Data Center Record.

Proposed Built from one source

Cherokee County Data Center

Gaffney, Cherokee County, SCCensus GEOID 45021

Stage
Proposed
Buildings
3 buildings
zoning application, verified October 27, 2026
Undisclosed in public filings
Power, Land, Water

Cherokee County Council approved a development and tax incentive agreement for a multi building data center campus along the Interstate 85 corridor near Gaffney, Cherokee County, South Carolina. It is approved, since June 25, 2025.

How much power it needs, how much water it would use and who would use it have not been disclosed.

Last verified · 1 source, 0 primary · Built from one source, not yet reviewed in depth by a person. · How to read this page

  • This record: Proposed, ringed
  • data center
  • Smaller pins: 19 other published records in South Carolina
Details
  • this record's location, ringed
  • parcel outline, from the county parcel record
  • city limits, U.S. Census Bureau, on a town level record
  • county boundary

The other pins are the published projects in the same state, each in its stage color. The imagery beneath is the USGS national orthoimagery, public domain, shown so the land around the site can be read.

How to read this page. Every fact links to the source it rests on; a number in brackets is its place in the source list. A figure no source gives reads Not disclosed, and nothing is estimated. Where sources give different figures, each is shown with who gave it, and another source's figure never stands in for the record's own. Entries are added and never overwritten; corrections are listed under What happened.

What is known

Each figure as its source gave it. The number in brackets is its place in the source list.

Buildings
3 buildings zoning application, verified October 27, 2026
Undisclosed in public filings
Land, Power it would draw, Water, Who leads it, Who would use it, Jobs once it runs, Tax each year
Every field, with who said it and when (Researcher view)

Impact figures

FieldValueWho says soSourceLast verified
How much power it needs
How much water it would use
How loud it would be
Jobs once it runs
Tax it would pay each year

The record's fields

FieldValueWho says soSourceLast verified
Who is building it
Who is constructing it
How much land
Buildings 3 buildings zoning application, verified October 27, 2026 cherokeecountysc.gov (opens in a new tab) October 27, 2026
Where its power comes from
Grid connection
How it is cooled

A blank value cell means not disclosed by any source on file; a blank basis cell means the source gave the figure without saying on what basis.

The developer's figure is what the company said; what a permit allows is the ceiling a permit sets; measured means observed. Water is in gallons a day or a year, whichever the source stated; a tax claim given as a range shows both ends, each linked to the source that gave it.

Still not public, and where it would show up

The record adds each the day a source gives it. Why these documents.

  • Water use A state water right filing or a water supply agreement.
  • Who would use it A lease announcement or a tenant named in a filing.
  • Power the campus would draw A utility or public service commission docket, an interconnection filing, or an air permit for an on site plant.
  • Who is behind it A land record, a zoning application or a company's own announcement.
  • Jobs and tax An incentive agreement, a county's economic development filing or a fiscal note.

What happened

  1. · Status: approved (content date)

    Cherokee County signed a $2.1 billion data center development agreement with an unnamed developer.

    [1] scdailygazette.com

Every event in order

The site

The pin is the site. The shaded outline is the parcel, from the county's own parcel record.

The site map is at the top of the page.

Where
Interstate 85 Industrial Corridor, Gaffney, SC 29341, Gaffney, Cherokee County, South Carolina [source] (opens in a new tab)
How exactly it is located
Exact, on the parcel
The parcel
No parcel outline in the public record
Nearest homes
Not computed for a record placed at a place center

USGS NAIP aerial view of Cherokee County Data Center
LAT 35.07180 / LON -81.64980 Imagery: U.S. Geological Survey / USDA NAIP (Public Domain)

Questions about this project

5 questions answered from the record

Answered from the rows on this page.

How big is Cherokee County Data Center?

The record has one measure of its size: 3 buildings (zoning application, verified October 27, 2026, cherokeecountysc.gov (opens in a new tab)). Its power capacity is not disclosed.

Who is building Cherokee County Data Center?

Not disclosed. No source on file names the developer. The sources read for this record are listed under Sources.

How much power and water does Cherokee County Data Center say it needs?

Power: not disclosed by any source on file. Water: not disclosed by any source on file.

Where does Cherokee County Data Center stand today?

It is approved, since June 25, 2025. The newest entry, June 25, 2025: Cherokee County signed a $2.1 billion data center development agreement with an unnamed developer. [1]

What has Gaffney or Cherokee County decided about it?

No decision by Gaffney or Cherokee County about data centers is on the record. The Cherokee County page and the South Carolina scorecard list every rated row the day a person publishes one.

Sources

Primary documents first: filings, minutes, dockets and official pages. Then reporting. The numbers are the ones the entries above cite.

Reporting

  1. Cherokee County inks $2.1B deal with data center developer - South Carolina Daily Gazette (opens in a new tab), South Carolina Daily Gazette, June 25, 2025, query feed

1 source on file.

Regional grid context

This site is in the SERC Virginia and Carolina South (SRVC-S) regional power market. 2024 to 2025 wholesale price effect: 7.5 percent (+$3.01 per MWh, 2024 to 2025), modeled wholesale price effect, Dallas Fed WP 2606r1, third party estimate. 2028 projected wholesale price effect: 14.7 percent (+$4.94 per MWh, 2028 projected), modeled wholesale price effect, Dallas Fed WP 2606r1, third party estimate.

Sources and data

Sources on this page

Every number on this page comes from a named source. Click any source to open the document in a new tab.

What researchers have found

These studies measure different things. Some model wholesale market prices. Some measure what households actually paid. Some model what would happen under a policy change. The record shows each one as the authors stated it and does not rank them.

Cite this page

Every record on this page carries its sources and the date it was last verified. When you cite it in a story, a study or a public filing, link to this page and give the date you accessed it.

Get this data

Every row on this page is available to download with its source, its basis and the date it was last verified.

Use this data in your work

Free to use and republish with attribution for reporting, research, teaching and public filings under CC BY-NC 4.0. Commercial, enterprise, financial or AI training use needs a commercial license.

About this data

Last verified
Next check Feeds every four hours, pages daily.
Figures Each figure as its source gave it, with its basis; another source's figure never stands in for the record's own, and nothing is estimated.
License Data CC BY-NC 4.0 (opens in a new tab); free for personal, academic, civic and newsroom reporting with attribution. Using this data in a report? Support the record. Commercial use needs a license. Prose stays under copyright.
Cite this page Data Center Record, "Cherokee County Data Center", https://datacenterrecord.org/projects/cherokee-county-data-center-sc, last verified October 27, 2026. CSV · JSON
Using this data in a report? Support the record. Commercial use needs a license.
Cite this page

Data Center Record, "Cherokee County Data Center", https://datacenterrecord.org/projects/cherokee-county-data-center-sc. Data: Data Center Record, datacenterrecord.org, CC BY-NC 4.0.

The structured rows are CC BY-NC 4.0. Link to this page; that is what turns a reuse into a citation. Commercial use needs a license. Prose stays under copyright.

Report a change
For researchers
Stage
Proposed
Tier
built from one source
Tags
Built from one source
Coordinates
35.0718, -81.6498
How the location is known
Location from the county parcel record.
Location source
https://cherokeecountysc.gov/
Coordinate source
Cherokee County Council data center development agreement
Published
September 28, 2026
Last verified
October 27, 2026
Undisclosed in public filings
Location source number, Location last verified, EPA registry id, Uses, Tenancy, Cooling, How capacity was disclosed, How water was disclosed, How acreage was disclosed, Interconnection, Capacity, if disclosed, Rating of the county's rows

Researcher view · Cherokee County Data Center · 1 source, 1 entry, 0 decisions nearby · basis and source tier on every row · verified October 27, 2026

Download CSV JSON