Data Center Record.

Data centers in Spartanburg County, South Carolina

Spartanburg County has 1 data center on the record; it is proposed. Spartanburg County has a scorecard row with no rating yet, and a pause on new data centers is on the record. The latest decision on the record: Data centers of 65 megawatts or less can still build in Spartanburg County over the next year if located in established industrial parks or on former industrial sites, and cannot generate their own electricity except for emergency backup, September 22, 2026.

Updated · Every line below links to its source · How the record works

How to read this page. Every count comes from the records on this page and links to where it is counted. Nothing is published until a person reads its source, and a figure no source gives reads Not disclosed; nothing is estimated. A rating changes only when a person sets it.

The data center in Spartanburg County

Each row is one site with its stage, its latest dated entry and what its sources disclose. A figure no source gives reads Not disclosed.

  1. Land
    Not disclosed
    Power
    450 MWthird party estimate
    Water
    Not disclosed
    Tenant
    Not disclosed

Where

1 data center in Spartanburg County: proposed. A dashed edge means the exact site is not in the public record; every pin here marks a town or the county.

The outline is Spartanburg County's boundary from the U.S. Census Bureau. Tap a pin for that data center's facts and a link to its page.

What Spartanburg County has decided

1 body, 16 decisions on the record

What the county and the cities in it have done about data centers: each body on its own row with its rating, open, case by case, restrictive or closed, never good or bad, and every vote, ordinance, moratorium or agreement behind its toggle, newest first, with its source.

Reported: the source's date; the item names no day of its own.

  1. Spartanburg Countycounty

    Data centers of 65 megawatts or less can still build in Spartanburg County over the next year if located in established industrial parks or on former industrial sites, and cannot generate their own electricity except for emergency backup, reported September 22, 2026.

    foxcarolina.com local outlet

    no published rating
    16 acts on this row
    1. event

      Data centers of 65 megawatts or less can still build in Spartanburg County over the next year if located in established industrial parks or on former industrial sites, and cannot generate their own electricity except for emergency backup

      foxcarolina.com local outlet

    2. moratorium

      Spartanburg County Council voted 5-1 to approve a one year freeze on new data centers larger than 65 megawatts

      foxcarolina.com local outlet

    3. moratorium

      Spartanburg County Council held special meeting on Monday to discuss data center projects and vote on countywide moratorium on new data center projects

      yahoo.com national outlet

    4. litigation

      Hearing held Thursday morning on whether to halt construction of Valara data center along South Pine Street; judge took issue under advisement.

      foxcarolina.com local outlet

    5. litigation

      Residents filed lawsuit asking court to declare Spartanburg County comply with its own land development ordinance and require Valara Holdings to obtain major land development permit.

      yahoo.com national outlet

    6. litigation

      Hearing held in Spartanburg County Seventh Judicial Circuit Court to address lawsuit against Valara data center project on South Pine Street.

      yahoo.com national outlet

    7. hearing

      Spartanburg County Council held a special meeting on data center development

      wyff4.com local outlet

    8. moratorium

      Council delayed a vote on the data center moratorium pending more information

      wspa.com local outlet

    9. hearing

      Spartanburg County Council held a second hearing on the NorthMark Data Center proposal

      foxcarolina.com local outlet

      Also reported by 1 source
    10. event

      Committee held five hour meeting about a month ago with experts from power and water sectors and South Carolina Department of Environmental Services

      foxcarolina.com local outlet

    11. moratorium

      County Council moved through first two readings of proposed 12 month data center moratorium; moratorium currently in effect under pending ordinance doctrine; final vote expected later this month

      foxcarolina.com local outlet

    12. moratorium

      County planning and development staff denied proposed data center on Jones Road citing Unified Land Management Ordinance violations and noting inability to accept second application due to moratorium under consideration

      foxcarolina.com local outlet

    13. moratorium

      Spartanburg County Council delayed a final vote on the proposed moratorium on new data center development until September

      wyff4.com local outlet

    14. litigation

      Spartanburg County Board of Zoning Appeals denied the developer's appeal

      wyff4.com local outlet

    15. moratorium adopted

      Spartanburg County Council unanimously approved second reading of a moratorium ordinance on July 20, 2026

      goupstate.com local outlet

    16. litigation

      Southern Environmental Law Center filed lawsuit July 6, 2026 on behalf of concerned citizens group challenging Spartanburg County land development classification

      myclintonnews.com local outlet

      Also reported by 1 source

    Last verified September 22, 2026.

The rules across South Carolina.

What happened

  1. · Spartanburg County

    Scorecard event: Data centers of 65 megawatts or less can still build in Spartanburg County over the next year if located in established industrial parks or on former industrial sites, and cannot generate their own electricity except for emergency backup foxcarolina.com local outlet

  2. · Spartanburg County

    Moratorium: Spartanburg County Council voted 5-1 to approve a one year freeze on new data centers larger than 65 megawatts foxcarolina.com local outlet

  3. · Spartanburg County

    Moratorium: Spartanburg County Council held special meeting on Monday to discuss data center projects and vote on countywide moratorium on new data center projects yahoo.com national outlet

  4. · Spartanburg County

    Litigation: Hearing held Thursday morning on whether to halt construction of Valara data center along South Pine Street; judge took issue under advisement. foxcarolina.com local outlet

  5. · Spartanburg County

    Litigation: Residents filed lawsuit asking court to declare Spartanburg County comply with its own land development ordinance and require Valara Holdings to obtain major land development permit. yahoo.com national outlet

  6. · Spartanburg County

    Litigation: Hearing held in Spartanburg County Seventh Judicial Circuit Court to address lawsuit against Valara data center project on South Pine Street. yahoo.com national outlet

South Carolina, year by year · Every milestone, by month

What was said

State Rep. Thomas Beach said bill by Rep. April Cromer and co sponsored by Rep. Lee Hewitt would require data centers to pay for infrastructure including electricity and water.
Thomas Beach, State Representative (House District 10) · September 17, 2026 · paraphrased · FOX Carolina News local outlet
Sarah Knox, Valara Holdings spokesperson, said the project would use 97 percent of its own energy capacity and minimize grid reliance
Sarah Knox, Valara Holdings Computing Center spokesperson · September 11, 2026 · paraphrased · WYFF local outlet
Frank Holleman, Southern Environmental Law Center, raised concerns about formaldehyde pollution from on site power generation
Frank Holleman, Southern Environmental Law Center · September 11, 2026 · paraphrased · WYFF local outlet

Every South Carolina statement, by speaker

9 more statements on this page

Humans First

Data Center Revolt bus tour protesting data center development stopped in Spartanburg as sixth stop across 35 stops nationwide.

September 17, 2026, FOX Carolina News · FOX Carolina News local outlet · the record (Paraphrased; said in the source itself)

Valara Holdings Computing Center spokesperson

Sarah Knox said the project will not use groundwater aquifers or wells

September 11, 2026, WYFF · WYFF local outlet · the record (Paraphrased; said in the source itself)

Southern Environmental Law Center advocated for a pause on data centers and raised concerns about a data center currently under construction on South Pine Street

September 10, 2026, FOX Carolina News · FOX Carolina News local outlet · the record (Paraphrased; said in the source itself)

Sarah Knox, director of external affairs for NorthMark Strategies

NorthMark is complying with state laws and is still waiting on an air permit to operate and hopes to receive it by the end of the year

September 10, 2026, FOX Carolina News · FOX Carolina News local outlet · the record (Paraphrased; said in the source itself)

Senior Attorney, Southern Environmental Law Center

Frank Holleman, senior attorney with Southern Environmental Law Center, questioned air quality modeling and formaldehyde exposure limits

September 9, 2026, WSPA 7News · WSPA 7News local outlet · the record (Paraphrased; said in the source itself)

Sarah Knox, NorthMark Director of External Affairs, stated the project meets DES and EPA regulations according to plain reading

September 9, 2026, WSPA 7News · WSPA 7News local outlet · the record (Paraphrased; said in the source itself)

Jessica Holdman, reporter, South Carolina Daily Gazette

Company originally said it needed 50 megawatts, then said it would need 450 megawatts worth of generators on site

September 7, 2026, South Carolina Public Radio · South Carolina Public Radio local outlet · the record (Paraphrased; said in the source itself)

Spartanburg resident

Eric Allison runs a Facebook group against data centers with more than 8000 members

August 25, 2026, WYFF · WYFF local outlet · the record (Paraphrased; said in the source itself)

LightHouse CEO Nick Etschied stated the company has invested more than $28 million in the project

August 25, 2026, WYFF · WYFF local outlet · the record (Paraphrased; said in the source itself)

Disclosed figures

450 MW power

Power, water, jobs and tax, summed only where a data center disclosed the figure; what each facility is for; how each is cooled. Nothing here is estimated.

Power, water, jobs and tax

FigureDisclosed totalDisclosedNot disclosedBasis
Power450 MW101 third party estimate
Water, stated per dayNot disclosed01Not disclosed by any of the 1 record
Water, stated per yearNot disclosed01Not disclosed by any of the 1 record
Permanent jobsNot disclosed01Not disclosed by any of the 1 record
Tax each yearNot disclosed01Not disclosed by any of the 1 record

Summed only where a record disclosed the figure; a record with no figure adds nothing and is counted as not disclosed. Water is summed per day and per year separately, as the sources stated it, and never converted. A tax claim given as a range is summed at both ends.

By what the facilities are for

UseRecordsPowerWaterJobsTax each year
Not disclosed1450 MWNot disclosedNot disclosedNot disclosedNot disclosed: water, jobs, tax each year

A record that lists several uses counts once under each. Each cell is the sum over the records with that use, disclosed rows only.

What the facilities are for

No source on file states what any of the 1 tracked facility in Spartanburg County is for.

How the facilities are cooled

No source on file states how any of the 1 tracked facility in Spartanburg County is cooled.

Cite this page

Data Center Record, "Data centers in Spartanburg County, South Carolina", https://datacenterrecord.org/states/sc/spartanburg-county, updated October 6, 2026.

Cite this page

Data Center Record, "Data center records in Spartanburg County, South Carolina", https://datacenterrecord.org/states/sc/spartanburg-county. Data: Data Center Record, datacenterrecord.org, CC BY 4.0.

The structured rows are CC BY 4.0. Link to this page; that is what turns a reuse into a citation. Prose stays under copyright.

Report a change

The rows here are part of the South Carolina export.

For researchers
Place id
us/sc/spartanburg-county
Level
county
Census GEOID
Not disclosed
Rating value
Not disclosed
Scale word
Not disclosed