Data Center Record.

Running Reviewed in depth

Intelligence Community Comprehensive National Cybersecurity Initiative Data Center

Bluffdale, Salt Lake County, UTDeveloper: National Security AgencyCensus GEOID 49035

Stage
Running
Operational since 2014 (12 years)
Undisclosed in public filings
Power, Land, Buildings, Water

The National Security Agency operates the Intelligence Community Comprehensive National Cybersecurity Initiative Data Center at Camp Williams in Bluffdale, Utah County and Salt Lake County, Utah (EPA FRS 110043515700). It is running, since May 1, 2014.

How much power it needs, how much water it would use and who would use it have not been disclosed.

Last verified · 1 source, 0 primary · Reviewed by a person, every entry sourced. · How to read this page

  • This record: Running, ringed
  • data center
  • Smaller pins: 22 other published records in Utah
Details
  • this record's location, ringed
  • parcel outline, from the county parcel record
  • city limits, U.S. Census Bureau, on a town level record
  • county boundary

The other pins are the published projects in the same state, each in its stage color. The imagery beneath is the USGS national orthoimagery, public domain, shown so the land around the site can be read.

How to read this page. Every fact links to the source it rests on; a number in brackets is its place in the source list. A figure no source gives reads Not disclosed, and nothing is estimated. Where sources give different figures, each is shown with who gave it, and another source's figure never stands in for the record's own. Entries are added and never overwritten; corrections are listed under What happened.

What is known

Each figure as its source gave it. The number in brackets is its place in the source list.

Commissioned
Operational since 2014 (12 years)
Who leads it
National Security Agency as stated by the source
[1] echo.epa.gov
State permit status
Utah DAQ Approval Order for backup diesel generator plant the state's permit register, as of May 1, 2014, last verified October 23, 2026
Undisclosed in public filings
Land, Buildings, Power it would draw, Water, Who would use it, Jobs once it runs, Tax each year
Every field, with who said it and when (Researcher view)

Impact figures

FieldValueWho says soSourceLast verified
How much power it needs
How much water it would use
How loud it would be
Jobs once it runs
Tax it would pay each year

The record's fields

FieldValueWho says soSourceLast verified
Who is building it National Security Agency as stated by the source [1] echo.epa.gov (opens in a new tab) October 23, 2026
Who is constructing it
How much land
Buildings
Where its power comes from
Grid connection
How it is cooled
State permit status Utah DAQ Approval Order for backup diesel generator plant the state's permit register, as of May 1, 2014, last verified October 23, 2026 daqpermitting.utah.gov (opens in a new tab) October 23, 2026

A blank value cell means not disclosed by any source on file; a blank basis cell means the source gave the figure without saying on what basis.

The developer's figure is what the company said; what a permit allows is the ceiling a permit sets; measured means observed. Water is in gallons a day or a year, whichever the source stated; a tax claim given as a range shows both ends, each linked to the source that gave it.

Still not public, and where it would show up

The record adds each the day a source gives it. Why these documents.

  • Water use A state water right filing or a water supply agreement.
  • Who would use it A lease announcement or a tenant named in a filing.
  • Power the campus would draw A utility or public service commission docket, an interconnection filing, or an air permit for an on site plant.
  • Jobs and tax An incentive agreement, a county's economic development filing or a fiscal note.

What was decided

Acts of Salt Lake County and Bluffdale about data centers, on the record with their source. A rule about the area is not a decision about this record.

DateWhoDecisionSource
Salt Lake County County staff will look at every legal option available for data center regulations in unincorporated parts of the county. sltrib.com (opens in a new tab)
Salt Lake County Salt Lake County hit pause on data centers and is developing new regulations. sltrib.com (opens in a new tab)
Salt Lake County Salt Lake County Health Regulation #21 (Noise Control) restricts nighttime sound levels between 10 p.m. and 7 a.m. in residential receiving zones and governs the Salt Lake County Health Department noise enforcement investigation at the Aligned West Jordan campus. saltlakecounty.gov (opens in a new tab)
Salt Lake County Salt Lake County Mayor and County Council voted against the tax breaks datacenterknowledge.com (opens in a new tab)

What happened

  1. · Status: running (content date)

    The Intelligence Community Comprehensive National Cybersecurity Initiative Data Center at Camp Williams (EPA FRS 110043515700) entered operations in Bluffdale, Utah.

    [1] echo.epa.gov

The full Intelligence Community Comprehensive National Cybersecurity Initiative Data Center timeline, in order

The site

The pin is the site, as the EPA's facility record places it. Location from an EPA facility record.

The site map is at the top of the page.

Where
11600 S. Redwood Road, Camp Williams, Bluffdale, UT 84065, Bluffdale, Salt Lake County, Utah [1] echo.epa.gov (opens in a new tab)
How exactly it is located
Exact, the point of the EPA's facility record
The parcel
No parcel outline in the public record
Nearest homes
Not computed for a record placed at a place center

USGS NAIP aerial view of Intelligence Community Comprehensive National Cybersecurity Initiative Data Center
LAT 40.42834 / LON -111.93361 Imagery: U.S. Geological Survey / USDA NAIP (Public Domain)

Questions about this project

4 questions answered from the record

Answered from the rows on this page.

Who is building Intelligence Community Comprehensive National Cybersecurity Initiative Data Center?

National Security Agency is the developer, echo.epa.gov (opens in a new tab). No construction contractor is named on the record yet.

How much power and water does Intelligence Community Comprehensive National Cybersecurity Initiative Data Center say it needs?

Power: not disclosed by any source on file. Water: not disclosed by any source on file.

Where does Intelligence Community Comprehensive National Cybersecurity Initiative Data Center stand today?

It is running, since May 1, 2014. The newest entry, May 1, 2014: The Intelligence Community Comprehensive National Cybersecurity Initiative Data Center at Camp Williams (EPA FRS 110043515700) entered operations in Bluffdale, Utah. [1]

What has Bluffdale or Salt Lake County decided about it?

Salt Lake County: County staff will look at every legal option available for data center regulations in unincorporated parts of the county (reported September 18, 2026, sltrib.com (opens in a new tab)); and Salt Lake County: Salt Lake County hit pause on data centers and is developing new regulations (reported September 18, 2026, sltrib.com (opens in a new tab)). 4 events are on the county's rows; a rule about the area is not a decision about this record.

Sources

Primary documents first: filings, minutes, dockets and official pages. Then reporting. The numbers are the ones the entries above cite.

Reporting

  1. EPA ECHO Detailed Facility Report: NATIONAL SECURITY AGENCY (NSA) (FRS 110043515700, Camp Williams, UT) (opens in a new tab), U.S. Environmental Protection Agency, October 23, 2026, query feed

1 source on file.

About this data

Last verified
Next check Feeds every four hours, pages daily.
Figures Each figure as its source gave it, with its basis; another source's figure never stands in for the record's own, and nothing is estimated.
License Data CC BY-NC 4.0 (opens in a new tab); free for personal, academic, civic and newsroom reporting with attribution. Commercial, enterprise, financial or AI training use needs a commercial license. Prose stays under copyright.
Cite this page Data Center Record, "Intelligence Community Comprehensive National Cybersecurity Initiative Data Center", https://datacenterrecord.org/projects/nsa-utah-data-center-bluffdale-ut, last verified October 23, 2026. CSV · JSON
Cite this page

Data Center Record, "Intelligence Community Comprehensive National Cybersecurity Initiative Data Center", https://datacenterrecord.org/projects/nsa-utah-data-center-bluffdale-ut. Data: Data Center Record, datacenterrecord.org, CC BY-NC 4.0.

The structured rows are CC BY-NC 4.0. Link to this page; that is what turns a reuse into a citation. Prose stays under copyright.

Report a change
For researchers
Stage
Running
Tier
reviewed in depth
Tags
Reviewed in depth
Coordinates
40.42834, -111.93361
How the location is known
Location from an EPA facility record.
Location source
EPA ECHO Detailed Facility Report 110043515700 (NATIONAL SECURITY AGENCY (NSA), Camp Williams, UT).
Coordinate source
EPA ECHO FRS 110043515700 Camp Williams facility point
Location source number
[1]
Location last verified
October 23, 2026
EPA registry id
110043515700
Published
October 23, 2026
Last verified
October 23, 2026
Undisclosed in public filings
Uses, Tenancy, Cooling, How capacity was disclosed, How water was disclosed, How acreage was disclosed, Interconnection, Capacity, if disclosed, Rating of the county's rows

Researcher view · Intelligence Community Comprehensive National Cybersecurity Initiative Data Center · 1 source, 1 entry, 4 decisions nearby · basis and source tier on every row · verified October 23, 2026

Download CSV JSON