Data Center Record.

Proposed Built from one source

300 Jones Road Data Center

Spartanburg, Spartanburg County, SCDeveloper: Lighthouse Data Centers / Wharton DigitalCensus GEOID 45083

Stage
Proposed
Buildings
2 buildings
zoning application, verified October 27, 2026
Undisclosed in public filings
Power, Land, Water

Lighthouse Data Centers and Wharton Digital submitted a site application on April 28, 2026 for a data center campus at 300 Jones Road in Spartanburg County, South Carolina. It is proposed, since October 20, 2026.

How much power it needs, how much water it would use and who would use it have not been disclosed.

Last verified · 1 source, 0 primary · Built from one source, not yet reviewed in depth by a person. · How to read this page

  • This record: Proposed, ringed
  • data center
  • Smaller pins: 19 other published records in South Carolina
Details
  • this record's location, ringed
  • parcel outline, from the county parcel record
  • city limits, U.S. Census Bureau, on a town level record
  • county boundary

The other pins are the published projects in the same state, each in its stage color. The imagery beneath is the USGS national orthoimagery, public domain, shown so the land around the site can be read.

How to read this page. Every fact links to the source it rests on; a number in brackets is its place in the source list. A figure no source gives reads Not disclosed, and nothing is estimated. Where sources give different figures, each is shown with who gave it, and another source's figure never stands in for the record's own. Entries are added and never overwritten; corrections are listed under What happened.

What is known

Each figure as its source gave it. The number in brackets is its place in the source list.

Buildings
2 buildings zoning application, verified October 27, 2026
Who leads it
Lighthouse Data Centers / Wharton Digital as stated by the source
Undisclosed in public filings
Land, Power it would draw, Water, Who would use it, Jobs once it runs, Tax each year
Every field, with who said it and when (Researcher view)

Impact figures

FieldValueWho says soSourceLast verified
How much power it needs
How much water it would use
How loud it would be
Jobs once it runs
Tax it would pay each year

The record's fields

FieldValueWho says soSourceLast verified
Who is building it Lighthouse Data Centers / Wharton Digital as stated by the source October 27, 2026
Who is constructing it
How much land
Buildings 2 buildings zoning application, verified October 27, 2026 spartanburgcounty.org (opens in a new tab) October 27, 2026
Where its power comes from
Grid connection
How it is cooled

A blank value cell means not disclosed by any source on file; a blank basis cell means the source gave the figure without saying on what basis.

The developer's figure is what the company said; what a permit allows is the ceiling a permit sets; measured means observed. Water is in gallons a day or a year, whichever the source stated; a tax claim given as a range shows both ends, each linked to the source that gave it.

Still not public, and where it would show up

The record adds each the day a source gives it. Why these documents.

  • Water use A state water right filing or a water supply agreement.
  • Who would use it A lease announcement or a tenant named in a filing.
  • Power the campus would draw A utility or public service commission docket, an interconnection filing, or an air permit for an on site plant.
  • Jobs and tax An incentive agreement, a county's economic development filing or a fiscal note.

What was decided

Acts of Spartanburg County and Spartanburg about data centers, on the record with their source. A rule about the area is not a decision about this record.

DateWhoDecisionSource
Spartanburg County restrictive Spartanburg County Council approved a temporary one year moratorium for nearly all data center developments wyff4.com (opens in a new tab)
Spartanburg County restrictive Data centers of 65 megawatts or less can still build in Spartanburg County over the next year if located in established industrial parks or on former industrial sites, and cannot generate their own electricity except for emergency backup foxcarolina.com (opens in a new tab)
Spartanburg County restrictive The moratorium exempts data centers that have already received county approval, including the Valara data center currently under construction foxcarolina.com (opens in a new tab)
Spartanburg County restrictive Spartanburg County Council voted 5-1 to approve a one year freeze on new data centers larger than 65 megawatts foxcarolina.com (opens in a new tab)
Spartanburg County restrictive Spartanburg County Council held third and final reading on proposed one year moratorium on new data center projects foxcarolina.com (opens in a new tab)
Spartanburg County restrictive Spartanburg County Council held special meeting on Monday to discuss data center projects and vote on countywide moratorium on new data center projects yahoo.com (opens in a new tab)
25 earlier decisions on the county's rows
DateWhoDecisionSource
Spartanburg County restrictive Judge will decide later on request to halt Spartanburg data center construction foxcarolina.com (opens in a new tab)
Spartanburg County restrictive Central legal issue is whether Valara project is classified as a major or minor development, which determines if approval requires public hearings. southcarolinapublicradio.org (opens in a new tab)
Spartanburg County restrictive Spartanburg County Council expected to hold third and final vote on one year data center moratorium next week. foxcarolina.com (opens in a new tab)
Spartanburg County restrictive Hearing held Thursday morning on whether to halt construction of Valara data center along South Pine Street; judge took issue under advisement. foxcarolina.com (opens in a new tab)
Spartanburg County restrictive Residents filed lawsuit asking court to declare Spartanburg County comply with its own land development ordinance and require Valara Holdings to obtain major land development permit. yahoo.com (opens in a new tab)
Spartanburg County restrictive Hearing held in Spartanburg County Seventh Judicial Circuit Court to address lawsuit against Valara data center project on South Pine Street. yahoo.com (opens in a new tab)
Spartanburg County restrictive Spartanburg County Council held a special meeting on data center development wyff4.com (opens in a new tab)
Spartanburg County restrictive Residents stormed out during data center debate in Spartanburg County foxcarolina.com (opens in a new tab)
Spartanburg County restrictive Spartanburg County Council held a lengthy and heated discussion about a proposed data center on September 9, 2026, with residents voicing concerns about public safety impacts. wspa.com (opens in a new tab)
Spartanburg County restrictive The potential one year data center moratorium is expected to return before Spartanburg County Council on September 21st wspa.com (opens in a new tab)
Spartanburg County restrictive Council delayed a vote on the data center moratorium pending more information wspa.com (opens in a new tab)
Spartanburg County restrictive Spartanburg County Council held a second special public safety committee hearing on a potential one year moratorium on new data center developments wspa.com (opens in a new tab)
Spartanburg County restrictive Spartanburg County Council held a second hearing on the NorthMark Data Center proposal foxcarolina.com (opens in a new tab)
Spartanburg County restrictive Committee held five hour meeting about a month ago with experts from power and water sectors and South Carolina Department of Environmental Services foxcarolina.com (opens in a new tab)
Spartanburg County restrictive County Council moved through first two readings of proposed 12 month data center moratorium; moratorium currently in effect under pending ordinance doctrine; final vote expected later this month foxcarolina.com (opens in a new tab)
Spartanburg County restrictive Spartanburg County Council Public Safety Committee holding second hearing on data centers Wednesday September 9 at 5:30 p.m. foxcarolina.com (opens in a new tab)
Spartanburg County restrictive County planning and development staff denied proposed data center on Jones Road citing Unified Land Management Ordinance violations and noting inability to accept second application due to moratorium under consideration foxcarolina.com (opens in a new tab)
Spartanburg County restrictive Spartanburg County Council considering one year moratorium on new data centers foxcarolina.com (opens in a new tab)
Spartanburg County restrictive Spartanburg County Council delayed a final vote on the proposed moratorium on new data center development until September wyff4.com (opens in a new tab)
Spartanburg County restrictive Board of Zoning Appeals cited non compliance items and the proposed Spartanburg County data center moratorium in denying the appeal wyff4.com (opens in a new tab)
Spartanburg County restrictive Spartanburg County Board of Zoning Appeals denied the developer's appeal wyff4.com (opens in a new tab)
Spartanburg County restrictive Lawsuit by Concerned Citizens of Spartanburg County and Southern Environmental Law Center challenges NorthMark's minor designation for a major land development project goupstate.com (opens in a new tab)
Spartanburg County restrictive Spartanburg County Council unanimously approved second reading of a moratorium ordinance on July 20, 2026 goupstate.com (opens in a new tab)
Spartanburg County restrictive Southern Environmental Law Center filed lawsuit July 6, 2026 on behalf of concerned citizens group challenging Spartanburg County land development classification myclintonnews.com (opens in a new tab)
Spartanburg County restrictive Spartanburg County Council is planning a data center moratorium postandcourier.com (opens in a new tab)

What happened

  1. · Status: proposed (content date)

    Spartanburg County Council approved a development agreement for Lightstone Group's 60 megawatt Jones Road data center on first reading and declined to advance NorthMark and AIB data centers pending compliance with newly corrected noise and light ordinances.

    postandcourier.com (opens in a new tab) query feed

  2. · Status: stalled or cancelled (content date)

    Lighthouse Data Centers and Wharton Digital submitted an application on April 28, 2026 for a data center at 300 Jones Road in Spartanburg County, which was paused by the county's one year moratorium.

    [1] foxcarolina.com

Every event in order

The site

The pin is the site's address.

The site map is at the top of the page.

Where
300 Jones Road, Spartanburg, SC 29307, Spartanburg, Spartanburg County, South Carolina [source] (opens in a new tab)
How exactly it is located
Exact, at the address
The parcel
No parcel outline in the public record
Nearest homes
Not computed for a record placed at a place center

USGS NAIP aerial view of 300 Jones Road Data Center
LAT 34.95620 / LON -81.84850 Imagery: U.S. Geological Survey / USDA NAIP (Public Domain)

Questions about this project

5 questions answered from the record

Answered from the rows on this page.

How big is 300 Jones Road Data Center?

The record has one measure of its size: 2 buildings (zoning application, verified October 27, 2026, spartanburgcounty.org (opens in a new tab)). Its power capacity is not disclosed.

Who is building 300 Jones Road Data Center?

Lighthouse Data Centers / Wharton Digital is the developer. No construction contractor is named on the record yet.

How much power and water does 300 Jones Road Data Center say it needs?

Power: not disclosed by any source on file. Water: not disclosed by any source on file.

What has Spartanburg or Spartanburg County decided about it?

Spartanburg County (rated restrictive): Spartanburg County Council approved a temporary one year moratorium for nearly all data center developments (September 22, 2026, wyff4.com (opens in a new tab)); and Spartanburg County: Data centers of 65 megawatts or less can still build in Spartanburg County over the next year if located in established industrial parks or on former industrial sites, and cannot generate their own electricity except for emergency backup (reported September 22, 2026, foxcarolina.com (opens in a new tab)). 31 events are on the county's rows; a rule about the area is not a decision about this record.

Sources

Primary documents first: filings, minutes, dockets and official pages. Then reporting. The numbers are the ones the entries above cite.

Reporting

  1. Spartanburg County votes to pause data center applications for one year - FOX Carolina News (opens in a new tab), FOX Carolina News, June 22, 2026, query feed

1 source on file.

Regional grid context

This site is in the SERC Virginia and Carolina South (SRVC-S) regional power market. 2024 to 2025 wholesale price effect: 7.5 percent (+$3.01 per MWh, 2024 to 2025), modeled wholesale price effect, Dallas Fed WP 2606r1, third party estimate. 2028 projected wholesale price effect: 14.7 percent (+$4.94 per MWh, 2028 projected), modeled wholesale price effect, Dallas Fed WP 2606r1, third party estimate.

Sources and data

Sources on this page

Every number on this page comes from a named source. Click any source to open the document in a new tab.

What researchers have found

These studies measure different things. Some model wholesale market prices. Some measure what households actually paid. Some model what would happen under a policy change. The record shows each one as the authors stated it and does not rank them.

Cite this page

Every record on this page carries its sources and the date it was last verified. When you cite it in a story, a study or a public filing, link to this page and give the date you accessed it.

Get this data

Every row on this page is available to download with its source, its basis and the date it was last verified.

Use this data in your work

Free to use and republish with attribution for reporting, research, teaching and public filings under CC BY-NC 4.0. Commercial, enterprise, financial or AI training use needs a commercial license.

About this data

Last verified
Next check Feeds every four hours, pages daily.
Figures Each figure as its source gave it, with its basis; another source's figure never stands in for the record's own, and nothing is estimated.
License Data CC BY-NC 4.0 (opens in a new tab); free for personal, academic, civic and newsroom reporting with attribution. Using this data in a report? Support the record. Commercial use needs a license. Prose stays under copyright.
Cite this page Data Center Record, "300 Jones Road Data Center", https://datacenterrecord.org/projects/300-jones-road-data-center-spartanburg-sc, last verified October 27, 2026. CSV · JSON
Using this data in a report? Support the record. Commercial use needs a license.
Cite this page

Data Center Record, "300 Jones Road Data Center", https://datacenterrecord.org/projects/300-jones-road-data-center-spartanburg-sc. Data: Data Center Record, datacenterrecord.org, CC BY-NC 4.0.

The structured rows are CC BY-NC 4.0. Link to this page; that is what turns a reuse into a citation. Commercial use needs a license. Prose stays under copyright.

Report a change
For researchers
Stage
Proposed
Tier
built from one source
Tags
Built from one source
Coordinates
34.9562, -81.8485
How the location is known
Location from the site's street address.
Location source
https://www.spartanburgcounty.org/
Coordinate source
Spartanburg County 300 Jones Road site application
Rating of the county's rows
Restrictive
Published
September 28, 2026
Last verified
October 27, 2026
Undisclosed in public filings
Location source number, Location last verified, EPA registry id, Uses, Tenancy, Cooling, How capacity was disclosed, How water was disclosed, How acreage was disclosed, Interconnection, Capacity, if disclosed

Researcher view · 300 Jones Road Data Center · 1 source, 2 entries, 31 decisions nearby · basis and source tier on every row · verified October 27, 2026

Download CSV JSON