Data Center Record.

Running Built from one source

DartPoints Spartanburg Data Center (SPA1)

Spartanburg, Spartanburg County, SCDeveloper: DartPointsCensus GEOID 45083

Stage
Running
Operational since 2018 (8 years)
Power
4 MW
the developer's figure
Buildings
1 building
operator page, verified October 27, 2026
Undisclosed in public filings
Land, Water

DartPoints operates the SPA1 colocation data center at 5700 North Blackstock Road in Spartanburg, Spartanburg County, South Carolina. It is running; the record holds no sourced date for when it reached that stage.

How much water it would use and who would use it have not been disclosed.

Last verified · 1 source, 0 primary · Built from one source, not yet reviewed in depth by a person. · How to read this page

  • This record: Running, ringed
  • data center
  • Smaller pins: 19 other published records in South Carolina
Details
  • this record's location, ringed
  • parcel outline, from the county parcel record
  • city limits, U.S. Census Bureau, on a town level record
  • county boundary

The other pins are the published projects in the same state, each in its stage color. The imagery beneath is the USGS national orthoimagery, public domain, shown so the land around the site can be read.

How to read this page. Every fact links to the source it rests on; a number in brackets is its place in the source list. A figure no source gives reads Not disclosed, and nothing is estimated. Where sources give different figures, each is shown with who gave it, and another source's figure never stands in for the record's own. Entries are added and never overwritten; corrections are listed under What happened.

What is known

Each figure as its source gave it. The number in brackets is its place in the source list.

Commissioned
Operational since 2018 (8 years)
Buildings
1 building operator page, verified October 27, 2026
[1] dartpoints.com
Power it would draw
4 MW the developer's figure About 0 percent of New York City's summer peak demand in 2024.
[1] dartpoints.com
Who leads it
DartPoints as stated by the source
Undisclosed in public filings
Land, Water, Who would use it, Jobs once it runs, Tax each year
The math behind the comparison
  1. DartPoints Spartanburg Data Center (SPA1), capacity: 4 MW.
  2. New York City (NYISO Zone J) summer peak demand, actual, 2024: 10,245 MW (2024).
  3. 4 ÷ 10,245 = 0 (MW over MW).

Sources:

A comparison is arithmetic on two published rows and is never a new fact (how comparisons are made).

Every field, with who said it and when (Researcher view)

Impact figures

FieldValueWho says soSourceLast verified
How much power it needs 4 MW the developer's figure [1] dartpoints.com (opens in a new tab) October 27, 2026
How much water it would use
How loud it would be
Jobs once it runs
Tax it would pay each year

The record's fields

FieldValueWho says soSourceLast verified
Who is building it DartPoints as stated by the source October 27, 2026
Who is constructing it
How much land
Buildings 1 building operator page, verified October 27, 2026 [1] dartpoints.com (opens in a new tab) October 27, 2026
Where its power comes from
Grid connection
How it is cooled

A blank value cell means not disclosed by any source on file; a blank basis cell means the source gave the figure without saying on what basis.

The developer's figure is what the company said; what a permit allows is the ceiling a permit sets; measured means observed. Water is in gallons a day or a year, whichever the source stated; a tax claim given as a range shows both ends, each linked to the source that gave it.

Still not public, and where it would show up

The record adds each the day a source gives it. Why these documents.

  • Water use A state water right filing or a water supply agreement.
  • Who would use it A lease announcement or a tenant named in a filing.
  • Jobs and tax An incentive agreement, a county's economic development filing or a fiscal note.

What was decided

Acts of Spartanburg County and Spartanburg about data centers, on the record with their source. A rule about the area is not a decision about this record.

DateWhoDecisionSource
Spartanburg County restrictive Spartanburg County Council approved a temporary one year moratorium for nearly all data center developments wyff4.com (opens in a new tab)
Spartanburg County restrictive Data centers of 65 megawatts or less can still build in Spartanburg County over the next year if located in established industrial parks or on former industrial sites, and cannot generate their own electricity except for emergency backup foxcarolina.com (opens in a new tab)
Spartanburg County restrictive The moratorium exempts data centers that have already received county approval, including the Valara data center currently under construction foxcarolina.com (opens in a new tab)
Spartanburg County restrictive Spartanburg County Council voted 5-1 to approve a one year freeze on new data centers larger than 65 megawatts foxcarolina.com (opens in a new tab)
Spartanburg County restrictive Spartanburg County Council held third and final reading on proposed one year moratorium on new data center projects foxcarolina.com (opens in a new tab)
Spartanburg County restrictive Spartanburg County Council held special meeting on Monday to discuss data center projects and vote on countywide moratorium on new data center projects yahoo.com (opens in a new tab)
25 earlier decisions on the county's rows
DateWhoDecisionSource
Spartanburg County restrictive Judge will decide later on request to halt Spartanburg data center construction foxcarolina.com (opens in a new tab)
Spartanburg County restrictive Central legal issue is whether Valara project is classified as a major or minor development, which determines if approval requires public hearings. southcarolinapublicradio.org (opens in a new tab)
Spartanburg County restrictive Spartanburg County Council expected to hold third and final vote on one year data center moratorium next week. foxcarolina.com (opens in a new tab)
Spartanburg County restrictive Hearing held Thursday morning on whether to halt construction of Valara data center along South Pine Street; judge took issue under advisement. foxcarolina.com (opens in a new tab)
Spartanburg County restrictive Residents filed lawsuit asking court to declare Spartanburg County comply with its own land development ordinance and require Valara Holdings to obtain major land development permit. yahoo.com (opens in a new tab)
Spartanburg County restrictive Hearing held in Spartanburg County Seventh Judicial Circuit Court to address lawsuit against Valara data center project on South Pine Street. yahoo.com (opens in a new tab)
Spartanburg County restrictive Spartanburg County Council held a special meeting on data center development wyff4.com (opens in a new tab)
Spartanburg County restrictive Residents stormed out during data center debate in Spartanburg County foxcarolina.com (opens in a new tab)
Spartanburg County restrictive Spartanburg County Council held a lengthy and heated discussion about a proposed data center on September 9, 2026, with residents voicing concerns about public safety impacts. wspa.com (opens in a new tab)
Spartanburg County restrictive The potential one year data center moratorium is expected to return before Spartanburg County Council on September 21st wspa.com (opens in a new tab)
Spartanburg County restrictive Council delayed a vote on the data center moratorium pending more information wspa.com (opens in a new tab)
Spartanburg County restrictive Spartanburg County Council held a second special public safety committee hearing on a potential one year moratorium on new data center developments wspa.com (opens in a new tab)
Spartanburg County restrictive Spartanburg County Council held a second hearing on the NorthMark Data Center proposal foxcarolina.com (opens in a new tab)
Spartanburg County restrictive Committee held five hour meeting about a month ago with experts from power and water sectors and South Carolina Department of Environmental Services foxcarolina.com (opens in a new tab)
Spartanburg County restrictive County Council moved through first two readings of proposed 12 month data center moratorium; moratorium currently in effect under pending ordinance doctrine; final vote expected later this month foxcarolina.com (opens in a new tab)
Spartanburg County restrictive Spartanburg County Council Public Safety Committee holding second hearing on data centers Wednesday September 9 at 5:30 p.m. foxcarolina.com (opens in a new tab)
Spartanburg County restrictive County planning and development staff denied proposed data center on Jones Road citing Unified Land Management Ordinance violations and noting inability to accept second application due to moratorium under consideration foxcarolina.com (opens in a new tab)
Spartanburg County restrictive Spartanburg County Council considering one year moratorium on new data centers foxcarolina.com (opens in a new tab)
Spartanburg County restrictive Spartanburg County Council delayed a final vote on the proposed moratorium on new data center development until September wyff4.com (opens in a new tab)
Spartanburg County restrictive Board of Zoning Appeals cited non compliance items and the proposed Spartanburg County data center moratorium in denying the appeal wyff4.com (opens in a new tab)
Spartanburg County restrictive Spartanburg County Board of Zoning Appeals denied the developer's appeal wyff4.com (opens in a new tab)
Spartanburg County restrictive Lawsuit by Concerned Citizens of Spartanburg County and Southern Environmental Law Center challenges NorthMark's minor designation for a major land development project goupstate.com (opens in a new tab)
Spartanburg County restrictive Spartanburg County Council unanimously approved second reading of a moratorium ordinance on July 20, 2026 goupstate.com (opens in a new tab)
Spartanburg County restrictive Southern Environmental Law Center filed lawsuit July 6, 2026 on behalf of concerned citizens group challenging Spartanburg County land development classification myclintonnews.com (opens in a new tab)
Spartanburg County restrictive Spartanburg County Council is planning a data center moratorium postandcourier.com (opens in a new tab)

What happened

No dated entry is on the record yet.

Every event in order

  • Read on October 27, 2026 (the day the page was read; it gives no date of its own)

    Verified facility status from South Carolina DES permits, SC Public Service Commission dockets, county council ordinances, or operator campus specifications.

    [1] dartpoints.com

The site

The pin is the site's address.

The site map is at the top of the page.

Where
5700 North Blackstock Road, Spartanburg, SC 29303, Spartanburg, Spartanburg County, South Carolina [1] dartpoints.com (opens in a new tab)
How exactly it is located
Exact, at the address
The parcel
No parcel outline in the public record
Nearest homes
Not computed for a record placed at a place center

USGS NAIP aerial view of DartPoints Spartanburg Data Center (SPA1)
LAT 34.99654 / LON -82.03352 Imagery: U.S. Geological Survey / USDA NAIP (Public Domain)

Questions about this project

5 questions answered from the record

Answered from the rows on this page.

How big is DartPoints Spartanburg Data Center (SPA1)?

The record has 2 measures of its size: 4 MW (the developer's figure, dartpoints.com (opens in a new tab)) and 1 building (operator page, verified October 27, 2026, dartpoints.com (opens in a new tab)). Its acreage is not disclosed.

Who is building DartPoints Spartanburg Data Center (SPA1)?

DartPoints is the developer. No construction contractor is named on the record yet.

How much power and water does DartPoints Spartanburg Data Center (SPA1) say it needs?

Power: 4 MW (the developer's figure, dartpoints.com (opens in a new tab)). Water: not disclosed by any source on file.

Where does DartPoints Spartanburg Data Center (SPA1) stand today?

It is running; the date it reached that stage is not sourced, only the day a page was read. No dated entry is on the record yet.

What has Spartanburg or Spartanburg County decided about it?

Spartanburg County (rated restrictive): Spartanburg County Council approved a temporary one year moratorium for nearly all data center developments (September 22, 2026, wyff4.com (opens in a new tab)); and Spartanburg County: Data centers of 65 megawatts or less can still build in Spartanburg County over the next year if located in established industrial parks or on former industrial sites, and cannot generate their own electricity except for emergency backup (reported September 22, 2026, foxcarolina.com (opens in a new tab)). 31 events are on the county's rows; a rule about the area is not a decision about this record.

Sources

Primary documents first: filings, minutes, dockets and official pages. Then reporting. The numbers are the ones the entries above cite.

Reporting

  1. DartPoints Spartanburg Data Center (SPA1) Official Disclosure (opens in a new tab), DartPoints, query feed

1 source on file.

Regional grid context

This site is in the SERC Virginia and Carolina South (SRVC-S) regional power market. 2024 to 2025 wholesale price effect: 7.5 percent (+$3.01 per MWh, 2024 to 2025), modeled wholesale price effect, Dallas Fed WP 2606r1, third party estimate. 2028 projected wholesale price effect: 14.7 percent (+$4.94 per MWh, 2028 projected), modeled wholesale price effect, Dallas Fed WP 2606r1, third party estimate.

Sources and data

Sources on this page

Every number on this page comes from a named source. Click any source to open the document in a new tab.

What researchers have found

These studies measure different things. Some model wholesale market prices. Some measure what households actually paid. Some model what would happen under a policy change. The record shows each one as the authors stated it and does not rank them.

Cite this page

Every record on this page carries its sources and the date it was last verified. When you cite it in a story, a study or a public filing, link to this page and give the date you accessed it.

Get this data

Every row on this page is available to download with its source, its basis and the date it was last verified.

Use this data in your work

Free to use and republish with attribution for reporting, research, teaching and public filings under CC BY-NC 4.0. Commercial, enterprise, financial or AI training use needs a commercial license.

About this data

Last verified
Next check Feeds every four hours, pages daily.
Figures Each figure as its source gave it, with its basis; another source's figure never stands in for the record's own, and nothing is estimated.
License Data CC BY-NC 4.0 (opens in a new tab); free for personal, academic, civic and newsroom reporting with attribution. Using this data in a report? Support the record. Commercial use needs a license. Prose stays under copyright.
Cite this page Data Center Record, "DartPoints Spartanburg Data Center (SPA1)", https://datacenterrecord.org/projects/dartpoints-llc-dartpoints-spartanburg-sc-spa1-spartanburg-sc, last verified October 27, 2026. CSV · JSON
Using this data in a report? Support the record. Commercial use needs a license.
Cite this page

Data Center Record, "DartPoints Spartanburg Data Center (SPA1)", https://datacenterrecord.org/projects/dartpoints-llc-dartpoints-spartanburg-sc-spa1-spartanburg-sc. Data: Data Center Record, datacenterrecord.org, CC BY-NC 4.0.

The structured rows are CC BY-NC 4.0. Link to this page; that is what turns a reuse into a citation. Commercial use needs a license. Prose stays under copyright.

Report a change
For researchers
Stage
Running
Tier
built from one source
Tags
Built from one source
Coordinates
34.996536, -82.033518
How the location is known
Location from the site's street address.
Location source
https://dartpoints.com/locations/spartanburg-sc/
Coordinate source
DartPoints Spartanburg (SPA1) specification
How capacity was disclosed
the developer's figure
Capacity, if disclosed
4 MW, the developer's figure
Rating of the county's rows
Restrictive
Published
October 21, 2026
Last verified
October 27, 2026
Undisclosed in public filings
Location source number, Location last verified, EPA registry id, Uses, Tenancy, Cooling, How water was disclosed, How acreage was disclosed, Interconnection

Researcher view · DartPoints Spartanburg Data Center (SPA1) · 1 source, 1 entry, 31 decisions nearby · basis and source tier on every row · verified October 27, 2026

Download CSV JSON