data centers in Colorado say they will use?

Not disclosed. None of the 13 records on file for Colorado states a water figure. Resources: the questions people ask about data centers

answered from the rows above

Who is building data centers in Colorado?

12 developers are named on the record: Equinix (2 records), QTS Data Centers (2 records), Centersquare, DataBank, Flexential, Global AI, H5 Data Centers, Iron Mountain, Novva Data Centers, Raeden, SENS and Viawest INC. Each name opens the record, where the developer's source is listed. Resources: the questions people ask about data centers

answered from the rows above

Which counties and cities in Colorado have rules about data centers?

11 county and city rows are on the record, 5 of them rated: Aurora is rated case by case: Aurora City Council approved resolution directing city management to update data center development standards, August 22, 2026, source (opens in a new tab), Colorado Springs is rated case by case: Data center on Garden of the Gods Road administratively approved by Colorado Springs, June 12, 2026, source (opens in a new tab) and Denver is rated restrictive: Denver approved one year moratorium on new data centers in May, scheduled to lift spring 2027, September 7, 2026, source (opens in a new tab). Every row and its dated events are on the scorecard. Resources: the questions people ask about data centers

answered from the rows above

What is proposed or being built near me in Colorado, by county?

5 records are not yet running. Arapahoe County: Aurora largest data center facility (reported); Boulder County: SENS Longmont Facility (reported); Douglas County: Parker Data Center (reported); El Paso County: Project Taurus (approved); and Weld County: Global AI data center (Weld County) (approved). A county name opens its page with the map and every record there. Resources: the questions people ask about data centers

answered from the rows above

What has the state of Colorado itself decided?

2 state laws are on the record: S.B. 72 (signed, June 24, 2021, source (opens in a new tab)) and S.B. 299 (signed, June 5, 2017, source (opens in a new tab)). The state's own scorecard row carries 11 dated acts, the newest reported September 12, 2026; the laws page has what each law requires in the words of its text. Resources: the questions people ask about data centers

answered from the rows above

Disclosed figures

50 MW power

summed only where a record disclosed the figure

FigureDisclosed totalDisclosedWithout a figureBasis
Power50 MW1121 third party estimate
Water, stated per day013
Water, stated per year013
Permanent jobs013
Tax each year013

A blank cell means no record in Colorado disclosed the figure. Third party figures on the same metrics are listed apart below; a figure a project disclosed about itself is never mixed with them.

FigureDisclosed totalDisclosedWithout a figureBasis
Power50 MW1121 third party estimate
Water, stated per day013
Water, stated per year013
Permanent jobs013
Tax each year013

A blank total means no record disclosed the figure; the count without one says how many.

Summed only where a record disclosed the figure; a record with no figure adds nothing and is counted as not disclosed. Water is summed per day and per year separately, as the sources stated it, and never converted. A tax claim given as a range is summed at both ends.

The disclosed totals are in the table above.

No source on file states what any of the 13 tracked facilities in Colorado are for. 11 sites not yet verified are named apart and are not in that number.

What each use disclosed

UseRecordsPowerWaterJobsTax each year
No stated use1350 MW

A blank cell means no record with that use disclosed the figure.

A record that lists several uses counts once under each. Each cell is the sum over the records with that use, disclosed rows only.

No source on file states how any of the 13 tracked facilities in Colorado are cooled. 11 sites not yet verified are named apart and are not in that number.

Sources read for Colorado

19 sources

19 sources are read for Colorado:

Newspapers
The Gazette
Public broadcaster
Colorado Public Radio
Utility commission dockets
Colorado Public Utilities Commission
Search feeds
16 news searches
Every feed, with its kind and tier

About this data

Last verified
Next check Feeds every four hours, pages daily.
Figures Only what a source states, with its basis. Nothing is estimated, and a figure no source gives reads not disclosed.
License Data CC BY-NC 4.0 (opens in a new tab); free for personal, academic, civic and newsroom reporting with attribution. Commercial, enterprise, financial or AI training use needs a commercial license. Prose stays under copyright.
Cite this page Data Center Record, "Data centers in Colorado", https://datacenterrecord.org/states/co, updated October 20, 2026. CSV · JSON · GeoJSON
Cite this page

Data Center Record, "Data center records in Colorado", https://datacenterrecord.org/states/co. Data: Data Center Record, datacenterrecord.org, CC BY-NC 4.0.

The structured rows are CC BY-NC 4.0. Link to this page; that is what turns a reuse into a citation. Prose stays under copyright.

Report a change
For researchers
State code
CO
Rating of the state's own row
None, no statewide rule
Count by status
reported 3, approved 2, running 8, not yet verified 11
Located records
3 located, 10 at a centroid, 0 without coordinates

Researcher view · Colorado · 13 data center sites, 0 buildings where disclosed, 12 rule rows, 5 bills · basis and source tier on every row · verified October 20, 2026

Download CSV JSON GeoJSON